6 people like this.

59 comment(s). Last comment by VIN3133 2019-10-17 19:37

Ricky Yeo

Posted by Ricky Yeo > 2019-10-03 08:32 | Report Abuse

If it is a 'standard', all less than PE 10 stocks are undervalued?

DK66

4,269 posts

Posted by DK66 > 2019-10-03 08:32 | Report Abuse

Dear Sslee,

Auxiliary consumption is about 8%. As i have said, I wanted to keep my calculation simple. So, I used 77% base load for calculation of output. In any case, Jaks Hai Duong plant is expected to deliver 8b Kwh to the grid under normal conditions.

-----------------------
Sslee Dear DK66,
You need to deduct 10% from the revenue because auxiliary power is for own use or non revenue power generated. You only have renenue for power supply to grid.

DK66

4,269 posts

Posted by DK66 > 2019-10-03 08:43 | Report Abuse

Ricky Yeo,

10 is just a line. I believe 10 is considered fair and reasonable in most cases. Stable and safe businesses will have higher PE.

It also depends on market conditions. For US tech stocks now, anything below 20 is consider cheap.

-------------------------
Ricky Yeo If it is a 'standard', all less than PE 10 stocks are undervalued?
03/10/2019 8:32 AM

Ricky Yeo

Posted by Ricky Yeo > 2019-10-03 09:24 | Report Abuse

Never mind. That doesn't answer the question why 10 is considered fair. Why not 10.5? Why not 12 be fair? What's the underlying principle that tells why PE 10 is fair for a stock and not fair for another stock?

Ricky Yeo

Posted by Ricky Yeo > 2019-10-03 09:25 | Report Abuse

And again why tech stock is cheap below 20? aka fair at 20? why not PE 10? Are WeWork a tech stock or property? Would that decide whether WeWork should be valued at 10 or 20?

DK66

4,269 posts

Posted by DK66 > 2019-10-03 09:26 | Report Abuse

Ricky Yeo,

In your opinion, what PE is fair for Hai Duong Plant ?

4,281 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2019-10-03 09:41 | Report Abuse

DK66. Finance cost is rather high in Vietnam. Average interest rate 9% is more suitable in reflecting current prevailing market rate.

DK66

4,269 posts

Posted by DK66 > 2019-10-03 09:43 | Report Abuse

The US$1.4b borrowing is in US$ and is financed by 3 chinese banks.

-------------------------------
Up_down DK66. Finance cost is rather high in Vietnam. Average interest rate 9% is more suitable in reflecting current prevailing market rate.

DK66

4,269 posts

Posted by DK66 > 2019-10-03 09:46 | Report Abuse

I think 6% interest rate is fair enough given that the 30 years treasury yield is only about 2%.

Posted by dailyklse2010 > 2019-10-03 09:49 | Report Abuse

Dear DK66,

Very thanks your sharing which has energized my confidence and reaffirmed my belief with sailang all my 10yr saving in JAKS with average price 0.81 since 1 year ago.

I hope this is one of my best choice in my life.

DK66

4,269 posts

Posted by DK66 > 2019-10-03 09:54 | Report Abuse

dailyklse2010,

Thanks, You must be very confident in Jaks to sailang all your savings.

I think you need to have contingency plan for unexpected outcomes.

------------------------------
dailyklse2010 Dear DK66,

Very thanks your sharing which has energized my confidence and reaffirmed my belief with sailang all my 10yr saving in JAKS with average price 0.81 since 1 year ago.

4,281 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2019-10-03 10:10 | Report Abuse

Vietnamese government is restricted borrowing in USD to reduce dollarization recently. Not sure if there is any effect to Hai Duong plant loans.

Vietnam central bank clamps down on foreign currency borrowing for imports
https://e.vnexpress.net/news/business/economy/vietnam-central-bank-clamps-down-on-foreign-currency-borrowing-for-imports-3989739.html

Posted by DK66 > Oct 3, 2019 9:43 AM | Report Abuse

DK66

4,269 posts

Posted by DK66 > 2019-10-03 10:13 | Report Abuse

Up_down,

The financing arrangement of the power plant needs to be approved by Vietnam government. The financial close was achieved in Oct 2015 and approved by the vietnam government.

-------------------------
Up_down Vietnamese government is restricted borrowing in USD to reduce dollarization recently. Not sure if there is any effect to Hai Duong plant loans.

Vietnam central bank clamps down on foreign currency borrowing for imports
https://e.vnexpress.net/news/business/economy/vietnam-central-bank-cla...

Posted by dailyklse2010 > 2019-10-03 10:18 | Report Abuse

Nowadays, JAKS condition is more stable than that time i bought although still facing paper loss. My heart already go through the test of KYY dumping period.

My worst condition is back to 40 cent which i still got 5 year saving.

DK66

4,269 posts

Posted by DK66 > 2019-10-03 10:20 | Report Abuse

dailyklse2010,

Your suffering, patient and confidence will be handsomely rewarded.

DK66

4,269 posts

Posted by DK66 > 2019-10-03 10:35 | Report Abuse

This article provided a calculation methodology that is comprehensible by most readers here. It shows the earning potential of a power plant in Vietnam.

However, I must caution readers that this method can only be used as a reference. Jaks power plant earning is governed by the PPA which is a 2 tiers system; capacity and energy payments.

Nevertheless, this article demonstrates the prospect of power generation business in Vietnam.

Posted by dailyklse2010 > 2019-10-03 10:36 | Report Abuse

Dear DK66,

Your are my lighthouse when i almost lost.
I guess your large portion of fund also in JAKS. am i right ? haha

Lets us win together.

DK66

4,269 posts

Posted by DK66 > 2019-10-03 11:32 | Report Abuse

Let us win together

andry_ong

1,902 posts

Posted by andry_ong > 2019-10-03 15:05 | Report Abuse

DK66, Please correct if i'm wrong, the 1st 600MW will be completed in 2020 and 2nd 600MW will be 2021. The revenue as your calculation will happen in 2021 end. However by next year, Jaks can realizes the 1st unit and i believe the share price will sky rocket to 1.5.

DK66

4,269 posts

Posted by DK66 > 2019-10-03 15:09 | Report Abuse

andry_ong, That is based on the deadline for completion agreed with the vietnam government. It is normally completed 6 months ahead of schedule. I expect both units to be completed before end of 2020.

andry_ong

1,902 posts

Posted by andry_ong > 2019-10-03 17:22 | Report Abuse

@DK66, Thank you for your effort, however I'm in doubt of your interest expense of USD44 millions for a CAPEX of 2.25 billions project. I guess it should be more than 100 mils especially the fund from China.

DK66

4,269 posts

Posted by DK66 > 2019-10-03 17:43 | Report Abuse

The project is US$1.868b and it is financed by 75:25 debt equity ratio. US$1.4b loan was secured in Oct 2015. Note that the it is average interest expense for the entire 18 year loan period.

-----------------------------------
andry_ong @DK66, Thank you for your effort, however I'm in doubt of your interest expense of USD44 millions for a CAPEX of 2.25 billions project. I guess it should be more than 100 mils especially the fund from China.
03/10/2019 5:22 PM

Posted by stockraider > 2019-10-03 18:50 | Report Abuse

No counting chicken b4 it hatch loh...!!

The power plant not producing any power n still under development loh...!!

Better to buy insas.....its chicken already hatch & inari already moving up loh....!!

Too much risk & uncertainty for jaks power plant mah...!!

4,281 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2019-10-03 19:01 | Report Abuse

kyy lost 60 million in Jaks. Pengoreng have earned so much money in such a short time. They will come back one.

Posted by stockraider > Oct 3, 2019 6:50 PM | Report Abuse

No counting chicken b4 it hatch loh...!!

The power plant not producing any power n still under development loh...!!

Better to buy insas.....its chicken already hatch & inari already moving up loh....!!

Too much risk & uncertainty for jaks power plant mah...!!

Posted by stockraider > 2019-10-03 19:02 |

Moore

36 posts

Posted by Moore > 2019-10-03 19:03 | Report Abuse

Guys can share some proven trading strategies I can learn?

4,281 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2019-10-03 19:08 | Report Abuse

Sometimes, we don't have to act smart in stock market. Stock market is an irrational place for people playing game...follow the trend will do. lolz

Posted by stockraider > Oct 3, 2019 7:02 PM | Report Abuse

just don be another sohai loh...!!

Posted by stockraider > 2019-10-03 19:10 |

4,281 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2019-10-03 19:17 | Report Abuse

Nothing is certain in the market for short and mid term. Don't be too confident in your word.

Posted by stockraider > Oct 3, 2019 7:10 PM | Report Abuse

Yes don have to act smart but better don be another sohai loh...!!

4,281 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2019-10-03 19:25 | Report Abuse

But I hardly see kyy come back to goreng the same counter twice. lolz

4,281 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2019-10-03 19:29 | Report Abuse

Practice of cutting loss until you don't have much feeling in loosing money.

Posted by Moore > Oct 3, 2019 7:03 PM | Report Abuse

Guys can share some proven trading strategies I can learn?

DK66

4,269 posts

Posted by DK66 > 2019-10-03 19:29 | Report Abuse

You may have to wait for him to finish off Dayang first

DK66

4,269 posts

Posted by DK66 > 2019-10-03 19:31 | Report Abuse

Laughable but true !

-----------------
Up_down Practice of cutting loss until you don't have much feeling in loosing money.

4,281 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2019-10-03 19:39 | Report Abuse

The tricky part is how to maintain our confident while keep cutting lost.. It is, in fact, life torturing during the process and may have to endure it for years.

DK66

4,269 posts

Posted by DK66 > 2019-10-03 19:42 | Report Abuse

Cut loss is never easy but vital survival strategy in stock market

4,281 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2019-10-03 19:46 | Report Abuse

No easy life in stock market especially KLSE. The up and down cycle in a short period is really shaking our heads.

DK66

4,269 posts

Posted by DK66 > 2019-10-03 19:47 | Report Abuse

Learn to invest prudently. Learn to read financial information. Learn to analyse available information. Learn to take calculated risks. Most importantly, learn how to source insider information. But whatever you do, don't listen blindly to strangers !

Posted by PotentialGhost > 2019-10-03 19:50 | Report Abuse

DK66, In Ricky Yeo opinion is I don't know . Ricky Yeo can't answer your question la DK66 Stop asking him again ,very no face

DK66

4,269 posts

Posted by DK66 > 2019-10-03 19:52 | Report Abuse

I can't answer his question either. I suppose nobody has a right answer.

Is 10 a fair PE ? Well, one way to judge is to compare with the industrial average.

------------------------
PotentialGhost In Ricky Yeo opinion is I don't know . Ricky Yeo can't answer your question DK66. Haha
03/10/2019 7:47 PM

DK66

4,269 posts

Posted by DK66 > 2019-10-03 19:58 | Report Abuse

Most importantly, learn how to source insider information. In this case, if you can get a copy of the Power Purchase Agreement on Hai Duong Power Plant, you know everything !

DK66

4,269 posts

Posted by DK66 > 2019-10-03 20:10 | Report Abuse

Power plants under BOT contracts are protected by the PPA which has an element of Capacity payment which is paid to the plant operators regardless of anything; whether the plant is operating, output level, etc.

This is the minimum payment the plant operator will receive throughout the 25 years.

DK66

4,269 posts

Posted by DK66 > 2019-10-03 20:11 | Report Abuse

So, if you know the capacity payment, you know the minimum valuation of the power plant.

DK66

4,269 posts

Posted by DK66 > 2019-10-03 20:33 | Report Abuse

I m glad that this article makes to the top of the top article list !

DK66

4,269 posts

Posted by DK66 > 2019-10-03 20:36 | Report Abuse

What is so special about this article ?

Information source is reliable and dependable.

Calculation is simple and easy to understand.

DK66

4,269 posts

Posted by DK66 > 2019-10-04 15:18 | Report Abuse

It is a challenge for me to keep my articles simple and easy to understand. For example my article on "Jaks Resources – Peer Comparison With Mong Duong II" https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/Jaks%20resources/204451.jsp.

It requires some accounting knowledge to understand the article. I could not make it any simpler.

DK66

4,269 posts

Posted by DK66 > 2019-10-04 16:06 | Report Abuse

Nevertheless, I strongly recommend readers to try to understand the article "Jaks Resources – Peer Comparison With Mong Duong II" because Mong Duong II is in fact a mirror (99.9% resemblance) for Jaks Hai Duong Power plant.

Moore

36 posts

Posted by Moore > 2019-10-08 18:34 | Report Abuse

What about, learn from the course, such as "Snap Academy"?

DK66

4,269 posts

Posted by DK66 > 2019-10-17 19:12 | Report Abuse

Note that the above tariff changes announced are only applicable to local coal power producers which are not subjected to the BOT contracts. Under BOT contracts, the plants must be returned to the Vietnam Government free of charge after 25 years operation period. Therefore, logically the returns from operation under BOT should accordingly be higher to compensate for the limited operation period.

VIN3133

567 posts

Posted by VIN3133 > 2019-10-17 19:21 | Report Abuse

v clear & understood !!
This is akin to " guaranteed minimum payment " & akin to having an " auto cash generating machine " for 25 years !!
---------------------------------------------------------
DK66 >Oct 3, 2019 8:10 PM | Report Abuse

Power plants under BOT contracts are protected by the PPA which has an element of Capacity payment which is paid to the plant operators regardless of anything; whether the plant is operating, output level, etc.

This is the minimum payment the plant operator will receive throughout the 25 years

VIN3133

567 posts

Posted by VIN3133 > 2019-10-17 19:37 | Report Abuse

So , apa kita mau lagi ?
So, Abang Musang, our travel to Mini Station 1.50, Medium Station 2.50 , Big Station 3.50 & so on , is v safe & sound !!
While we together sing along ur copyright song all day long !!
Wet Wet Song Song !!

hahaha
VIN3133>Oct 17, 2019 7:21 PM | Report Abuse X

v clear & understood !!
This is akin to " guaranteed minimum payment " & akin to having an " auto cash generating machine " for 25 years !!
DK66 >Oct 3, 2019 8:10 PM | Report Abuse

This is the minimum payment the plant operator will receive throughout the 25 years