I will teach you how at a small fee. Smaller than the author above

Posted by zbaikitree2 > 2016-01-10 21:39 |

lux88

148 posts

Posted by lux88 > 2016-01-10 21:43 | Report Abuse

kC, what is your 2016 stock pick?

Posted by Ezra_Investor > 2016-01-18 00:18 | Report Abuse

KC, if you don't mind, I always had a question regarding Magic Formula that I wanted to ask you. May I?

I would like to ask what are the "minimum" and "standard" benchmark for EV/EBIT and EY for companies that you buy. Because I've noticed that you've never really mention them in your articles. Many thanks KC.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2016-01-18 02:33 | Report Abuse

I like to buy a good company with EV/Ebit of not more than 8.

Ebit is historical. If there is clear growth potential, I may pay higher price for it.

Posted by Ezra_Investor > 2016-01-18 04:56 | Report Abuse

I see, what about your benchmark for EY then KC?
Still remain as 15% as per your previous articles?

Posted by Ezra_Investor > 2016-01-18 05:01 | Report Abuse

Posted by Desa20201956 > Jan 18, 2016 04:56 AM | Report Abuse

In research departments, it is always about projections and earnings visibility ( how reliable are the projections ). ...never about historical figures.

--------------------------------------------

"History doesn’t repeat itself but it often rhymes,” - Mark Twain.

Understanding the historical figures helps understanding the company's past history.

A serious investor will not only look at the future of the company, he/she will also look into the past of the company.

nokenzo

591 posts

Posted by nokenzo > 2016-01-18 06:31 | Report Abuse

Ezra_Investor, please subscribe to ckcI3invest@gmail.com, sifu KC email to learn about magic formula, you would not regret.

Posted by Ezra_Investor > 2016-01-18 08:31 | Report Abuse

@nokenzo - Yes you are right. I actually do intend to relearn all my Fundamental Analysis knowledge again from scratch from KC in the near future.

I've stopped investing for so long, that most of my investing knowledge are now rusty. Recently found passion in investing again, hence been re-reading all my investing books - The Intelligent Investor, Common Stocks and Uncommon Profits, etc and of course also KC's articles.

The reason why I'm asking KC bout the Magic Formula is because I'm currently reading "The Little Book That Still Beats The Market."

Posted by kcchongnz > 2016-01-18 11:09 | Report Abuse

Posted by Desa20201956 > Jan 18, 2016 03:00 AM | Report Abuse
actually if it is EV/EBIT without much growth, 8 is way too high a price to pay already.
There are tonnes and tonnes of blue chips in Malaysia and NYSE with EV/EBIT below 8.....possibly around 5 would be fair value for blue chips.
is an earnings yield before interest and tax of 12.5% for blue chips an attractive proposition?
There are tonnes and tonnes of blue chips whose PE is in the range of 8 to 12.

Tonnes and tons of blue chips in Malaysia with EV/Ebit below 8?
Tonnes and tonnes of blue chips in the range of 8-12?

Most of all would like to know which are those blue chips, tonnes and tonnes of them. Please share so that we can just invest in a few.

NOBY

936 posts

Posted by NOBY > 2016-01-18 11:25 | Report Abuse

Sure or not. Can show your calculations ?

Posted by Desa20201956 > Jan 18, 2016 11:16 AM | Report Abuse

simply pick one....Maybank is at TTM PE of 11 times....TNB 12 X,

if PE is 12 times....we can expect EV / EBIT once you go through the calculations to be around 5 or 6.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2016-01-18 11:48 | Report Abuse

Posted by Desa20201956 > Jan 18, 2016 11:16 AM | Report Abuse
simply pick one....Maybank is at TTM PE of 11 times....TNB 12 X,
if PE is 12 times....we can expect EV / EBIT once you go through the calculations to be around 5 or 6.

Show us how do you arrive a EV/Ebit of TNB and Maybank to be around 5 or 6. Please.

Posted by Desa20201956 > Jan 18, 2016 03:00 AM | Report Abuse
actually if it is EV/EBIT without much growth, 8 is way too high a price to pay already.
There are tonnes and tonnes of blue chips in Malaysia and NYSE with EV/EBIT below 8.....possibly around 5 would be fair value for blue chips.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2016-01-18 12:07 | Report Abuse

Posted by kcchongnz > Jan 18, 2016 12:05 PM | Report Abuse X

Posted by Desa20201956 > Jan 18, 2016 11:55 AM | Report Abuse
you are the guru...you do it.

I never claim that I am the guru. I am an engineer. You are an accountant, and you claim that you can find tonnes and tonnes of blue chips in Malaysia with EV/Ebit around 5 and 6. Remember?

Posted by donfollowblindly > 2016-01-18 12:10 | Report Abuse

Those still new with KC Chong he only invest in call warrants(Maybank C6) not Maybank as he highlighted in attached blog. Hence you see his so many blogs ask people to join his course for a "fee".
http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/kcchongnz/58905.jsp

Posted by kcchongnz > 2016-01-18 12:14 | Report Abuse

Posted by donfollowblindly > Jan 18, 2016 12:08 PM | Report Abuse
Those still new with KC Chong he only invest in call warrants(Maybank C6) not Maybank as he highlighted in his blogs. Hence you see so many blogs he ask people to join his course for a "fee".

Sorry to disappoint you here, donfollowblindly. Just a few percent of similar comments below. You are not qualified to join even if you have millions.

Posted by Intelligent Investor > Dec 21, 2015 08:24 PM | Report Abuse
An investment in Mr. Chong course provide me the ever best return.

Posted by coolio > Oct 22, 2015 11:58 AM | Report Abuse
I just want to take this opportunity to say thank you again because recently I have achieved 7 figure in my investing journey...hehehe.. Thanks for your investing methods, no 8 wonders in the world is really amazing!

Posted by joe2703 > Dec 21, 2015 10:22 PM | Report Abuse
An investment in knowledge pays the best interest.... I've learned so much from your online course and I made quite some good profit with the knowledge that you taught me, thank you very much and Merry X'mas!

Ch Loong27 November 2015 at 17:59
This is one of the most real life useful course i ever join!

Posted by kcchongnz > 2016-01-18 13:07 | Report Abuse

Posted by Desa20201956 > Jan 18, 2016 01:03 PM | Report Abuse
KC....just for curiosity, you should finish the calculations. ...and prove me wrong. only half an hour if you are slow.
I too lazy.

Price 12
no. of shares 5643600
MC 67723200
Total debts 24698800
Cash 8909500

Ignore small MI

Ebit 8627600

EV 83512500
EV/Ebit 9.7

Now your turn to give me your tonnes and tonnes of bluechips with EV/Ebit around 5 or 6.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2016-01-18 13:10 | Report Abuse

Price 13
no. of shares 5643600
MC 73366800
Total debts 24698800
Cash 8909500

Ebit 8627600

EV 89156100
EV/Ebit 10.3

sarahdeaton

1,609 posts

Posted by sarahdeaton > 2016-01-18 13:31 | Report Abuse

i no understand.

Ven Felix

2,182 posts

Posted by Ven Felix > 2016-01-18 13:45 | Report Abuse

True or not Desa2020, this not selling proton spare parts wor. I rather trust kcchong nz.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2016-01-18 13:57 | Report Abuse

Posted by Desa20201956 > Jan 18, 2016 01:47 PM | Report Abuse
go ask Chong when he comes back.

It appears there is certain respect from you. I have decided to respect you too.

Just a minor comment here. There are tonnes and tonnes of resources in the internet. For example you can find what is enterprise value, what it means and its significance in valuation easily.

One link you can look at is here:

http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/kcchongnz/84689.jsp

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-18 14:02 | Report Abuse

KC, stay away from this Desa girl, he is a trouble maker. Patronaizing and like to twist truths. The kind of people that brings negative energy everywhere he goes. According to him, only rich man KYY's words are correct, everybody else is nobody. He said that yesterday.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-18 14:11 | Report Abuse

sifu Desa very geng, no wonder so snobbish...

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-18 14:12 | Report Abuse

sifu Desa knows corporate finance inside out, everybody please stand aside...

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-18 14:15 | Report Abuse

sifu Desa came here to flex muscle, to show us who is the boss...

Posted by Tom > 2016-01-18 14:20 | Report Abuse

Desa20201956 - keyboard warrior(dog)hired by kyy........

NOBY

936 posts

Posted by NOBY > 2016-01-18 14:21 | Report Abuse

Since when do we minus debts and ignore cash when calculating EV. I think you better get the formula right first before making anymore posts.

Posted by Desa20201956 > Jan 18, 2016 01:41 PM | Report Abuse

Tenaga...
MC 73366 less debts 24698 =48668 EV
EBIT (8/2015) 7796

48668 / 7796 = 6.2 I am spot on.

cash, ignore because it is difficult to say what is excess cash.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-18 14:22 | Report Abuse

Desa I agree with you JHM is a dog... doesn't matter, ha ha ha

But we are now in KC thread... lets talk about your profound knowledge of corporate finance and how you can give us a lecture... LOL

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-18 14:38 | Report Abuse

market will not a fall yet....

I still got plenty of export shares for me to make money before the market falls.......

Ven Felix

2,182 posts

Posted by Ven Felix > 2016-01-18 14:43 | Report Abuse

Desa2020 girl, I'm out of proton super glue,,, still got stock.

NOBY

936 posts

Posted by NOBY > 2016-01-18 16:15 | Report Abuse

Your method of calculating EV is clearly flawed... I rest my case. You can continue calculating the way you want

Ven Felix

2,182 posts

Posted by Ven Felix > 2016-01-18 20:01 | Report Abuse

Yoo huu, Desa2020 girl girl got Proton brand super glue or not ? Dont use Ev to show off here lar, u cant even bit me with your Proton TA .Wor , come in Jhm thread lar , Uncle k waiting for u till his saliva drop to d floor liaw wer....

Ven Felix

2,182 posts

Posted by Ven Felix > 2016-01-18 20:02 | Report Abuse

I'm still miss your Proton method, I love it alot. Come come.... yoo huu

Ven Felix

2,182 posts

Posted by Ven Felix > 2016-01-18 20:07 | Report Abuse

Don't waste your time here la, come Jhm thread ; help me mit hua sang. Uncle k will pay u with lolipop.