MBSB BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): MBSB (1171)

0.71 - 0.72

30 people like this.

22,724 comment(s). Last comment by Yippy68 2 days ago

yipgusing

483 posts

Posted by yipgusing > 2013-07-10 21:47 | Report Abuse

if u follow the thread ,u might notice that i hold this share for quite long time dy ... thanks to bank negara for implementing the new rules.. so that you guys can have a chance to load in more of this stock !! anywhere below 3 for mbsb is a gem. Bliv anot is up to u...

Superb99

6,611 posts

Posted by Superb99 > 2013-07-10 22:17 | Report Abuse

worth to buy if below RM3...

heeroo

544 posts

Posted by heeroo > 2013-07-10 22:44 | Report Abuse

Go and check Q1 2012 Profit Before Tax, Q2 2012 PBT, Q1 2013, Q2 2013??.. I think good result and new record will come up.

Abudance

2,211 posts

Posted by Abudance > 2013-07-10 23:33 | Report Abuse

Yip, u bought the shared when it was RM1?

Abudance

2,211 posts

Posted by Abudance > 2013-07-10 23:36 | Report Abuse

Heroic... Undoubtedly mbsb past performance is very good.
To see if it can earn the same or even more in the next 2Q will have to be seen due to market forces,

jepun_77

428 posts

Posted by jepun_77 > 2013-07-11 11:16 | Report Abuse

go...go...go...DOWN...waiting at 2.90 & below...

Posted by newbiestock > 2013-07-11 11:19 | Report Abuse

u are a faderfuker@jepun77. wishful thinking nut

jepun_77

428 posts

Posted by jepun_77 > 2013-07-11 11:23 | Report Abuse

hahahaahaa :)

Posted by newbiestock > 2013-07-11 14:13 | Report Abuse

this stock goin up up and awei

Posted by Chew Serena > 2013-07-11 19:00 | Report Abuse

This stock can keep or not why this few days still below rm3

alexisvics

944 posts

Posted by alexisvics > 2013-07-11 19:10 | Report Abuse

Run for u r life. May drop to RM 2.80. 60% of clients are government servants. Most of them are doing refinancing. Now loan tenure turn from 25 years to 10, surely profit will down at coming financial rport.

necro

4,726 posts

Posted by necro > 2013-07-11 19:23 | Report Abuse

Yes and yes their client were civil servants...
Cannot say anything bout this counter the chance to up n down is 50 50
If u dont noe MBSB is like AhLong that provide loan to civil servants and if they want refinance after cant afford to pay MBSB they will go for BANK RAKYAT since they offer rate lower than MBSB and 1 more is Bank Rakyat dont cut too much for bank fees...

yipgusing

483 posts

Posted by yipgusing > 2013-07-11 23:11 | Report Abuse

necromancer , pls go n have a read of ammb analysis b4 giving ur comment.

necro

4,726 posts

Posted by necro > 2013-07-12 00:22 | Report Abuse

I give comment from my observation not depend only on IB analysist...
Dats why i dont said this counter is wrong to invest....
Aiyak...

heeroo

544 posts

Posted by heeroo > 2013-07-14 00:19 | Report Abuse

Necro.. mbsb, bsn, bank rakyat now 85% control.market personal for goverment servant.. but mbsb more special than others because they got many customers who took loan above RM200k loan and tenure above 20-25years.. not easy to redeem the loans.. all customer now will become loyal customer to the MBSB.. 3 years mbsb offer waslah, exec i product, teachers products.. now with bank negara rule tenure 10 years.. still can perform oo.. can offer to customer to open second account oo.. so got long portfolio and short portfolio oo. Juz mortgage they must take a good benchmark to close with other bank strategies to offer good loans..

necro

4,726 posts

Posted by necro > 2013-07-14 11:38 | Report Abuse

Before this 25 30 years now short to 10years....how civil servants want to borrow UP TO RM200K like before?...
Just a question...

Posted by Yurnero(Jerry) > 2013-07-14 17:08 | Report Abuse

this quarter no effect, but next quarter we shall see the extend of the effect. See 1 step walk 1 step loh, just hold for august dividend first. If good price sell half, den hold half to test holding longer period.

heeroo

544 posts

Posted by heeroo > 2013-07-14 23:11 | Report Abuse

gov servant who juz service 1-5years juz use personal loan to their wedding, study and help family.. they juz want personal loan 15k-50k only.. when they already got loan, then every year they want to overlap the loan. this year with mbsb next year bank rakyat.. so not good to the bank.. so 10 years still relevant to new or fresh payslip to get loan. But heavy loan can't overlap 4ever..

apprentice

789 posts

Posted by apprentice > 2013-07-15 00:35 | Report Abuse

necro asked a valid question.
BNM came up with the ruling to curb refinancing during the Raya season by borrowers.

apprentice

789 posts

Posted by apprentice > 2013-07-15 01:09 | Report Abuse

I know there are many die hard and hardcore fans of MBSB but do not fall in love with any counter. When regulations change, one needs to be objective in re evaluate the situation. Just to list 2 factors to consider.
1. MBSB has to follow the 60% pay cut for loans. Commercial banks are required to practice responsible banking by ensuring borrower's overall salary deduction does not exceed 60% of their pay. MBSB had been lending to civil servants who after deduction for house, car and personal loan, take home no more than 10% of pay.
2. NPL of MBSB is calculated differently from commercial banks. Normal standard is 3 months of non payment will classify the loan as NPL. MBSB practices 6 months non payment as NPL. With the re alignment of 3 months across the board, NPL will climb for MBSB.
Bear in mind many loans taken by civil servants are enormous and without collateral or guarantors. 5 years ago, NPL for MBSB was at 19% and its shares was hovering around rm1.
Borrowers who cannot afford to pay anymore, just go AWOL. No point working when 90% of their pay goes to repayment of loans.
I can go on and on, but do ponder why the shadow banks are put under more scrutiny.

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-07-15 09:20 | Report Abuse

Apprentice, you are absolutely correct with your view !

pathew

2,028 posts

Posted by pathew > 2013-07-15 09:24 | Report Abuse

apprentice, nice sharing, and there's a lot of info here which i'll digest further :)

Abudance

2,211 posts

Posted by Abudance > 2013-07-15 09:39 | Report Abuse

Agree with apprentice logic. But also Go check how much of mbsb EPF hold. I read about 60%.
Mbsb with new management of 3 years plus has done a lot of restructuring. If they can do pawn of gold or valuables like bank rakyat rather than let POS expand on this ... This is certainly another avenue for revenue.
Banks are the one who is the dynamo for economic growth. We have to eat h out for over gearing.
You have to think hard if you are contrarian player ....
Mbsb CANNOT go into PN17!
Wait for August dividend will be wise. Dividend payout usually stock us up a bit and ex will drop 95% of the times. So you can choose to buy to keep or average if u think worthwhile as bsnk mergers still must take place or sell and look for other stock if not long term investor good luck!

jimw88

22 posts

Posted by jimw88 > 2013-07-15 09:42 | Report Abuse

still have faith with MBSB .

kinghu

49 posts

Posted by kinghu > 2013-07-15 10:17 | Report Abuse

Lots of great views here on MBSB, especially from apprentice. I think fundamental business for MBSB still good. I just want to know how the government servant pay MBSB, automatically deduction from account or pay by themselves like normal people.

apprentice

789 posts

Posted by apprentice > 2013-07-15 10:37 | Report Abuse

Abundance, totally agree that epf holds 60% of mbsb. It also holds lots of MAS. So just because epf holds certain counter, it does not mean can do no wrong. Result to be announced late Aug will show good profit. The present ruling affects 3Q results, with negative growth expected.
kinghu, many civil servants will have their pay cut through Angkasa. That's the requirement by mbsb and some other banks. However, borrowers have lots of tricks up their sleeve, most drastic is pack up and balik kampong. Please bear in mind pay deduction for loans is by priority, govt loans first, and the balance to private loans. The Armed Forces have disallowed Angkasa to deduct pay for payment to discourage the men from over borrowing which could lead to corruption.
mbsb will not be pn17, but its huge profit from easy loans will be drastically reduced.
mbsb was set up to provide housing loans, not personal loans. BNM is bringing it back to its original core business. If it wants to provide financial loan, get a bank license and toe the line. If left unchecked, our financial system can and will collapse due to high NPLs by civil servants.

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-07-15 10:43 | Report Abuse

Good advice, apprentice

kinghu

49 posts

Posted by kinghu > 2013-07-15 11:04 | Report Abuse

good observation apprentice. Thank

member41

3,718 posts

Posted by member41 > 2013-07-15 16:01 | Report Abuse

nice movement today... is it recovering?

Posted by Chew Serena > 2013-07-15 16:10 | Report Abuse

WHAT'S HAPPEN SUDDEN MOVE UP 0.06

Abudance

2,211 posts

Posted by Abudance > 2013-07-15 18:54 | Report Abuse

I agree that it isn't that epf can do no wrong.
Epf also had to show profit t give interest payment for 6% plus.
Sure it drop. It it will go up again for August dividend I bought in good price. So don't think it will drop any lower. If its 2,80 plus again ... Before August ... I will surely buy more!

heeroo

544 posts

Posted by heeroo > 2013-07-15 23:25 | Report Abuse

Look back @ historical result 1Q2012 79m 2Q2012 93m 3Q2012 89m 1Q2013 167m 2Q2013? 3Q2013? I think easy to beat the last year result.. when you look to banking sector.. what do you espect? banking in malaysia are not same like other sector.. do you think the 2nd Q 2013 & 3rd Q 2013 result will be lower than RM150m profit or lower than RM100m..? salary deduction for personal loan why increase in NPL lor? Not easy to overlap can reduce interest income? good management team.. go and find past quarter report lower operating expenses.. meaning what?

YUICHAN88

Posted by YUICHAN88 > 2013-07-16 12:09 | Report Abuse

so mean this counter worth to buy in?? sorry, im new here.. hehe~~

Abudance

2,211 posts

Posted by Abudance > 2013-07-16 12:29 | Report Abuse

Heroo and gang who say don't buy mbsb ... What have u got to say now? :)

heeroo

544 posts

Posted by heeroo > 2013-07-16 13:06 | Report Abuse

who said don't buy? or said don't sell. For me & the gang still hold 1.17, 1.67, & 2.33.. so why must we panic..

member41

3,718 posts

Posted by member41 > 2013-07-16 13:57 | Report Abuse

long term holding should be good. waiting next dividends

Abudance

2,211 posts

Posted by Abudance > 2013-07-16 16:36 | Report Abuse

Heroo... It's the way you wrote ... The implication is that mbsb will go down. That's why lah! Maybe you don't mean it.. Newbies can juz panic sell. Lets help each other make good decisions by providing clear communication.

heeroo

544 posts

Posted by heeroo > 2013-07-16 18:54 | Report Abuse

no lah Abudance.. buy @ the end of this July.. Duit Raya coming..

Jerry

1,895 posts

Posted by Jerry > 2013-07-16 19:36 | Report Abuse

Quarter report to be released on 30 july, wednesday.

H.H K

4 posts

Posted by H.H K > 2013-07-16 21:48 | Report Abuse

Will go 3.400, see you......

Abudance

2,211 posts

Posted by Abudance > 2013-07-17 00:13 | Report Abuse

Great, heroo! Think its a good price to buy more ? :)
You think 3.40 can reach??

heeroo

544 posts

Posted by heeroo > 2013-07-17 08:16 | Report Abuse

if 27-30 jul maintain @ 3.10, after announce easy to reach..

pathew

2,028 posts

Posted by pathew > 2013-07-17 08:20 | Report Abuse

merger on the cards, although it's not their priority now... RHB no Captain to maneuver the ship!

juliakong

Posted by juliakong > 2013-07-17 11:09 | Report Abuse

Medium to long term still good stock to hold compared to many counters (unless Govt put a stop to personal loans to govt servant all together, politically impossible).

Abudance

2,211 posts

Posted by Abudance > 2013-07-17 13:51 | Report Abuse

Have to put some control for unnecessary over spending.
Not only RHB no captain ... MBB also looking for captain!

pathew

2,028 posts

Posted by pathew > 2013-07-17 18:23 | Report Abuse

lol abundance.... so how? jump ship?

Abudance

2,211 posts

Posted by Abudance > 2013-07-17 19:55 | Report Abuse

Bought in 2,87. Won't jump ship. Waiting for it to drop 2.90. Don't think it will. :( save bullets for cliq, sona, thh ... Cheaper and higher upside. Make sense? :)
Will see when ex if drop I will buy in if below 2,90.
Remember EPF holds 62%.

choonhock

2,029 posts

Posted by choonhock > 2013-07-18 16:35 | Report Abuse

yeah, this counter is cash cow to EPF.

Superb99

6,611 posts

Posted by Superb99 > 2013-07-18 17:05 | Report Abuse

It bounce back again...good...

Abudance

2,211 posts

Posted by Abudance > 2013-07-19 12:41 | Report Abuse