53,397 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-02-21 20:12 | Report Abuse

Ben Graham wants Nta as a margin of safety

A new approach is when Buffet met Charlie Munger
They focus on moat with growth and market dominance

Example of a growth stock with intrinsic moat is nestle

Nestle has no Nta support

It's intrinsic value lies in the millions of people who chose Milo over other beverages. So instead of intrinsic value in Net Assets its intrinsic value is in the acquired taste bud of people addicted to milo

Now the moat or intrinsic value of Dialogue lies in its long term contract with Pengerang Rapid Pipc

AND it is growing as long as Rapid grows

It's full growth potential will spread to its 800 acres landbank
And more storage tank in tg langsat to meet ever increasing demand

lenu

29 posts

Posted by lenu > 2019-02-21 21:41 | Report Abuse

BPURI cantek... PERISAI cantekkkk

Posted by apolloang > 2019-02-21 21:44 | Report Abuse

SASBABI tak cantek kah? kekeke

53,397 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-02-21 22:21 | Report Abuse

Now in bull run time for oil and gas as Pengerang rapid is firing up.

Others in back burners. Will go back to them later

Posted by (S = Qr) Philip > 2019-02-22 06:42 | Report Abuse

Calvin, can don't put dialog in the same breadth as ql, Nestle and Dutch lady? Your research is very flawed and connections very thin.

You don't even know what dialog does it what it's management classifications are.

Firstly, dialog is a pe35 company with terminal growth in deepwater terminals approaching. It is diversifying upstream and downstream into epcc( which is where companies like sumatec, sapura, bumi and carimin are ending up).

Dialog is in no way has any "moat". Moat of convenience, maybe.

Their major acquisitions making them money is for the supply base and storage tanks in tanjung langsat and PDT.

Do you think there is any special contract saying that we can only use the dialog storage tanks? Or any special license where we can only use dialog services?

Right now, dialog is used because other o&g epcc firms had one foot in the grave with contracts that dealt with shared barrel production revenue.

Back then we all laughed at dialog because they don't want to earn big money. They content to earn small change with just tank rental.

But now suddenly when oil prices go down you say dialog with it's conservative 10% earnings to be a wonderful company?

How about the fact that it is now pe35, with a business that will hit it's terminal growth soon. (How many new tanjung langsat can you find?). Or the fact that it has 3 billion in liabilities. And growing.

Moreover when you want to company with QL, Nestle, dlady etc you want to be comparing super stable companies with low chance of nasty surprises.

Do you think their downstream operations epcc and upstream will run into problem? Have you considered the incoming nasty surprise in epcc prin with the contract for

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-02-22 06:57 | Report Abuse

some have called Dialog a ponzi scheme as they hide the segment figures from the public. There is no breakdown figures for u as to epcc/ rental/ others.........why call it ponzi scheme? because all epcc profits are left hand to right profits , they epcc their own tanks and recognise the profits.........

like you built your own house and say u make millions.....how much you make is up to you...at your pleasure....

Posted by (S = Qr) Philip > 2019-02-22 07:00 | Report Abuse

Are you talking about Sendai? Or how an owner that awards a 500 million shipbuilding contract.... To himself. Those kind of companies?

pussycats

7,611 posts

Posted by pussycats > 2019-02-22 07:39 | Report Abuse

Calvintan sifu, why u promote so many stocks...

I can't keep track all your promoted stocks...

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-02-22 07:51 | Report Abuse

(S = Qr) Philip > Feb 22, 2019 07:00 AM | Report Abuse

Are you talking about Sendai? Or how an owner that awards a 500 million shipbuilding contract.... To himself. Those kind of companies?
=====================

Sendai is not a good example as Tan Sri is paying for the ships out of his own pocket.........

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-02-22 08:01 | Report Abuse

the next question u may ask is.....If that is the case, then why is Dailog such a blue chip, such an analyst/fund manager favorite?

The answer is.......the whole industry is based on greed and fear. Fear of missing out , FOMO.

Like building sand castles and emperor wear no clothes............as long as profits keep coming in, as long as share keep going up, people are willing to look the other way..............

4,917 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2019-02-22 08:48 | Report Abuse

Dear Philip,
This is the first time I notice that I3investor well-know Bottom Fisher (Calvintaneng) trying hard to put on the hat of Philip Fisher by identified Business Moat factor (Bulk storage tanks in booming O&G location where any Tom and Jerry can just do nothing except timely collection Rental income from clients). This is how much your Moat factor had influenced the thinking and investment philosophy in I3 community. Of cause he had overlooked the Management/CEO factor and luckily we have Oracle of KK to point out his mistakes.

For me I had tried to look for another founder like Tan Sri Dato’ Teh Hong Piow and I like Tony Fernandes but I do not like the airlines business which is too heavy in CAPEX and dependent of jet fuel price so I basically slowly accumulate Tunepro (Decent dividend and every group tour travel on Airasia buying Tunepro Insurance travel cover). Hope Tunepro is another LPI in the making.

Eagerly waiting to read your analysis on QL when quarterly result comes out in the next few days.

53,397 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-02-22 09:32 | Report Abuse

Good morning

I am happy to answer all questions and inputs

All can contribute your ideas as long as you do it in a constrictive way

In Spore there was a saying that we should be pragmatic and results count

Philip

I shall post in reply in another write up comparing Ql chart to Dialogue price chart for all to study

Pussycats

No so many lah. Only

1. Naim
2. Azrb
3. Pantech
4. Dialogue

As for Dialogue the smartest brains on Earth employed by Temasek has invested from Two Singapore Highest Funds

1. GIC {Govt Investment Corp) of Singapore.
This one is in charge of CPF (like EPF) of Malaysia

Currently CPF is giving a 6% payout. So GIC thinks investing in Dialogue will yield more than 6%
GIC invested in Dialogue first

2. MAS (Monetory Authority of Singapore)
This is the Highest Financial Body as It is in Charge of Singapore Reserves.
After GIC has tested Dialogue only then MAS followed by putting monies into Dialogue

The wisdom of these Men of Monies have made Singapore a huge success.

For 2 funds to put their monies into Dialogue set me thinking

53,397 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-02-22 10:28 | Report Abuse

(S = Qr) Philip

Dialog is in no way has any "moat". Moat of convenience, maybe.

YOU ARE CORRECT!

Dialogue has a Moat of Convenient

JUST AS SINGAPORE HAS A MOAT OF CONVENIENT!

Sir Stamford Raffles chose Singapore because of its Strategic Moat of Convenience

Others are

The Suez Canal
The Panama Canal

53,397 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-02-22 10:40 |

53,397 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-02-22 11:17 | Report Abuse

Take a careful look at this video & SEE the HUGE OIL TANKS BELONGING TO DIALOGUE IN RAPID

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r3vjHzVSPqs

53,397 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-02-22 11:59 | Report Abuse

Coming soon will be

800 Acres for Downstream Petrol Chemical

That will be tenanted out or Jv with Petro Chemical companies

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-02-22 12:56 | Report Abuse

cannot understand....Petronas/ Aramco can spend $ 100 billion to build Rapids, cannot spend a few billion to out right own their own tanks...............

the whole business model is just weird.....

when it is too weird, better ignore....

53,397 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-02-22 13:01 | Report Abuse

More weird is why chose qqq which stands for quack quack quack?

Or question question question?

No wonder!

You are a quack with question but no concrete ANSWER?

Now get loss & go swim in your duck pond

AS FOR CALVIN

SURE THING

ALL OF RAPID FILLED WITH OIL TANKS & OIL PIPES

ANSWER IS OBVIOUS

GO BUY DIALOGUE FOR OIL TANK BUSINESS

GO AND BUY PANTECH FOR OIL PIPES BUSINESS!!!

Calvin got

ALL THE CHUN CHUN ANSWERS!!!!

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-02-22 13:06 | Report Abuse

calvin....u don't find its weird meh?

say, u got a nice factory, why not built your own warehouse?

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-02-22 13:10 | Report Abuse

stock market got lots of weird arrangements.

u can choose and pick....why want to invest in some thing weird?

digi_three

729 posts

Posted by digi_three > 2019-02-22 13:24 | Report Abuse

Aiyoo ... Saudi Aramco IPO got postponed many times already. The Saudi is in trouble now no? Crown Prince just splashed $20bil into Pakistan but that just created a new tension with India. Another splash will be in China next week in refinery project too. So is Saudi serious about Rapid Pengerang? aiyoo how like this?

digi_three

729 posts

Posted by digi_three > 2019-02-22 13:30 | Report Abuse

qqq3 that was a good question. the deal was structured during previous govt. you think it is easy to reclaim state land to do OG project in our country? aiyoo aiyoo so many people wants that piece of pie lorrr ... aiyoooo

Posted by (S = Qr) Philip > 2019-02-22 13:32 | Report Abuse

Those who use only sort term share price chart comparison instead of long term business performance is just amateurish. It's like saying wow this month naim it's sure Chun Chun call business is the best o&g up up up. But not noticing how the business is losing market share and generating loss of equity over multiple years.

Short term price comparison is just... Stupid.

Long term business performance is better. Can you do that instead?

Level 2 day thinking. I thought you like Howard marks?

>>>
I shall post in reply in another write up comparing Ql chart to Dialogue price chart for all to study

53,397 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-02-22 13:33 | Report Abuse

Saudi already put one leg into RAPID by USD7 BILLIONS INVESTMENT (RM28 BILLIONS)

And committed to send 150,000 barrels of cheap Crude (out of 300,000 barrels needed daily) for Pengarang

Saudi cost of Oil Production is among the lowest on earth

No need to build expensive Oil Platforms on sea bed

They just scoop oil out of shallow groud - cost only USD10 to USD12 a barrel (If oil price falls to USD20 per barrel many will go out of business not Saudi)

SO RAPID WITH SUCH CHEAP WILL SURE TO MAKE PROFIT ANY TIME. AND ALL THE TIME

GOOD FOR PETRONAS

GREAT FOR PANTECH. GREAT FOR DIALOGUE

HIP HIP HOORAY!!!

digi_three

729 posts

Posted by digi_three > 2019-02-22 14:03 | Report Abuse

aiyoo the saudis are the smart one. they go around the world securing captured demand for their oil. $7 bil investment can be easily recovered with 150,00 bbl/day at $40/bbl oil price. they have less concern Petronas will have to compete with Zhiejang refinery to market the by-products. Aiyoo not good for Petronas lorr

53,397 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-02-22 14:31 | Report Abuse

No worry about China

ARAMCO invests in RAPID for downstream chemical actitvites

Think of the Many Chemical Companies that will set up shop in Pengerang RAPID

Especially over 100 Chemical Firms on Jurong Island in Singapore

Their factory lease only 20 to 30 years while in RAPID lands are either freehold or 99 year lease

SO IT IS BETTER FOR THEM TO OPERATE AT A LOWER COST ADVANTAGE

53,397 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-02-22 15:57 | Report Abuse

ramada You pump it, I dump it, then move to next counter. It's very easy to make money for Datuk Calvin.
22/02/2019 14:43

For Oil & Gas

JUST BUY AND HOLD IT

GOOD ALL THE WAY THROUGH 2019 & into 2020

53,397 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-02-22 15:57 | Report Abuse

SUSTAIN YOUR PATIENCE GREAT MOVEMENTS TAKE TIME TO DEVELOP

53,397 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-02-22 18:44 | Report Abuse

Posted by calvintaneng > Feb 22, 2019 06:38 PM | Report Abuse X

WAHAHA!

Correct Dayang's fantastic result shows that O&G stocks Bull Run is intact

The recent scare in Carimin result was due to carimin operation over in Trengganu impacted by Monsoon

For Dayang it operates in Sarawak so it is not that affected

SO good for Dayang will be also So Good for Naim

Now it will also be Good for carimin after Monsoon over

Also good for Azrb. Azrb got 2 supply base in Trengganu & Kelantan

And Good also for Pantech
Pantech supplies oil pipes & valves to On shore & Off Shore players like Carimin, Dayang, Azrb,

Provision of Maintenance Services
Dayang’s subsidiary, Dayang Enterprise Sdn Bhd (DESB) undertakes the overall provision of maintenance services, which focuses on the following areas:

Maintenance of Topside structure
Maintenance of pipes and valves and
Electrical and instrumentation
The maintenance services are provided either on a routine or scheduled basis or during a breakdown or emergency, in which case maintenance works are undertaken due to fault or failure.

(((MAINTAINENCE OF PIPES & VALVES)))

53,397 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-02-22 18:46 | Report Abuse

Dayang will be in the Bull Run of O&G this year due to RAPID needing extra 150,000 barrels of oil for its REFINERY IN RAPID

Calvin bought into Naim because Naim is Top holder of Dayang. Dayang office is located in Naim building

So Naim is also good. These also good AZRB, PANTECH which supplies oil pipes & valves to Dayang and all other onshore & off shore O7G players. Dialog also

HOLD TIGHT AS WE ARE IN O&G BULL RUN NOW!!
22/02/2019 18:42

freddiehero

16,715 posts

Posted by freddiehero > 2019-02-22 18:54 | Report Abuse

u r true hero

53,397 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-02-23 08:32 | Report Abuse

freddiehero u r true hero
22/02/2019 18:54

Big Thank You to Freddie

Hope i won't end up hero to zero

hohoho!

Have a profitable year, my dear friend.

5354_

4,631 posts

Posted by 5354_ > 2019-02-23 09:43 | Report Abuse

Aramco should build refinery near/in Arab Saudi. India perhaps nearer than M'sia?

qqq3 cannot understand....Petronas/ Aramco can spend $ 100 billion to build Rapids, cannot spend a few billion to out right own their own tanks...............
the whole business model is just weird.....

when it is too weird, better ignore....
22/02/2019 12:56

5354_

4,631 posts

Posted by 5354_ > 2019-02-23 09:46 | Report Abuse

Dialog not in consumer sector how can compare with QL, Nestle or D Lady?

PureBULL .

2,415 posts

Posted by PureBULL . > 2019-02-23 11:02 | Report Abuse

Dear sifu calvintaneng,
DIALOG is edi in the same league as:

QL, HARTA, TOPGLOV, DIALOG, PCHEM, PBBANK, HLBANK, NESTLE, F&N, CARLSBG, PANAMY, AJI, PADINI n etc ...

All these forever best growth stocks in Msia r highly cyclical. They all have their own respective biz yrs to grow.

Many had gone over the best yrs recently n inevitably would have to go down too in prices n or sideways for years (2 to 5). Pick the ones that r abt to grow again...

The current THEME in play is

OnG contractors

in offshore maintenance n upgrading only.

53,397 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-02-23 11:15 | Report Abuse

Posted by PureBULL . > Feb 23, 2019 11:02 AM | Report Abuse

Dear sifu calvintaneng,
DIALOG is edi in the same league as:

QL, HARTA, TOPGLOV, DIALOG, PCHEM, PBBANK, HLBANK, NESTLE, F&N, CARLSBG, PANAMY, AJI, PADINI n etc ...

All these forever best growth stocks in Msia r highly cyclical. They all have their own respective biz yrs to grow.

Many had gone over the best yrs recently n inevitably would have to go down too in prices n or sideways for years (2 to 5). Pick the ones that r abt to grow again...

The current THEME in play is

OnG contractors

in offshore maintenance n upgrading only.

Correct

Focus is on Off shore now as Petronas need to rush for that crucial extra 54.7 million of cruse oil for Rapid

But Dialog already stated they started building for Petrol Chemical in coming phase

In Spore 30 yrs leasehold land on Jurong Island now sells for over Rm1,400 psf

So if Dialog just sell for only 30% of Singapore value it wiull be Rm1,400 x.3 = Rm420 psf

And 800 acres mean 800 x 43,560 x Rm420 = Rm14,636,160,000

That will be future gross profit from land sales alone

RM14.6 BILLIONS

PureBULL .

2,415 posts

Posted by PureBULL . > 2019-02-23 11:19 | Report Abuse

DIALOG = PETROL.FARMS,
its boss worked in Jurong n smartly came back to Pengerang to build
PETROL FARMS, another type of property developer but not build for sale.

53,397 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-02-23 12:43 | Report Abuse

PureBULL . DIALOG = PETROL.FARMS,
its boss worked in Jurong n smartly came back to Pengerang to build
PETROL FARMS, another type of property developer but not build for sale.
23/02/2019 11:19

WHOA THE BOSS SO CLEVER!

53,397 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-02-23 18:11 | Report Abuse

QL RESOURCES VERSUS DIALOG GROUP (Compare Price Chart & 5 Years EPS) Calvin Tan Research

https://klse.i3investor.com/jsp/blog/blpost.jsp?blid=2222&blpid=194764