Bcos W.buffet is a great supporter of value investment mah...!!
U don see...W.buffet support dynamic investment leh !! Why ah ??
Bcos long run dynamic....will lose out to value management mah...!!
If u adopt value investment....u r adopting the best investment tech endorse by world greatest investor w.buffet loh....!!
Yes...W,Buffet no need to bluff u unlike KYY the manipulator...bcos Warren Buffet being the 10 richest person in the world...bluffing u ...mean small monies....no point!! Better to have good karma loh....!!
Trust Warren Buffet...u trust value investment is the best mah...!!
Be it ACE Market or what as long as it has capital preserved build-in (MOS) and earning great profit why shud I care????? Btm line is great profit with minimum risk!!!!! He selling rat meat as pig meat I dun care. Still btm line is capital appreciation is the requirement. Dun agree ok, all entitle to their respective opinions. Fair.
The below are stockmanmy's pick and Ooi Teik Bee's pick based on the closing price on 29/4/2016.
Let us check the performance on 30/12/2016.
Bornoil 0.15 X 14,000 = 2100 CBIP - 2.25 X 900 = 2025 Ekovest - 1.42 X 1500 = 2130 Ecoworld - 1.29 X 1500 = 1935 Taan - 4.79 X 200 = 958 Jtiasa - 1.35 x 700 = 945 Total capital = 10093
Actual performance on 30/12/2016 Bornoil 0.18 X 14,000 = 2520 CBIP - 1.97 X 900 = 1773 Ekovest - 2.38 X 1500 = 3570 Ecoworld - 1.34 X 1500 = 2010 Taan - 3.95 X 240 = 948 (1 for 5 BI) Jtiasa - 1.34 x 700 = 938 Total capital = 11759 Total gain = +1666 or +16.50%
My pick Gamuda-WE - 0.995 X 4,000 = 3,980 Gadang - 2.08 X 600 = 1,248 Gkent - 1.71 X 800 = 1,368 Kimlun-WA - 0.705 X 1,600 = 1,128 Pohuat-WB - 0.675 X 2,000 = 1,350 WTK - 1.20 X 1,000 = 1,200 Total capital = 10,274
Actual performance on 30/12/2016 Gamuda-WE - 1.21 X 4,000 = 4,840 Gadang - 1.05 X 1500 = 1,575 (1 split into 2 and 1 for 4 BI) Gadang-WB - 0.42 x 300 = 126 (Free WB) Gkent - 3.04 X 1000 = 3,040 (1 for 4 BI) Kimlun-WA - 0.67 X 1,600 = 1,072 Pohuat-WB - 0.775 X 2,000 = 1,550 WTK - 0.995 X 1,000 = 995 Total capital = 13,198 Total gain = +2,924 or +28.46%
Summary stockmanmy gain +1666 or +16.50% OTB - Gain +2,924 or +28.46%
I wish to post this record here for reference to avoid future argument.
I used the below magic formulae to select stocks to beat stockmanmy. I used Margin Of Safety > 30% I used EV/EBIT < 8 I used (22.5*EPS*Total Equity/share)^0.5 I used IV= (EPS*(7.5+1.5g)*4.4)/Y I used Discounted Cash Flows Calculator I used ROIC (Equity) > 12% I used ROE > 10% I also used the followings :- CFFO > 50% Net Profit Price to CFFO <= 15 Free Cash Flow > 30% Net Profit Price to Free Cash Flow <=20 Cash Yield > 4% Earnings Yield > 12% Price / Book Value < 1.5 Interest Coverage > 9
I am not an accountant, I want to talk on facts and figures only.
to me the market is like the weather. there will always be spring and winter. the key is stay invested ignoring the fluctuations. no one can time the market
Then , there is this problem with intrinsic valuations.
Valuations are not as intrinsic as people think....
When Charlie Munger / Buffet talks about buying companies at valuations lower than the seller demands......He is literally talking about buying companies, with controlling interests and he already has plans for the acquisitions. ..They got dozens of such investee companies.
When you buy shares, you are just a passive investor waiting for dividends or price to go up....both of which you got no control.
For you, things are not as intrinsic as it is to Munger / Buffet.
B Graham and Value investors very popular around here , isn't it.?
I suppose we can all put the financial information in a spread sheet, apply a magic formula, and puff, out comes the answer...............and wait, and wait and wait for the magic formula to work its magic.
But B Graham died a long time ago, even before there is the internet.
Nobody dreams of using a horse carriage travelling to work, but people don't mind being suckered...if it is about a possibility for some money.
On stock picking, if I am to recommend one guru, one tip, it would have to be William O Neal and his CANSLIM....go google it your self
On the objective of all good strategies........don't get killed if wrong, makes a killing when right. If you can do that, you can be rich as KYY.
All chemical reactions need a catalyst. Have you got a catalyst? How strong is the catalyst? Is it reliable, dependable? Got a sponsor/ sponsors?
I will end this with 3 quotes from him..................
Quotes
"Since the market tends to go in the opposite direction of what the majority of people think, I would say 95% of all these people you hear on TV shows are giving you their personal opinion. And personal opinions are almost always worthless … facts and markets are far more reliable."
"The whole secret to winning and losing in the stock market is to lose the least amount possible when you're not right."
"What seems too high and risky to the majority generally goes higher and what seems low and cheap generally goes lower."
"Since the market tends to go in the opposite direction of what the majority of people think, I would say 95% of all these people you hear on TV shows are giving you their personal opinion. And personal opinions are almost always worthless"
what is opinion is probably baloney.
The thing that is reliable is market action and what the market tells you.
This book is the result of the author's many years of experience and observation throughout his 26 years in the stockbroking industry. It was written for general public to learn to invest based on facts and not on fantasies or hearsay....
Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-04-11 11:19 | Report Abuse
I didn't post this to say KC is not successful personally or professionally.
I post this to talk about happiness, how the stock market works and the bullshits surrounding intrinsic values and magic formulas.