24 comment(s). Last comment by tony89 2015-11-02 19:30

Posted by jeremiah1983 > 2015-10-31 08:05 | Report Abuse

is HIL a beneficial of the weakening of ringgit? from the annual report i can see that foreign exchange translation results in lower profit vs 2014. Can u comment?

kclow1

58 posts

Posted by kclow1 > 2015-10-31 09:06 | Report Abuse

nearly half of HIL profit is from property development and management

Posted by jeremiah1983 > 2015-10-31 09:06 | Report Abuse

But it has properties developments in it.. will it be a stable revenue for HIL? i read that it does trade with china only, will the devaluation of Yuan impact on its earnings/>

Posted by jeremiah1983 > 2015-10-31 09:29 | Report Abuse

questions not answered...

Posted by angiegoh > 2015-10-31 09:55 | Report Abuse

Good Sat gentlemen.

The potential of better margin is hypothesized on the basis of cheaper raw material and RMB depreciation.

For Hil's core manufacturing business, they sell largely to China and are affected by RMB depreciation.

Although the contribution of manufacturing segment is lower, for now, the group's earnings are compensated by good sale of property in Shah Alam.

This demonstrates a good diversified business model.

Most importantly, Hil's free cash flow remains strong and deeply undervalued.

Posted by jeremiah1983 > 2015-10-31 10:04 | Report Abuse

Care to explain why is there a sharp increase in price and volume from Jan to March then went down all the way to 52sen in August before rebounding now? Despite it reporting a very good profit + positive cash flows, why it isnt be accounted for? Also, will HIL benefit from the depreciation of MYR vs USD? The properties segment, will the current effort of govt to limit purchasing power will benefitr HIL in long term ? pls explain.

53,254 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2015-10-31 10:09 | Report Abuse

Good morning to Angie,

Welcome to i3 Investor's Forum.

Very nice reading your posts. With analytical mind and good English you will be an asset to i3 people. So keep up your good work.

As for Hil Mr. Bonescythe has already recommended it before. Hil should be Ok. Only thing is it is selling less than 30% discount to NTA.

Ben Graham advocates the 30% discount to NTA as a Margin of Safety.

Have a nice day

Invest1188

772 posts

Posted by Invest1188 > 2015-10-31 10:20 | Report Abuse

HIL is not pure injection molding company, half of the profit is from property, not a good comparison vs other injection mold companies, in term of niche product in plastic injection, hil does not have. For plastic injection niche companies, consider skp & lcth

Posted by jeremiah1983 > 2015-10-31 10:23 | Report Abuse

I agree with u Invest 1188....

53,254 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2015-10-31 10:55 | Report Abuse

SKPRES in Batu Pahat? LCTH in Johore?

Iskandar & Johore will boom for years to come!

Invest1188

772 posts

Posted by Invest1188 > 2015-10-31 12:00 | Report Abuse

Both in senai and iskandar region

Invest1188

772 posts

Posted by Invest1188 > 2015-10-31 12:01 | Report Abuse

Many well run companies there like scgm , tomypak, johoretin

Ssy X-line

169 posts

Posted by Ssy X-line > 2015-10-31 15:45 | Report Abuse

sanici now so cheap,can buy in?

Posted by angiegoh > 2015-10-31 16:03 | Report Abuse

Based on HIL latest quarter, injection moulding contributed 73% of its revenue.

Property is a supplement and helps sustain HIL's financial wellbeing.

One can relate the same kind of business diversification strategy to Scientex, and it is proven effective even in tough economy.

fatty_tang

296 posts

Posted by fatty_tang > 2015-11-01 13:55 | Report Abuse

forgive me if i'm wrong, but sanichi is supposed to be a mould manufacturer. It manufactures the plastic injection mould instead of the plastic part.

whpang

65 posts

Posted by whpang > 2015-11-01 17:44 | Report Abuse

TQ AngieGoh. will supports you view.

cheeseburger

2,773 posts

Posted by cheeseburger > 2015-11-01 17:45 | Report Abuse

"Prices of polymer are positively related to crude oil prices" - correct, besides, it also related to exchange rate in USD, as well as buying volume of the company. In other words, the contract price of resin from any compounder is very much depends on the buying volume in metric tonnage.

Posted by MillionaireHub > 2015-11-01 20:58 | Report Abuse

more than half of HIL profit are from property sector.

yktay1

464 posts

Posted by yktay1 > 2015-11-02 09:16 | Report Abuse

LCTH looks like better value. And it is actually focusing on its core business of injection moulding.

snake_eye

941 posts

Posted by snake_eye > 2015-11-02 09:53 | Report Abuse

how about DENKO? I think it is in the same sector..

cm

2,797 posts

cm

2,797 posts

Posted by cm > 2015-11-02 14:51 | Report Abuse

Angiegoh, 1.65 for HIL is based on what method of calculation? I'm not so understand.

tony89

303 posts

Posted by tony89 > 2015-11-02 19:30 | Report Abuse

CM- by taking the average PE of other 3 counters here. I think.