Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-02-07 05:48 | Report Abuse

My cup of tea

Huat1

2,509 posts

Posted by Huat1 > 2019-02-07 06:02 | Report Abuse

Good sharing....Thanks

Posted by (S = Qr) Philip > 2019-02-07 06:25 | Report Abuse

Now this is something important and useful to investors. Kudos. Uncommon sense for the thoughtful investor was a rough good book for me!

Now we're getting somewhere Calvin.

Posted by (S = Qr) Philip > 2019-02-07 06:30 | Report Abuse

"Successful investing requires thoughtful attention to many separate aspects, all at the same time. Omit any one and the result is likely to be less than satisfactory."

This resounded to me because everyone uses asset values in vacuum when trying to understand a company instead of looking at multiple aspects.

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/philip6/

Posted by cheoky > 2019-02-07 07:44 | Report Abuse

The Firecracker is too long. Gong xi fatt CAI, datuk

53,285 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-02-07 08:33 | Report Abuse

So good indeed

Gong Xi FATT Chai

Good things are in store

1. Powell paused raising rates further

2. Possible thaw between US-China trade war

3. Yellen has hinted FED might even reduce int rates if world growth slows

4.Foteign funds are returning to Malaysia

5. Should be good till mid 2019

Just buy and hold

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2019-02-07 09:40 | Report Abuse

all this ang moh theory dont work in KLSE!

Haha, happy cny calvin.

Outliar

302 posts

Posted by Outliar > 2019-02-07 21:39 | Report Abuse

Long number might want to pay attention to No.56

12,819 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-02-07 21:46 | Report Abuse

Good article.

Posted by (S = Qr) Philip > 2019-02-07 22:05 | Report Abuse

Outliar you might want to read the whole book. I read the book in 2012, right after that I invested in public bank, when everyone said it was overvalued and boring compared to manufacturing stocks.

While average investors have been practicing 1st level thinking, I'd like to think I've been practising 2nd level thinking for quite a while now.

Public bank is overvalued, don't buy. 1st level thinking.

Public bank is overvalued, because it has the best assets and deposits in Malaysia. When there is a economic crisis, public bank will hurt least, and recover faster. It is rock solid. Buy! 2nd level thinking.

lNSAS

Posted by lNSAS > 2019-02-07 22:25 | Report Abuse

Tan Eng Yee, stop talking about "secrets"

The only SECRET I WANT TO KNOW, is

how much PERISAI did you bought and at what price.
What price, if any, you sold later.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-02-07 23:31 | Report Abuse

Posted by (S = Qr) Philip > Feb 7, 2019 10:05 PM | Report Abuse

Public bank is overvalued, because it has the best assets and deposits in Malaysia. When there is a economic crisis, public bank will hurt least, and recover faster. It is rock solid. Buy! 2nd level thinking.
===========

the young ones pays too much attention to value here, value there because of the popularity of popular teachers.......

they need to re direct their attention to the actual business, the quality and reputation and the correct stories/ business sense.....

Philip is good enough to have found it 10 years ago.....who will take another 10 years to realise it?

Posted by stockraider > 2019-02-08 19:24 | Report Abuse

One of the best article from sifu calvin tan, very important read for margin of safety investor loh...!!

Margin of safety approach is one of the best investment approach loh...!!