13 comment(s). Last comment by calvintaneng 2019-03-22 16:30

53,278 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-03-21 22:40 | Report Abuse

Calvin comments:

Just arrived back in Singapore and saw Uncle posted this

HK security firm forced sold Uncle Koon's shares offer some lessons

1) When you buy share on margin you are open to the Uncertain & the Unknown'

2) Uncle Koon should not have travelled for so many days without calling about the status of his shares (again in 1989 Internet was not so advanced nor whataspp like today

3) Security Firm will force sell shares to meet margin. If not any short fall security firm will be exposed to losses themselves. So they are not entirely wrong

4) This one example is a good lesson for us not to put all eggs into one basket.
Always diversify investments

5) Also don't play margin if you cannot give full 100% attention to the margin accounts

6) Better invest in undervalue shares with cash only. In this way you are not forced to sell at the wrong time and at the wrong price

7) For most of this year Calvin has been very bullish on Oil & Gas stocks.

But Calvin only buy when prices are reasonable and with margin of safety as opposed to trading on margin account (Calvin never trade with margin account)

This oil bull is only officially few months old so there is more upside after things are more settled down

8) Today we see Serba & other Oil entities given fresh job awards. Yesterday Uzma got onshore HWUs jobs. So we will witness more and more OnG jobs unfold.

Calvin thinks this OnG bull run still got more upside. Buy and hold is still the best strategy

9) Now many are unsure how far or high high the Oil & Gas Bull Stocks will still go up.

And many are looking forward to the May quarter earnings to confirm the bull trend

10) While waiting Calvin thinks the Next Event On The Investing Calendar will be the upcoming Meeting on ECRL (East Coastal Rail Link) by Tun Daim Zainuddin in China this April which is only less than 2 weeks from now

And these are the Stocks Calvin think might get a booster if ECRL is on

1) AZRB (it is building the TOK Bali Oil Hub which might one day rival Bintulu Port)

2) T7 Global (This one already secured 2 Oil & Gas Jobs recently) Might also get ECRL Jobs

3) Lafarge Cement (The previous cancelled Rm270 millions contract with China Contractors might restart)

4) Masteel (Its Kapar factory is part of the ECRL Route)

5) PRESTAR (This One has factory in Rawang and also near to ECRL Route) Lots of Wheel barrows & Guardrails needed

6) TALAM. Talam has 2 Gold mines along ECRL Routes (Its prime Commercial/Industrial Lands in Serendah & Its 100 Acres lands in Gombak. Gombak is a Major Hub/Inter Change of the ECRL)

Just buy some shares of the 6 above companies & wait till April. And today due to selling in Dayang these shares are also affected by selling and therefore cheaper to buy.

newbie911

1,111 posts

Posted by newbie911 > 2019-03-21 23:18 | Report Abuse

Averwge 0.8....true or nt oh?

53,278 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-03-21 23:20 | Report Abuse

One more thing to take note

"" Immediately after 3 days, Sun Hung Kai Securities completely sold all my shares at HK $ 3.80 each to their own investment company and I had nothing left.""

the Tainanmen Square incident created panic selling & Hong Kong Billionaire Thomas Kwok dared to buy over Uncle Koon's shares showed great fortitude

No wonder he is a Billionaire. He could have sold all in the HK Stock Exchange in stead he chose to picked up forced sold shares in the time of greatest fear

That was what Sifu Warren Buffet told us to buy when others are fearfully selling

Uncle Koon himself said he bought a lot of cheap HK shares when China decided to take back HK from the British which also created panic selling

And in our own context now 3 IB houses downgraded Dayang created panic selling on OnG counters also

Calvin thinks this is the best time to bargain hunt fallen OnG shares from recent peak like Penergy, T7 Global, AZRB, Pantech, Dialog, Destini, Velesto & MHB.

Just buy some and wait till May 2019 results and see how things go.

Posted by Lukesharewalker > 2019-03-21 23:22 | Report Abuse

thought TP 3?LOL

mach10

371 posts

Posted by mach10 > 2019-03-22 01:01 | Report Abuse

my goodness.KYY has good memory for his age.

Harold Huong

1,036 posts

Posted by Harold Huong > 2019-03-22 06:47 | Report Abuse

Your guys no need to sleep? Today index could be UP UP

lachai2004

589 posts

Posted by lachai2004 > 2019-03-22 07:36 | Report Abuse

Uncle koon should read the margin agreement again..

Goh Kim Hock

2,948 posts

Posted by Goh Kim Hock > 2019-03-22 08:17 | Report Abuse

Everybody is wrong except uncle KYY..

lextcs

1,961 posts

Posted by lextcs > 2019-03-22 08:55 | Report Abuse

i tot uncle believes in fundamentals...certainly margin financing is not one of them. Its like u go to casino and get your chips from the juncket to gamble...in the end u forgot how much leverage u've gotten yourself into... so what uncle and his gang didn't disclose is they are part and parcel of the goreng process.

JayC

1,302 posts

Posted by JayC > 2019-03-22 09:58 | Report Abuse

now you cannot do that already. If you have account with Maybank, you cannot buy maybank share

If you have PBB account, you cannot buy PBB

Posted by stockraider > 2019-03-22 10:58 | Report Abuse

Unless u use margin of the respective bank to buy...it is ok to buy the same bank share...if u use own cash loh....!!

value88

701 posts

Posted by value88 > 2019-03-22 12:06 | Report Abuse

What he meant above is he has started selling Dayang, and he will sell more if its stock price keeps coming down.

53,278 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-03-22 16:30 | Report Abuse

Uncle Koon himself knows what he is doing
So don't need to speculative

Just stick to market fundamental

Buy stocks well supported by margin of safety

Stay safe