WING TAI MALAYSIA BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): WINGTM (2976)

211 comment(s). Last comment by GuShen 2017-08-01 20:51

messiBarca

598 posts

Posted by messiBarca > 2012-05-21 16:28 | Report Abuse

any news of this stock? uptrend during europe crisis

BC

17 posts

Posted by BC > 2012-05-22 16:51 | Report Abuse

probably due to the newly published Q3 results :
http://preview.bursamalaysia.com/market/listed-companies/company-announcements/947717

messibarca

598 posts

Posted by messibarca > 2012-12-07 15:51 | Report Abuse

dividen declare?

Posted by sixteenblue > 2012-12-10 17:13 | Report Abuse

@davesingh - wah..someone agrees with yr call on WINGTM

"Wing Tai, an overlooked retailing gem"
http://fz.com/content/wing-tai-overlooked-retailing-gem

luiyiyu

50 posts

Posted by luiyiyu > 2012-12-10 17:18 | Report Abuse

ah singh is correct wingTm good share

davesingh

2,088 posts

Posted by davesingh > 2012-12-10 17:27 | Report Abuse

i said WINGTM is a great stock. .i did not say its going up anytime soon...simple reason is market is going down..but WINGTM is superb..i will buy when down..i dont have any now..low volume stocks get destroyed in downturn..

Posted by sixteenblue > 2012-12-10 17:42 | Report Abuse

@davesingh.. ok, noted. appreciate your input so far on what companies are good. bought into some counters after yr input, eg kfima, batu kawan, boustead.. Gas malaysia sounds good too.. as and when to buy, of course, sendiri mau decide la. tks!

beecheng

17 posts

Posted by beecheng > 2013-01-09 09:40 | Report Abuse

Dec 2012 dividend received but not reported here..

unknown

168 posts

Posted by unknown > 2013-01-16 11:58 | Report Abuse

Posted by value_man > Jan 16, 2013 11:51 AM | Report Abuse

Regarding Wing Tai, here is my worthless 2 cents (please take it with a pitch of salt):

2009 2010 2011 2012
FCF 29.1 55.6 -47.7 -22.7
Dividend Paid 7.2 6 12.1 10.5
Long-Term Debt 48.7 78.7 153.2 182.7
ST Borrowings 34.2 18.0 16.9 17.9

Looking at the FCF, it is no surprise that Wing Tai's debt is increasing every year.

Please don't take my comment too seriously. Do your own investigation and make your own decision.

unknown

168 posts

Posted by unknown > 2013-01-17 22:15 | Report Abuse

value_man: no doubt the long-term debt figure is increasing , in my opinion, Wing Tai still can afford the debt

reading from Dynaquest latest report

current D/E Ratio : 0.28 , the the lower ratio, the better. If we look at other well known developers, their D/E are as following:-
1)Mah Sing = 0.91
2)SPSetia = 0.39
3)UEM Land = 0.32
4)KLCCP = 0.37
5)IJM Land = 0.16
6)IGB = 0.32

rule of thumb, D/E < 0.5 is still manageable.

So think it is not a big issue right now for Wing Tai, of course the trend need to be monitored.

On other parameters :-

Current ROE : 9.38% ( normally I'll for above > 15%, occasionally do mind to put figure close to 10% in my watch list)

Current P/E : 8 (approximate)

Current NTA : RM 2.78

It think it is a yes for further analysis at this point to me, the business model is kind of similar to Scientex in term of net profit contribution from its components

Scientex(2012)
Manufacturing = RM 35.7M (33.3%)
Property = RM 71.9M (67.1%)

Wing Tai (2012)
Manufacturing & Trading = RM 40.9M (33.7%)
Property = RM 92.4M ( 76% )

so mhafizan, value_man & others, what your fair value estimation for Wing Tai ?? :)

* to my surprise - Mah Sing investors ! D/E = 0.91 !, have a good sleep & dream at night, kikikikiki. Talam D/E > 1.0 for years ! any mischief to the Mah Sing cash flow - another possible Talam in the making. Still can afford to expand land bank? kikikikiki

Posted by tonylim > 2013-01-17 23:21 | Report Abuse

Mahsing asking you for money already.
Quite strange

Hustle

3,615 posts

Posted by Hustle > 2013-02-05 09:47 | Report Abuse

Buy & wait until Nov is a very bad idea

huayang

64 posts

Posted by huayang > 2013-04-28 10:41 | Report Abuse

I wanted to buy property stock. I have 3 options to select 1 due to limited capital. Anyone can comment on Huayang, Wingtm and Guoco?

chia88

1,189 posts

Posted by chia88 > 2013-04-28 11:31 | Report Abuse

Huayang is moving forward to built many Medium Condo and are selling well.They are selling 40 story condo in Shamelin.

Wingtai is good stock to hold with good D, two months ago mother share sold a single family to Indonesian for $S 300mil in Orchard Road.

Guocoland is big boy game target 2.00, plenty of land. Land is gold.If you buy 10 lot, 2 years later you get 5 lot free.

huayang

64 posts

Posted by huayang > 2013-04-28 15:35 | Report Abuse

so chia88, hard to select leh. How ar? I also notice many bank started to accumulate CYPARK. Headache to select the best to invest for 1-2 years. Can you advice me?

huayang

64 posts

Posted by huayang > 2013-04-28 15:50 | Report Abuse

headache......

huayang

64 posts

Posted by huayang > 2013-04-28 16:15 | Report Abuse

Chia88, i understand your statement about Huayang and Wingtm. But not understand about Guoco. Why need to wait for 2 years and will get 5 lot and why target 2.00 by bog boys? Who are big boys?

chia88

1,189 posts

Posted by chia88 > 2013-04-28 18:42 | Report Abuse

G will make a huge profit from Damansara City sale within 2 years. Big boy buy in 100 - 1000 lots, higher vol than WT. Perhaps next week could be 1.30 or >.

chia88

1,189 posts

Posted by chia88 > 2013-04-28 18:44 | Report Abuse

OCBC buy Cypark, is new listed share. Good profit.

huayang

64 posts

Posted by huayang > 2013-04-28 19:39 | Report Abuse

Thanks, Chia88

huayang

64 posts

Posted by huayang > 2013-04-28 19:40 | Report Abuse

I know what to buy now.

chia88

1,189 posts

Posted by chia88 > 2013-04-28 19:56 | Report Abuse

Cypark is 2nd round play must study carefully before you buy, although the qty profit is attractive. They secured many contracts from government, hope this not to change!

huayang

64 posts

Posted by huayang > 2013-04-28 22:44 | Report Abuse

noted. I think i will buy G but not immediate. will see how first. saw the trend like not convincing next few days

chia88

1,189 posts

Posted by chia88 > 2013-04-29 08:25 | Report Abuse

You must do your homework Hyang.

huayang

64 posts

Posted by huayang > 2013-04-29 13:35 | Report Abuse

ya, i do TA and FA. But sometimes, I would also listen to expert advices and digest news.

chia88

1,189 posts

Posted by chia88 > 2013-04-29 13:47 | Report Abuse

When the sentiment is poor, most counters try to cut losses cos of due date.

arv18

2,645 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-05-10 15:16 | Report Abuse

HwangDBS raises Wing Tai's target price
2013/05/10

HwangDBS Vickers Research raised its target price on shares of property and garment retail company Wing Tai Malaysia Bhd to RM2.55 from RM2.10, citing a robust sales outlook.

Wing Tai is "ripe for another big launch" in Malaysia’s capital city, Kuala Lumpur, and its earnings will be propped up by ongoing projects in the northern state of Penang, HwangDBS said in a note on Friday.

"Share price should be supported by continual share buybacks," HwangDBS said, which includes purchases by parent Wing Tai Holdings Ltd.

The research house kept its 'buy' call on the stock.

Shares in Wing Tai Malaysia rose 2.45 per cent, outperforming the Malaysian benchmark stock index’s 0.13 fall.-- Reuters

arv18

2,645 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-05-10 16:18 | Report Abuse

Wing Tai, an overlooked retailing gem
by theedgemalaysia.com/Jose Barrock

KUALA LUMPUR (Dec 9): Looking at the shopping crowd at Uniqlo outlets, many may agree that Wing Tai Malaysia Bhd could be a good proxy to the relatively robust consumer spending.

Wing Tai, formerly known as DNP Holdings Bhd (or Dragon and Phoenix), has its mainstay in property development and hospitality business that generates a recurring income apart from retailing garments.

Some of its better known property projects include Verticas Residensi in Bukit Ceylon and Nobleton Crest in U-Thant, Kuala Lumpur, and Jesselton Hills in Bukit Mertajam, Penang. Its 11 retail brands include Uniqlo, Topshop and Topman, BCBG Max Azria and Miss Selfgridge.

The company’s hospitality business consists of serviced apartments under the Lanson Place brand name, with assets owned or managed in Kuala Lumpur, Beijing, Shanghai and Hong Kong.

Last Friday, the stock staged a rebound to close at RM1.85. However, it is still below Hwang DBS’ target value of RM2.10. The low-key Wing Tai was referred to as an “undervalued, alternative proxy to Malaysia’s robust retail sales”, in Hwang’s research note.

Hwang DBS changed its view with a “buy” recommendation on the diversified Wing Tai last week, after rating the stock as fully valued for the past 16 months.

Hwang revised its target price to RM2.10 — based on Wing Tai’s revised net asset value of RM4.23 from RM1.50 previously.

Hwang noted that the company’s retail segment is becoming more prominent, contributing only RM1 million in earnings before interest and tax for financial year 2001 (FY01) to RM39 million for FY12 or 29% of the company’s total.

Wing Tai’s 45% owned associate Uniqlo, meanwhile, has started to contribute to the company’s bottom line with 5% of earnings for FY12.

“The past two years alone saw retail sales jump by 36%, driven by new stores (from 53 to 69) and higher sales per store (4%),” Hwang said.

Growth from retailing, according to Hwang, should remain exponential as the number of Uniqlo stores doubles to 10 soon, including outside the Klang Valley, with perhaps two in Penang.

Uniqlo is the No 1 retailer in Japan and has presence in 13 countries, including Singapore, Hong Kong and China.

The annual revenue from its retail division has been growing steadily over the past five years.

The division’s revenue ballooned from RM88.3 million for FY08 ended June 30 to RM167.7 million for FY12.

On its property development, according to Hwang, Wing Tai has about RM1.5 billion worth of launches and RM230 million in unbilled sales (0.9 times FY12 property development revenue given minimal new launches in Kuala Lumpur due to waning demand), with Penang contributing about a third of revenue.

With some 169 acres of landbank remaining in Bukit Mertajam, Wing Tai stands to benefit from rising land values driven by infrastructure projects such as the Second Penang Bridge slated for completion in 2013 and robust foreign direct investment into Penang, the research house said.

For its first quarter ended Sept 30, Wing Tai posted a net profit of RM18.31 million, or 5.83 sen per share, up 27.4% from RM14.3 million, or 4.59 sen, a year ago. Revenue came in 25.4% higher at RM102.7 million against RM81.9 million.

Its posted an annual net profit of RM27.1 million for FY12, compared with RM32.1 million for FY11. Revenue was RM84.8 million compared with RM100.4 million in the previous year.

Hwang forecasts Wing Tai will rake in RM131 million in pre-tax profit from RM558 million in sales for FY13, marking an improvement of 54.12% and 21.83% respectively for FY12.

“The share price not only undervalues Wing Tai’s landbank in the Klang Valley and Penang; the market has ignored its retail segment which is growing in significance,” Hwang said.

At Hwang’s target price of RM2.10, Wing Tai’s price-to-net tangible assets (P/NTA) per share would be 0.71 times from 0.58 times after allowing for a 20% holding company discount, which is reasonable compared with small mid-cap developers’ average of one times.

The research house added that it values Wing Tai’s retail segment at nine times FY13F earnings per share of 96 sen, a 30% discount to the retail sector’s average of 13 times.

“Other larger Malaysian retailers are trading at a much higher forward price-earnings ratio of 12 times, while small mid-sized developers are averaging one times P/NTA,” Hwang said.

Wing Tai offers a decent 3.5% net dividend yield, which is comparable to the benchmark FBM KLCI average.

“The share price should be supported by share buy-back (including by parent Wing Tai Holdings, albeit being less active in the last six months).

“Even after imputing 20% holding company discount, Wing Tai is trading at a steep 60% discount to Hwang’s sum-of-parts valuation of RM4.23,” Hwang’s report said.

arv18

2,645 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-05-12 18:19 | Report Abuse

Wing Tai carries 11 fashion brands in Malaysia such as Topshop, Topman, Dorothy Perkins, Warehouse, Pumpkin Patch, Wallis, Karen Millen, BCBG Maxazria, Diva, Miss Selfridge and Ben Sherman. The company has a total of 69 retail outlets (excluding Uniqlo) as of end-June 2012. Currently, Topshop, Topman and Dorothy Perkins are the top three sales contributors to the group. In the past three years, the number of stores grew from 53 stores in FY10 to 69 stores in FY12, while revenue per store climbed steadily from RM2.33m/store to RM2.43m/store over the same period. The company is expanding its retailing business aggressively, aiming to open 15 outlets in FY13 and to achieve a total of 100 stores by 2015. Besides Klang Valley, Wing Tai is looking at new market opportunities in eastern Peninsular Malaysia and East Malaysia. In addition, it is currently looking to add new fashion labels to increase its brand portfolio.

Uniqlo to boost earnings. Wing Tai has tied up with Fast Retailing Co Ltd (Uniqlo Japan) under a 45:55 joint venture (JV) agreement. Uniqlo Malaysia’s revenue is expanding rapidly with its five outlets located in Farenheit 88 Mall, Suria KLCC Mall, Mid Valley Megamall, 1 Utama Store, and Setia City Mall. It is eyeing two new outlet openings in Sunway Pyramid and Paradigm Mall by November this year.

arv18

2,645 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-05-13 10:03 | Report Abuse

2.25 this morning. Don't snooze on this one guys.

arv18

2,645 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-05-13 11:35 | Report Abuse

2.34 sweet!

juniorsia

63 posts

Posted by juniorsia > 2013-05-13 12:06 | Report Abuse

woww...up alot already...can enter now?

arv18

2,645 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-05-13 12:36 | Report Abuse

This stock has lots of upside. Just broken out from long-term resistance (2.07 on 5 year monthly chart). So most likely will be heading to 4.00 (my personal TP). Bear in mind there is a big GAP in KLCI which needs to close. Therefore you either can wait for that to happen, then buy, OR just buy now and don't look at price until December.

juniorsia

63 posts

Posted by juniorsia > 2013-05-13 14:13 | Report Abuse

I guess I shall wait for the right timing...appreciate if you could give a green light :)

arv18

2,645 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-05-13 16:57 | Report Abuse

I can only suggest junior. Its up to you to check my info (by googling the company & doing some of your own research). Then you have to man up (take responsibility) and make the call to buy-when, buy-how much, and when to sell. That is the fun of investing. Otherwise you pay an investment advisor to help.

O, btw, if you see people taking about "fly", "hantam", "goreng", these are speculators/gamblers who don't have any idea what they are talking about and have lost shit-loads of money in the past and going-to in near future.

Knavi

376 posts

Posted by Knavi > 2013-05-17 13:51 | Report Abuse

wingtm is a gd counter.. currently it is facing same prob with padini, where profit decline due to new outlets are opened...so, same, it is the time to accumulate b4 those outlet start contribute for long term...

Knavi

376 posts

Posted by Knavi > 2013-05-17 13:53 | Report Abuse

*profit for garment

arv18

2,645 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-05-17 20:54 | Report Abuse

this company is NOTHING like Padani. Its mostly a high end niche property player, land bank in Penang, with a growing clothing segment. It partners and sells internationally renown brands -

Wing Tai carries 11 fashion brands in Malaysia such as Topshop, Topman, Dorothy Perkins, Warehouse, Pumpkin Patch, Wallis, Karen Millen, BCBG Maxazria, Diva, Miss Selfridge and Ben Sherman & UNIQLO

Profit from Property + Fashion Labels. Up another 7 cents today. Awesome.

Knavi

376 posts

Posted by Knavi > 2013-05-17 21:04 | Report Abuse

do u saw my 2nd comment? i say PROFIT FOR GARMENT SECTOR, face same prob like padini, profit decrease due to the cost of new outlet opened...nobody dono wingtm is prop+garment i think....

"profit decrease due to the cost of new outlet opened"

not padini same with wingtm tq

arv18

2,645 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-05-17 21:21 | Report Abuse

it does not face the same problems, as it still generates most of its revenue from property. check the financial statements lah

Knavi

376 posts

Posted by Knavi > 2013-05-17 21:23 | Report Abuse

"profit decrease due to the cost of new outlet opened"

go bek report n see garment sector profit is increase or decrease lah

Knavi

376 posts

Posted by Knavi > 2013-05-17 21:39 | Report Abuse

i dun nd to emphasize so many times right? "PROFIT FOR GARMENT SECTOR" not total profit.

stock5678

531 posts

Posted by stock5678 > 2013-05-17 21:49 | Report Abuse

cool down bros. let's exchange information in peace.
Wingtm is a good stock with low PER. But Huayang is better :)

hw0706

744 posts

Posted by hw0706 > 2013-05-17 21:49 | Report Abuse

I think IGB down the road shall be taking position.

Knavi

376 posts

Posted by Knavi > 2013-05-17 21:55 | Report Abuse

haha...okok bro...sorry sorry...recently hot weather makes me xxx....lol... actually i saw wingtm bcz of its garment segment oly....lol....prlexus padini n wingtm my fav...lol...sorry bro pollute this post~~huayang pro leh, keep bonus issue...really huat....

arv18

2,645 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-05-18 03:18 | Report Abuse

Hua Yang has been super hot lately. They seem to be growing top line and bottom line revenue quite aggressively - which is great. However, I'm a bit uncomfortable with all this bonus issue shenanigans. Its not a sustainable way to drive stock price. I remember KNM doing the same thing. Good for you if you sold at 5-8 ringgits. If not, it all ended in tears.

Posted by dell knm > 2013-05-21 01:05 | Report Abuse

nice 1

wachin

145 posts

Posted by wachin > 2013-05-21 16:10 | Report Abuse

history high :)

arv18

2,645 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-05-21 16:30 | Report Abuse

Historical high for this counter is 4.51 set in Feb 1994. Still has upside potential.

Another, more recent high is 3.16 set in June 2007.

wachin

145 posts

Posted by wachin > 2013-05-21 16:37 | Report Abuse

sorry, should be is 52 weeks high...thanks for ur info, arv18 :)