16 comment(s). Last comment by sontoloyo 2014-04-01 13:34

eftee

1,210 posts

Posted by eftee > 2014-03-31 15:45 | Report Abuse

What happened to the plan for a mid-span stopover. Didn't see any on the way. When they first proposed the picture shows some circular rest area and also viewing platform

Posted by profit profits > 2014-03-31 17:09 | Report Abuse

It is stupid to spent so much money to build the bridge longer and with more expensive materials costs and yet the bridge failed to join Pulau Aman and Pulau Jelejak.

eftee

1,210 posts

Posted by eftee > 2014-03-31 17:18 | Report Abuse

Pulau Aman folk don't know may like it or not. Some (especially older ones) may not like it with sudden heavy traffic no more aman. If want to visit can park on Batu Kawan side and take boat there from the jetty to visit.

sool8

Posted by sool8 > 2014-03-31 18:35 | Report Abuse

Boats that run between Bantu Kawan n Pulau Aman need 2 b upgraded. Safety is no 1 concern !

Posted by Icon8888 > 2014-03-31 20:07 | Report Abuse

the bridge is longer, so charge higher toll. Doesnt that make sense ? Every inch cost money to build mah

Posted by Icon8888 > 2014-03-31 20:37 | Report Abuse

no need to pay for the steel ah ? no need to pay for the concrete ah ? can shit shit and everything come out ah ?

Posted by Icon8888 > 2014-03-31 20:39 | Report Abuse

first bridge built in 1980s. Second bridge built in 2010s.

charge 21% more is excessive meh ?

Posted by Icon8888 > 2014-03-31 20:40 |

Posted by Icon8888 > 2014-03-31 20:41 |

Posted by Icon8888 > 2014-03-31 20:46 |

Posted by avant_upstart > 2014-03-31 23:33 | Report Abuse

The purpose of the bridge is to reduce traffic. If you price it so that no one wants to use it, that just defeats the purpose then, doesn't it?

You can shout all you want till the cows come home about how it's a reasonable price. No one will deny you that.

But that's not the main point here, now is it?

Posted by Icon8888 > 2014-04-01 07:25 | Report Abuse

My point is that penang people is rich enough to afford additional 1.50

And Lim Guan Eng is just politicizing the issue

Posted by Icon8888 > 2014-04-01 07:27 | Report Abuse

If I am near second penang bridge, during peak hour, will I brave the traffic to travel all the way to the first bridge so that it can save 1.50 ?

Don't think so

So the argument that it will reduce second penang bridge traffic simply doesn't hold water

gnat

66 posts

Posted by gnat > 2014-04-01 13:15 | Report Abuse

This is one of the few things that I agree with LGE.

gnat

66 posts

Posted by gnat > 2014-04-01 13:16 | Report Abuse

If I were acting on behalf of MHA, I would charge similar toll rate as 1st bridge to build up traffic volume initially.

sontoloyo

118 posts

Posted by sontoloyo > 2014-04-01 13:34 | Report Abuse

Typical .... Penny wise pound foolish