56 comment(s). Last comment by PlsGiveBonus 2016-07-27 21:47

Posted by murali > 2016-07-26 15:42 | Report Abuse

Tuition biz closed shop...cohort also closed shop....now putting all his dreams in market crash....hoping that could make a change in his life forever

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-07-26 15:44 | Report Abuse

My strategy is very simple
I invest with my "house money"
Dunno what is house money?
So you are not even an investor

connie

37,452 posts

Posted by connie > 2016-07-26 15:46 | Report Abuse

hello ipomember .. thanks for sharing !! yes to be a contrarian is easy said than done especially when market is really crushed by the bears :( more so for newbies like us who have not witnessed such catastrophe before ...

joekit

833 posts

Posted by joekit > 2016-07-26 15:52 | Report Abuse

Bursa can crash down 300 points in a day.

Junichiro

2,057 posts

Posted by Junichiro > 2016-07-26 16:08 | Report Abuse

Most of the foreigners have already sold out. And local funds holding on to most of the blue chips. I do not think the market will crash like that in 1997 when a huge chunk of shares in KLSE is owned by foreigners.
Crashes are few and far between. When the moment comes, you must be brave enough to seize the moment. But your timing must be right. When the speculative attack began on the Thai Bath in Mar 1997, I sold off all my shares n bought it back on 1st Sept 1997. If u have bought in between, u might also end up selling at loss because the shares fell as if the market has not bottom.

Junichiro

2,057 posts

Posted by Junichiro > 2016-07-26 16:12 | Report Abuse

Those who opt to hold the shares thru' up n downs normally diversify their holdings.
But from my experience, diversification increase the risk. No matter how u diversify, it does not help much if the crash is like in 1997. I choose to sell off my entire holdings n wait to buy it back.

ckkhen

193 posts

Posted by ckkhen > 2016-07-26 16:16 | Report Abuse

ipomember is corrrect re share fundamnentals. Crash or not if the company is strong, the business will not be so much affected e.g. Nestle, Dlady and Panamy. These solid companies keep paying good dividends because of good profits. And their prices keep going up. So if market crashes, and their prices go down, it won't go down that much. You can buy more since it will be cheaper. No need to sell good counters especially those paying good dividends.

In December 2014, I sold off all my shares (mostly good) because one top local value investor said crash/recession is coming soon. I regretted my decision because 6 months later the market shot up! I jumped in and bought back some of the good shares I sold. Though I bought them at a higher price, I am glad they have since gone up e.g. Dlady, Panamy and Padini. I also bought Scientx, Apollo, SAM and Aji.(Of course I also have some losers). If I have kept cash and wait for the crash, I would be losing out even with 4% FD.

So, don't sell blindly.

connie

37,452 posts

Posted by connie > 2016-07-26 16:20 | Report Abuse

all great sharing .. very informative ! good for inexperienced bursa newcomers :)

Junichiro

2,057 posts

Posted by Junichiro > 2016-07-26 16:21 | Report Abuse

Really I do not consider 2014 a crash. Most of the counters staged a v shape reversal n I managed to make 1k even with the lousy counter FGV.

Junichiro

2,057 posts

Posted by Junichiro > 2016-07-26 16:26 | Report Abuse

We play the same shares over n over. Shares move in cycles. Once its 5 impulse wave is completed, the next cycle is down. So there is a saying "there is a time to sow n a time to unfold".

ckkhen

193 posts

Posted by ckkhen > 2016-07-26 16:26 | Report Abuse

murali,

TTB

Posted by Jonathan Keung > 2016-07-26 16:27 | Report Abuse

to time the market. you need a magic crystal ball. nonetheless, only trade with your excess cash not sell your house . what happen after selling the house the market goes higher. murphy law.

we are living in a challenging times with lots of uncertainities. but danger create opportunities. it's up to us to make use of this opportunities (to create value ).

LKS ( Hongkong superman ) also time wrongly what about we mortals. he bet big on Europe but with Brexit and the IS killings ( he needs to hold on to his investment ) DOw was not everybody cup of tea. but look at DOW historically high.

Cheers. last reminder dont sell your house , car or your w_fe etc

Posted by murali > 2016-07-26 16:29 | Report Abuse

Ckkhen,oic....still holding icap?

ViWizard

780 posts

Posted by ViWizard > 2016-07-26 16:29 | Report Abuse

keep cash , buy low , share price up , sell
repeat! hahahah

Posted by murali > 2016-07-26 16:31 | Report Abuse

Still can trade n make money while waiting for the big day

ckkhen

193 posts

Posted by ckkhen > 2016-07-26 16:32 | Report Abuse

My strategy now is to keep some cash for any big market fall and buy more of my winners if they drop badly and value emerges. Why abandon winning horses?

connie

37,452 posts

Posted by connie > 2016-07-26 16:35 | Report Abuse

very good discussion / advice instead of just bombarding mr teh .. this is beneficial for us !

Posted by murali > 2016-07-26 16:36 | Report Abuse

Ttb has been predicting the market since since 2011.....so far belum kena lagi

Junichiro

2,057 posts

Posted by Junichiro > 2016-07-26 16:37 | Report Abuse

One example, BP (British Petroleum). It is first wave started in abt 1982 n it completed its final 5th wave in abt 2006 by which time it started to correct.

Posted by Jonathan Keung > 2016-07-26 16:39 | Report Abuse

maybe we should look at this market objectively. minimized your portfolios to only 4- 5 counters. do not overdiversify many counters. hold on to those counters making profits and cut those loss making trades. this my personal view.

Junichiro

2,057 posts

Posted by Junichiro > 2016-07-26 16:41 | Report Abuse

If u started yr working life abt 1982 n u have bought this share, u would have a great time savouring its dividends n the share weathered most of the market downturns including 1987.

ckkhen

193 posts

Posted by ckkhen > 2016-07-26 16:44 | Report Abuse

murali,
Yes, plenty sine IPO days and add over the years. Average @1.82. Still in the money. If liquidate worth 3.05. Okaylah. But I am open to forummers' recommendations like Icon8888 (Aji), KCChong (Magni, Scientx, SAM, Padini,Perstima, Apollo,etc) plus my own study (UPA, Panamy, Dlady). Keep some FDs and ready cash for future oppportunities. Keep reading i13 articles,views. Win-win situation.

Posted by Jonathan Keung > 2016-07-26 16:46 | Report Abuse

Icap (TTB) missed out on the market by being too cautious. you have your good points being conservative ( but at the same time ) strong possibilities of not hitting the jack-pot.

Holding cash during recession applies when there is a sustained drop over a long period of times. with zero interest ( Japan, Europe , US ) a marginal rate rise actually helps to stimulate markets.

China, Britain and Germany are all armed to teeth ( Monetary policies ) to
kick start their country's economy. people are all chasing for higher rates across the globe

ckkhen

193 posts

Posted by ckkhen > 2016-07-26 16:47 | Report Abuse

Jonathan Keung,
Correct. Always keep the winners but sell the losers.

Junichiro

2,057 posts

Posted by Junichiro > 2016-07-26 16:50 | Report Abuse

Today, BP's glorious days are already over. Kodak Eastman ended bankrupt. Everything is transitory. If u started yr working life abt 1982, today u would have reached retirement age. And u would have fallen in love with the share and refusing to part with it.

Junichiro

2,057 posts

Posted by Junichiro > 2016-07-26 16:51 | Report Abuse

Krugman said that zero interest rates will be the new normal. Perhaps Fed will just keep postponing the rate hike.

aunloke

974 posts

Posted by aunloke > 2016-07-26 17:20 | Report Abuse

Watch out if the market really crash this time may be different, it may be deeper and last longer.

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-07-26 17:27 | Report Abuse

Sell sell...
Kwap no money
Kwsp no money
Pensioner still need to spend their pension

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-07-26 17:39 | Report Abuse

Pensioner can take their money and spend oversea
Because their money why not?

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-07-26 17:42 | Report Abuse

But no one want to spend
Big fund all no job small fund also fked

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-07-26 17:43 | Report Abuse

Small fund can die very fast
Time to grab the loot from small fund

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-07-26 17:45 | Report Abuse

Small fund also just take other people money
They take the profit and give you risk
If they die they can run another new fund
While people die they cannot revive

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-07-26 17:46 | Report Abuse

You see there is 1500 fund in this country
More than the plc in the bursa
Fund is bigger than plc amazing

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-07-26 17:47 | Report Abuse

If 1 plc kaput, 1.5 fund go kaput to be fair

DLee

988 posts

Posted by DLee > 2016-07-26 21:01 | Report Abuse

agree n disagree but every 10 yrs market will crash , 1985-86,97-98,o8-09,
next will be 17-18.

1,902 posts

Posted by 007 > 2016-07-27 08:41 | Report Abuse

ha ha ha very impatience fellow, so when market crash, he will jump in and get stuck all his cash in the stock market. so the family will go suffer together with him. he has to live way below his means. not so clever. he is dreaming anyway

wan7075

239 posts

Posted by wan7075 > 2016-07-27 12:45 | Report Abuse

if you are not bumi and don't have ASB? what will you do? FD?

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-07-27 13:21 | Report Abuse

Buy house only
See people like Japanese no need handicap also can survive

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-07-27 13:22 | Report Abuse

Aeon no need handicap
Strawberry generation all want spoonfeed cannot survive

Posted by Unicorn_park > 2016-07-27 13:30 | Report Abuse

Guys i know we are impossible to predict market crash on time but we can always follow the action of smart money. ;)

Posted by Jonathan Keung > 2016-07-27 15:02 | Report Abuse

smart money hide ther money trail very well unless you are with them you wont know what's happening. i always believed do the things you know best. warren buffee missed out on microsoft but saved on dotcom bust. Buffee says he doesnt know a thing about dotcom business that's the reason he stay out of the frenzy.

sostupid

447 posts

Posted by sostupid > 2016-07-27 16:00 | Report Abuse

Time to go ... to give tuition ... to earn that CASH and SAVE inside the bank. TEH
You give tuition on what? On how to be crazy, predict when the market going to crash and when the market going to go up. Talk and Can't do that is why you give tuition to tell people to do something that is what can talk but can't do?

sostupid

447 posts

Posted by sostupid > 2016-07-27 16:04 | Report Abuse

From the way you write your experience, I know you are a 愛講不愛做的人 (self-proclaimed smart ass), for that also you need to give tuition, tell them how to be like you.

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-07-27 16:08 | Report Abuse

I will only invest when fund manager jump from their high rise
By then u can collect his loots that is left behind
Remember no blood no gain

sostupid

447 posts

Posted by sostupid > 2016-07-27 16:16 | Report Abuse

Bargain hunting time is over. Just because bargain hunng time is over you also don't need to sell your old underwear.No wonder someone once said in i3 forum you are very insercure and sell people out very fast when they are of no use to you. Time to go ... to give tuition ... to earn that CASH and SAVE inside the bank. TEH. Exploiting people and ask them to buy your underwear.

Posted by Unicorn_park > 2016-07-27 16:17 | Report Abuse

The stock market is an open book. Only it depends on your knowledge to successfully digest the info available.

They can hide their money trails, but they can't hide the action of their money.

sostupid

447 posts

Posted by sostupid > 2016-07-27 16:38 | Report Abuse

Be greedy if you are not fearful, but be fearful if you are greedy. Someone is sitting in a shed now because someone planted a tree a long time ago. You can not choose when to buy stocks but you can choose what stocks to buy provided you have your own ideas and you don't follow other people's advices especially from those you pick up from tuition center that teaches you to become 愛講不愛做的人(a self-proclaimed smart ass). You are not sure if they are trying to sell you their old underwear or not.

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-07-27 21:42 | Report Abuse

I always heard people say when is the best time to invest?
They will say now is always the best time, sound true because it is long term, but they don't tell you to invest a small portion of the money slowly, many times they will like you to sailing all your family like a boss, as long as they get the commission based on the percentage of your money, the more the better, fund manager don't care about what time.

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-07-27 21:44 | Report Abuse

Pensioner is very good target they are so very wealthy with cash, 500k? 600k? No problem, they got cash and they can always everytime now is the best time to invest.

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-07-27 21:47 | Report Abuse

It is good to wait many pensioners loss all their pension and put it on newspaper cry father cry mother, that is the time investor come to collect the loots.