42 comment(s). Last comment by Heavenly PUNTER 2019-03-05 21:16

12,832 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2019-03-04 16:31 | Report Abuse

Invert the question and of course, the answer is obvious. No.

Posted by (S = Qr) Philip > 2019-03-04 16:46 | Report Abuse

Does having Photoshop skills make you a better artist/painter?

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-03-04 17:05 | Report Abuse

S = Q r

can Q be trained ?

can r be trained?

in any case CFA level 3 is not about improving Q or r

it about getting familiar with the laws, regulations, environment , and risks in the industry................so much talk of risk, can still act after that?

so much margin of safety, can still fight?

guanKK

17 posts

Posted by guanKK > 2019-03-04 17:12 | Report Abuse

Does having a Katana Sword make one a better Samurai?
Hmm.. someone making killing with a small knife
some other kill just by fist

But can define that “better investor”?

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-03-04 17:13 | Report Abuse

as a proxy, ask those who write 8000 words thesis whether they can make money or not?...........

or is writing the objective , the ends itself?

Posted by Heavenly PUNTER > 2019-03-04 17:13 | Report Abuse

you can't say that, Samurai must have katana.

My definition of better here means better return, consistently.

Posted by Heavenly PUNTER > 2019-03-04 17:14 | Report Abuse

A better comparison would be like:

Does a degree make you a more effective employee?

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-03-04 17:25 | Report Abuse

S =Q r

u got to find a way to improve upon Q and r............

this is about practise, habits and who u are............

knowledge alone does not equal skill.

guanKK

17 posts

Posted by guanKK > 2019-03-04 17:27 | Report Abuse

my view is a tool doesn’t always make the user better.
CFA is one of the tools, investor is the user.
A good investor will find or refine the skill so that the tools works

guanKK

17 posts

Posted by guanKK > 2019-03-04 17:31 | Report Abuse

you really want to write a thesis on this? 0.0

Bruce88

Posted by Bruce88 > 2019-03-04 17:40 | Report Abuse

absurd questions ! LOL

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-03-04 17:42 | Report Abuse

Bruce88 > Mar 4, 2019 05:40 PM | Report Abuse

absurd questions ! LOL
===================================

all questions are good....some times the more absurd the better

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-03-04 17:47 | Report Abuse

CFA is proof a people is more intellectual and hardworking..................whatever that means........

cherry88

977 posts

Posted by cherry88 > 2019-03-04 18:00 | Report Abuse

interesting questions ! I have passed my CFA level 1 and 2...but failed Level 3 (No shy tell u guys lah). My original career path is to work in research firm and hope to earn "a lot of money" from there. My network / exposure in this department is : not many research analyst who have CFA can make "a lot of money" in the stock market. Of course, there are some who can make "a lot of money" but I cannot quantity / confirm such success was from CFA qualifiction

Posted by Heavenly PUNTER > 2019-03-04 20:01 | Report Abuse

no questions are too absurd or too dumb, as long as it challenges you intellectually, it's a good question. For one, I think CFA is mainly an express ticket for a higher position in an Investment Bank or any related field. That's it, like what many people here thinks, I too think that CFA doesn't make you a better investor.

Posted by Heavenly PUNTER > 2019-03-04 20:04 | Report Abuse

qqq3 yeah correct, trying to get a CFA means that person is hardworking but hardwork doesn't equal skill

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-03-04 20:21 | Report Abuse

I am not a CFA but my son is taking CFA, so I know.....

I encourage people to take CFA.....good paper......but S= Qr......don't expect CFA to help much..............

Posted by Heavenly PUNTER > 2019-03-04 20:25 | Report Abuse

qqq3 that's a very weird argument, if it doesn't help why take it?

Why not spend the time doing something that will help?

Posted by Heavenly PUNTER > 2019-03-04 20:25 | Report Abuse

One day I would think, I rather have KYY as title rather than CFA wakakakak if you know what I mean, something like this :

Heavenly PUNTER, KYY

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-03-04 20:28 | Report Abuse

Heavenly PUNTER > Mar 4, 2019 08:25 PM | Report Abuse

qqq3 that's a very weird argument, if it doesn't help why take it?

Why not spend the time doing something that will help?
==========

for a young man....what else better than CFA? None.....by the time in the 30s, title will come in handy............

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-03-04 20:35 | Report Abuse

for a young man, best advise to be a CFA, better than an engineer........

as for stock market, Learn to say NO.........be like Philips, not bad one...............

Posted by Heavenly PUNTER > 2019-03-04 20:38 | Report Abuse

I really have to agree Philips is good, why CFA is handy? I don't really get it, is there such a huge demand for it? TP from RHs all tak boleh pakai punya, if you talk M&A, 90% of them fail, what else IPOs most of the time also overvalued. Basically all these are done by people with CFA, kinda defeats the purpose of it isn't it

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-03-04 20:42 | Report Abuse

Heavenly PUNTER > Mar 4, 2019 08:38 PM | Report Abuse

I really have to agree Philips is good, why CFA is handy? I don't really get it, is there such a huge demand for it? TP from RHs all tak boleh pakai punya, if you talk M&A, 90% of them fail, what else IPOs most of the time also overvalued. Basically all these are done by people with CFA, kinda defeats the purpose of it isn't it
==========

for career la.............every CFA dream job is to be Fund manager for EPF/ PNB...........

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-03-04 20:49 | Report Abuse

of course the down side is CFA becomes NATO.............no action talk only.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-03-04 20:50 | Report Abuse

of course the down side is CFA becomes NATO.............no action talk only.

everyday also got risk, every counter also got risk.

most CFA becomes NATO......we call it professional hazard..............

Posted by Heavenly PUNTER > 2019-03-04 20:55 | Report Abuse

no wonder my EPF only 6+ % per year, look at the Norwegian retirement fund lah, wakao

MengYew

818 posts

Posted by MengYew > 2019-03-04 21:02 | Report Abuse

Punter, you can't compare EPF & Norges. There's a lot of difference between this 2 retirement fund.

Posted by Heavenly PUNTER > 2019-03-04 21:30 | Report Abuse

MengYew, care to enlighten me on the differences ah?

MengYew

818 posts

Posted by MengYew > 2019-03-04 21:52 | Report Abuse

1. Fund saize
2. Combination of assets
3. Portfolio allocations
4. Geographical reach
5. Technical
6. Expertise
7. Technologies input & output
8. Political influences
9. Vision & mission

Posted by Heavenly PUNTER > 2019-03-04 21:53 | Report Abuse

i think i focused on number 6 only

MengYew

818 posts

Posted by MengYew > 2019-03-04 22:56 | Report Abuse

I'm term of expertise, Norges source the best FM of the particular market. Meaning, they invest into right ppl and achieve the required return. EPF wise, up to your judgement.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-03-05 08:01 | Report Abuse

From what I hear, EPF also very respectable and very difficult to get in..........

4,797 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2019-03-05 08:10 | Report Abuse

UM’s motto ‘Ilmu Puncha Kemajuan’. The motto consists of ‘Ilmu’ derived from Arabic, ‘Puncha’ from Sanskrit, and ‘Kemajuan’ from Malay. These words mean knowledge is the source of progress. We had used our knowledge to benefit self and all and contribute to the well-being and progress of society. So knowledge is power and with great knowledge come greater responsibility.

But sad to say many people misuse their knowledge and power for the purpose of enriching themselves only even to the extent of fraud/thieve/abused/misused and had no conscious, retrospection and shame (Apa Malu Bossku) so whose fault?

Is education fails us? Are our moral values had decayed to such extent that only money talk?
Do we still have sense of responsibility?

P/S: I am proud to be a product of Chinese education where my ancestor values of “礼, 义, 廉, 恥” was imparted and imprinted into me since childhood.

Posted by (S = Qr) Philip > 2019-03-05 08:24 | Report Abuse

I am a plantation smallholder (with 40 acres shared amongst old friends), an M&E engineer, a technical manager, an MLM Diamond, an amateur stockpicker (with 20 years experience losing money for my father in law, wife and best friends), and avid reader of all sorts of books who doesn't have a single financial degree or CFA.

But I daresay I know a thing or three about investing in businesses listed on bursa.

I would say all knowledge is interrelated, and all knowledge is useful.

It depends on how you apply them in your mental model of understanding a business.

Is a CFA level 3 useful? sure. Does it make you a better investor in Bursa? Depends on how you use it.

wiki123

2,447 posts

Posted by wiki123 > 2019-03-05 08:35 | Report Abuse

this is correct :)

>> It depends on how you apply them in your mental model of understanding a business.

wiki123

2,447 posts

Posted by wiki123 > 2019-03-05 08:36 | Report Abuse

some accountant cares about the cash in the company, but like Philip said, management is very important, do they want to share with the shareholders?

Posted by John Lu > 2019-03-05 08:38 | Report Abuse

NO!

Uncle Koon have CFA?

Answer is no need

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-03-05 09:19 | Report Abuse

Posted by wiki123 > Mar 5, 2019 08:35 AM | Report Abuse

this is correct :)

>> It depends on how you apply them in your mental model of understanding a business.
============

some thing is half full or half empty? That has nothing to do with CFA qualification.

kalteh

99 posts

Posted by kalteh > 2019-03-05 09:27 | Report Abuse

Having taken it and passed the level,I would say the program is a generalist one which will no doubt helps you in understanding financial statement and its nuances and provide proper framework in stock valuation. But your success in doing so still depends on you.

Posted by qqq3 > 2019-03-05 15:28 | Report Abuse

Level 1 is a revision of university stuffs....but KYY and Philips doesn't seem to miss it.

Posted by Heavenly PUNTER > 2019-03-05 21:15 | Report Abuse

thank you all so much for your valuable input, and I have decided to tell my friends not to take CFA.

Posted by Heavenly PUNTER > 2019-03-05 21:16 | Report Abuse

Because to me CFA is like a train ticket to get you on board on Private Equity Firm or Fund Management Trains, that's it