Sound interesting, will read tonight. ------------------------------------ Posted by stockmanmy > Mar 8, 2017 04:59 PM | Report Abuse This article is better than value investing and those who believe stock prices are a discounting / forecasting machine
Posted by stockmanmy > Mar 8, 2017 04:59 PM | Report Abuse This article is better than value investing and those who believe stock prices are a discounting / forecasting machine
This is the real deal. ------------------------------------------------------------
>Had zero idea what is Value Investing. >Tries to act like a pro and criticize Value Investing.
The above article is talking about Value Investing, smartass.
-Above article: "When you buy shares in a firm, you own a percentage of that company. Or in accounting terms: (assets - liabilities = shareholder equity). The stock price however is based (theoretically) on the previous number, plus the discounted cash flow of future earnings." = Discounted Cash Flow Analysis
-Above graph: =Contents taken from Benjamin Graham's book: The Intelligent Investor.
"Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt." - Abraham Lincoln
Stockmanmy, baru kena amdui in pre mature selling of Ekovest ; now kena dui by Ezra. Bad day or Bad luck ? Want to have a touch with Excellent Good Luck ? Follow me to boat on Rooster EGg ... be QUICK !!!
It is good article, price movement is sometimes determined by demand & supply relationship. I always thinking trading in shares just like investment in property.
However, what is the meaning of price in property market? It's the value of property that you are hoping to buy for owning it or sell for cashing out.
How about sundry goods in a shop? You buy & pay for it because you need to use it later.
After all, it's the value of goods that determine the price, not the price that decide what should be the value of goods.
For stock market, if you think it as a business & do your own due diligence, then you will know how much you need to pay for owning it. It's the value of the business & future prospect that decide the price BUT not the price that determine the value of the company.
Price is temporaily in stock market, but you are judged y looking at the price if you are winner or loser later.
Another case of know nothing, talking b***shit again. Please go find out what is the return of Berkshire Hathaway, OakTree Capital, Value Partners, Scion Capital before you open your big mouth.
Dynamic Investing, which fund practices that? What return did they have? Provide with numbers and facts. You don't even have an investing record for your own investing returns.
stockmanmy, I have seen you talking non stop promoting your so called "dynamic investing", which you admitted the core is to listen to news & rumours.
To me, you are just another apek in kopitiam pretending to be pro in stock market.
What Ezra said has sum it all for you.
Posted by Ezra > Mar 8, 2017 11:09 PM | Report Abuse Another case of know nothing, talking b***shit again. Please go find out what is the return of Berkshire Hathaway, OakTree Capital, Value Partners, Scion Capital before you open your big mouth.
Dynamic Investing, which fund practices that? What return did they have? Provide with numbers and facts. You don't even have an investing record for your own investing returns.
Different methods for different type of market players. Value investors go for DCF, ratio analysis, etc...Technical go for charts and indicators. As long as you able to earn a good return by applying the method(s) you are comfortable with, then it's a good strategy.
Being one of the value investors, I would say we have our own ways of looking at the market and it's definitely different from other schools, so why should we pay that much attention to the noise?
IMHO, just stop giving limelight to attention seeker, especially a tin-kosong one. Keep responding to those ambiguous statements are just a waste of time and life.
Manmy, follow your way to Hoot kaw kaw in EG-wc, sure will proof your theory. I follow your idea ... sailang till my last drop I even sold my underwear for it.
Come on don't lost this chance, u hv missed Jhm, ViS ... do not miss the Rooster EGg !
dun play play i3 got plenty of real sifus - u can lie one time n get away with it but when u keep lying the sifus beh tahan huh u r PHARKED LOL - they will come out n take your dynamite investing in shove it up where the sun dun shine n BOOM it goes LOL
Manmy, follow your way to Hoot kaw kaw in EG-wc, sure will proof your theory. I follow your idea ... sailang till my last drop I even sold my underwear for it.
Come on don't lost this chance, u hv missed Jhm, ViS ... do not miss the Rooster EGg !
do you buy a share and keep for life or 3- 5 years?
if not, don't BS me about value investing.
Frank Soweto > Mar 9, 2017 05:19 AM | Report Abuse
dun play play i3 got plenty of real sifus - u can lie one time n get away with it but when u keep lying the sifus beh tahan huh u r PHARKED LOL - they will come out n take your dynamite investing in shove it up where the sun dun shine n BOOM it goes LOL
value investor? go buy IWCITY and keep for 25 years la.
Frank Soweto > Mar 9, 2017 05:19 AM | Report Abuse
all forecasting is too inaccurate to be useful. Pick up phone talk to CEO more accurate.
yenhui_koh > Mar 9, 2017 12:27 AM | Report Abuse
Different methods for different type of market players. Value investors go for DCF, ratio analysis, etc...Technical go for charts and indicators. As long as you able to earn a good return by applying the method(s) you are comfortable with, then it's a good strategy.
I think all have own method to invest. Value investing, Chartist, TA whatever. Thats why our market is always fluctuate.... If all same style, market may not move. Hence no point fighting over the method! Have fun investing with ur own style!
One will not lose money if he or she kept the content of this article in mind before,while and after investing...throw in the ability to keep one's emotion in check.
Malaysian stock market is mostly ruled by emotions. Want to get rich in the quickest time and do not exercise patience. I am one of them but learning to change gradually. Speculators and syndicates capitalize on this emotional behavior and almost all the time the losers are ones running from one counter to another when uptrend is detected. Typical herd behavior. However, a few sometimes make big money from this but in the end will also lose everything unless he can manage his wealth soundly.
I don't see any difference between DCF, trend indicators and your suggestion - phone call to CEO. They are all forecasting and hence an estimation.
When you do DCF, you estimate the intrinsic value of a company based on its past financial performance; When you draw support/resistance/zone/band, you estimate its TP and when to cut loss based on its past share price performance; And when you ring the CEO, you ESTIMATE the company growth/future prospect based on the information provided by the CEO.
If audited financial report and/or market share price could not give you any sense of confidence, why would a conversation with CEO could when he/she has no say on the industry future?
stockmanmy > Mar 9, 2017 10:01 AM | Report Abuse
all forecasting is too inaccurate to be useful. Pick up phone talk to CEO more accurate.
yenhui_koh > Mar 9, 2017 12:27 AM | Report Abuse
Companies that consistently distributes good and increased dividend Q-by-Q and/or Y-by-Y will makes it price goes up. Consistent good and increased dividend reflects all other factors or parameters - good management, efficient, business strategies, creative, innovative, valuing shareholders....
that is what they tell you but not what happens in KLSE.
miker > Mar 10, 2017 11:08 PM | Report Abuse
Companies that consistently distributes good and increased dividend Q-by-Q and/or Y-by-Y will makes it price goes up. Consistent good and increased dividend reflects all other factors or parameters - good management, efficient, business strategies, creative, innovative, valuing shareholders....
Posted by stockmanmy > Mar 9, 2017 09:38 AM | Report Abuse do you buy a share and keep for life or 3- 5 years? if not, don't BS me about value investing
value investor? go buy IWCITY and keep for 25 years la.
err actually on my portfolio of stocks more than 70 % are over 2 years n in that 40 r over 5 n 10 % r over 10 years - 25 years ? sure why not - when I get as old as u or when I retire probably my muhibah,pantech,keuro,etc will be there or close LOL
by the way I missed on IWCITY coz I got tat stupeed KSL n I'm still underwater LOL
Posted by Ezra > Mar 8, 2017 11:09 PM | Report Abuse Another case of know nothing, talking b***shit again. Please go find out what is the return of Berkshire Hathaway, OakTree Capital, Value Partners, Scion Capital before you open your big mouth.
The best record of Dynamic Investing I know of is KYY. A true practitioner. Learning the Art of Sailang from a young age.
I guess with a record like Soweto, you can call your self a true value investor. Can a value investor go far in the long run? 10% per annum perhaps, Value investor using all the tricks in investment books and CFA courses? Can they beat the Index? In the long run, not likely.
People who like this
You should check in on some of those fields below.
Title
Category
Comment
Confirmation
Click Confirm to delete this Forum Thread and all the associated comments.
Report Abuse
Please Sign In to report this post as abuse.
Featured Posts
MQ Trader
Introducing MY's First IPO Fund for Sophisticated Investors!
MQ Chat
New Update. Discover investment communities that resonate with your ideas
MQ Trader
M & A Value Partners IPO Equity Fund has been launched - Targeted 13% Return p.a
Latest Videos
0:17
New IPO: O&G healthcare service provider, Metro Healthcare Berhad aims to list on the Ace Market!
MQ Trader 932 views | 6 d ago
0:17
New IPO: Life Water Berhad, a manufacturer of drinking water and carbonated beverages, aims to list on the Main Market!
This book is the result of the author's many years of experience and observation throughout his 26 years in the stockbroking industry. It was written for general public to learn to invest based on facts and not on fantasies or hearsay....
Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-03-08 16:51 | Report Abuse
good article.