6 people like this.

27 comment(s). Last comment by leecheecheang 2016-08-24 20:27

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-07-30 14:51 | Report Abuse

Thanks fortunebullz for your input

Posted by shortinvestor77 > 2016-07-30 15:44 | Report Abuse

If the concluding remarks are true, then we should all buy CIMB NIAGA. But now through CIMB, we can get some first.

Posted by cheoky > 2016-07-30 17:09 | Report Abuse

Good insight sharing. Holding cimb tightly n soundly

Posted by soojinhou > 2016-07-30 18:33 | Report Abuse

I like the difficult reforms Jokowi has pushed through, and it appears that Indon may outgrow Malaysia in the future. The tax amnesty it undertook will bring in a flood of money, and if Jokowi plays his cards right, all these money will go to fund infrastructures that Indonesia badly needs. Banking as a bellwether of the economy will likely benefit.

Posted by haslinda92 > 2016-07-30 18:54 | Report Abuse

hi,i m newbie...hope can learn some investment skills here.....CIMB will be my first stock....

Cimb

112 posts

Posted by Cimb > 2016-07-30 18:55 | Report Abuse

Old news.

Posted by haslinda92 > 2016-07-30 19:02 | Report Abuse

RM4.00....good deal??

Posted by haslinda92 > 2016-07-30 19:04 | Report Abuse

hmm....anyone working in CIMB?? How's the management?

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2016-07-31 09:52 | Report Abuse

How is am bank ?

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2016-07-31 09:52 | Report Abuse

Am bank also almost better than cimb
Exclude the public bank , hong leong , MAYBANK

Posted by benjamin2013 > 2016-07-31 13:13 | Report Abuse

Icon, oil prices are falling. Will there be more provisions? I bet so.

Posted by benjamin2013 > 2016-07-31 13:15 | Report Abuse

But its a good price to enter if you can hold for 5 years, not 5 months. Just my 2 cents.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-07-31 13:17 | Report Abuse

maybe yes... maybe no... I don't know...

Posted by shortinvestor77 > 2016-07-31 20:44 | Report Abuse

Investment must now capitalize on those countries that have potential of high GDP such as Philipines and Indonesia and Vietnam etc..Public Bank, CIMB and Maybank are supposed to be considered as they have branches there.

Posted by shortinvestor77 > 2016-07-31 20:48 | Report Abuse

Thus there is no doubt Maybank and CIMB subsidiaries in Indonesia are doing very well from the recent announced quarter results for instance. The trend could be continue for many years to come.

Posted by shortinvestor77 > 2016-07-31 20:54 | Report Abuse

Icon8888, you got a point.

jayloh

Posted by jayloh > 2016-08-01 08:51 | Report Abuse

CIMB is definitely worthy to be take note. Personally, I am more bullish on its upcoming 2Q but less bullish on its target price. If you look in details, their non-interest income dip a lot (almost Rm200m) compared to previous quarters due to trading losses but still their profit is stable. If all else maintain, non-interest income back to normal plus Indon, I think Rm1 bil is reasonable. But I think its price should trade between RM4.85-RM5.40 for the next 6 months mainly bcos the ROE has came down a lot since their good days and sentiment on the banking industry is not great

Max2838

460 posts

Posted by Max2838 > 2016-08-01 09:44 | Report Abuse

AmBank has a much better valuation than CIMB and also low exposure to Indonesia & Thailand. Poor yields in O&G, Plantation & Coal mines will continue to affect banks in general for next few qtrs...

limchimleong

1,732 posts

Posted by limchimleong > 2016-08-01 11:11 | Report Abuse

八兄,buy lah, what for what!

Posted by iloveshare128 > 2016-08-01 11:22 | Report Abuse

Thanks Icon for your sharing again...
But I see 2 potential risks which may be quite averse to CIMB:
1) Non-Niaga net profit has been deteriorating since the past 3 quarters, from 778million to 752millions and then to 731millions. 3 consecutive quarters of poorer results. So it may not be correct to use the average of previous 3 quarters to arrive at 754million net profit. You see each quarter the net profit reduced by 21-26milions. So I expect non-niaga profit for Q2 maybe 731-(21-26million) = 705-710million instead of 754millions.
2) Yes, Niaga net profit has improved over the past 3 quarters. But the weightage is around 83/731=11% for the whole CIMB group... even if Niaga profit increases by 50million, it can be easily wiped out by non-Niaga profit that is reducing.

Conclusion: recent cut of OPR will definitely reduce profitability for banks (including CIMB) so i expect poorer net profit in Malaysia... and since non-Niaga profit is still a doubt (and has a high chance of getting worse), i dun see how Niaga profit (with small weightage) will help improve the overall CIMB group's profit...

just my 2 cents and I could be wrong...
enjoy investing though, cheers...

insulter

211 posts

Posted by insulter > 2016-08-01 11:46 | Report Abuse

buy when morgan give up cimb, what make u think u can pro than morgan analysis the futures

LKOH

365 posts

Posted by LKOH > 2016-08-01 13:18 | Report Abuse

Icon8888, between MBSB and CIMB, which is a better buy?

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-08-01 13:24 | Report Abuse

next quarter if result bad how? Higher provision etc.???? hehe. Sell again ah? at loss ah?

pharker

1,081 posts

Posted by pharker > 2016-08-01 15:38 | Report Abuse

you miss the boat or what ??

hahaha

Posted by leecheecheang > 2016-08-24 20:27 | Report Abuse

yes keep it for long term.