67 comment(s). Last comment by CKWan11d 2016-02-23 19:25

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-02-22 21:13 | Report Abuse

Desa u need to shed the positive bias for uncle Koon. Be a bit objective.

hedge fund high gearing is for futures, currency , etc . Not stocks.

No banks will give out common stock margin loan of more than 1 to 1

Am I not right ?

Posted by Desa20201956 > Feb 22, 2016 09:02 PM | Report Abuse

Icon....whether margin too high too low is all about risk tolerance, about strategy and details of the portfolio.

Hedge funds routinely take up gearing of 100 to 1 even when they have confidence in their modeling.

Posted by duitKWSPkita > 2016-02-22 21:17 | Report Abuse

祝各位情人节快乐

Ven Felix

2,182 posts

Posted by Ven Felix > 2016-02-22 21:20 | Report Abuse

Wow, an account clerk talking abt hedge fund gearing of x 100 ??? Is that so simple , nowadays ? If, Desa is Teoh soon seng (Aokam perdana ex-ceo) , I ll buy the story. But, even is Teoh , he know the trick has gone too old. Could a x 100 factors juz like press a button as Desa hint ??? Desa no fit in this area.....

Posted by Desa20201956 > Feb 22, 2016 09:02 PM | Report Abuse 

Icon....whether margin too high too low is all about risk tolerance, about strategy and details of the portfolio. 

Hedge funds routinely take up gearing of 100 to 1 even when they have confidence in their modeling.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-02-22 21:20 | Report Abuse

I maintain my stance that if few days of correction can trigger margin call, it is stupid

Prejudgment, misjudgment, or whatever

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-22 21:42 | Report Abuse

The prejudgements refers to people's response to what he wrote.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-22 21:42 | Report Abuse

Stocks routinely drop 10 % within days. 10 to 1 gearing means you are wiped out already.

Hedge funds use a combination of longs and shorts and saddle to manage risks using standard deviations calculations.

It's two different worlds.....but the principle remains the same.

Whether too high gearing too low gearing is a question of risk tolerance, expected standard deviations of the portfolio......

Of course when KYY says you can use margin provided you know how to choose your stocks ...he is simplistic and naive.

Professionals do not look at the fundamentals of the stocks.....they look at the standard deviations of the portfolio....but when a black swan event came, the pros too all got buried.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-22 21:47 | Report Abuse

The co relation ship of the components inside the portfolio.

A highly co related portfolio becomes highly dangerous.....concentration of risks.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-02-22 21:52 | Report Abuse

If a few days correction can trigger a margin call, it is stupid

No need bull and cock story....

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-02-22 21:53 | Report Abuse

No wonder they said u r a snake oil sales man...

Posted by kcchongnz > 2016-02-22 21:59 | Report Abuse

Posted by Desa20201956 > Feb 22, 2016 09:42 PM | Report Abuse

Hedge funds use a combination of longs and shorts and saddle to manage risks using standard deviations calculations.

Really kah? Can elaborate?

Posted by manimaniONGG > 2016-02-22 22:08 | Report Abuse

Posted by Desa20201956 > Feb 22, 2016 09:42 PM | Report Abuse

Really kah? Can elaborate?

desa,
give us an example using Bursa as context to demo your actual knowledge other than cut and paste!

Posted by manimaniONGG > 2016-02-22 22:10 | Report Abuse

Posted by Desa20201956 > Feb 22, 2016 09:02 PM | Report Abuse

Hedge funds routinely take up gearing of 100 to 1 even when they have confidence in their modelling.

Really kay? gearing of 100??

i been in hedge fund for 2 decades i donno anyone do that.

Posted by manimaniONGG > 2016-02-22 22:12 | Report Abuse

pls dont make me laugh Desa. do u really know what is hedge fund?

it seems like to you, hedge funds is just using 1 dollar to bet 100 dollar position? u r so stupid.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-02-22 22:18 | Report Abuse

I think Desa cut and paste from Wikipedia ...

Posted by manimaniONGG > 2016-02-22 22:24 | Report Abuse

the different between mutual fund and hedge fund.

mutual fund are long only fund. mostly buy and hold listed companies stocks for longterm growth. most mutual fund are not allowed to invest in certain high risk instruments or co. that failed the parameters.

on the other hand
hedged fund. trade long and short both stocks and anything tradable. and use derivatives to hedge their position without any restriction. without any pre-set time frame.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-02-22 22:26 | Report Abuse

I hope optimus is here

He used to work for hedge fund

Posted by manimaniONGG > 2016-02-22 22:27 | Report Abuse

Desa think hedge fund is big punters. using 1 dollar to bet 100 dollar position.

this show how naive he is. all his knowledge are from Hear Say.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2016-02-22 22:30 | Report Abuse

Posted by Icon8888 > Feb 22, 2016 10:18 PM | Report Abuse
I think Desa cut and paste from Wikipedia ...

When you come to hard finance, wikipedia, investopedia, Desapedia should never be used. One will fail citing from them as often the facts are incorrect.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-02-22 22:33 | Report Abuse

How about pohlanpahpedia ?

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-22 22:39 | Report Abuse

Chong.....cut and paste?

You must be impressed to think it is cut and paste job.

Say you are impressed with Desa and next time sure to listen.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2016-02-22 22:39 | Report Abuse

Posted by Icon8888 > Feb 22, 2016 10:33 PM | Report Abuse

How about pohlanpahpedia ?

That reference is disgusting!

Posted by kcchongnz > 2016-02-22 22:41 | Report Abuse

Posted by Desa20201956 > Feb 22, 2016 10:39 PM | Report Abuse

Chong.....cut and paste?

You must be impressed to think it is cut and paste job.

Say you are impressed with Desa and next time sure to listen.

Impressed me? All what you are talking is empty and without substance. Want to discuss in more details?

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-22 22:46 | Report Abuse

chong you pay me ah?

for free...that is as far as I go.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2016-02-22 22:47 | Report Abuse

Posted by duitKWSPkita > Feb 22, 2016 10:44 PM | Report Abuse

Mr.Chong....

rilek la bro... tonight Chap Goh Mei....... spend quality time with loved family..... it is the besttttttttttttttttttttttttttttt...

Thanks Duit. Just a little excited as long time never discuss with anybody about modern portfolio theory, financial risk management etc. These were my favorite topics. I said "were". Now there seem to be a "knowledgeable" person to discuss with.

Posted by manimaniONGG > 2016-02-22 22:48 | Report Abuse

Sifu desa. Pls teach PLP skill

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-22 22:48 | Report Abuse

onggg, couldn't bothered how many decades you got in the hedge fund industry....You don't impress me at all.....

bad staffs they employing nowadays.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2016-02-22 22:48 | Report Abuse

Posted by Desa20201956 > Feb 22, 2016 10:46 PM | Report Abuse

chong you pay me ah?

for free...that is as far as I go.

I know I know, that is as far you can go. But you already all naked.

Posted by manimaniONGG > 2016-02-22 22:57 | Report Abuse

Desa. You said hedge fund routinely using 1 dollar to play 100 dollar. Which kopitiam you heard that?

Wakakaka.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2016-02-22 23:01 | Report Abuse

Posted by duitKWSPkita > Feb 22, 2016 10:52 PM | Report Abuse
Mr kc chong...
看开点,我们来这里提拔人而已。。。。我们没有资格去改变任何人(何况人家不领情)。。。把时间留给有潜能被塑造的人才

You know I have not been arguing with anybody in i3investor for so long,and I don't wish to now too. But this fellow came to my threads and mocked and ridiculed me, not only once or twice. So I just want see what he has to mock me? But I have found out that he has nothing, absolutely nothing at all. So why mock me?

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-22 23:03 | Report Abuse

its routinely done prior to 2008 when the model allows it ....lets say rock solid 5 standard deviations portfolio that only fluctuate no more than .5% based on the construction of the portfolio.

it will be silly not to take up the offer.

y manimaniONGG > Feb 22, 2016 10:57 PM | Report Abuse

Desa. You said hedge fund routinely using 1 dollar to play 100 dollar. Which kopitiam you heard that?

Wakakaka.

Posted by manimaniONGG > 2016-02-22 23:05 | Report Abuse

zzzzzzz *vomiting*

zzzzzzz....

I m not impressed. desa, you need to work harder.

Posted by Desa20201956 > Feb 22, 2016 11:03 PM | Report Abuse

its routinely done prior to 2008 when the model allows it ....lets say rock solid 5 standard deviations portfolio that only fluctuate no more than .5% based on the construction of the portfolio.

it will be silly not to take up the offer.

y manimaniONGG > Feb 22, 2016 10:57 PM | Report Abuse

Wakakaka.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-22 23:08 | Report Abuse

you should protect your turf...good luck to you. Lets see how you protect your turf....others are watching.

kcchongnz > Feb 22, 2016 11:01 PM | Report Abuse

Posted by duitKWSPkita > Feb 22, 2016 10:52 PM | Report Abuse
Mr kc chong...
看开点,我们来这里提拔人而已。。。。我们没有资格去改变任何人(何况人家不领情)。。。把时间留给有潜能被塑造的人才

Posted by manimaniONGG > 2016-02-22 23:11 | Report Abuse

Desa, anymore hear-say from kopitiam to share here?

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-22 23:14 | Report Abuse

duit...I would really love to discuss issues, not me.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-22 23:15 | Report Abuse

not from kopitiam....from my instincts. Not impressed with you at all.

manimaniONGG > Feb 22, 2016 11:11 PM | Report Abuse

Posted by manimaniONGG > 2016-02-22 23:17 | Report Abuse

if your instincts is of any good. why at the age of 60 your portfolio is only rm100k? and not rm 100million??

Posted by Desa20201956 > Feb 22, 2016 11:15 PM | Report Abuse

not from kopitiam....from my instincts. Not impressed with you at all.

manimaniONGG > Feb 22, 2016 11:11 PM | Report Abuse

Posted by manimaniONGG > 2016-02-22 23:20 | Report Abuse

Desa on drugs. he has hallucination. He think he is George Soros + Warren Buffet.

Ven Felix

2,182 posts

Posted by Ven Felix > 2016-02-22 23:21 | Report Abuse

Being a responsible & qualified account clerk quote his comments in i3 base on instincts ?

Think first lar bfor comment,,pls. This is public i3 forumers platform.Since u claim yourself to be responsible & inteligent creature.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-22 23:23 | Report Abuse

I don't intend to write my biography before I post here.

manimaniONGG > Feb 22, 2016 11:17 PM | Report Abuse

if your instincts is of any good. why at the age of 60 your portfolio is only rm100k? and not rm 100million??

Ven Felix

2,182 posts

Posted by Ven Felix > 2016-02-22 23:23 | Report Abuse

This Desa, even have gender identical difficulty ..Q.P..pui !

Posted by manimaniONGG > 2016-02-22 23:23 | Report Abuse

duit is a clown? i thought he is a pastor?

Posted by manimaniONGG > 2016-02-22 23:26 | Report Abuse

Desa, i m looking for an account clerk. r u interested to apply? can be flex hour.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-22 23:27 | Report Abuse

duit.

I am free
I have confidence
I can lift it
I can drop it.
I can handle it.

of course I prefer to discuss issues....but these people keeps talking about me instead of issues.

a bit tough. But, I am free.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-22 23:29 | Report Abuse

Onggg Felix.....all these low rats got nothing to contribute....but very irritating.

Posted by manimaniONGG > 2016-02-22 23:30 | Report Abuse

Om Mani Mani comehome. you not Pastor? u sure?

wakakakaka.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-22 23:31 | Report Abuse

any day any time I prefer to discuss more intelligent stuffs. You set up a topic, I will join you.

by duitKWSPkita > Feb 22, 2016 11:28 PM | Report Abuse

Desa bro...........

come...... one day we discuss market psychology and we share share how Market Maker makan duit

Posted by manimaniONGG > 2016-02-22 23:32 | Report Abuse

duit bro. u wan discuss with tg rambutan guy?

Ven Felix

2,182 posts

Posted by Ven Felix > 2016-02-22 23:32 | Report Abuse

Brainless Desa, turning green green...use your brain bfor comment. i3 readers far smarter than u tot.

Posted by manimaniONGG > 2016-02-22 23:40 | Report Abuse

i got Duit 1 friend is enough!

CKWan11d

567 posts

Posted by CKWan11d > 2016-02-23 19:25 | Report Abuse

What could I recollect from these comments?

To know that you know what you know, and you know what you do not know, is true knowledge.

知之为知之 不知为不知 乃真知也.