7,384 posts

Posted by Dunknow > 2015-10-13 23:25 | Report Abuse

:-)

Hope no get flag...

KC,interesting sharing.....likey

paperplane2

3,235 posts

Posted by paperplane2 > 2015-10-14 00:30 | Report Abuse

Intelligent investor. What is your view on kuchai? I monitored it 2 yrs Liao, hardly move. I think mainly due to low liquidity in MKT. Understand from the big shareholders perspective, why would they wanna do us the small fish a favor unlocking values anyway?
Also, they can privatise with low price, why would they need to privatise higher anyway?

Same case like facbind. They will keep money in bank and happy with 4% return. Why would we then want to invest such companies when it might not serve our purpose of getting higher return?

paperplane2

3,235 posts

Posted by paperplane2 > 2015-10-14 00:31 | Report Abuse

And the funny thing I dun understand, why they still need to be listed anyway? Since they run it like a private family biz?? I don't understand this.

tony89

303 posts

Posted by tony89 > 2015-10-14 06:17 | Report Abuse

thanks for all the posts. all the important bits to form a better formula.

Posted by soojinhou > 2015-10-14 07:01 | Report Abuse

Sound advice KC. May I point out that it is Genneva Gold, not Geneva. The name itself should arouse suspicion that it is some sort of scam trying to legitigimise it's operation by pretending to be an operation from Geneva. Unfortunately greed took over for so many people and caution was thrown out of the window.

Posted by Intelligent Investor > 2015-10-14 09:23 | Report Abuse

“…stocks selling below working capital and showing a fair record of earnings and dividends are likely to be ‘bargain’ issues and are likely to turn out to be unusually satisfactory purchases.” [Graham used the terms working capital and net current assets interchangeably.] To offset the potential of investing in individual stocks that turn out to be unprofitable, Graham suggested holding at least 30 stocks at a time.

http://intelligentinvestor8.blogspot.my/2014/05/valuation-graham-net-net-negative.html

okdoke

279 posts

Posted by okdoke > 2015-10-14 10:04 | Report Abuse

I have been reading your prudent articles for more than a year. Excellent and keep the good deeds...anyway, any lessons what went wrong with Pantech. thanks in advance

Posted by donfollowblindly > 2015-10-14 10:07 | Report Abuse

Which of the stocks he mentioned o/s is household brand ks55? None is Public Bank type.

Posted by donfollowblindly > 2015-10-14 10:09 | Report Abuse

As mention in my post earlier Pres Bhd(one of the so called o/s) attract director dumping as attach.
http://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/stk/annchdr/5204.jsp

Posted by donfollowblindly > 2015-10-14 10:12 | Report Abuse

NTPM(only stock I have use their product before) also attract director selling.
http://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/stk/annchdr/5066.jsp

Posted by donfollowblindly > 2015-10-14 10:15 | Report Abuse

SKP Res director selling.
http://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/stk/annchdr/7155.jsp

NoPainNoGain

1,018 posts

Posted by NoPainNoGain > 2015-10-14 10:27 | Report Abuse

Excellent writing.

paperplane2

3,235 posts

Posted by paperplane2 > 2015-10-14 12:13 | Report Abuse

Cold risk is smart

skyz

Posted by skyz > 2015-10-14 13:21 | Report Abuse

Haha... KC, some of the "myths" were actually "noble intentions" of another frequent contributor in i3 forum. totally love how you knock his "advice" one by one! cheers!

tjhldg

27,218 posts

Posted by tjhldg > 2015-10-14 13:32 | Report Abuse

hehehehe ... yayayayyay skyz ... gua see liao si pek song .. the first day i saw the otak panas sampai rosak punya orang tua posting .. gua suda mau write something liao .. just my in ke lis too good pasai so takut many tak faham then hahahaaha

anyway kc .. for margin trading ,for some is poison for some may be honey , that why margin in trading still available till now , bank not stupid aeh , also fyi now the investment bank most setting ceiling price that not like dulu liao , me n many used it for years n seem like help us a lot and really feel is a must for trader or investor to have 1 margin acct just in case ...

thanks for the article . Big Like .

Probability

Posted by Probability > 2015-10-14 16:21 | Report Abuse

"Speculating or investing? Well, I have never said speculating won’t make money and making money is a sinful thing. But I do advocate investing to the public and our younger generation; we share the fruits of the success of the business of corporations, rather than indulge in a zero sum game"

Very nicely said.

Next, it would be superb if we can have i3 rich with forumers who can give details of the businesses.. just like what the management would present to their shareholders.

i) What does the company actually do, and where they sell
ii) The business moats - competitive advantage they have
ii) The product demand potential..
iii) The management and their resources competence
iv) The recent happenings in the company..

I see few people like Bursa dummy, Icon, and a few more bloggers doing it (many I am not aware)..Hope we will have more and more..:)

Posted by Ong Kam Siong > 2015-10-14 16:46 | Report Abuse

Hi KC, how would you value a fast growing company such as GHL system?

Posted by kcchongnz > 2015-10-14 17:35 | Report Abuse

Posted by paperplane2 > Oct 13, 2015 09:33 PM | Report Abuse
Kcchong, I always have doubts! Let's take kuchai as an example of study here. Using your thoughts above, yet the return might not seems good. The stock is better privatised, yet I dunno why it is still listing. It has lots of assets, but little income. Yet, people holding this stock hoping for good return using value investing method is not getting the desired results. It might some years even under perform an FD in bank. How?

Kuchai really have to "slow slow wait". Even I have lost patience on it. That is also how one could be wrong in his assessment, I said could be. And hence there is no sure thing in investment.

Intelligent Investors has aptly answered your question.

Posted by Intelligent Investor > Oct 13, 2015 10:43 PM | Report Abuse
Paperplan, "Be patient". It take time to unlock the value. Cold eyed's article rang the bell too - http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/kianweiaritcles/84321.jsp

And, don't forget to enjoy the the free lunch in the investment - diversification.

Posted by duitKWSPkita > 2015-10-14 19:28 | Report Abuse

Hahahah

Posted by Ezra_Investor > 2015-10-14 20:29 | Report Abuse

Actually, if you read between the lines, I think kcchongnz's "myth busting" is actually directed at few different people, and a certain superinvestor is only one of them, haha.

Kcchongnz the "Bursa Myth Buster", I like the sound of it.

paperplane2

3,235 posts

Posted by paperplane2 > 2015-10-15 07:18 | Report Abuse

No need to keep on mentioning what ppl wrote refer to who n who. These are small ppl negative thoughts

25,050 posts

Posted by speakup > 2015-10-15 09:02 | Report Abuse

kcchongnz, u forgot another dangerous myth : u can make quick money by following forumers in i3investor

Posted by Tom > 2015-10-15 09:21 | Report Abuse

aiyo everyday polish ppl shoes, can laugh die lo

Posted by paperplane2 > Oct 15, 2015 07:18 AM | Report Abuse

No need to keep on mentioning what ppl wrote refer to who n who. These are small ppl negative thoughts

jassmen

6 posts

Posted by jassmen > 2015-10-15 10:24 | Report Abuse

5.You can’t do that kind of fundamental value investing in Malaysia. They are not applicable here. You can’t earn good long-term return in Bursa. Bursa is different.
Some years ago, I read about if you were to invest in Public Bank, yes a bank, you would have a compounded annual return of 23% for 20-30 years. RM10000 invested in PBB for 25 years would become RM1.77m, or a total return of 177 times.

KC,
does this mean, I invest the it divident by buying the same stock ? And at what price? Wait for the original purchased price or buy at quoted price at that time?

Posted by kcchongnz > 2015-10-15 11:04 | Report Abuse

Posted by jassmen > Oct 15, 2015 10:24 AM | Report Abuse

5.You can’t do that kind of fundamental value investing in Malaysia. They are not applicable here. You can’t earn good long-term return in Bursa. Bursa is different.
Some years ago, I read about if you were to invest in Public Bank, yes a bank, you would have a compounded annual return of 23% for 20-30 years. RM10000 invested in PBB for 25 years would become RM1.77m, or a total return of 177 times.

KC,
does this mean, I invest the it divident by buying the same stock ? And at what price? Wait for the original purchased price or buy at quoted price at that time?

You put in RM10000 to buy say 10000 shares at RM1.00 25 years ago. What ever dividend you received you just buy its shares at the prevailing price then. Your repurchase prices will be different at different time when the dividends were received each year. After 25 years, your RM10000 grows to RM1.77m.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2015-10-15 11:49 | Report Abuse

Posted by speakup > Oct 15, 2015 09:02 AM | Report Abuse
kcchongnz, u forgot another dangerous myth : u can make quick money by following forumers in i3investor

One can make quick money following someone who has a lot of money at his disposal who keeps on buying the stocks, no matter whether the price is reasonable or not. We can't dispute that. On the flip side, if ones buy based on that and that person decided to realize his profit and starts selling, those who have followed him and have bought at the peak, would of course lose money. That is also indisputable.

The problem is you won't know when he will stop buying and when will he stop selling. If you think you can also follow him to sell when the quarterly report shows reduced profit, I think you certainly must know you are the patsy.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2015-10-15 12:45 | Report Abuse

Posted by valuelurker > Oct 15, 2015 11:50 AM | Report Abuse

Kcchongnz, good article as always... I respect your decision to keep your teachings on a retail level, but I hope you will change your mind in due time. When that time comes, feel free to contact me test.diit@gmail.com as I have start-up strategies for the value investing initiative.

Now time for more serious business - how would you value Banks - a simple P/B or... Furniture, property and other miscellaneous sectors have been covered

Yes, P/B would be the way, basing on its return on equity. The other one is dividend discount model.

http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/kcchongnz/83959.jsp

Maybe you can let me know the details of your initiative.

choop818

689 posts

Posted by choop818 > 2015-10-15 15:07 | Report Abuse

Anyone here interested in pooling RM50 million to help poor and under privilaged students?

Posted by kcchongnz > 2015-10-15 19:46 | Report Abuse

Posted by okdoke > Oct 14, 2015 10:04 AM | Report Abuse
I have been reading your prudent articles for more than a year. Excellent and keep the good deeds...anyway, any lessons what went wrong with Pantech. thanks in advance

I don't think much has gone wrong with Pantech. There was a growth story, and the share price was chased up to more than RM1.00 which even with that growth story, it didn't worth that much. It was a double whammy when the story didn't materialized due to the steep fall in oil prices.

Another thing is cash flow wise, it was not good then.

But Pantech is still a good company in my opinion, but not a fantastic company. It has good dividend yield.

Posted by Alex GunaSeelan > 2015-10-15 19:48 | Report Abuse

TQ MR.CHONG.

paperplane2

3,235 posts

Posted by paperplane2 > 2015-10-15 19:50 | Report Abuse

We invest in great company

Posted by Kelvin Loh > 2015-10-15 21:57 | Report Abuse

Thanks KC. A very good article. I like that you have added some sense of humor to deliver your message here. Do you ever think to publish book about investing? If you do, I will definately get one.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2015-10-16 04:18 | Report Abuse

Posted by Kelvin Loh > Oct 15, 2015 09:57 PM | Report Abuse
Thanks KC. A very good article. I like that you have added some sense of humor to deliver your message here. Do you ever think to publish book about investing? If you do, I will definately get one.

Thanks Kelvin for your good words. Yes, the book will come out soon. You will be inforrmed.

Kucimiao

141 posts

Posted by Kucimiao > 2015-10-16 07:43 | Report Abuse

Good article piece. Well said. Cheers KC.

coolio

620 posts

Posted by coolio > 2015-10-16 11:19 | Report Abuse

KC,can't wait for the book. I will definitely get one!

Posted by kcchongnz > 2015-10-16 13:54 | Report Abuse

coolio,
Thanks. You will be notified when it is ready.

Posted by globalvalueinvestor > 2015-10-16 16:31 | Report Abuse

kcchongnz, emailed you ledi

Posted by kcchongnz > 2015-10-16 17:04 | Report Abuse

Posted by globalvalueinvestor > Oct 16, 2015 04:31 PM | Report Abuse

kcchongnz, emailed you ledi

What email? Where?

Posted by globalvalueinvestor > 2015-10-17 00:07 | Report Abuse

kcchong, I email to this: ckc14training@gmail.com , do I email wrongly?

Posted by kcchongnz > 2015-10-17 01:28 | Report Abuse

Posted by globalvalueinvestor > Oct 17, 2015 12:07 AM | Report Abuse

kcchong, I email to this: ckc14training@gmail.com , do I email wrongly?

Sorry, I did not receive any mail under your name here. My email address is correct.

Posted by globalvalueinvestor > 2015-10-17 09:07 | Report Abuse

I sent again, with title: From i3 Member:GlobalValueInvestor

Posted by Intelligent Investor > 2015-10-19 11:16 | Report Abuse

Mr. Chong,

Please reserve a copy for me too.

Thanks!

Posted by alpha investor > 2015-10-24 18:37 | Report Abuse

Dear Mr. Chong,

I would like to reserve a copy of your book too. Thank you.

Alex Foo

Posted by Alex Foo > 2017-11-05 16:15 | Report Abuse

bump for good stuff. where was i in 2015? dreaming.

12,769 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2017-11-05 18:48 | Report Abuse

Thanks KC for another very good article.

Posted by donfollowblindly > 2017-11-05 20:57 | Report Abuse

If can get high return kc must be very rich. Please name 1 counter his name as top 30 shareholders.