good article.

zhangliang

728 posts

Posted by zhangliang > 2017-03-08 16:52 | Report Abuse

Thanks for sharing

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-03-08 16:59 | Report Abuse

This article is better than value investing and those who believe stock prices are a discounting / forecasting machine

This is the real deal.

5,846 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2017-03-08 17:12 | Report Abuse

Sound interesting, will read tonight.
------------------------------------
Posted by stockmanmy > Mar 8, 2017 04:59 PM | Report Abuse
This article is better than value investing and those who believe stock prices are a discounting / forecasting machine

This is the real deal.

Ezra

549 posts

Posted by Ezra > 2017-03-08 18:21 | Report Abuse

Posted by stockmanmy > Mar 8, 2017 04:59 PM | Report Abuse

This is the real deal.
------------------------------------------------------------

>Had zero idea what is Value Investing.
>Tries to act like a pro and criticize Value Investing.

The above article is talking about Value Investing, smartass.

-Above article: "When you buy shares in a firm, you own a percentage of that company. Or in accounting terms: (assets - liabilities = shareholder equity). The stock price however is based (theoretically) on the previous number, plus the discounted cash flow of future earnings."
= Discounted Cash Flow Analysis

-Above graph:
=Contents taken from Benjamin Graham's book: The Intelligent Investor.

"Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt." - Abraham Lincoln

Posted by VenFx > 2017-03-08 18:30 | Report Abuse

Stockmanmy, baru kena amdui in pre mature selling of Ekovest ; now kena dui by Ezra.
Bad day or Bad luck ?
Want to have a touch with Excellent Good Luck ?
Follow me to boat on Rooster EGg ... be QUICK !!!

5,846 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2017-03-08 21:22 | Report Abuse

It is good article, price movement is sometimes determined by demand & supply relationship. I always thinking trading in shares just like investment in property.

However, what is the meaning of price in property market? It's the value of property that you are hoping to buy for owning it or sell for cashing out.

How about sundry goods in a shop? You buy & pay for it because you need to use it later.

After all, it's the value of goods that determine the price, not the price that decide what should be the value of goods.

For stock market, if you think it as a business & do your own due diligence, then you will know how much you need to pay for owning it. It's the value of the business & future prospect that decide the price BUT not the price that determine the value of the company.

Price is temporaily in stock market, but you are judged y looking at the price if you are winner or loser later.

5,846 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2017-03-08 21:25 | Report Abuse

Knowing the value & pay as low as possible, sell it when people willing to pay high for it, then you will be the winner

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-03-08 21:27 | Report Abuse

ezra

what value investing when don't even know how prices work?

5,846 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2017-03-08 21:27 | Report Abuse

So, do your homework to find out good value company which is still selling at cheap

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-03-08 21:37 | Report Abuse

Ezra..

the only value investors are those portfolio managers making 5% or less p.a.

The real money is in Dynamic Investing and by super investors who sailang every thing

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-03-08 21:49 | Report Abuse

what makes a share go up and down is hardly ever value........................

it is always the X factor that makes a share go up or down.

lets say....a company announces increase profits from 10 sen to 20 sen. ...the share goes up from $ 1 to $ 2.

value investing my foot.

the price has doubled but still the same old company making slightly more money with no assurance any thing is repeatable.

Ezra

549 posts

Posted by Ezra > 2017-03-08 23:09 | Report Abuse

Posted by stockmanmy > Mar 8, 2017 09:37 PM | Report Abuse

Ezra..

the only value investors are those portfolio managers making 5% or less p.a.

The real money is in Dynamic Investing and by super investors who sailang every thing

---------------------------------------------------

Another case of know nothing, talking b***shit again.
Please go find out what is the return of Berkshire Hathaway, OakTree Capital, Value Partners, Scion Capital before you open your big mouth.

Dynamic Investing, which fund practices that? What return did they have? Provide with numbers and facts.
You don't even have an investing record for your own investing returns.

Posted by KLCI King > 2017-03-08 23:15 | Report Abuse

stockmanmy, I have seen you talking non stop promoting your so called "dynamic investing", which you admitted the core is to listen to news & rumours.

To me, you are just another apek in kopitiam pretending to be pro in stock market.

What Ezra said has sum it all for you.

Posted by Ezra > Mar 8, 2017 11:09 PM | Report Abuse
Please go find out what is the return of Berkshire Hathaway, OakTree Capital, Value Partners, Scion Capital before you open your big mouth.

Dynamic Investing, which fund practices that? What return did they have? Provide with numbers and facts.

Posted by yenhui_koh > 2017-03-09 00:27 | Report Abuse

Different methods for different type of market players. Value investors go for DCF, ratio analysis, etc...Technical go for charts and indicators. As long as you able to earn a good return by applying the method(s) you are comfortable with, then it's a good strategy.

Being one of the value investors, I would say we have our own ways of looking at the market and it's definitely different from other schools, so why should we pay that much attention to the noise?

IMHO, just stop giving limelight to attention seeker, especially a tin-kosong one. Keep responding to those ambiguous statements are just a waste of time and life.

Posted by VenFx > 2017-03-09 01:11 | Report Abuse

Manmy, follow your way to Hoot kaw kaw in EG-wc, sure will proof your theory.
I follow your idea ... sailang till my last drop I even sold my underwear for it.

Come on don't lost this chance, u hv missed Jhm, ViS ... do not miss the Rooster EGg !

Frank Soweto

Posted by Frank Soweto > 2017-03-09 05:19 | Report Abuse

dun play play i3 got plenty of real sifus - u can lie one time n get away with it but when u keep lying the sifus beh tahan huh u r PHARKED LOL - they will come out n take your dynamite investing in shove it up where the sun dun shine n BOOM it goes LOL

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-03-09 09:32 | Report Abuse

my wife sailang D & O
She braver than me.

VenFx > Mar 9, 2017 01:11 AM | Report Abuse

Manmy, follow your way to Hoot kaw kaw in EG-wc, sure will proof your theory.
I follow your idea ... sailang till my last drop I even sold my underwear for it.

Come on don't lost this chance, u hv missed Jhm, ViS ... do not miss the Rooster EGg !

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-03-09 09:38 | Report Abuse

do you buy a share and keep for life or 3- 5 years?

if not, don't BS me about value investing.

Frank Soweto > Mar 9, 2017 05:19 AM | Report Abuse

dun play play i3 got plenty of real sifus - u can lie one time n get away with it but when u keep lying the sifus beh tahan huh u r PHARKED LOL - they will come out n take your dynamite investing in shove it up where the sun dun shine n BOOM it goes LOL

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-03-09 09:41 | Report Abuse

value investor? go buy IWCITY and keep for 25 years la.

Frank Soweto > Mar 9, 2017 05:19 AM | Report Abuse

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-03-09 10:01 | Report Abuse

all forecasting is too inaccurate to be useful.
Pick up phone talk to CEO more accurate.

yenhui_koh > Mar 9, 2017 12:27 AM | Report Abuse

Different methods for different type of market players. Value investors go for DCF, ratio analysis, etc...Technical go for charts and indicators. As long as you able to earn a good return by applying the method(s) you are comfortable with, then it's a good strategy.

zhangliang

728 posts

Posted by zhangliang > 2017-03-09 11:30 | Report Abuse

I think all have own method to invest. Value investing, Chartist, TA whatever. Thats why our market is always fluctuate.... If all same style, market may not move. Hence no point fighting over the method! Have fun investing with ur own style!

Posted by MyGadangHuatBo > 2017-03-09 20:06 | Report Abuse

stockmanmy like to talk rubbish & not constructive

Posted by MyGadangHuatBo > 2017-03-09 20:08 | Report Abuse

See stockmanmy everywhere but no one can understand what he is talking about, except he himself kaki talk kaki song only

kmohan62

484 posts

Posted by kmohan62 > 2017-03-09 20:40 | Report Abuse

One will not lose money if he or she kept the content of this article in mind before,while and after investing...throw in the ability to keep one's emotion in check.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-03-09 20:53 | Report Abuse

actually you don't have to know.
You know only when you are ready

MyGadangHuatBo > Mar 9, 2017 08:08 PM | Report Abuse

See stockmanmy everywhere but no one can understand what he is talking about, except he himself kaki talk kaki song only

Tripaka

2,832 posts

Posted by Tripaka > 2017-03-09 20:55 | Report Abuse

Malaysian stock market is mostly ruled by emotions. Want to get rich in the quickest time and do not exercise patience. I am one of them but learning to change gradually. Speculators and syndicates capitalize on this emotional behavior and almost all the time the losers are ones running from one counter to another when uptrend is detected. Typical herd behavior. However, a few sometimes make big money from this but in the end will also lose everything unless he can manage his wealth soundly.

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2017-03-09 21:12 | Report Abuse

It is the Donald Trump
He made Dow Jone great again
God bless him

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-03-09 21:14 | Report Abuse

you think Wall Street is based on based and reality?
in many sense Wall Street is worse than Malaysia.

Alternative news elected a President in America.

I tell you want is fact... what is good for Wall Street short run is bad for economy long run.

Tripaka > Mar 9, 2017 08:55 PM | Report Abuse

Malaysian stock market is mostly ruled by emotions

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2017-03-09 21:15 | Report Abuse

When Dinald Trump open his mouth
The next day the stock price drop
:))

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-03-09 21:22 | Report Abuse

no one understands any thing until / unless they understand Yin Yang.

limch

2,917 posts

Posted by limch > 2017-03-09 21:25 | Report Abuse

Talk abt IW City. Last QR is loss so people chasing now expect coming QR big profit? How many will hold for 25 years?

Posted by Tripaka > Mar 9, 2017 08:55 PM | Report Abuse
Malaysian stock market is mostly ruled by emotions.

Posted by stockmanmy > Mar 9, 2017 09:41 AM | Report Abuse

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-03-09 23:15 | Report Abuse

if you are not holding for 25 years, you are not value investor. You are buying for factor X

limch > Mar 9, 2017 09:25 PM | Report Abuse

Talk abt IW City. Last QR is loss so people chasing now expect coming QR big profit? How many will hold for 25 years?

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-03-10 10:50 | Report Abuse

share up and down is not due to value investing.

it is due to X factor.

fake news just as important as real news.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-03-10 10:50 | Report Abuse

my wife sailang D & O
She braver than me.

ven.....sailang D & O

Posted by yenhui_koh > 2017-03-10 22:58 | Report Abuse

I don't see any difference between DCF, trend indicators and your suggestion - phone call to CEO. They are all forecasting and hence an estimation.

When you do DCF, you estimate the intrinsic value of a company based on its past financial performance;
When you draw support/resistance/zone/band, you estimate its TP and when to cut loss based on its past share price performance;
And when you ring the CEO, you ESTIMATE the company growth/future prospect based on the information provided by the CEO.

If audited financial report and/or market share price could not give you any sense of confidence, why would a conversation with CEO could when he/she has no say on the industry future?

stockmanmy > Mar 9, 2017 10:01 AM | Report Abuse

all forecasting is too inaccurate to be useful.
Pick up phone talk to CEO more accurate.

yenhui_koh > Mar 9, 2017 12:27 AM | Report Abuse

miker

708 posts

Posted by miker > 2017-03-10 23:08 | Report Abuse

Companies that consistently distributes good and increased dividend Q-by-Q and/or Y-by-Y will makes it price goes up.
Consistent good and increased dividend reflects all other factors or parameters - good management, efficient, business strategies, creative, innovative, valuing shareholders....

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-03-10 23:20 | Report Abuse

yen

if you really look at what analysts do with their DCF, you will spit on it and tear up their work.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-03-10 23:21 | Report Abuse

that is what they tell you but not what happens in KLSE.

miker > Mar 10, 2017 11:08 PM | Report Abuse

Companies that consistently distributes good and increased dividend Q-by-Q and/or Y-by-Y will makes it price goes up.
Consistent good and increased dividend reflects all other factors or parameters - good management, efficient, business strategies, creative, innovative, valuing shareholders....

Frank Soweto

Posted by Frank Soweto > 2017-03-11 03:21 | Report Abuse

Posted by stockmanmy > Mar 9, 2017 09:38 AM | Report Abuse
do you buy a share and keep for life or 3- 5 years?
if not, don't BS me about value investing

err actually on my portfolio of stocks more than 70 % are over 2 years n in that 40 r over 5 n 10 % r over 10 years - 25 years ? sure why not - when I get as old as u or when I retire probably my muhibah,pantech,keuro,etc will be there or close LOL

by the way I missed on IWCITY coz I got tat stupeed KSL n I'm still underwater LOL

Risk Rider

849 posts

Posted by Risk Rider > 2017-03-11 07:51 | Report Abuse

Stockmanmy, your big talker only, don't try to talk rubbish, you are just a few percents better that John Lu & Calvin only.

133) stockmanmy +13.7% 113747.88 http://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/cube/stockmanmy.jsp
14% LEONFB 0.635 0.465 25700|13% AIRASIA 2.830 2.290 5200|12% SAM 5.860 4.900 2400|12% AAX 0.405 0.360 33200|12% SCIENTX 7.300 6.700 1800|11% MAGNI 5.070 4.190 2400|10% AEONCR 15.700 14.360 700|9% SCGM 3.570 3.400 2900|7% CSCSTEL 1.800 2.150 4600 (113476.50:271.38|240.12)

Risk Rider

849 posts

Posted by Risk Rider > 2017-03-11 07:52 | Report Abuse

Posted by Ezra > Mar 8, 2017 11:09 PM | Report Abuse

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-03-11 12:11 | Report Abuse

The best record of Dynamic Investing I know of is KYY.
A true practitioner.
Learning the Art of Sailang from a young age.

I guess with a record like Soweto, you can call your self a true value investor. Can a value investor go far in the long run? 10% per annum perhaps,
Value investor using all the tricks in investment books and CFA courses? Can they beat the Index? In the long run, not likely.