DUTCH LADY MILK INDUSTRIES BHD

KLSE (MYR): DLADY (3026)

-0.42 (1.26%)

32.04 - 33.38

10 people like this.

1,531 comment(s). Last comment by pang72 16 hours ago

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2021-12-29 16:49 | Report Abuse

read

dam82

2,162 posts

Posted by dam82 > 2022-01-25 22:16 | Report Abuse

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2022-01-24/bain-capital-carlyle-said-to-vie-for-dutch-infant-formula-friso

It looks like they selling their IFT business what is the impact for DLADY in malaysia ? Lower profit soon ?

dam82

2,162 posts

Posted by dam82 > 2022-01-25 22:21 | Report Abuse

'Bain Capital and Carlyle are interested in taking over Friso from FrieslandCampina'
24-01 14:51 | source: FoodPro Network

AMERSFOORT - The Canadian Bain Capital and the American Carlyle Group are interested in acquiring the Friso dairy brand from FrieslandCampina. In addition, Baring Private Equity Asia is seen as a potential buyer. There would also be interest from the Chinese dairy company Shijiazhuang Junlebao Dairy, according to Bloomberg .

Estimates of the value of the activities through the Friso brand range from 1 to 2 billion dollars. FrieslandCampina is said to be preparing a possible sale together with investment bank JPMorgan. The first round of bidding should take place in the coming weeks.

It is not certain whether all interested parties will actually make an offer, according to the sources. In addition, new interested parties can also register.

Faiza

585 posts

Posted by Faiza > 2022-02-02 10:28 | Report Abuse

steady

Posted by JimmySooong > 2022-03-04 10:14 | Report Abuse

Slowly losing market share trend to FFB, they have any plan to counter this?

dam82

2,162 posts

Posted by dam82 > 2022-03-04 22:10 | Report Abuse

Divident is reduced due to capex expansion .... selling their infant nutrition ... no new product introduced ..new factory no news .. as usual due to covid will be delayed ... not much positive news ... better buy other FMCG stock..dying business

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2022-05-19 10:17 | Report Abuse

The Company recorded 3.3% higher revenue resulting from continued strong commercial execution, which increased the penetration of our milk consumption in Malaysia.
Like-for-like Operating Profit (excluding land & buildings sales and accelerated depreciation of assets) increased 53% in the quarter, where strong demand for Dutch Lady products, lower brand investments were partially offset by significantly rising prices of global dairy raw materials.

Qtr4 2021

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2022-05-25 16:57 | Report Abuse

Dutch Lady is determined to invest in Malaysia. (clap)

53,164 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2022-08-20 17:51 |

dam82

2,162 posts

Posted by dam82 > 2022-11-15 20:00 | Report Abuse

Dividend will be reduced for a long time ...it’s obvious they cannot manage the cost and blame inflation ..... their operational cost management is very bad...
Old lady should start to manage their cost and introduce innovative product for now better buy Carlsberg or HEIM …
Will not touch for now ….

14,320 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2022-11-15 20:02 | Report Abuse

Get rid of rent seeking politicians and extortionists.
Cost will dramatically reduce, and old lady will transform to new lady.

47,403 posts

Posted by pang72 > 2022-11-16 10:48 | Report Abuse

Susu cap German lady satu

williamh

829 posts

Posted by williamh > 2022-11-30 13:45 | Report Abuse

It will be similar to BAT few years back and it will became a trading company no wonder the price keep going south,bat was 70 before closing down the factory in pj since then all the way to around the price of today

dam82

2,162 posts

Posted by dam82 > 2022-12-01 09:07 | Report Abuse

The new factory will be white elephant for sure ….too much competition and non innovative product …

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2022-12-13 23:23 | Report Abuse

DLady

Fiscal year is January-December. All values MYR Millions.
5-year trend

Sales/Revenue

Gross Income

SG&A Expense

Interest Expense
-

Pretax Income

PBT margin 25.1%
PAT margin 21.9%

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2022-12-13 23:39 | Report Abuse

All values MYR Thousands.
5-year trend
Capital Expenditures
(61,692.0)
(93,228.0)
(20,038.0)
(34,278.0)
(16,280.0)

Cash Dividends Paid - Total
(32,000.0)
(51,200.0)
(64,000.0)
(128,000.0)
(179,200.0

ST Debt & Current Portion LT Debt
-

Long-Term Debt
-
-

Cash & Short Term Investments

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2022-12-13 23:57 | Report Abuse

Summary

Revenues and profits had been flat over the last 5 years.
Slight increased in revenues over these years, but profit margins not increasing due to rising costs of raw materials.
Operating expenses were well contained.
Interest expenses remained low/negligible.

Dividends had been cut drastically over the last 5 years.
Many funds looking for dividends had sold down this counter as dictated by their funds requirements.
Capital expenditures had increased over the last 2 years and will remain high until 2025.
Due to high capital expenditures already planned for the next few years, dividends will remain at present levels for the near term, as company needs to invest its funds into PPE for future growth.
Capital expenditures, though high the last 2 years, had been funded from internal generated cash and not from borrowings.
Company borrowings remained negligible to date despite huge capex the last 2 years.
In 2021, cash in hand remained remarkably high.

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2023-01-01 20:11 | Report Abuse

Is Dutch Lady a bargain?

Dutch Lady has dropped a lot from its latest high price. Why?

Your first reaction would not have been, “What a great bargain!” but, “What’s wrong with Dutch Lady?”

Dutch Lady should be inspected and re-inspected for possible flaws.

Among possible reasons for its share price being sold down are:
- Irrational or indifferent selling alone may have made it cheap, but there may be more fundamental reasons for the depressed price.
- Perhaps there are contingent liabilities or pending litigation that you are unaware of.
- Maybe a competitor is preparing to introduce a superior product.

You can have some comfort should you conclude that the price is not depressed for an undisclosed fundamental business reason.

When reason for undervaluation can be clearly identified, the outcome is also more predictable

dam82

2,162 posts

Posted by dam82 > 2023-01-01 20:31 | Report Abuse

Beg to differ on DLADY , their product is very old school no innovation ..or too boring .. they don’t bring their trademark brands from their parent company to Malaysia ….big factory nice to have but still no clear direction … better buy HEIM or CARLSBERG ..

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2023-01-01 21:22 | Report Abuse

What is popular may not be undervalued.
What is shunned and ignored, may be undervalued.

31,553 posts

Posted by stockraider > 2023-01-03 12:14 | Report Abuse

Dlady use to be Rm 60 to Rm 80....touted by 3iii loh!

What happen to dlady.....flattened by atom bomb ah ???

dam82

2,162 posts

Posted by dam82 > 2023-01-07 21:25 | Report Abuse

unlike Aji where the new plant constructed on time and the management clearly stated their future planning ..DLADY plant is delayed and no future direction on their new production .. DLADY have advantage due to the parent company yet same product being produced in Malaysia no innovation.

dam82

2,162 posts

Posted by dam82 > 2023-01-07 21:26 | Report Abuse

by the way will collect below 25 hopefully it will go down more ....

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2023-01-17 14:51 | Report Abuse

After selling off my DLady @ $64.32 in Oct '18 ,seeing the evidence of increased milk competition in the supermarkets, I re-entered my long position $18.90 cheaper than my original cost in Nov '13 recently(below $30)

Calvin882

1,562 posts

Posted by Calvin882 > 2023-02-25 16:57 | Report Abuse

Not really surprising actually. Milk is no longer affordable nowadays. It is only a necessity for underaged consumer. Consumption is minimal for adults. The industry do not have pricing power too. Inflation and high operation cost will eventually eat into the margin. It's time to diversify the business.

10,281 posts

Posted by Income > 2023-02-25 19:57 | Report Abuse

Why last time 40 to 48.
But now 30 only?

Posted by i3lurker > 1 hour ago | Report Abuse

going back to history
when it was below 40 I told 3iii it will go 44/48 at Investlah, thats a big jump for stable counter
I dun tink 3iii believed me
of course history proved me wrong coz it went to 64

later here in i3, I told 3iii US milk companies going bankrupt when it was above 40
and I had not looked at it since then
30 is expected compared to Global milk companies

I think this is the reason. Cow not productive after this happened???

https://youtube.com/shorts/S_Y8x6PsRDg?feature=share

Calvin882

1,562 posts

Posted by Calvin882 > 2023-02-26 19:08 | Report Abuse

Don't think Dlady is good for long term holding. Dlady main target market is children. Current population is at the peak and our country is becoming aging country. Lesser people are having babies means market is gradually shrinking. Should come out with some new products targeting senior citizen.

dam82

2,162 posts

Posted by dam82 > 2023-02-26 19:16 | Report Abuse

I agree with the statement , big factory not clear on their strategy same old product their famous brand like chochomel , vale from their parent company is not produced in Malaysia …. Cost structure not good operational expenses is high and they will try to repatriate more money to parent company instead providing dividend to local shareholder .

Need to bring more innovative product and aggressive cost management needed .. don’t touch for now .

troy88

2,550 posts

Posted by troy88 > 2023-02-27 16:32 | Report Abuse

wow, terrible QR. What happened to this once great consumer giant?

10,281 posts

Posted by Income > 2023-02-27 18:35 | Report Abuse

This is the treasure for older generations?
https://youtube.com/shorts/LQGFsYOqLnE?feature=share

53,164 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2023-03-02 22:50 | Report Abuse

Dlady has neither moat nor margin of safety now

With fundamental gone due to many new entrants, high cost of labour & low demand Inventories (perishable) are up

Little Cash left
Dividend might be cut further or non at all

GOT VERY HIGH PAYABLES IN BALANCE SHEET

DANGER IS INSOLVENCY

ONE DAY MIGHT SPRING A SURPRISE

DLADY MIGHT GIVE OUT RIGHTS ISSUES TO BEG FOR MONEY FROM SHARE HOLDERS

HOW ARE THE MIGHTY FALLEN!!

GO BUY THESE LOWLY STOCKS WITH GOOD POTENTIAL WITH HIGH PROFITS AND GOOD DIVIDENDS

TSH
THPLANT
BPLANT
JTIASA

53,164 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2023-03-03 14:21 | Report Abuse

Code of ethics?

Zhuge_Liang

Calvin totally agree with you

As for Dlady it has been used as a front to attack and demean others

So this is only an update of Dlady very poor record for years

He should just shut up and take care and put his house in order

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2023-03-03 15:35 | Report Abuse

I am surprised that you cannot see you are not so ethical in your posts.
I have been holding DLady for many years. It was never promoted, though I shared how DLady has been a very rewarding stock to have for these years.
As was in previous cases too, stock prices can go up or down for various reasons. It is not unusual for a stock to go up 50% or down its equivalent 1/3rd in a 52 week period.
Yes, DLady has hit a difficult patch the last few years. Its earnings are down, its dividends cut, profit margins shrunk, cost of goods gone up ... etc. It also has to spend a great deal of money (capex) for its new manufacturing plants. All these are known.
The question to answer is: Will DLady's business be better in 2 to 5 years from now? At the present price, will you be happy to buy, hold or sell the stock?

I always go through these thinking process, often keeping these to myself.

We had a long discussion on Netx for almost 2 years. calvintaneng should be ashamed of himself for all the remarks he made on so many people who participated in Netx. Did you even admit you were wrong or you have made a very big mistake in Netx? Of course, not. Pride and arrogance are your trademarks. We do not expect to have a good dealing with people lacking integrity.

Have a great day. My participation in i3 is purely investing for gains.

53,164 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2023-03-07 00:01 | Report Abuse

The gruesome acc and balance sheet of Dlady

This qtr reported a loss of 31 sen

inventories
unsold goods up from Rm161 millions to Rm228 mil

(these are perishables and if cannot be sold got expiry dates and might end up as write off losses

53,164 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2023-03-07 00:03 | Report Abuse

more gruesome figures

Cash dropped from Rm118 millions to only Rm104 millions

receivables (ioi) up from Rm76 mil to Rm97 mil

if cannot get payment will turn to bad debts

53,164 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2023-03-07 00:05 | Report Abuse

Worsening debt

payable increased from Rm282 millions to Rm413 million or got extra debt to pay amounting to Rm131 millions

This increase of Rm131 millions have wiped out little remaining cash of Rm104 million leaving a deficit hole

53,164 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2023-03-07 00:09 | Report Abuse

Gruesome state indeed

3 things can happen

1. Give out private placement at discount of 10% to 20% to raise capital

this is bad as it will dilute existing shareholders value

2. Give Rights issue to ask for money
again bad

times are tough people need money rather than giving out money to help

3. If both failed then insolvency and Pn17 or a possible pharma going limit down

verdict

sell before waterfall

dam82

2,162 posts

Posted by dam82 > 2023-03-07 08:47 | Report Abuse

hahah just had to lough at Calvin ...its true DLADY not doing well but remember their parent company might not be well known but a huge dairy company .... they don't invest close to 700mil just to produce dairy product for local market thats just does not make sense ... no way the parent company want to have enlarge share base then the divident will be reduced .... no chance going to PN17 ..is it worth to buy now i don't think so ... wait till the factory almost completely build let them do more impairement .. price will go down same like Aji then will buy ...

53,164 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2023-03-07 16:40 | Report Abuse

dam82

if you know the horse you are riding on is dead

the best course of action is to dismount

dam82

2,162 posts

Posted by dam82 > 2023-03-07 16:57 | Report Abuse

i did not say all gloom for dlady go in when they bout to open their new factory and sell later ... don't touch this for now ..

dam82

2,162 posts

Posted by dam82 > 2023-03-09 20:22 | Report Abuse

nice nice ..lets wait below 20 or around 22 .... waiting

Posted by investor2021trading > 2023-03-09 21:09 | Report Abuse

i waiting for F&N below 25!

fortunefire

1,352 posts

Posted by fortunefire > 2023-03-24 10:15 | Report Abuse

on the way back to holland?

31,553 posts

Posted by stockraider > 2023-03-26 11:04 | Report Abuse

Dlady is overvalue mah!

No margin of safety loh!

U only can be interested when it trade less than Rm 10k loh!

25,004 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-03-28 06:05 | Report Abuse

Drop from rm50
Down 50%

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2023-03-30 16:53 | Report Abuse

Security LastPr PE DY% Divcts ROE ttm-marg
DLADY (Food) 26.42 36.54 1.9 50 11.66 3.5

dam82

2,162 posts

Posted by dam82 > 2023-04-19 13:46 | Report Abuse

Factory delayed … high inventory cannot clear up watch out their QR

dam82

2,162 posts

Posted by dam82 > 2023-05-26 09:22 | Report Abuse

wait for my depriciation right off .. don't touch for now ... more pain to come