14 people like this.

96 comment(s). Last comment by Jetli 2016-01-14 19:54

Posted by DingDongHai > 2016-01-10 14:54 | Report Abuse

Salute to all sifus.. Suggest KYY to list down cost for study char kueh teow in malaysia..

Probability

Posted by Probability > 2016-01-10 14:56 |

yewyin33

294 posts

Posted by yewyin33 > 2016-01-10 15:01 | Report Abuse

on the top of this article, you can see Manipal medical university is offering scholarships for the foundation course. It is giving a discount to capture more students. Its tuition fee is Rm 345,000. It is like the advertisement for condominium aircon and fridge are free of charge: Koon Yew Yin

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-10 15:05 | Report Abuse

I am totally with you, probability

When they are young and top top students, and the parents are from poor and middle class families, it is normal that all of them are brain washed into only wanting medicine, and nothing else.

Slaves to the system
Better are those above the system..and look down realistically.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-10 15:08 | Report Abuse

That is what it is, and advertisements with free air cons are still being practiced......must be because it works.

(on the top of this article, you can see Manipal medical university is offering scholarships for the foundation course. It is giving a discount to capture more students. Its tuition fee is Rm 345,000. It is like the advertisement for condominium aircon and fridge are free of charge: Koon Yew Yin)

Probability

Posted by Probability > 2016-01-10 15:10 |

DreamPorn

15 posts

Posted by DreamPorn > 2016-01-10 15:11 | Report Abuse

I drop out from Harvard now i am famous pornstar

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-10 15:37 | Report Abuse

Drop out from Harvard seems prerequisite for success in Silicon Valley.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-10 15:57 | Report Abuse

In Malaysia, all the assistance is focused on those with straight As....probably true else where too.
I for one, don't think the straight As are divine beings, and the straight As are assessed by who? By our Education Ministry officers with their ridiculous syllabus and tests?

The real tragedy is not top top students cannot doctors. The real tragedy is that our Ministry has made a mess of the whole system.

The present generation from the poor do not have the upwards mobility of the previous generation.

And the top top students are not even the best of their generation. I have no faith in the government exams and government assessments of the students.

Probability

Posted by Probability > 2016-01-10 16:03 | Report Abuse

ya luk at the syllabus....Moral education...History education...
all pointless!

Probability

Posted by Probability > 2016-01-10 16:03 | Report Abuse

and now ARABIC education....
OH GOD!!

kk123

1,964 posts

Posted by kk123 > 2016-01-10 16:11 | Report Abuse

If always only look at profit and loss before choosing a course..maybe most will be uneducated already & there wont be any doctor
Education is one of the best long term investment one can get unless he or she prefer working at mcdonalds or 7 eleven

Probability

Posted by Probability > 2016-01-10 16:12 | Report Abuse

All one needs is ONE language (English please), Maths...Science (especially physics), and Business....this one what KC teach is already good enough...

The rest you will be learning when you work.
So far I have only applied 5% of what I have learned in my working life.... what a waste of time in Education.

Imagine the impact of Education investment of 15 years if you had invested the same amount with a CAGR of 15%!

Probability

Posted by Probability > 2016-01-10 16:16 | Report Abuse

People had unnecessarily made the syllabus large for the objective of selecting the best for certain course...it purely arose due to competition. One can access the best with same limited subjects...by making it deeper or better still lessen the competition by providing more institution / support for tertiary education.

Seriously...this is planet of the apes.

kk123

1,964 posts

Posted by kk123 > 2016-01-10 16:16 | Report Abuse

Back in the good old days , the smarter ones usually get to study doctor, lawyer or engineer.. the bums maybe take business and accounting..
The bums may earn more than the doctor , lawyer or engineer - depends what path they take

Probability

Posted by Probability > 2016-01-10 16:19 | Report Abuse

when u say smart...its all relative. The one you say smart in absolute sense is dumb ass in another country...

So stop segregating by this properties...instead make the assessment based on the students ability to deliver the job.

One needs not an IQ 180 to be an engineer or doctor...
You can see many tudung doctors in Malaysia (they can still do the job!).

Probability

Posted by Probability > 2016-01-10 16:22 | Report Abuse

I left out one more very important subject - Economics.

Posted by Flintstones > 2016-01-10 16:30 | Report Abuse

Mr. Koon, are you aware that private specialist doctors earn between RM 15000 - RM 50000 per month. While consultants could hit more than RM 100k per month? After reading your article, I find that you do not understand the medical industry. The medical profession is still the most promising in terms of earnings prospect where one is able to make as much as a managing director in a listed company provided that he or she is willing to put in the sacrifices in furthering the education minus the luck factor.

Probability

Posted by Probability > 2016-01-10 16:32 | Report Abuse

No point earning 100K per month when you are 50 yrs old.
And sacrificed your life for 50 years just to get to this level..

Probability

Posted by Probability > 2016-01-10 16:41 | Report Abuse

450K invested for 20 years with a CAGR of 15% is the same as earning 40K per months right from day 1.
With monthly earning of ~ 90K per month after 20 years.
(not comparing the NPV at the end of 20 years yet)

Probability

Posted by Probability > 2016-01-10 16:47 | Report Abuse

Fortunebullz....after dissecting the women in and out still got feeling meh...(don't talk like the doctor from Kelantan/ISIS lah!)

Doctors no time to develop their body assets like others!
May be they can only luk sexy with their bald head...

gaomin

596 posts

Posted by gaomin > 2016-01-10 16:52 | Report Abuse

Hello guys: while it is true that some (a small minority of doctors )specialists in private practice make a lot of money, most doctors don't make that much. A government doctor who is not a specialist only makes at most 10K a month after close to 10 years service. And do you know how difficult is it for an ordinary doctor to become a specialist? It takes about 8-10 years from graduating from medical schools for an ordinary doctor to become a qualified, gazetted specialist. And the fact is: this country has an oversupply of ordinary doctors now! Does everyone realize that?

Posted by Pondan_tee > 2016-01-10 16:52 | Report Abuse

Help me look for rich husband

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-01-10 17:07 | Report Abuse

we are not talking about those whose families got $500k to throw, but on supposedly poor families....you real Flintstone.

<Mr. Koon, are you aware that private specialist doctors earn between RM 15000 - RM 50000 per month>

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-01-10 17:09 | Report Abuse

end of discussions....just released data, 500 medical clinics closed shop 2015 alone due to poor revenue.

newbird33

167 posts

Posted by newbird33 > 2016-01-10 17:13 | Report Abuse

Support you Mr Koon. One must get priority right. Dun be like some poor nation who spent big money to go to space.

3,492 posts

Posted by ks55 > 2016-01-10 17:47 | Report Abuse

Highest salaried job is not a doctor or an engineer.
Just compare with IB you will know where do you stand.

### This is what a day in the life of a JP Morgan intern is like

She’s one of hundreds of interns working at the investment bank during the university holidays, who are essentially following the same programme, whether they’re in London, Hong Kong or New York.

If previous years are anything to go by, a majority of the summer intake will be offered positions at JP Morgan for when they finish studying — becoming high-flying and highly-paid investment bankers.

JP Morgan won’t disclose how much the interns are paid, but they’re effectively being trialled for first year analyst jobs reportedly paying around $85,000 (£54,200) before bonuses.

Read more at http://www.businessinsider.my/day-in-the-life-of-a-jp-morgan-intern-2015-8/#HfOduZAwgSPMaGdi.99
Read more at http://www.businessinsider.my/day-in-the-life-of-a-jp-morgan-intern-2015-8/#HfOduZAwgSPMaGdi.99 ###

3,492 posts

Posted by ks55 > 2016-01-10 17:48 | Report Abuse

Even those associates in big three business consulting firms earn very much more than a doctor.

Big three has admitted a new member.
For MBB(+A), the 'A' has grown in size. Very soon will become MBBA in the true sense.

Accenture to Acquire Schlumberger Business Consulting (SBC), the Management Consulting Arm of Schlumberger, to Expand Accenture Strategy Capabilities in Upstream Oil and Gas

http://www.businesswire.com/news/home/20150817005296/en/Accenture-Acquire-Schlumberger-Business-Consulting-SBC-Management#.VdQkf_mqqkp

12,784 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2016-01-10 19:54 |

nakata

306 posts

Posted by nakata > 2016-01-10 23:10 | Report Abuse

Student who planned to study medicine degree should know brilliant result is a must, seem to be an unrealistic application. not sure our youngster think big or dream big :)

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-11 00:07 | Report Abuse

3iii...real sound advise.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-11 00:11 | Report Abuse

on charity and CSR, do we try to produce the $1,000,000 /year future heart surgeon, or try to give those from poor families a leg up. ?

I think the future $ 1,000,000 heart surgeon already come from doctor families.

25,060 posts

Posted by speakup > 2016-01-11 09:55 | Report Abuse

doctor is all hype.
all girls want to marry a doctor. last time all girls want to marry teachers.

25,060 posts

Posted by speakup > 2016-01-11 09:57 | Report Abuse

in the 1960s 1970s, you are one lucky girl if u marry a teacher. then many got disaapointed later, when they found out the teacher life is not financially rewarding.
nowadays, you are lucky if u marry a doctor. years later, many will be disappointer when they find out the doctor life is not financially rewarding.

sedayan

25 posts

Posted by sedayan > 2016-01-11 13:18 | Report Abuse

cannot agree more... doctors are overrated in terms of financial rewards... Anyways the standards of doctors have declined over the years simply because the supply has increased against past years. It's no longer only for the elites as opportunities to be a doctor has increased (eg people who couldnt manage to enter public uni due to lower grades would go to India, Indonesia, Russia to do a medicine degree)

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-11 16:42 | Report Abuse

I hope the GPs are giving value to society.
I don't think so.

sengkee

2,060 posts

Posted by sengkee > 2016-01-11 16:57 | Report Abuse

Very helpful information & advice shared by Mr Koon. The current trend is worrying...

Posted by stockraider > 2016-01-11 17:00 | Report Abuse

Raider say....the goal of working for other people & earn a fixed salaries is not the goal for people who want to get rich loh...!!

U need to do a rewarding business & write your own pay check....is how most people get very rich mah.....!!

Earning a salary is just a stepping stone loh....when u gather experience mah.....!!

Posted by wakeywakey > 2016-01-11 19:28 | Report Abuse

Doctors are like Mr. Koon, brainy and charitable.

tpchit

28 posts

Posted by tpchit > 2016-01-11 19:39 | Report Abuse

intelligent and brainy students with super results shud go for medical.
those half-past six and average students shud go for art courses

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-11 23:02 | Report Abuse

problem is every straight A student thinks he is mandated by heaven to study medicine., but unrealistic.

<
tpchit intelligent and brainy students with super results shud go for medical.
those half-past six and average students shud go for art courses>

Probability

Posted by Probability > 2016-01-11 23:24 |

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-11 23:55 | Report Abuse

every year we read about straight A students who cry and appeal for help because the government don't give him a place to study medicine.

....if only they cast their net wider, they will find dozens of private U who will fully sponsor top top students for non medical courses.

glorymas

32 posts

Posted by glorymas > 2016-01-12 00:24 | Report Abuse

fair enough for the rejections

Jetli

180 posts

Posted by Jetli > 2016-01-13 19:09 | Report Abuse

If yr children want to study medicine, do u beg, borrow or steal to finance them or tell them no & do some other courses.
Is it their life or yours?

Posted by Wakong141242 > 2016-01-14 18:41 | Report Abuse

I guess when uncle koon fall sick he wont be seeing the doctor bcos he wont sponsor any student to do medicine. He may want to see his accountant/share broker to generate more income or engineers n architect to build more houses to generate more money. But is making money the most important thing in life. I guess after living for 82 yrs he has not found the answer yet. Very sad.

Probability

Posted by Probability > 2016-01-14 18:53 | Report Abuse

aiyo....people talking about cost and return ma...
If so noble...why not the government support by reducing the Medical fees?

If cost of getting a Medical degree is 2 Million...u still want to talk like that meh....aiyoooo...

Probability

Posted by Probability > 2016-01-14 19:44 | Report Abuse

One may need to realize the reason for the high cost of Medical fees...is because of the 'status' value given to this profession...

Its just like...people choosing to obtain a BMW when...all that I required is a simple car that does the same job like Wira...

So..the fault is actually in the system and also in the people's 'mentality'....

So perhaps its not wrong to question why a poor guy wants to do medicine...just like why a poor guy should seek help to obtain a BMW?

Charity is for the 'basic necessity' ...not for the 'luxury'.

Jetli

180 posts

Posted by Jetli > 2016-01-14 19:45 | Report Abuse

The issue here I think is not about sponsorship. The point is whether our children want to study medicine & whether we can afford it. Life is not all about cost & benefits. We came with nothing & will go with nothing but if we can do something for the betterment of society in general then we will leave our mark

Jetli

180 posts

Posted by Jetli > 2016-01-14 19:54 | Report Abuse

Perhaps uncle might be thinking something like this....... If that amount of money to sponsor 1 child, I can use the same amount to sponsor 10. Nothing wrong with that.