12 people like this.

79 comment(s). Last comment by ronnietan 2016-09-26 10:52

Posted by 100percentprofits > 2016-09-24 23:20 | Report Abuse

I noticed that clicking on the link for the safeguard duty will inform you that it is only for subscribers.
Therefore, if you want to view the website, just type the following into Google and it will direct you to the website, without requiring subscription.

- Malaysia imposes preliminary safeguard duty on rebar imports
- Malaysia sets preliminary safeguard duty on imports of wire rod

53,198 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2016-09-24 23:27 | Report Abuse

Thumbs Up For MASTEEL!! THE VERY BEST OF ALL STEEL STOCKS.

Just as Pm Corp is THE BEST AMONG Consumer Food Stocks.
RCECAP Is THE BEST OF BANKING STOCKS

MASTEEL or EMAS STEEL IS THE VEST BEST OF ALL STEEL STOCKS.

Hold Tight For a Multi Year High Performance Going Into Year 2017, 2018 & Beyond!!

Posted by wallstreet82 > 2016-09-24 23:31 | Report Abuse

Thanks for your sharing in Masteel. I have done a lot of research on this stock, with MRT infra projects ahead, Masteel is going to be benefited a lot.

Posted by wallstreet82 > 2016-09-24 23:33 | Report Abuse

If u happen to come across Masteel's latest QR, under prospect section, they hinted next few months demand will very increased significantly. MITI safeguard will contribute POSITIVE result if approved.

Posted by 100percentprofits > 2016-09-24 23:51 | Report Abuse

Wallstreet82, please note that the MITI safeguard IS approved - therefore it WILL contribute POSITIVELY to MASTEEL.

ronnietan

141 posts

Posted by ronnietan > 2016-09-25 00:13 | Report Abuse

100percentprofits, thanks for an interesting overview of the steel sector.
Any idea why the safeguard duty was reported by SteelOrbis from Istanbul rather than by Miti or local media in KL?

goody99

1,760 posts

Posted by goody99 > 2016-09-25 00:22 | Report Abuse

Now I know the reason the share prices of Annjoo, Masteel and SSteel moved in Friday afternoon. The big buyers knew about the good news and bought the shares like crazy...

Posted by wallstreet82 > 2016-09-25 00:47 | Report Abuse

thanks 100percentprofits. i'll buy MASTEEL aggressively considering its high upside. Still have long way to go.

Posted by wallstreet82 > 2016-09-25 00:49 | Report Abuse

hi ronnie tan, note that those steel big boys will get first hand info, and the website requires subscription/fee, so subscribers enjoy first hand info. MITI and media will probably announce on Monday. Good to buy aggressively on Monday opening before media announcement.

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-09-25 01:01 | Report Abuse

Good article

CityTrader

8,151 posts

Posted by CityTrader > 2016-09-25 08:31 | Report Abuse

Tq 100%profits. Then I will continue my holding from 0.71 til hit your TP. Huat arrrr.

Posted by gohchinlim > 2016-09-25 08:44 | Report Abuse

@100% profit, u have deliver a very very good article and comprehwnsive that i have read.tqvm. May I know , the raw material for steel pipe can use steel billet?, if yes, any advantages compare to hrc or crc.

Posted by George Peng > 2016-09-25 09:32 | Report Abuse

anyone can help analyse lionind?i see deep value in it..how about u?

RicheHo

135 posts

Posted by RicheHo > 2016-09-25 10:13 | Report Abuse

Good article indeed, thanks. I had a clearer picture on steel industry now.

Posted by John Chang > 2016-09-25 10:15 | Report Abuse

0.895 good entry point?

Posted by VenFx > 2016-09-25 10:41 | Report Abuse

Excellent Dissected steel industry article.

Posted by Benjamin_8888 > 2016-09-25 11:09 | Report Abuse

John I think now still can enter, not sure is good or no good, my avg is 0.72

Annetan

842 posts

Posted by Annetan > 2016-09-25 11:33 | Report Abuse

Thank you ,100%profit.Can you pls look into leonfb,disects it and share with us?

Hercules

102 posts

Posted by Hercules > 2016-09-25 12:09 | Report Abuse

Lionind will be same enjoy the benefit of safeguard and may even better due to closure of Megasteel which all the while Lionind compensate a lots of Megasteel huge loss.

George Peng anyone can help analyse lionind?i see deep value in it..how about u?
25/09/2016 09:32

ronnietan

141 posts

Posted by ronnietan > 2016-09-25 14:29 | Report Abuse

John Chang, there's no possibility of 89.5 sen as an entry point on Mon. Have to see how much it goes up.

ronnietan

141 posts

Posted by ronnietan > 2016-09-25 14:31 | Report Abuse

For those who see deep value in LionInd, care to write a few paragraphs on it, in an article or here?

ronnietan

141 posts

Posted by ronnietan > 2016-09-25 14:33 | Report Abuse

100percentprofits, your first article in i3? Excellent in information and in being readable. Hope you'll find more stocks to write on. Congrats.

connie

37,592 posts

Posted by connie > 2016-09-25 15:12 | Report Abuse

hi 100percentprofits ... read this statement from your awesome article !! may i ask based on classical TA, is there not a formula to compute the target price after the formation ... if not mistaken, target = breakout price from handle + the distance between right peak to bottom of cup ... thus, it may sound rather optimistic to say 'sky is the limit' if one uses TA to gauge target price ?

"Finally, if you haven’t seen a cup and handle, this is a perfect one. In technical trading, what usually follows is "The Sky is the Limit."

connie

37,592 posts

Posted by connie > 2016-09-25 15:23 | Report Abuse

so, probably after the cup & handle, we need another pattern to form to reach your FA target of 1.76 :)

"Therefore, a full year EPS of 28.8 (4.4c * 4Q * 2) shouldn’t be too surprising. Assigning a PE of 5 would yield a TP of RM1.76, close to double the current price"

Hercules

102 posts

Posted by Hercules > 2016-09-25 15:44 | Report Abuse

http://www.federalgazette.agc.gov.my/bm_index.php
refer to P.U (B) 420

ronnietan 100percentprofits, thanks for an interesting overview of the steel sector.
Any idea why the safeguard duty was reported by SteelOrbis from Istanbul rather than by Miti or local media in KL?

Benz10

9 posts

Posted by Benz10 > 2016-09-25 16:30 | Report Abuse

MITI has announced on last Friday.
http://www.miti.gov.my/index.php/pages/view/3075

Hercules

102 posts

Posted by Hercules > 2016-09-25 16:31 | Report Abuse

I'm optimist the TP can achieve. Not to forget that after safeguard, meaning there are no more imported steel from China, Turkey and etc. Whereas I heard some steel manufacturer saying that those imported stock was flooded in our market more than 50% and that's why all these steel counter suffer huge loss since China slow down.

After this gov intervention not surprisingly can see all steel player back on track on previous price I.e.

Average Price around Year 2012
Masteel 1.20
Lionind 1.50
Annjoo 2.50
Ssteel 2.00

Posted by WealthWizard > 2016-09-25 17:47 | Report Abuse

Great article, well done!

SALAM

1,024 posts

Posted by SALAM > 2016-09-25 18:43 | Report Abuse

In view of that fact that Chinese dumping had already flooded our market for sometime, it might take a long time to digest considering that our residential sector had also slow down substantially.

Posted by MonkeyBusiness > 2016-09-25 18:53 | Report Abuse

Before everyone feeling too excited about the steel industry, maybe author or someone can help to explain the following:

Prices of Rebar in Malaysia (Source: MITI)

----------Low-----High

21/9/2016 1,720 1,870
15/9/2016 1,720 1,870
8/9/2016 1,800 1,950
30/8/2016 1,750 1,990
26/8/2016 1,840 1,990
26/7/2016 1,780 1,930
24/6/2016 1,750 1,950
30/5/2016 2,180 2,380
22/4/2016 2,100 2,300
21/3/2016 1,650 1,800
26/2/2016 1,520 1,620
27/1/2016 1,450 1,550
22/12/2015 1,450 1,550
17/11/2015 1,500 1,600
27/10/2015 1,500 1,600
22/9/2015 1,600 1,700
26/8/2015 1,580 1,680
28/7/2015 1,650 1,750
30/6/2015 1,760 1,860
27/5/2015 1,840 1,940
28/4/2015 1,840 1,940
31/3/2015 1,850 1,950
24/2/2015 1,800 1,900
27/1/2015 1,900 2,000

Posted by MonkeyBusiness > 2016-09-25 18:55 | Report Abuse

The financial period ended 31/3/2016 were largely helped by forex gain of RM 6,049,000

The profit of RM5,076,000 would become loss of RM973,000

Posted by MonkeyBusiness > 2016-09-25 18:58 | Report Abuse

Malaysia experienced shortage of rebar in April & May, causing the price rocketed to sky level, but the revenue of Masteel for quarter (1/4/2016-30/6/2016) was RM268m, slightly higher than last year's same period RM242m.

Posted by MonkeyBusiness > 2016-09-25 19:01 | Report Abuse

Did the profit in that quarter helped by clearance of stocks at much higher prices because of cancellation of supplies from China?

Rebar price has since then gone down.

erkongseng

3,192 posts

Posted by erkongseng > 2016-09-25 19:04 | Report Abuse

100%PROFIT:a full year EPS of 35.2 (4.4c * 4Q * 2) shouldn’t be too surprising. Assigning a PE of 5 would yield a TP of RM1.76
100% 净利:感恩你专业与诚实的分享,谢谢了。

Posted by MonkeyBusiness > 2016-09-25 19:06 | Report Abuse

How about cost of productions for rebar? Has it gone down as well? What is the margin before the sudden surge & after?

Not knowing the rebal prices in malaysia, not knowing the cost structure of producing rebar, not knowing the exact prices in China, what can we predict the performance of a company?

Posted by MonkeyBusiness > 2016-09-25 19:09 | Report Abuse

I knew this website way before this article, I did not trust this analysis because it has not stated the sources of data, users contributed towards the date & so on.

Nothing was mentioned in their website.

I have even registered with the website but getting the same report every week.

http://steelbenchmarker.com/files/history.pdf

Posted by MonkeyBusiness > 2016-09-25 19:10 | Report Abuse

I will publish an article to discuss further about this topic

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-09-25 19:14 | Report Abuse

Tighten the seat belt
:)

Posted by MonkeyBusiness > 2016-09-25 19:26 | Report Abuse

Please take note that MRT2 project won't help much because it is just continuous part of MRT1 project.

It's is not something new demand, it is just making demand for steel to continue sustain at previous level.

If during the execution of MRT1 project in previous did not make all steel producers profitable, what so special about MRT2 project to steel producers, especially those producing long products.

Posted by MonkeyBusiness > 2016-09-25 19:28 | Report Abuse

The article just touch on the face of industry, not deep discussion into prices & costs, then projected huge profits in coming months assuming rebar price is now still RM2,400 as in April & May 2016.

Posted by MonkeyBusiness > 2016-09-25 19:29 | Report Abuse

So tighten the seat belt to fall?

Posted by probability > 2016-09-25 19:35 | Report Abuse

wah..that means the whole pile of Inventory (double of the McaP) will be written down?

IBanker

159 posts

Posted by IBanker > 2016-09-25 19:36 | Report Abuse

Monkey Business, you're just a theory king. Pls go and get more knowledge about steel industry before talk like a pro.

Posted by probability > 2016-09-25 19:39 | Report Abuse

from 2400 drop to 1870..thats like 22% drop in the value of its inventory?

Posted by probability > 2016-09-25 19:42 | Report Abuse

ok..may be 4% drop in the value of inventory only since they must have accumulated it long time ago slowly...but at 4% margin on revenue...things can get very critical.

Posted by MonkeyBusiness > 2016-09-25 19:53 | Report Abuse

IBanker, you just want to listen to what you wanted to listen, never look at my points.

I am not pro, but judging from my comments & yours, I know more than you.

Posted by MonkeyBusiness > 2016-09-25 19:54 | Report Abuse

Argue my points, don't simply give general not relevant opinion

WB2F

330 posts

Posted by WB2F > 2016-09-25 19:56 | Report Abuse

WB2F Last year posted RM50 million losses. Are you all sure that this counter still can buy ??? Overall global steel industry still not so good. :(

Posted by MonkeyBusiness > 2016-09-25 19:56 | Report Abuse

probability, the author has not discussed about it.

But for me, I don't know, it could be worse, maybe.

53,198 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2016-09-25 19:57 | Report Abuse

Posted by MonkeyBusiness > Sep 25, 2016 06:53 PM | Report Abuse

Before everyone feeling too excited about the steel industry, maybe author or someone can help to explain the following:

Prices of Rebar in Malaysia (Source: MITI)

----------Low-----High

21/9/2016 1,720 1,870
15/9/2016 1,720 1,870
8/9/2016 1,800 1,950
30/8/2016 1,750 1,990
26/8/2016 1,840 1,990
26/7/2016 1,780 1,930
24/6/2016 1,750 1,950
30/5/2016 2,180 2,380
22/4/2016 2,100 2,300
21/3/2016 1,650 1,800
26/2/2016 1,520 1,620
27/1/2016 1,450 1,550
22/12/2015 1,450 1,550
17/11/2015 1,500 1,600
27/10/2015 1,500 1,600
22/9/2015 1,600 1,700
26/8/2015 1,580 1,680
28/7/2015 1,650 1,750
30/6/2015 1,760 1,860
27/5/2015 1,840 1,940
28/4/2015 1,840 1,940
31/3/2015 1,850 1,950
24/2/2015 1,800 1,900
27/1/2015 1,900 2,000

Calvin replies,

Rebar prices are in middle range pricing BUT LOOK AT COST OF PRODUCTION WHICH FELL EVEN MUCH MORE DUE TO VERY CHEAP IRON & SCRAP STEEL PRICES. So the profit margin increases by a much bigger margin overall

And with Rm32 Billions New Mrt Orders Masteel's order book will scale and spike upwards

http://marketrealist.com/2015/02/latest-steel-industry-indicators-mean-investors/

http://www.indexmundi.com/commodities/?commodity=iron-ore&months=120