MAA GROUP BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): MAA (1198)

0.38 - 0.385

7 people like this.

3,370 comment(s). Last comment by SCM2023 1 week ago

linda77

146 posts

Posted by linda77 > 2019-03-27 16:52 | Report Abuse

@twh888 I'm well enough to collect more...haha

Cipta

1,019 posts

Posted by Cipta > 2019-03-27 17:29 | Report Abuse

Wah Linda, you so greedy. Even Melewar also not think of privatize it at 50 cents.

balvin71

1,153 posts

Posted by balvin71 > 2019-03-27 18:38 | Report Abuse

The opposite can happen too. Independent Directors reject the offer, TY counter with higher offer. I think it is a planned game. Make low offer, than up a bit everyone happy and agree.

If he made first offer at 1.30, we not happy and we will ask for more. Now he make offer at 1.10; then TY up offer to 1.20....we happy he more happy ...Hahaha

TheContrarian

8,954 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2019-03-27 20:02 | Report Abuse

The whole SCR process will take over 6 months even without price revision. Study Daiman's SCR which was initiated on 27/8/18 and payment only finally made on 14/3/19. The BOD of Daiman didn't meet the Offerors' one month deadline to accept the SCR and received an extension. This is a delaying tactic since Offerors and BOD are working hand in hand and gives Offerors time to scoop up shares from the open market via friendly parties who are actually buying up on behalf of Offerors from weak shareholders who desperate to sell for whatever reasons.

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2019-03-28 09:43 | Report Abuse

I was a minor participant in the Daiman SCR, having held the shares at a cost of 2.61 since 2014. Just like here, that thread was full of comments complaining that the NTA of Daiman was well over 5.50 & it was unfair etc etc...yet it finally went through without a single revision of the offer price & those who bought at the peak prices above 3.00 all lost money. Of course, I also had Sel Prop shares whose SCR got revised more than once.

I also got the other end of the stick with the takeover of WingTM @ 1.80, below my cost of 2.10, so from experience, I believe the probability is against the offerors raising their offer.

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2019-03-28 09:46 | Report Abuse

Other takeovers / attempts I was involved in include HLCap, MISC, KHSB, KAF, Samudra, Super, Merge, Wangzng, Maypak, Stemlfe & PtgTin.

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2019-03-28 09:52 | Report Abuse

Oh yes, Oldtown also, but that was the only really non-lowball offer lol

TheContrarian

8,954 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2019-03-28 15:51 | Report Abuse

Hmm Ms.dompeilee, you had your fingers in almost every pie.

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2019-03-28 16:17 | Report Abuse

Not every pie, but I'm quite happy that I got involved in that many...I forgot to mention Alcom, coz that one left a very sour taste in my mouth since the ars ehole Yeoh tried to takeover @ 65c & because I was disgusted with the offer, I sold @ 83c & then it declared capital repayment & soared to 2 + ! Luckily I made some $ trading in & out on the way down & bought some shares to get the capital repayment @ 1.16 before it shot up & then sold right on the ex-date @ 1.36 =)

TheContrarian

8,954 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2019-03-28 18:22 | Report Abuse

Kuchai/Sg Bagan/Kluang group of companies may be next to do SCR. I understand Ms.dompeilee has her fingers on them too. :-)

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2019-03-28 18:27 | Report Abuse

I admit I have a little bit of Kuchai/Kluang & quite a bit of SBagan. But why are their prices falling?

TheContrarian

8,954 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2019-03-28 19:11 | Report Abuse

Their prices are falling for the same reason as MAA prior to the SCR announcement.

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2019-03-29 09:37 | Report Abuse

Oh I see...rumour has it that the old man Lee Thor Seng is on his last legs but still alive so there will no real movement until that event.

TA_trader

390 posts

Posted by TA_trader > 2019-03-29 18:29 | Report Abuse

Board resolved to accept offer to privatise.

huntertee

241 posts

Posted by huntertee > 2019-03-29 18:37 | Report Abuse

Meaning it is going to be at 1.10?

balvin71

1,153 posts

Posted by balvin71 > 2019-03-29 18:53 | Report Abuse

Now, is there 10% to reject (excluding the non-entitled shareholder)? Or have they done their calculation and have enough?

TheContrarian

8,954 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2019-03-29 19:36 | Report Abuse

Almost 168 million entitled shareholders. 10% of that is 16.8 million. Mr Balvin, do you and your friends have the numbers?

TheContrarian

8,954 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2019-03-29 19:43 | Report Abuse

Huntertee, it's going to be RM1.10 unless revised upwards. If Offerors think there are more than 10% dissenting shareholders, they will improve the offer. The Offerors have SO MUCH TO GAIN from this SCR exercise as the NTA of their MAA shares will increase to RM3.53 after completion of the SCR exercise.

balvin71

1,153 posts

Posted by balvin71 > 2019-03-29 20:28 | Report Abuse

Markus would be a better person to ask about the numbers. I haven't join the whatsapp group as yet. Now would be a good time. TY will be making a killing at 1.10, he can easily offer 30% more and would still be a good deal for him.

TheContrarian

8,954 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2019-03-29 20:47 | Report Abuse

The Offerors are not decent people. If they can take over at 1.10 they will do it at that low price. They have failed us in the past 6 months by not paying dividend and by not doing a share buy back DESPITE having obtained approval at EGM to vary the utilisation of the remaining sale proceeds of the takaful business.

taitaumau

275 posts

Posted by taitaumau > 2019-03-29 22:08 | Report Abuse

One of the conditions must be met in EGM

- The Special Resolution must be approved by at least a MAJORITY IN NUMBER of the Non-Interested Shareholders and 75% in value to the votes attached to the MAAG Shares held by the Non-Interested Shareholders that are cast either in person or by proxy at the EGM;

Say, 1 member can arrange to send in 5 "against" votes (by 5 different persons thru Chairman as their proxies) and it might cost as low as < RM 400 to do so .If, they are 100 of such dissenting members, I believe the special resolution will most probably be rejected.

See what happen in Bernas EGM in 2014 - 0.05% shareholdings held by minorities frustrated 99.95% shareholdings held by major shareholders

http://www.bursamalaysia.com/market/listed-companies/company-announcements/1221629

sheep

3,830 posts

Posted by sheep > 2019-03-29 22:26 | Report Abuse

Now is the time to get dissenting shareholders to ask their supporters to buy MAA shares before EGM, to be entitled, to 'against' the resolution...

TheContrarian

8,954 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2019-03-29 22:44 | Report Abuse

Someone with ten million shares can appoint ten million proxies to vote either Yes or No? Company will run out of ballot paper. Hahaha.

taitaumau

275 posts

Posted by taitaumau > 2019-03-29 23:12 | Report Abuse

Where a member is unable to attend a general meeting, he is normally allowed to appoint max 2 proxies to represent him. If 1 have 500 shares, he can choose to transfer 100 shares (1 lot) each to 5 persons with different CDS a/c. It is not a difficult task to get 5 friendly parties (such as parents, spouse, brothers, sisters etc)

TheContrarian

8,954 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2019-03-29 23:37 | Report Abuse

A nominee company can appoint more than two proxies as they could easily represent numerous clients. Imagine a nominee company holding ten million shares representing ten million individuals each holding one share. Hahaha.

TheContrarian

8,954 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2019-03-29 23:48 | Report Abuse

ph88xing raised the best argument : Why can't MAA do a capital repayment for all shareholders at RM0.675 which will cost the Company the same total payout? That would be a fair deal for all.

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2019-03-30 08:30 | Report Abuse

Because controlling shareholders want to seize the assets of the co. for a comparative song once & for all...for their own agenda i.e make as much $ as possible.

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2019-03-30 08:34 | Report Abuse

If Daiman offerors wanted 2 give minorities a fair deal, they would have paid $4-5 instead of just $3. WingTM's takeover, in which I was an unwilling victim, was also below its NTA then.

If the Lee Rubber cos. are privatised in the future, you can be sure that they will offer NOTHING CLOSE to the $4-$10+ NTAs of the listed companies!

TheContrarian

8,954 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2019-03-30 11:13 | Report Abuse

That's why when these companies drop to ridiculous levels I would step in to buy like when I started buying MAA at 50 sen around October last year. My average cost for MAA is now 59.7 sen and SCR of RM1.10 is still a good deal for me.

linda77

146 posts

Posted by linda77 > 2019-03-30 14:11 | Report Abuse

@balvin71, u talk so much, demand so much, ask so much, price up & down also worried, share down to 50 sen squezze like tortoise,
how come until today u still haven't join d 'market' group so that u can ask for more, maybe 2.10??

sheep

3,830 posts

Posted by sheep > 2019-03-30 14:54 | Report Abuse

who is this linda77? only 10 posts so far. Dare not use his own original user name but created an account just to create havoc for those who want to ask for more.
Yes, RM1.40 I will accept. If go down back to 50 sen better still.
I kept the shares since 2016 and got total dividends of 53 sen / share since then..
wakakaka

TheContrarian

8,954 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2019-03-30 16:39 | Report Abuse

The first batch of MAA shares I bought was after the payout of the special dividend of 35 sen. So I probably received a total of 18 sen dividends on my initial batch.

sheep

3,830 posts

Posted by sheep > 2019-03-30 17:33 | Report Abuse

yup, I bought before the special dividend. my post in 2016:

Posted by sheep > Jun 27, 2016 10:17 AM | Report Abuse X

35 sen coming. Wakaka

If you check the history record, forumers like balvin71 , dompeilee, Markus S , theong etc already active in this forum few years back. I kept for long tern cos i believe BOD sold takaful for a good price and will reward minority shareholders who had so much faith in them for a good return.....wakakakaka

TheContrarian

8,954 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2019-03-30 18:54 | Report Abuse

The problem was each time dividend was paid the market price adjusted downwards for the dividend and couldn't go up.

theong

255 posts

Posted by theong > 2019-03-31 08:36 | Report Abuse

Very interesting video.

TheContrarian

8,954 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2019-03-31 12:23 | Report Abuse

Don't be surprised if chairs are no longer provided in the forthcoming EGM. Hahaha.

TheContrarian

8,954 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2019-03-31 13:48 | Report Abuse

Compared to Daiman and Selangor Properties' recent SCR, MAA's Offerors have a much lower shareholding percentage and face greater resistance from the greater number of minorities. The Offerors have SO MUCH TO GAIN from the SCR as their MAA shares will triple in value to RM3.53 after the SCR exercise. By doing an SCR, the Offerors don't even have to spend a sen to take over the whole of MAA. No matter how tough it will be for them, it is certainly they are determined to win because if they fail, someone might launch a hostile takeover as MAA is cash rich and over 60% of the shares are in the hands of minorities.

ivan9511

3,854 posts

Posted by ivan9511 > 2019-03-31 20:48 | Report Abuse

After Maa private act . I feel maybe parkson can do so ?
Mr calvin.do you know parkson boss is still big shareholders.
I wonder is you sapu parkson share parkson got many value asset inside long time ago and still many cash net cash .
I wonder they can suddenly private at 1 ringgit like MAA.
Why I said so because the Parkson boss attitudes seem will die with parkson I feel he want the parkson very much like his son.
If base on cash Parkson is much much better than talamt and puncak.
After I give tip maybe parkson will limit uppp back.
After parkson join the online shopping system i feel the future is super than con man bjc bjland .
What do you think of parkson

53,708 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-03-31 21:14 | Report Abuse

Ivan9511

The only hope for Parkson is for William Cheng to close shop. Sell everything & distribute balance of whatever remains to shareholders

For parkson no hope i think. But for bj corp & mui bhd still got high hope!

FOR TALAM NOW IS AT ITS BEST

1) TALAM & UMW Both got lands in Serendah

UMW Lands have book value of Rm98 psf while Talam's book value is only Rm5.40

2)Talam pared down debts from Rm500 Millions (2011) to only a mere Rm58 millions now

3) ECRL will further push up Land Values in Serendah & Gombak

4) Insiders/Top Boss bought Talam shares from 8.5 sen to 11 sen

5) Still buying more Talam shares at 9 sen from WCE as promised

6) Winning Rm19 Millions court case from Bangkok Bank

7) Private place at premium 4.5 sen when Talam was 4 sen shows people SEE Value

8) PP is for completion of Sepang Apt project (already 70% completed)
PP is an excellent way to raise cash as borrowings from banks will incur interest

9) TALAM LAND BANKS ARE ALREADY VALUE ADDED BY LANDSCAPING & INDIVIDUAL SUBDIVIDED IN COMMERCIAL/INDUSTRIAL/RESIDENTIAL

10) ONCE REMAINING DEBT OF RM58 Millions pared down Talam will emerge as a debt free company

11) More sale of Lands will be extra bonus. Can give Cash payout like MAA (gave 35 sen cash)

12) And Talam is a candidate for privatization like Kulim, TMakmur, TheStore, Weida, Daiman or MAA

TheContrarian

8,954 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2019-04-01 18:14 | Report Abuse

Not bad, closing at 1.03/1.04.

NavinShah

301 posts

Posted by NavinShah > 2019-04-02 10:22 | Report Abuse

BODO, now using scare tatices. AGM or EGOM
maybe held during early June 1st week.

theong

255 posts

Posted by theong > 2019-04-02 11:33 | Report Abuse

Today chart look very interesting.Will there be new break up?

TheContrarian

8,954 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2019-04-02 18:00 | Report Abuse

MAA price will be flat for the whole week unless SCR price is revised.

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2019-04-03 09:54 | Report Abuse

Wah Triple ah,

Isn't it worth RM2 now, since you value via NTA so strongly.

So cheap, got sailang put in 100% plus Margin anot. ==

=====
TheContrarian Compared to Daiman and Selangor Properties' recent SCR, MAA's Offerors have a much lower shareholding percentage and face greater resistance from the greater number of minorities. The Offerors have SO MUCH TO GAIN from the SCR as their MAA shares will triple in value to RM3.53 after the SCR exercise. By doing an SCR, the Offerors don't even have to spend a sen to take over the whole of MAA. No matter how tough it will be for them, it is certainly they are determined to win because if they fail, someone might launch a hostile takeover as MAA is cash rich and over 60% of the shares are in the hands of minorities.
31/03/2019 1:48 PM

TheContrarian

8,954 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2019-04-03 13:57 | Report Abuse

Choivo, you didn't read the announcement that after the SCR exercise MAA's NTA pershare goes up to RM3.53? It's simple mathematics.

TheContrarian

8,954 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2019-04-03 14:01 | Report Abuse

Choivo,do you understand what's a Selective Capital Repayment exercise? You don't seem to have a clue.

TheContrarian

8,954 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2019-04-03 14:03 | Report Abuse

Navinshah, that's why I have been saying you long-term minorities should gather a group and engage the Offerors and BOD.

TheContrarian

8,954 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2019-04-03 16:39 | Report Abuse

By the time the EGM is convened it would be too late because dissenting minorities would probably be outvoted.

TheContrarian

8,954 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2019-04-03 16:42 | Report Abuse

If dissenting minorities lose at the EGM their shares would also be complusorily acquired by the Company via the SCR exercise.