14 people like this.

56 comment(s). Last comment by Dandanjoe 2017-04-11 22:41

Frank Soweto

Posted by Frank Soweto > 2017-04-05 03:55 | Report Abuse

I noticed for a long time de some fellas is i3 during bull mart all oso claimed making tons but when bear hits some went missing some kept quiet n some of course NO buy even after promoting kuat2 WTF Thipu manyak terror lucky these r juz the minorities n the smarter ones will filter out which one is the real deal n which is the sinkalans LOL

Posted by cheoky > 2017-04-05 06:38 | Report Abuse

Manny is a plain clown, worst still idolized one person as if his way is the only path. All the best to your dynamite investing, don't cry when you trigger this bomb by your sailang

Ricky Kiat

1,356 posts

Posted by Ricky Kiat > 2017-04-05 06:57 | Report Abuse

bro icon888 , wake up so early or sleep after 3.30am ?

Ricky Kiat

1,356 posts

Posted by Ricky Kiat > 2017-04-05 07:03 | Report Abuse

must rest well when sick. LOL

Ricky Kiat

1,356 posts

Posted by Ricky Kiat > 2017-04-05 07:06 | Report Abuse

i have little bit luck , my CAGR to date is more than 40% since 2013.\(^-^)/

Ricky Kiat

1,356 posts

Posted by Ricky Kiat > 2017-04-05 07:07 | Report Abuse

continue dumb dumb hold ..cheers \(^o^)/

Ricky Kiat

1,356 posts

Posted by Ricky Kiat > 2017-04-05 07:09 | Report Abuse

still need to learn hard from sifu-sifu Icon888, kc chong, OTB, Uncle koon & koko888.

Posted by MoneyFace88 > 2017-04-05 08:11 | Report Abuse

I don't think stockmanmy should condemned KC for writing article with good intention. I agree with KC that investing is for term. The way Stockmanmy comment about others shows that he belongs to the same group as old man KYY.

Posted by CharlesT > 2017-04-05 08:39 | Report Abuse

05/04/2017 07:37

MoneyFace88 I don't think stockmanmy should condemned KC for writing article with good intention. I agree with KC that investing is for term. The way Stockmanmy comment about others shows that he belongs to the same group as old man KYY.

I think Kukuman n PLPman are Oldman's mah chai. And a few others too but cant remember the names now.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-04-05 08:41 | Report Abuse

when I first joined, this forum is dominated by people teaching, applying and using 20 formulas and valuation methods all based on historical data....and proud to have made millions , worth millions. A generation of number crunchers.

As if investing is so simple, that when I point that out, I became a fake accountant.

It is easy to see that the more rules, the more strict the rules, the higher the likelihood the whole portfolio will be full of stocks of the same characteristics.

FA and TA are tools. These are not guarantors of success. But sometimes presented as magic wards that will turn poor people to rich people ...what rubbish.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-04-05 08:42 | Report Abuse

Here is another very good article.....

HONG Kong-based Value Partners Group chairman and co-chief investment officer Datuk Seri Cheah Cheng Hye, also known as the Warren Buffett of Asia, is a former Star journalist who becomes one of the most influential fund managers in Asia.

http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/moneymoney/119599.jsp

extracts

"So you believe more in quantitative methods when buying stocks?

No, although we also use that for ourselves. Remember what I said about our formula for investing?

Its based on the 3Rs. The right business, the right people and the right price. The most difficult R is the right human being."

When I first join i3 last year, this forum is dominated by OTB and KC and their quantitative formulas and ratios....hardly any discussions on business and people.

But this forum also have great bloggers such wealth wizard and bones......their writings are easy to read, and addresses business, people and numbers with equal competence.

As Datuk Sri Cheah says, numbers are the easiest, it is all in front of you....but all his mistakes comes from misreading the people.

Posted by CharlesT > 2017-04-05 08:44 |

Posted by CharlesT > 2017-04-05 08:45 | Report Abuse

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/koonyewyinblog/

See how many rubbish threads he posted during that time

Posted by CharlesT > 2017-04-05 08:47 | Report Abuse

until he appointed OTB N KC (for a short while, and never pay his fee) then he sold all his most undervalued stocks quietly and switched to OTB n KC's picks...thats how he made so much money to buy almost 30% JAKS

Posted by CharlesT > 2017-04-05 08:47 | Report Abuse

Learn some history, dont always learn how to PLP

Posted by CharlesT > 2017-04-05 08:49 | Report Abuse

Let’s find a solution - Koon Yew Yin
Author: Koon Yew Yin | Publish date: Sat, 3 Dec 2016, 06:38 PM

Koon Yew Yin 3rd Dec 2016

As you all know, Mr. KC Chong and I have a problem. I slept with the problem last night and when I woke up this morning, I found a solution in my hand. It is not a wet solution. It is a solid one that can really resolve our differences.

For a start we both are old and we should know that no one can win an argument, if we continue arguing. We must find a solution. Let me tell you an interesting tale by which we can find a good solution.

A rich father left 17 gold coins to his 3 sons and the rest of his asset to charity because he knew he could not take any money with him when he passed away.

When the man passed away, his 3 sons opened up the will.

The will stated that the eldest son should be given half of the 17 coins.

The middle son should be given one third of the 17 coins.

The youngest son should be given one ninth of the 17 coins.

As it is not possible to divide 17 by 2, or 17 by 3 or 17 by 9, they started to fight with each other.

So, in believing there was a solution, they decided to find it. They went to see a wise man, who lived in a nearby cave. He listened patiently and thought for a while. He gave one of his gold coins to help them solve the problem. With the addition of 1 coin the total number of coins was 17 + 1 = 18.

He gave each of them their share as according to the will.

The eldest son was give half of 18 = 9 coins

The idle son was given 1/3 of 18 = 6 coins

The youngest son was given 1/9 of 18 = 2 coins.

Totaling 9 + 6 + 2 = 17 coins.

The wise man took back his coin and everyone went away happily.

Moral: The attitude of negotiation and problem solving is to find the 18th coin i.e. the common ground. Once we are able to find the common ground, the issue is resolved. It is difficult at times.

However, to reach a solution, the first step is to believe that there is a solution.

I trust KC Chong will forgive me for all the bad things I said that caused the misunderstanding.

Posted by CharlesT > 2017-04-05 08:51 | Report Abuse

Talked bad on KC then have to say sorry...

11,041 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2017-04-05 09:03 | Report Abuse

@stockmanmy

OTB same same......always come here tell us how much money he made from i3 competition portfolio.

Your remarks on me !!

Choose high risk stock.
Not diversified portfolio.
Do not know how to select stock.

I am just a lay man in the street, I choose the stocks base on my stock selection criteria.

The below are stockmanmy's pick and Ooi Teik Bee's pick based on the closing price on 29/4/2016.

Let us check the performance on 30/12/2016.

Bornoil 0.15 X 14,000 = 2100
CBIP - 2.25 X 900 = 2025
Ekovest - 1.42 X 1500 = 2130
Ecoworld - 1.29 X 1500 = 1935
Taan - 4.79 X 200 = 958
Jtiasa - 1.35 x 700 = 945
Total capital = 10093

Actual performance on 30/12/2016
Bornoil 0.18 X 14,000 = 2520
CBIP - 1.97 X 900 = 1773
Ekovest - 2.38 X 1500 = 3570
Ecoworld - 1.34 X 1500 = 2010
Taan - 3.95 X 240 = 948 (1 for 5 BI)
Jtiasa - 1.34 x 700 = 938
Total capital = 11759
Total gain = +1666 or +16.50%

My pick
Gamuda-WE - 0.995 X 4,000 = 3,980
Gadang - 2.08 X 600 = 1,248
Gkent - 1.71 X 800 = 1,368
Kimlun-WA - 0.705 X 1,600 = 1,128
Pohuat-WB - 0.675 X 2,000 = 1,350
WTK - 1.20 X 1,000 = 1,200
Total capital = 10,274

Actual performance on 30/12/2016
Gamuda-WE - 1.21 X 4,000 = 4,840
Gadang - 1.05 X 1500 = 1,575 (1 split into 2 and 1 for 4 BI)
Gadang-WB - 0.42 x 300 = 126 (Free WB)
Gkent - 3.04 X 1000 = 3,040 (1 for 4 BI)
Kimlun-WA - 0.67 X 1,600 = 1,072
Pohuat-WB - 0.775 X 2,000 = 1,550
WTK - 0.995 X 1,000 = 995
Total capital = 13,198
Total gain = +2,924 or +28.46%

Summary
stockmanmy gain +1666 or +16.50%
OTB - Gain +2,924 or +28.46%

I wish to post this record here for reference to avoid future argument. I want to talk on facts and figures only.

Bizfuneng

883 posts

Posted by Bizfuneng > 2017-04-05 09:28 | Report Abuse

Thank you OTB.....numbers are the easiest!!!!!!!

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-04-05 09:50 | Report Abuse

otb

I am a free agent.
I don't have students and I don't collect subscription fees.

I can comment whenever and wherever I like.

and I certainly do not have your kind of stress.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-04-05 09:54 | Report Abuse

My remarks on you !!

Choose high risk stock.
Not diversified portfolio.
Do not know how to select stock.

But those remarks were directed at a different portfolio from the one shown here.

In fact those remarks were made when your competition portfolio shows a negative return > 20 % early in the year.....not the revised portfolio shown here.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-04-05 10:24 | Report Abuse

ks

the market rewards you only for risks taken ....no risks , no return, simple as that.

=============================
To protect your hard earn profit in bull, just follow kcchongnz stock selection.
For he won't bring you to holland...........

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-04-05 10:37 | Report Abuse

no risk no rewards is always true....no getting away.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-04-05 12:12 | Report Abuse

I have one main message....take it however you like...Icon

That when I first joined late 2015...this forum is dominated by people who wants to teach you number crunching. That is the easy part.

The role that number crunching especially the complicated and esoteric stuffs, and margin of safety...( hate to see that term ) has on a person's success in the stock market is grossly exaggerated as a result.

A good buy is one with a good business ( business sense), good people and good price , in that order....not any other order.

Pivotal moments are a very useful concept in maximizing wealth...understanding self and psychological factors are essential . For there is no use if the share go up but no more skin in it.

Over the last few months, I notice people pays more and more attention to non accounting factors...and that is a good development.

and I am not a fake accountant.

myongcc5

708 posts

Posted by myongcc5 > 2017-04-05 12:23 | Report Abuse

Manmy, I BELIEVE u r not FAKE accountant. I believe!

MG9231

770 posts

Posted by MG9231 > 2017-04-05 12:46 | Report Abuse

Accountants normally are trained with figures, ratio analysis, thier mind set can't change much after many years of computing with figures. They are trained to be kiasu n kiasi.
They will make decisions mostly based on figures. Not likely to be using qualitative thinking for decision making. So, how to perform dynamic investing style, sailing etc. this is my hamble conclusion

Posted by Dolly_Chai2 > 2017-04-05 12:48 | Report Abuse

haha.... well said icon, especially on this one:

attack OTB non stop so as to displace him

it is super obvious that every one can notice this "super-PLP" fellow is trying to get some job from the "Super_investor"...

his motive/personal agenda is super obvious... can the old man see it? haha...

Posted by Dolly_Chai2 > 2017-04-05 12:49 | Report Abuse

well said to CharlesT too... haha

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-04-05 13:23 | Report Abuse

You have no other comment to make than whether I am an accountant?
well...there are all kinds of accountants, all kinds of engineers and all kinds of lawyers...and yes, I am at the top of my profession in my mid twenties, a fully qualified CPA ( M) by then.

y MG9231 > Apr 5, 2017 12:46 PM | Report Abuse

Accountants normally are trained with figures, ratio analysis, thier mind set can't change much after many years of computing with figures. They are trained to be kiasu n kiasi.
They will make decisions mostly based on figures. Not likely to be using qualitative thinking for decision making. So, how to perform dynamic investing style, sailing etc. this is my hamble conclusion

Posted by CharlesT > 2017-04-05 13:28 | Report Abuse

I think plpman is likely a retired senior ac clerk,basing on his records here.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-04-05 13:31 | Report Abuse

Can I just say I like KYY approach to the stock market?...A very focused guy.

Can buy 30% of Jaks at age 85 is not a bad role model for me.

d by Dolly_Chai2 > Apr 5, 2017 12:48 PM | Report Abuse

haha.... well said icon, especially on this one:

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-04-05 13:34 | Report Abuse

charles, you are a person of no morals.

This is not my first day here....I have said enough to show I know my stuffs.......

CharlesT > Apr 5, 2017 01:28 PM | Report Abuse

I think plpman is likely a retired senior ac clerk,basing on his records here.

Posted by CharlesT > 2017-04-05 13:39 | Report Abuse

Thats my evaluation basing on yr records here.

Posted by CharlesT > 2017-04-05 13:41 | Report Abuse

Koon made big money following otb n kc's advice to chop all his rubbish picks n switched to those export co on fm 2014 onwards...thats how he made big so as to hv money to buy 20%+ jaks

Posted by CharlesT > 2017-04-05 13:42 | Report Abuse

Learn yr boss history betul betul

Posted by CharlesT > 2017-04-05 13:43 | Report Abuse

Pre otb/kc (2014) :xinquan /jtiasa/mudajaya/rsawit n plantation co

U think holding these co can make money to buy 20%+JAKS?

Posted by CharlesT > 2017-04-05 13:44 | Report Abuse

If JAKS is not recommended by OTB then may god bless him

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-04-05 14:10 | Report Abuse

charles

I certainly don't think OTB is God although he probably thinks so himself....but very stressful job he got.

Posted by CharlesT > 2017-04-05 14:12 | Report Abuse

He aint god but he helps koon to make big money so as to buy 20%+ JAKS....

Sky Soo

331 posts

Posted by Sky Soo > 2017-04-05 17:17 | Report Abuse

I agree with Icon8888's comment on manmy. I am not a regular here. Came here occasionally. It's easy to identify good one from the bad. Ooi is not GOD,but he got experience.

popo92

578 posts

Posted by popo92 > 2017-04-05 17:42 | Report Abuse

Stockmanmy, you already said yourself 3rs are right business, right people and right price. We have never seen you writing any proper way to discuss right people management, right pricing to evaluate any companies. All you want to emphasis is business senses and your right timing. Everyone has his point of view which is really a good thing, but why can't you be more generous and respectul to others? Cmon, you can be nice.

popo92

578 posts

Posted by popo92 > 2017-04-05 17:47 | Report Abuse

If OTB is so stressful becoz of subscription fees, then he must be a very responsible man with strong integrity isn't?

Posted by yenhui_koh > 2017-04-05 19:51 | Report Abuse

Hi manmy, I am actually quite confuse with you insisting ppl to buy 30% of Jaks...what can it really prove? A focus portfolio does not say anything, and in fact it's worse when you are focusing on the wrong stock.

You see, it is just common sense to buy a counter with right business, right management and at the right price. But how do you evaluate or justify all these mentioned factors? Even TA also has to look at the volume and trend to decide if it's time to buy...

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-04-05 22:01 | Report Abuse

so any of you lose to your performance in the competition portfolio ?You should review your own performance, see what went wrong, where you can improve.

That would be better than all the margin of safety rules, all the esoteric formulas and ratios.....

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-04-05 22:04 | Report Abuse

insisting people to buy 30%? what is that?

by yenhui_koh > Apr 5, 2017 07:51 PM | Report Abuse

Hi manmy, I am actually quite confuse with you insisting ppl to buy 30% of Jaks

Jarex

28 posts

Posted by Jarex > 2017-04-05 23:02 | Report Abuse

phew...think yourself sailang earning 50% in bull market consider good? can you still earn as much in bear? choose your stock just by any others recommendation or by luck wont take you longg

saydon

215 posts

Posted by saydon > 2017-04-06 02:30 | Report Abuse

haha..holland sifu, hard selling again...phui

Posted by Dolly_Chai2 > 2017-04-06 13:16 | Report Abuse

Can, you can also pray him like a God everyday, hoping that this "God" will give you some brokerage jobs or "dynamic investing tips"... haha...

Yeah, having a lot of $$$ at age of 85 is indeed not a bad role model for anyone of us here... but that is a matter of how this wealth was created. I would rather benchmark against Warren Buffet, Jack Ma, Robert Kuok, etc...

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

stockmanmy: Can I just say I like KYY approach to the stock market?...A very focused guy.

Can buy 30% of Jaks at age 85 is not a bad role model for me.

connie7i3

10 posts

Posted by connie7i3 > 2017-04-07 20:45 | Report Abuse

KC Chong, thank you for your informative articles to teach us investing. You are a great teacher!

Dandanjoe

343 posts

Posted by Dandanjoe > 2017-04-11 22:41 | Report Abuse

I lose when listen to OTB. He never help anyone except himself.