56 comment(s). Last comment by ProfitSonar 2018-03-29 01:47

teoct

480 posts

Posted by teoct > 2018-01-22 15:49 | Report Abuse

What are the counters?

brightsmart

3,784 posts

Posted by brightsmart > 2018-01-22 16:46 | Report Abuse

do you really buy and sell as advertised?

or talk east do west

brightsmart

3,784 posts

Posted by brightsmart > 2018-01-22 16:53 | Report Abuse

a jot of jons starts with good intentions and then go astray somewhere along the line.

Posted by Jon Choivo > 2018-01-22 17:03 | Report Abuse

I don't tell people what i buy or sell. =)

If its good, no need to promote.

brightsmart

3,784 posts

Posted by brightsmart > 2018-01-22 19:22 | Report Abuse

nevertheless you write well

but your approach will not make you a super investor....

to be superinvestor, you need to sailang and margin and all in.

ttgipoh

262 posts

Posted by ttgipoh > 2018-01-22 19:35 | Report Abuse

U have a second level thinking

Posted by Jon Choivo > 2018-01-22 20:01 | Report Abuse

You forget to take into account the superbankrupts. Haha

I don't need to be rich or a super investor tomorrow.

I know its just a matter of time for me to be rich, and an investor with a decent track record (super or not, that one let other people tell me).

I'm very conservative minded lah, not much of a gambler.

brightsmart nevertheless you write well

but your approach will not make you a super investor....

to be superinvestor, you need to sailang and margin and all in.
22/01/2018 19:22

brightsmart

3,784 posts

Posted by brightsmart > 2018-01-23 22:22 |

TheContrarian

8,725 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2018-01-23 22:30 | Report Abuse

Investing in the stock market is a means to achieve an objective. When I first started, my objective was to buy a home and I achieved it within seven years. Now I am investing for my retirement fund.

Posted by cheoky > 2018-01-23 22:37 | Report Abuse

mohnish pabrai said to be rich, compound interest rate & length of the runway. but if you are not born rich, and you are rich only when you are like 60years old. what is the use of money then? so need to combine both, find a middle path. sometime aggressiveness and margin might be a means to increase that compound interest rate. but if unlucky.... no black and white answer le.

Posted by Jon Choivo > 2018-01-24 23:58 | Report Abuse

This is true, my new year goal is to save less money ahaha.

cheoky mohnish pabrai said to be rich, compound interest rate & length of the runway. but if you are not born rich, and you are rich only when you are like 60years old. what is the use of money then? so need to combine both, find a middle path. sometime aggressiveness and margin might be a means to increase that compound interest rate. but if unlucky.... no black and white answer le
23/01/2018 22:37

14,578 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-01-29 07:17 | Report Abuse

I pressume yr return is less than 15% last year...no bad is better than calvin but still in bottom 50

Posted by Jon Choivo > 2018-01-29 17:12 | Report Abuse

Barely above 15. It would have been ~20% if not for my gross misjudgment and inexperience on several stocks.

If i can get 15-20% per annum for 50 years, i and my investors will very happy. In any event, records done during bull periods don't mean much. Its how you do during recession that counts.

CharlesT I pressume yr return is less than 15% last year...no bad is better than calvin but still in bottom 50
29/01/2018 07:17

14,578 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-01-30 15:48 | Report Abuse

In any event, records done during bull periods don't mean much. Its how you do during recession that counts.

Yeap, during bull mkt even donkey also can make 15%...

Posted by Jon Choivo > 2018-03-07 22:48 | Report Abuse

I too, would like to discover if im a donkey that can talk and write well. Or a good or maybe even great investor.

Time will tell. I promised myself i will find out. I give myself a minimum of 10 years. If i cant beat the KLSE by 10% CAGR over that time period. Maybe i'm just not that good.

CharlesT In any event, records done during bull periods don't mean much. Its how you do during recession that counts.

Yeap, during bull mkt even donkey also can make 15%...
30/01/2018 15:48

14,578 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-03-07 22:53 | Report Abuse

If u r able to post the same result in 2018 then at least u r ok

14,578 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-03-07 22:54 | Report Abuse

Nothing to shout abt 15% return in 2017...really

14,578 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-03-23 13:56 | Report Abuse

Hows yr return so far this year? -15%?

Posted by Jon Choivo > 2018-03-23 14:28 | Report Abuse

Negative 12%. :)

Its still ahead of ACE drop of 18% and Smallcap drop of 15%. But it still does not feel good.

However, i know all my stuff meet my investment criteria, have good value to begin with and is cheap.

In addition i am unleveraged, with excess cash to put in if it drops further or pay back investors who cannot stand a bear market.

So all these give me give me optimism for the years ahead.

Just waiting for elections, as i have a feeling PR will win, and if they do, the first few weeks will have alot of discounts.

Ill go on 25-40% margin if my portfolio drops more than 30% this year.

CharlesT Hows yr return so far this year? -15%?
23/03/2018 13:56

14,578 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-03-23 18:06 | Report Abuse

Mkt bad most people will lose money lah
Mkt good (2017) most people will make money lah

It's time to test yr real Kung Fu when mkt is bad

Posted by hollandking > 2018-03-23 18:07 | Report Abuse

2017 good???

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-03-23 18:08 | Report Abuse

yes, 2017 was a good year for me.

14,578 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-03-23 18:09 | Report Abuse

Basing on I3 stock contest 2017, in general most people made money

Posted by hollandking > 2018-03-23 18:12 | Report Abuse

last year most counter drop almost everyday, unless u r gain is from specific counters, if u open more counters ,the great your chances of making losses.

Posted by hollandking > 2018-03-23 18:12 | Report Abuse

not everday, but the impression is something like that

14,578 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-03-23 18:13 | Report Abuse

FH very good lah...but SH no good loh

Posted by hollandking > 2018-03-23 18:15 | Report Abuse

i learn my lesson last year, dont open so many counters but focus on specific counter, the more u open, the greater your risk. Be focus,hit, dont fall in love with stocks, cut win.

Posted by hollandking > 2018-03-23 18:16 | Report Abuse

another thing, keep out of ipo

14,578 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-03-23 18:16 | Report Abuse

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/stock_pick_2017/142745.jsp

There is another one with more participants..but couldnt find the link anymore

Posted by hollandking > 2018-03-23 18:19 | Report Abuse

thanks, i'll analyze their pick, check why they choose those counters and what is the nature of the counters

Posted by Jon Choivo > 2018-03-23 18:26 | Report Abuse

But if they up, would your philosophy be buy more counters to diversify?

Haha

Posted by hollandking > Mar 23, 2018 06:12 PM | Report Abuse

last year most counter drop almost everyday, unless u r gain is from specific counters, if u open more counters ,the great your chances of making losses.

Just hold only. No need think so much. Make sure you collect cash, so if really drop till stupid, can buy.

Posted by CharlesT > Mar 23, 2018 06:06 PM | Report Abuse

Mkt bad most people will lose money lah
Mkt good (2017) most people will make money lah

It's time to test yr real Kung Fu when mkt is bad

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-03-23 18:30 | Report Abuse

portfolio design is the skill and knowledge of the designer and the risk appetite of the customer.

Posted by Jon Choivo > 2018-03-23 18:31 | Report Abuse

I think this is for traders.

I dont really care for designing the portfolio. Maybe its cause im not that good, and it does not really matter to me.

I just focus on finding good co. And make sure my exposure is large, but not too large. Ie max exposure is 25%.

Maybe when i have like a few million, can now consider structuring it to have wide exposure industry wise.

Posted by qqq3 > Mar 23, 2018 06:30 PM | Report Abuse

portfolio design is the skill and knowledge of the designer and the risk appetite of the customer.

Posted by hollandking > 2018-03-23 18:35 | Report Abuse

can learn something from their stockpicks

Posted by soojinhou > 2018-03-23 18:35 | Report Abuse

"In any event, records done during bull periods don't mean much. Its how you do during recession that counts." Well said, all the best for 2018.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-03-23 18:37 | Report Abuse

osted by Jon Choivo > Mar 23, 2018 06:31 PM | Report Abuse

I just focus on finding good co.
=====================================

that is what everybody claims.....especially those not from the financial industry and those not trained by CFA.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-03-23 18:41 |

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-03-23 19:24 |

Posted by Jon Choivo > 2018-03-23 19:40 | Report Abuse

qqq3,

I am taking the CFA.

Im not saying you should be constructing portfolio properly for risk management purposes. I'm saying, unless you have a large enough amount of money, and access to so many asset classes. As well as knowledge in so many.

You're probably wasting your time and money.

Posted by hollandking > 2018-03-23 19:42 | Report Abuse

down trend market, , short loh, sure make money one,

Posted by Jon Choivo > 2018-03-23 19:44 | Report Abuse

Then it shoot up, and you lose money hahaha

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-03-23 19:46 | Report Abuse

share is one asset class...but we can also find many different characteristics within shares.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-03-23 19:47 |

Posted by Jon Choivo > 2018-03-23 19:51 | Report Abuse

In a crisis, correlation goes to 1. Every single asset class drop whether or not it is related.

So much for all that portfolio construction. In Malaysia, portfolio construction for retailers is largely a waste of time. Just sendiri be smart, dont expose yourself too much to one stock or industry.

It is people with CFA's who caused the financial systems to crash in 2008. Not OTB types.

Posted by hollandking > 2018-03-23 19:52 | Report Abuse

bursa a very special and diff market,

Posted by Jon Choivo > 2018-03-23 19:53 | Report Abuse

Yeah, you cant short, no options, no derivatives. No bonds on the market, no commodities etc.

Construct what portfolio lol.

Use common sense can d.

12,832 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-03-23 19:58 | Report Abuse

I wish you success in your undertaking.

Maybe you can also share with the audience the fees involved in this fund of yours.

Thks.

12,832 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-03-23 20:03 | Report Abuse

>>>>The main preference, would of course be a business in a fantastic industry, with a long-term competitive advantage (or “Competitive Moat”), operated by honest and competent people and most importantly available at a fair or very attractive price.>>>>>

These are also the four tenets of Buffett and Munger in their selection of stocks to invest.

>>>>>During our project to read 5 years’ worth of annual reports for all 926 companies listed in the KLSE, we have found one, and it also happened to be available at a fair price. The other will of course be the one and only Public Bank (Do note a few more have since been found, but prices are not as attractive).<<<<

Staying within one's circle of competence is a great discipline. I too have screened through the stocks in the KLSE and found only about 20 stocks that fall into the category of great companies. Applying a stricter requirement, reduces these to only a few. Often, as you mentioned, these stocks are trading at fair to high prices.

Posted by Jon Choivo > 2018-03-27 21:37 | Report Abuse

This is likely to be my structure for the next 5 years, until i have a silver of a track record. Good record, can start a proper fund. Bad record, manage my own money.

2 options.

1) I guarantee your capital plus the highest prevailing FD rate in Malaysia, 3,5 to 10 year lock. If you want put alot, a long ass lock. 60% above that FD rate is mine, 40% is yours. I wont take more than 50% of my own equity as i dont want to over leverage.

2) No profit. Win or lose you keep. Ill just manage your account.

Posted by ProfitSonar > 2018-03-29 01:47 | Report Abuse

Posted by 3iii > Mar 23, 2018 08:03 PM | Report Abuse

>>>Staying within one's circle of competence is a great discipline. I too have screened through the stocks in the KLSE and found only about 20 stocks that fall into the category of great companies. Applying a stricter requirement, reduces these to only a few. Often, as you mentioned, these stocks are trading at fair to high prices.<<<

How do you screen these stocks?? by reading manually or use some sort of screener??