18 comment(s). Last comment by moneySIFU 2017-01-09 02:07

21,615 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-12-22 01:10 | Report Abuse

isnt it better in view of tax, expenses etc? Anyone can advise?

12,904 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2016-12-22 06:37 | Report Abuse

Good idea.

21,615 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-12-22 08:40 | Report Abuse

no comment kah? many here portfolio also near 1mil or above 1 mil right? doesn't it make sense to set up own fund

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-12-22 08:50 | Report Abuse

I support you paperplane

54,452 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2016-12-22 08:53 | Report Abuse

Very good!

Call it i3 investors' fund

SALAM

1,030 posts

Posted by SALAM > 2016-12-22 09:54 | Report Abuse

Calvin Tan is the Investment adviser cum consultant

21,615 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-12-22 10:22 | Report Abuse

I mean individually, if we have 1mil, inject into a fund management company set up ourselves. All expenses charge there. our food, travels, daily expenses, treat it as company expenses. draw salary there.
Then, also can use as a place to claims back 6% GST. Individual cant claims, but company can offsets.

Bizfuneng

883 posts

Posted by Bizfuneng > 2016-12-22 10:28 | Report Abuse

Can u elaborate and clarify on this part :

claims back 6% GST. Individual cant claims, but company can offsets.

Ty.

21,615 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-12-23 09:08 | Report Abuse

yeah. your expenses can claim.

21,615 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-12-23 09:40 | Report Abuse

under company. thts why set up company throw expenses there

MG9231

785 posts

Posted by MG9231 > 2016-12-23 10:07 | Report Abuse

One of the most important criteria is the tax problem.
If you invest via fund management co, capital gain for holding investment in short term and medium term will be subject to normal business tax rate. I. e 25% in addition of your dividend received.
2nd, a lot of paper recoding and accounts keeping works are involved and maintenance cost of the company which subject to audit as well as filing work which is not necessary for individual but fund management co is unavoidable.
3rd, unless you can form a boutique fund house with funds contributed by friends or relatives but that require an operating license from SC if I am not mistaken. Then, cost incurred can be shoulders among investors.
4th, for personal investment, why take the trouble?

Posted by Nighelanghelo > 2016-12-24 13:05 | Report Abuse

if sdn bhd , must be quite troublesome.
but sole proprietory company, can or not? nature of business - trading in shares.

21,615 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-12-28 12:45 | Report Abuse

MG9231 sifu, you are on of the person most qualify to advice. Appreciate your inputs.
Yes, the model I saw so far, boutique fund mgt most friendly one, as many regulations can be given exclusions.
For personal investment, it make sense also as you can form a company and dump all personal expenses into it as well, for example you buy houses, cars etc charge them as subsidy for directors, etc. end up you can make it looks like just breakeven. Go family holiday charge out as company trips etc.
If I understand correctly, once above certain level, we need to pay capital realised gain tax in Malaysia as well. To Billionaire probably it make sense.
LLP is one of the most best model to fit in also.....

21,615 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2017-01-08 21:22 | Report Abuse

No one got any new feedback.....hmmm, seems not make sense to most?

MG9231

785 posts

Posted by MG9231 > 2017-01-08 22:50 | Report Abuse

Paperplane2016, as an investment co, you can't charge much expenses for investment activity. Inland Revenue definitely will not allow it especially the expenses highlighted by you.
Just imagine if you make dividend + capital gain of a million yearly, you are subjected to 25% tax and Inand Revenue may query your unnecessary expenses?
You may end up slow down compounding your capital growth.
A smart move for personal investment is to do ipersonally n quietly.

5,852 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2017-01-09 02:02 | Report Abuse

paperplane, it is confirmed that if the income earned is related to activities conducted under personal capacity, that will be personal income tax. Furthermore, those expenses does not relate to the generation of income, so all are not tax deductible.

5,852 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2017-01-09 02:05 | Report Abuse

There is situation where few people can form a company for share investment purposes. However, there is only a handful of expenses you can claim.

5,852 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2017-01-09 02:07 | Report Abuse

The expenses that highlighted by you will definitely not allowable for tax deductible. IRB will not accept that.