40 comment(s). Last comment by pharker 2015-08-25 11:52

matakuda

530 posts

Posted by matakuda > 2015-08-14 12:47 | Report Abuse

Great one!

Coldrisks

66 posts

Posted by Coldrisks > 2015-08-14 12:52 | Report Abuse

the reasons that Singapore drop more than Malaysia is bec Singapore went up a lot on the year 2014; but Malaysia's stock market was not doing so well like the regional markets in 2014.

Coldrisks

66 posts

Posted by Coldrisks > 2015-08-14 12:58 | Report Abuse

When the whole world was rallying due to US's UE, we never move and when people fall we fall more than the others.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2015-08-14 13:00 | Report Abuse

Thank you uncle Koon for the article

ccs999

674 posts

Posted by ccs999 > 2015-08-14 13:10 | Report Abuse

生平無大志 只求八巴仙, 漂亮!

TAH

797 posts

Posted by TAH > 2015-08-14 13:17 | Report Abuse

Margin is for experience player.
U must be good on manage your fund and prepare to cut lost

55,055 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2015-08-14 13:35 | Report Abuse

Spore index fallen more than Malaysia? For index only. In US Dollar term KLSE has fallen by more than 25% - one of the worst in the world.

There are actually 2 storms now.

One external caused by falling commodity prices and money flowing back to US due to fear of interest rate hike.

The internal storm of imdb and fallen oil price are causing havoc to comfidence.

In times like these return OF capital is more important than Return ON Capital

During the storm of the Asian Financial Crisis Govt supported TTM - Tenanga Telekom and Maybank

Yet Tnb fell to rm2.80 and Maybank below Rm2.50

As the Imdb saga is still unresolved anything is possible.

One good sign is. The seeds of boom is sown during the burst. And the seeds of doom were sown in times of boom.

Those who have CASH at the very bottom of the market will find the Greatest Bargains. So just wait.

Next:

Calvin Tan Research will present

What to do in Bad Times.

Stay tuned

JN88

11,670 posts

Posted by JN88 > 2015-08-14 13:37 | Report Abuse

Now keep USD ,later you change to USD market turn good double loose haha.....

choop818

704 posts

Posted by choop818 > 2015-08-14 13:45 | Report Abuse

KYY & Ks55, one sifu said that this current bear is not the ordinary bear of yester years. This bear is appearing for the first time and he himself is not sure how he is going to handle it. His advice: Everyone will be hurt in some way or another, so try to protect your wealth as much as you can.

55,055 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2015-08-14 13:56 | Report Abuse

JN88

THE UD DOLLAR IS MANY TIMES WORST THAN THE RINGGIT. SEE WWW.USDEBTCLOCK.COM

WITH HORRENDOUS DEBT FROM QE AND UNFUNDED LIABILITIES FROM FREDDIE MAC AND FANNIE MAE US DEBT IS OVER US $100 TRILLIONS. IT CANNOT BE PAID BACK IN A CENTURY AT THIS RATE OF ALMOST ZERO GROWTH. COMPOUNDED WITH THE WEAKENING YUAN US MULTINATIONAL COMPANIES WILL REMIT LESSER PROFIT TO THE US. BETTER SPEND A LITTLE MONEY IN GETTING WISDOM WWW.MINDREALITY.COM

r°Moi

5,802 posts

Posted by r°Moi > 2015-08-14 14:01 | Report Abuse

Ya... It is here...

U.. V ... L.. shape??

choop818

704 posts

Posted by choop818 > 2015-08-14 14:12 | Report Abuse

Calvin, the US Dollar is still the reserve currency in the world. That is the main attraction. Which currency will you prefer to hold when faced with a worldwide financial crisis?

55,055 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2015-08-14 14:28 | Report Abuse

choop818

I got one book called, "The Fallacy of US Supremacy" by George Soros

US Dollar is strong by virtue that

1) USA has the strongest military army.
2) US was the Only engine that suck in the most imports
3) US is the largest economy.

However, US is living and spending far beyond its means.

The Roman Empire & the Roman coinage was once in power. Now no more. Italy is now only a skeleton. Italy is long gone into oblivion.

So was The Banana Currency when Japan ruled over Malaysia & Singapore.

Before the British reenter Singapore they thew flyers over Singapore. They warned that when Japan fell Banana currency will be of no value immediately.

Those who kept British Settlement notes still have value. Those who bought lands during war years at rock bottom prices did better. Those who hoard Japanese paper currency became beggars overnight.

For now US Dollar is still Ok. But not "for forever". One day it will go kaput!

What to buy then? Things of real value.

Answer:

Buy Real Estate. Why? Because they are REAL. REAL Estate.

Buy LANDED PROPERTIES LIKE LOW COST HOUSE, SINGLE & DOUBLE STOREY HOUSES IN ISKANDAR AS A FORM OF PROTECTION NOW.

m00077

426 posts

Posted by m00077 > 2015-08-14 14:38 | Report Abuse

ks55, REITs are good for retiree, but in current stormy market, it is better to wait until it falls to rock bottom before buying. When market collapse, no counter will survive, all will fall together.

choop818

704 posts

Posted by choop818 > 2015-08-14 14:56 | Report Abuse

Ks55, you have covered some of the major problems affecting the world. Currently, holding cash may be a better decision than shares. Price movement of shares is dependent on the herd's hysteria,(I'm one of them) and it moves to extremes, up or down. The trend now is down, how low no one knows, before there is any recovery. Also, no one knows when actual recovery will take place. The essence now is on TIME AND YOUR MONEY.

choop818

704 posts

Posted by choop818 > 2015-08-14 15:15 | Report Abuse

Calvin, you suggested landed property as a hedge in bad times. But I still think that you are still confronted with the dilemma when is the right TIME to make the switch. Provided of course, if you have the MONEY to do so.

zerocool7199

1,235 posts

Posted by zerocool7199 > 2015-08-14 15:26 | Report Abuse

For the reit im still prefering sunreit now.

choop818

704 posts

Posted by choop818 > 2015-08-14 18:11 | Report Abuse

Ks55, Zerocool, if real estate were to peak, will it have any effect on reit?

ImCK

2,988 posts

Posted by ImCK > 2015-08-14 20:23 | Report Abuse

the market still going worst malaysia MYR will become target !
see u all at RM4.5 as Bank negara not try to defence it anymore
car sales drop property sales drop now is going to final stage >
many company going bankrupt & unemployee increase
shell , cimb , media , star , mas
is a start since last year .

winston1

526 posts

Posted by winston1 > 2015-08-14 21:26 | Report Abuse

Property price is expected to drop next. Fire sale coming soon

choop818

704 posts

Posted by choop818 > 2015-08-14 21:29 | Report Abuse

I think share market has to collapse first before property does.

alphajack

3,685 posts

Posted by alphajack > 2015-08-14 22:21 | Report Abuse

Koon you heard that? 1500..that's right..Klci will be 1500 in no time. Once 1400 by September most of your gains will be gone. Grave calling rdy Mr. Koon kikikikikikiiki

apanama

3,796 posts

Posted by apanama > 2015-08-15 12:54 | Report Abuse

Ada org berani main dgn margin ka..haha..all da best..:)

yeekarwai88

3,967 posts

Posted by yeekarwai88 > 2015-08-15 13:00 | Report Abuse

Play with margin,earn fast,also die fast.

55,055 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2015-08-15 23:38 | Report Abuse

What Survived The Depression of 1929 to 1939 & What Failed to Survive

Gleanings from the Book Called, "HARD TIMES" By Studs Terkel

1) Men's Clothing Stores hit.
2) Alarm, security locks Sales Up!
3) Rental reduced.
4) Libraries Filled With People
5) 1,000 men looking for jobs. Only 3 or 4 jobs available
6) Jobs in Army & Police
7) No present for Christmas (no spare cash)
8) Only 2 days work in One Week
9) Detroit - danger of only having one industry
10) Asset Rich - no cash - people go to Govt Hospital (Kpj get hit?)
11) Entertainment as form of diversion did well. (Internet gaming shop today?)
12) Hollywood survived (Johor got Pinewood Studio!)
13) Govt implemented Public Works to create jobs - building roads, bridges, highways and other public works to create jobs since private sector collapsed.
14) Basic survival - Dust Bowl in Oklahoma - people traveled to California to work in Fruit Farms.
15) Many hitch hiked on trains traveling everywhere looking for non existent jpbs
16) Banks suddenly closed. 1,000 banks went kaput. Many lost all their money!
17) Really Hard Times in Depression (Will Malaysia experience one soon?)
18) Dow Jones crashed by almost 90% from its peak. No one escaped. (Note: Today with Keynesian Doctrine of QE this might not be repeated. QE is the antidote)

Calvin comments:

Today Each A/C in Malaysian Books is insured up to RM200,000 per name. So if you have extra cash it is wise to diversify them in RM200K limit per account in different banks like Public Bank, Maybank, CIMB Bank, AmBank & Hong Leong Bank.

In year 2002 Govt froze Bank Accounts in Argentina. If you have $1 million in the Account you are only allowed to withdraw $1,000. All monies were locked in. Govt gave all IOU (I Owe You) Slips. Monies were borrowed by the Bankrupt Govt.

Recently in Cyprus Govt seized All Foreign A/c holders. All given haircuts of 30% or more. So in times like this nothing is safe. You have to protect yourself.

Calvin Tan Research Recommends

1) Buying a Basket of Defensive Stocks. John Maynard Keynes got caught in the October 29 1929 Crash. But he switched to defensive stocks & did well for the 10 horrible depression years. (What were the stocks he picked? And what are the KLSE eqivalent in today's context?) Not time to post yet.

2) Buy Landed Houses in Iskandar.

Why only in Iskandar & not elsewhere in Malaysia?

Answer:

Because The Property Cycle in Iskandar (Not High End High Rise Condos) for the secondary market is still very cheap compared to KL & elsewhere!

Johor went into 12 years of property crash from 1997 to 2009 - 12 VERY LONG YEARS.
When KL & Penang properties rebounded after the Asian Financial Crisis the Only State that still went downhill is Johor!

According to the Pendulum Swing Principle 12 Long Years of depression will follow by 12 Long Years of Revival. So the Iskandar Property Boom should last until year 2012 as Property Prices only started to rise up in year 2000. Only 5 years of boom. So there are 7 more good years will the rest crash left & right!

To be continued....

55,055 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2015-08-16 00:07 | Report Abuse

Why is Calvin SO SURE AND SO BULLISH IN ISKANDAR SECONDARY PROPERTY MARKETS?

Answer:

1) The Rock Bottom Value - Below Replacement Costs
UM Land is offering the last few units of Apartments at RM150K a unit. In Bandar Sri Alam. They are selling them below replacement costs. Land value, materials & wages have soared above present construction cost. So they are bargains.

Over in Kota Masai you can still get a low cost house 14x55 (2 rooms and 1 bath) for Rm70k at high court auction. Again below replacement cost.

2) In year 1983 (Year when Pan El gone bankrupt and UMW fell to 50 cents) a low cost house 14x55 (leasehold) in Tmn Bkt Anggerik, Cheras, KL sold for Rm35k. Today it is advertised in www.propertyguru.my for Rm320K. Almost up 900%

Now a freehold unit in Kota Masai is going for RM70K only (Freehold commands a higher value), So you are actually going back in time for value. YOU ARE PAYING AT OLD PRICES FOR PRESENT DAY VALUE!! Do you get It?

Single Storey houses at RM200k & Double Storey houses (4 rooms 3 baths) at RM300K

These are Screaming Value in a Falling Market!

3) ISKANDAR HAS HIGHEST FDI

In 2013 FDI was RM14 BILLIONS IN ISKANDAR (Selangor only Rm9 billions)
In 2014 FDI was RM21 BILLIONS IN ISKANDAR (Sarawak only Rm9.6 billions)

The above figures are for Manufaturing only.

Cumulative FDI For Iskandar has reached a Whopping RM172 BILLIONS.

These New Factories Will Create Hundreds of Thousands of Jobs. With jobs mean inbound immigration. And property prices will move upward in value & rental for years to come.

4) THE SINGAPORE FACTOR
Unlike other states Johor is exporting 100,000 workers to SPORE for USA wages. Now One Sing Dollar almost Rm3.00. These workers travel to Spore every morning and return with Sing Dollar wages every night to Johor. Imagine the purchasing power. Those who are wise will invest in landed properties. The rest who are foolish will let this great opportunity slip by.

With Strong Sing Dollar 5 Million Sporeans travel to JB to spend their money every weekend.

5) I think at this jucture the chances of ringgit & KLSE going down further is very possible. And The Solid Buffer is Not Cash in the Bank! It is in REAL ESTATE.

REAL estate is REAL assets. So lock into safety & protect yourself.

Better still UPROOT FROM WHERE YOU ARE AND MIGRATE TO ISKANDAR!

DO IT NOW WHILE THINGS ARE STILL DIRT CHEAP!!

55,055 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2015-08-16 02:32 | Report Abuse

The Bible Says, "A PRUDENT MAN FORESEES THE EVIL AND HIDES HIMSELF, BUT THE SIMPLE PASS ON AND ARE PUNISHED" (Proverbs 22: 3)

We Must Be Able To See the Danger Far Ahead and Then Take The Necessary Precaution. Simpleton who are ignorant & heedless will naively go on & get into deep trouble
later.

Last time I saw Shale Oil Danger emanating from North Dakota And I gave warning to sell Oil & Gas Counters & also Palm Oil Counters.

As of now Thheavy crashed from a high of 94 cents to only 15 cents, Perisai Petroleum crashed from Rm1.44 to 32 cents & many others crashed by 60% to 80%.

Will the problems of IMDB, Crash of OIl Revenue, Relentless Crash of Ringgit trigger a Crisis like Argentina, Cyprus or Greece for Malaysia?

As future is unknown we can only be prepared for any eventualities. To do nothing is to be caught unprepared.

Remember these words, "A prudent man foresees the evil and HIDES himself"

We must be fully alert and aware. Don't shut your eyes and your mind. Then we must Act - "HIDES HIMSELF". He must find a place "OF SAFETY" for himself and his investments. To go on nonchalantly is to get punished - in other words, he might suffer great financial losses.

And now is Sunday!

Time to visit www.chick.com

Posted by MatiMansur > 2015-08-16 10:02 |

kshit

Posted by kshit > 2015-08-16 11:24 |

TontoKing

11 posts

Posted by TontoKing > 2015-08-16 11:24 |

Posted by donfollowblindly > 2015-08-16 11:26 | Report Abuse

true kshit. Why he keep post at LionInd if he doesn't own it?

kshit

Posted by kshit > 2015-08-16 11:33 |

mohan66

Posted by mohan66 > 2015-08-16 11:44 | Report Abuse

Don't let them fool you into buy and support the stocks. They will liquidate gradually. This time the market behaviour is different compared to those years. It's internal factors damaging the local market and it can prolong for a long time. But only if it's necessary and worth it. Only Consider stocks which are fundamental strong and proven good track record. Not any individual stocks came up from no where. Time to log in profit and stay aside until more positive news set in and situation stabilise. Just don't let some scum deceive us.

TAH

797 posts

Posted by TAH > 2015-08-16 12:25 | Report Abuse

Foreign funds selling daily trade. Without the support of foreign funds,I doubt the shares can go up. With political issues ,currency attack,low commodities price ,jobless problem .....As Mr Mohan66 says it is best to stay aside till the sky is clear. Do u think the local syndicates will push the market up when u are bleeding ?

mohan66

Posted by mohan66 > 2015-08-17 12:30 | Report Abuse

Very much agree with TAH, you will bleed to death first even before the market recover. Track on the RM and crude oil prices closely. You will able to get some hints from there. Those scum who kept writing and encourage all to participate during this period of time had always have their hidden agenda. Words of trading encouragement should come later stage and not now. Don't feed them.

Posted by murali > 2015-08-17 19:38 |

pharker

1,089 posts

Posted by pharker > 2015-08-21 17:42 | Report Abuse

murali just go to chowkit and pay RM50 n get a Aqua to give you a BJ...stop quibbing like a starved n deprived joker

Posted by murali > 2015-08-21 20:04 | Report Abuse

pharker,not everybody share the same hobby with you....anyway enjoy youself this weekend....don't forget to give more tips ....

Posted by murali > 2015-08-21 20:05 | Report Abuse

Play safe dude....

pharker

1,089 posts

Posted by pharker > 2015-08-25 11:52 | Report Abuse

Murali...dun jealous lah...ppl balls got licked but none lick your balls...may be trying going to prison bathroom and bendover to pick up a bar of soap..may get you some needed action