NOTION VTEC BHD

KLSE (MYR): NOTION (0083)

0.89 - 0.945

29 people like this.

16,538 comment(s). Last comment by CharlesT 48 minutes ago

12,594 posts

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-08-23 21:16 | Report Abuse

By just reading notion qr, you know whether the company is coming clean or not when it comes to disclosure. Given notion ability to potentially fully claim previous loss, and on top of that, business interruption claim, and given notion position in continually finding its sweet spot in its non core business segment, time will tell if today's investment is worthwhile to pursue.

12,594 posts

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-08-23 21:18 | Report Abuse

Of course, the decision is always yours. You can wait until notion generates greater return. As for now, I see stronger balance sheet, and stronger cash. I just want proper resource deployed to those people who are capable, and i think I can give notion a chance.

Disclosure, Alex owns a cute amount of post fire notion shares.

Faith78

102 posts

Posted by Faith78 > 2018-08-23 22:07 | Report Abuse

Hi, Billy you are right, as you mentioned earlier you are right, the company still making profit can u ask your relative is this company dealing with US

2,823 posts

Posted by cheoky > 2018-08-23 22:20 | Report Abuse

After fire write off, then manage to claim b insurance. Both are recorded. That all. The icing on cake is biz disruption insurance claim. How best they utilize the insurance for future biz investment. That is the potential.

tswear

36 posts

Posted by tswear > 2018-08-23 22:45 | Report Abuse

Agree with Alex, esp the strong cash flow. The company is also fairly transparent.

For me, with relative sales, profit above 8 million is a good sign of recovery because this Q insurance claim is 10 million less than last Q. The pace of recovery is above my expectation of around 11~15 million. So it is an extraordinary result for me.

All 3 segments posted higher sales.

Reports guided that the cost will be reduced further once fully recovered (no more time related fixed expenses, temp rental & operations etc). The new extrusion projects are also a plus.

I will stick to my previous posts, collect more on retracement, hold for long term, as long as fundamentals remain intact.

wiki123

2,447 posts

Posted by wiki123 > 2018-08-24 09:19 | Report Abuse

volume building up nicely.... kasi dia pecah 0.8... even if it's earnings is 8mil, which is 3 cents EPS, 4 quarters mean 12 cents EPS... PE 20 for tech firm is still RM 2.4.... at this valuation still very cheap

wiki123

2,447 posts

Posted by wiki123 > 2018-08-24 09:22 | Report Abuse

since they already hint cost will come down, that means this will rally for 3 to 6 months... minimum...

14,887 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-08-24 09:59 | Report Abuse

Very sneaky Boss...sold some and wait for next round

Posted by jordanmaggie61 > 2018-08-24 10:00 | Report Abuse

All stocks are green today.we may see minimal growth. Worth to invest

geary

6,356 posts

Posted by geary > 2018-08-24 10:57 | Report Abuse

Ha...Hold...for another 6 months Probably will see what to expect from its net profit margin n overall asset turnover. Overall just Average at present... Probably will be better...if in full operations. TQ.

wiki123

2,447 posts

Posted by wiki123 > 2018-08-24 11:09 | Report Abuse

agree Charles, very sneaky boss indeed...

Lim Tek Wai

2,386 posts

Posted by Lim Tek Wai > 2018-08-24 12:02 | Report Abuse

Strong momentum time to invest now.

Posted by Lukesharewalker > 2018-08-24 13:33 | Report Abuse

9 months 8 mil profit includes insurance payout?

Posted by Lukesharewalker > 2018-08-24 13:33 | Report Abuse

wowwwww……..

12,594 posts

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-08-24 15:08 | Report Abuse

yes, once it perform normally, then u can raise tp from 60sen up.

12,594 posts

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-08-24 15:09 | Report Abuse

I have seen 43sen tp report also. Where is it now?

14,887 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-08-24 15:46 | Report Abuse

Kenanga earlier gave TP RM0.44 only...now considered upgrade....lol

Natu Ral

176 posts

Posted by Natu Ral > 2018-08-24 15:54 | Report Abuse

This company have yet to fully recover to our pre-fire performance due to capacity constraint as the construction of our main plant is only expected to be completed by end of 2018. The uncertainty in market conditions is also a drawback as customers turn cautious on their outlook. Despite the higher revenue, margins are low due to the higher cost of operations arising from makeshift operations to cope with orders and replacement expenses incurred as we recover from the setback. As for Camera segment, the industry is facing a lot of competition in the like of smartphones and is expected to be lower than the previous fiscal year revenue.The loans are RM20.0 million. As for the effects of the trade wars, but do not preclude an after effect.

14,887 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-08-24 16:01 | Report Abuse

The co (or the boss) is very naughty...there had been a series of unfortunate evens in the past...2 rounds of fire incidents and one forex huge loss...

14,887 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-08-24 16:02 | Report Abuse

And one screw up in one of their projects (camera lens) if i m not mistaken

wiki123

2,447 posts

Posted by wiki123 > 2018-08-24 16:35 | Report Abuse

Charles, how about the silver mining venture few years ago, and had to do impairment writedown...

Posted by Lukesharewalker > 2018-08-24 16:38 | Report Abuse

distribution

Posted by Lukesharewalker > 2018-08-24 16:39 | Report Abuse

new product disruption. mirrorless camera

14,887 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-08-24 16:41 | Report Abuse

Posted by wiki123 > Aug 24, 2018 04:35 PM | Report Abuse

Charles, how about the silver mining venture few years ago, and had to do impairment writedown...

Yeap, i thought that was the camera lens project?

wiki123

2,447 posts

Posted by wiki123 > 2018-08-24 16:58 | Report Abuse

i think they acquired an Australian silver mining company... but that decision really had me asking why they do that during that time...

wiki123

2,447 posts

Posted by wiki123 > 2018-08-24 16:59 | Report Abuse

re: Lukesharewalker, what do you mean by product distribution? are they involved in the manufacturing of the components?

wiki123

2,447 posts

Posted by wiki123 > 2018-08-24 17:12 | Report Abuse

lol, it says for investors they ask to look at their cash, instead of profit... haha

"The current business mix is about 55% in USD and 30% in Euro foreign currencies and the rest in Thai Baht and Ringgit as well. So the strength of the USD will bear strongly on the Group’s fortune being an exporter.
For investors, we advise to pay more attention to the Cashflow Statements of the Group for cash the most important element in business as well as in investment. The loans are not too high at a manageable and comforting level of RM20.0million."

Billyming

59 posts

Posted by Billyming > 2018-08-24 20:44 | Report Abuse

Faith78, my relative is actually my brother is attach to the company . as mentioned earlier, the company is making profit but part of the profit consist of claim from the fire insurance . but now i was told by my brother, the company next quarter wiyh flying colour
They managed to secure a few contract from USA to supplyi

Billyming

59 posts

Posted by Billyming > 2018-08-24 20:53 | Report Abuse

the company managed to secure a few large contracts from USA to supply high precision micro parts for the semi conductor industry. Since start the trade war, the company benefit from it. hope this will contribute significant to the next quarter result.

Posted by Hasnulhalim88 > 2018-08-24 23:40 | Report Abuse

Awesome...all the more reason to put all in into notion

LKC003

45 posts

Posted by LKC003 > 2018-08-25 06:18 | Report Abuse

Performance looks good. Though decrease in profit, it is much better than the loss in the previous Q. Better days on the way

Faith78

102 posts

Posted by Faith78 > 2018-08-25 11:25 | Report Abuse

Billy, tq

kjyang

56 posts

Posted by kjyang > 2018-08-25 22:59 | Report Abuse

Without the insurance claim,
This quarter is loss

Posted by Lukesharewalker > 2018-08-25 23:02 | Report Abuse

9 months actually losses

pangolin

1,020 posts

Posted by pangolin > 2018-08-25 23:44 | Report Abuse

usd 4.1 now ....... bright future for notion ..... year end can be reach 1 .00 ...

Posted by Hasnulhalim88 > 2018-08-26 05:28 | Report Abuse

@Billyming...if possible...can you share the article/info related to the contracts from USA.Thanks

Faith78

102 posts

Posted by Faith78 > 2018-08-26 13:22 | Report Abuse

Hasnul, based on his comments earlier, his relative is attach to notion so is insider information

Posted by FirdausTpg80 > 2018-08-26 14:17 | Report Abuse

the company fundamental is strong. eventhough the fire destroyed their plant last year, but the company continue to make imprresive result

Posted by FirdausTpg80 > 2018-08-26 14:17 | Report Abuse

next QR result will do much better

kjyang

56 posts

Posted by kjyang > 2018-08-26 15:49 | Report Abuse

Next QR, no more insurance claim.
It's actual performance will determine the future share price

tswear

36 posts

Posted by tswear > 2018-08-27 10:39 | Report Abuse

kjyang, source?

The management with our claims consultant had been engaging with the insurers to ensure the balance of the claim is on track. As explained in our previous quarters’ announcement, the under recovery of manufacturing expenses is still affecting our profit margins. These expenses and lost opportunities are covered under the business interruption insurance policy which the Company has submitted an interim claim estimate for the insurance adjusters’ further action.
Outlook:
We have submitted both final fire loss claim computation documents to the insurer and its consortium and also pursued the Business Interruption claim as well.

Even ignoring the insurance, core earnings/loss improved from -3.74 (based on dynaquest adj) to around -0.25 or 3.5 sen improvement.

lanciao

544 posts

Posted by lanciao > 2018-08-27 14:30 | Report Abuse

Crap pui. Paria

geary

6,356 posts

Posted by geary > 2018-08-27 15:58 | Report Abuse

Sold all...average gains 20%...not the right sentiment...TQ.

RJ87

5,133 posts

Posted by RJ87 > 2018-08-27 17:21 | Report Abuse

I haven't thoroughly check the report. I good place to start is see the revenue by segment. Identify which segment was affect by the fire and how much contributed to the loss and how much it affects the revenue.

I'm looking in deep on how they fabricated two quarters of EPS. Almost like the fire it just another opportunity to grow.

And I do not doubt that trade war might benefit few company in MY. Mainly, exporter. Just see this as opportunity for Malaysia to export both side. At least until, Trump notice it and ban Malaysia too.

wetmarket

264 posts

Posted by wetmarket > 2018-08-27 17:56 | Report Abuse

I think Trump has to ban the whole world before banning malaysia that is making peanuts.

tswear

36 posts

Posted by tswear > 2018-08-28 09:52 | Report Abuse

yeah yeah, they 'fabricated' sales figures by redistributed loss capacity to thai & johor spare capacity, rented space, in addition to 2 months inventory. No loss figures since fire, must be fake.

Posted by jordanmaggie61 > 2018-08-28 10:06 | Report Abuse

Good potential stock, bought it !!!

Yael Jasper

2,178 posts

Posted by Yael Jasper > 2018-08-28 10:41 | Report Abuse

Very interesting stock ! Worth to invest tho

Risk Trader

3,942 posts

Posted by Risk Trader > 2018-08-30 10:15 | Report Abuse

TP 0.75 for closing today