MEGA FIRST CORPORATION BHD

KLSE (MYR): MFCB (3069)

-0.01 (0.23%)

4.37 - 4.46

17 people like this.

3,674 comment(s). Last comment by Nepo 2 days ago

Pinky

3,419 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2024-04-24 09:13 | Report Abuse

👌💪👏👍

kai8994

402 posts

Posted by kai8994 > 2024-04-24 17:23 | Report Abuse

"We are confident that leveraging the capacity of our plantation presents a significant opportunity to meet the burgeoning global demand for coconut sugar products. Upon reaching maximum harvest capacity, we anticipate establishing ourselves as the largest and foremost fully integrated company dedicated to coconut sugar products worldwide."

Good highlight, Nepo. Can't wait to ask them more about the venture into coconut sugar biz in the coming AGM / quarterly briefing. Wondering how much revenue they are expecting from this venture. According to this report the top 3 players are having between USD169m - 260m revenue.
https://www.globalmarketmonitor.com/report_blog/1861531.html

Nepo

3,376 posts

Nepo

3,376 posts

Posted by Nepo > 2024-04-25 16:12 | Report Abuse

oops, Maybank downgrade..

but frankly speaking, could we keep?

kai8994

402 posts

Posted by kai8994 > 2024-04-25 16:20 | Report Abuse

Maybank's valuation did not ascribe any value to the new ventures. The company is reinvesting the cash to grow and at the same time giving out decent dividend. Why sell?

troy88

2,974 posts

Posted by troy88 > 2024-05-06 09:21 | Report Abuse

Uptrend to resume after recent correction. Ambank TP 5.40 still intact..

kritikos

54 posts

Posted by kritikos > 2024-05-09 22:40 | Report Abuse

M&A activities.. they bought 64% interest in CSC Agriculture for RM25m...
https://www.nst.com.my/business/corporate/2024/05/1048189/mega-first-corp-takes-64pc-interest-csc-agriculture-rm25m

Pinky

3,419 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2024-05-13 09:39 | Report Abuse

Good company but limited upside already...made 20% with this stock in 6 months and sold.

Will look to re-enter around 4.50 maybe

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2024-05-13 09:56 | Report Abuse

Agree. Profits so good. Just take

newbie8080

2,756 posts

Posted by newbie8080 > 2024-05-22 08:56 | Report Abuse

https://theedgemalaysia.com/node/712541
Mega First Corp Bhd (KL:MFCB), which is involved in renewable energy sales, limestone quarrying and packaging, said its first quarter net profit rose 35.32% to RM95.46 million from RM70.55 million a year earlier amid a significant improvement at its resource division.

The higher earnings were also attributed to a one-time boost from fire insurance compensation. The group said it recognised RM22.39 million in insurance income for the fire incident in its flexible plastic packaging factory.

VincentTang

1,208 posts

Posted by VincentTang > 2024-05-23 09:02 | Report Abuse

Bad qr. Sold all mfcb

VincentTang

1,208 posts

Posted by VincentTang > 2024-05-23 09:26 | Report Abuse

22.39 mils from net profit claim from insurance which is one off profit

kai8994

402 posts

Posted by kai8994 > 2024-05-23 10:54 | Report Abuse

Y-o-Y
Group’s profit after tax and non-controlling interest (“PATNCI”) rose 35.3% from
RM70.5 million to RM95.5 million. “Normalised” Group PATNCI (by excluding share of
joint ventures and associates’ results, and non-operational one-off items) grew 22.4%
from RM79.5 million to RM97.4 million.

Q-o-Q
Excluding joint ventures and associates, and one-off items
in both periods, the Group's normalised PATNCI remained flat quarter-on-quarter at
RM98.2 million (compared to RM98.7 million in 4Q2023). This was achieved despite
seasonally lower hydro energy sales, underscoring the earnings strength of the
Group's core operations and the positive impact of increased effective equity interest
in DSPC.

How was it a bad quarter? In fact if you follow the Company closely you will know that they will do well this year with the increased effective stake in DSPC and the upcoming 5th turbine running in second half. And next year it will be even more exciting with the Food Security Division plus additional capacity coming from packaging division.

Pinky

3,419 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2024-05-23 15:05 | Report Abuse

Southeast Asia extreme weather. Will that affect that hydro dam? I'm a bit worried.

Posted by hopetobecorrect > 2024-05-23 21:08 | Report Abuse

@kai8994,, i think next year MFCB Laos tax free status will expire? sure this will affect the profit unless i miss something

kai8994

402 posts

Posted by kai8994 > 2024-05-24 09:53 | Report Abuse

@hopetobecorrect, yes you right, in fact there is another clause which says the tariff will be adjusted downward at 10th year if I not mistake. The management did highlight the new CA is more favourable to the Company, lets see how it goes.

Anyway, irregardless of the terms of the CA, to me the value proposition of MFCB is about the capable management team who know how to reinvest the strong cashflow and enhance the shareholder value. Bet the jockey :)

Posted by hopetobecorrect > 2024-05-24 21:32 | Report Abuse

@kai8994, thank you for the information. Will take the mgmt words on this

Posted by goldmanbull > 2024-05-29 00:29 | Report Abuse

Hopefully got chance to masuk MFCB

Posted by Kitty Kitty > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

may enter consolidation phase soon .. opportunity will come thereafter

Pinky

3,419 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

Debt-Saddled Laos Turns to Deferrals as Repayments Nearly Double:
https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2024-07-01/debt-saddled-laos-turns-to-deferrals-as-repayments-nearly-double

Should MFCB investors be concerned?

kai8994

402 posts

Posted by kai8994 > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

@Pinky,

The poor financial position of the Laos government is not something new. The management has explained this many times. Actually, the off-taker for the power generated is Cambodia. As long as Cambodia is paying, MFCB will also get paid. Moreover, the payment is in USD.”

Pinky

3,419 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

Thanks for explanation

BLee

861 posts

Posted by BLee > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

Finally MFCB passed thro' MYR5, seems Power play is contagious..

kai8994

402 posts

Posted by kai8994 > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

“We have nurtured the food security division over the last 10 years and we think it has turned a corner. We are likely to see a bigger contribution from the division, so we are going to carve it out and show it as one of our core businesses,” MFCB non-independent, non-executive director Yeow See Yuen tells The Edge in a recent interview.
- https://theedgemalaysia.com/node/716525

One more pillar to propel them forward.

Willtolive

399 posts

Posted by Willtolive > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

ATH 5.09

Pinky

3,419 posts

Posted by Pinky > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

I re-enter if 4.60

Willtolive

399 posts

So far due to the dilligent management MFCB, the powerplant in Cambodia makes big revenue and profits

Posted by BursaVulture > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

hydro is in laos, not cambodia

Willtolive

399 posts

@BursaVulture, you are right.
MFCB-Laos hydropower ✅

Pestech-Cambodia Transmisdion line

Jaks, Toyoventure-Vietnam Coal powerplant

Pinky

3,419 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2 weeks ago | Report Abuse

Strong MYR will erode earnings

hw0706

807 posts

Posted by hw0706 > 2 weeks ago | Report Abuse

WHATEVER UP WILL BE DOWN

Posted by snowball2000 > 1 week ago | Report Abuse

@Pinky
What is the likely impact of strong RM on MFCB's net profit? 10-20%?

Pinky

3,419 posts

Posted by Pinky > 1 week ago | Report Abuse

Bulk of its earnings in foreign currency. Go figure.

Pinky

3,419 posts

Decent quarter. But have to see next quarter for effects of strong MYR

Posted by BursaVulture > 1 week ago | Report Abuse

should just sell edenor if really cannot turn the company around. kept bleeding money.... their cash pile growing, hopefully can secure another new bigger hydro project while growing the company.

Nepo

3,376 posts

Posted by Nepo > 1 week ago | Report Abuse

Seasonal or cyclical factors
The Group’s principal business operations were not significantly affected by seasonal
or cyclical factors other than its Renewable Energy Division where hydropower
generation is subject to seasonal fluctuation of the water level. Normally, the water
level will peak between June and November during the wet season. More detailed
commentary is set out in Notes B3 and B4 to these financial statements.

kai8994

402 posts

Posted by kai8994 > 1 week ago | Report Abuse

"It is worth noting that the recent appreciation of the Malaysian Ringgit (5-6% increase since the end of June 2024), if maintained for the remainder of the year, may result in lower reported earnings in Ringgit terms (on same USD term) for the second half of 2024.

Despite the stronger Ringgit, and considering the increase in effective ownership of Don Sahong Power Company (DSPC) from 80% to 95%, we expect that the PATNCI for Don Sahong will demonstrate robust double-digit year-on-year growth of more than 20% in the second half of 2024."

@Pinky, forex is inconsequential, MFCB is anticipating more than 20% y-o-y growth in 2H2024 due to higher effective interest and 5th turbine. Not to forget the rest of the divisions are growing steadily as well. MFCB never disappoints the long term shareholders :)

Pinky

3,419 posts

@kai8994

Fingers crossed. MFCB has never left my watchlist ever since I sold all at RM4.60++

Looking to re-enter with my coming months' salary.

Willtolive

399 posts

Posted by Willtolive > 6 days ago | Report Abuse

sold 469 but will buy back.

today mfcb was affected by USD and d&o

Nepo

3,376 posts

Posted by Nepo > 6 days ago | Report Abuse

Wondering why MFCB share price is affected by D&O..?

Pinky

3,419 posts

Posted by Pinky > 6 days ago | Report Abuse

D&O? Apa tu?

Nepo

3,376 posts

Posted by Nepo > 6 days ago | Report Abuse

i guess @Will refer to D&O Green Technology Bhd..

Pinky

3,419 posts

Posted by Pinky > 6 days ago | Report Abuse

But how will D&O affect MFCB?

Willtolive

399 posts

Posted by Willtolive > 5 days ago | Report Abuse

Both companies are related by the large shareholder

ocbc

1,076 posts

Posted by ocbc > 5 days ago | Report Abuse

@Nepo , how is your CCB after privatization ?

Nepo

3,376 posts

Posted by Nepo > 3 days ago | Report Abuse

@ocbc. i already sold back my CCB shares during their 2nd offer, due to my inexperience my maybank remiser said my CCB shares ought to be sold. In fact, later i checked from other sources, if you intend to keep the shares forever even after privitisation, no one can force you to sell..

Btw, good to see you also interested in this counter

Pinky

3,419 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2 days ago | Report Abuse

CCB? Cycle & Carriage Bintang?

Nepo

3,376 posts

Posted by Nepo > 2 days ago | Report Abuse

Ya, CCB refer to Cycle & Carriage Bintang.

28/8/2024 i have participated in the MFCB Q2 online investor briefing.
Outlook is look for Q3. If you intend to keep a copy of the briefing, you can go MFCB website, on the right hand corner, try to look for the investor briefing PDF notes and download to aid your investment decision

Willtolive

399 posts

Posted by Willtolive > 2 days ago | Report Abuse

Nepo, I also attended the briefing. I feel MFCB is looking at new services to sustain the biz but new services isn't ready for market

Nepo

3,376 posts

Posted by Nepo > 2 days ago | Report Abuse

Hi Willtolive, i guess you are talking about CSC Agruculture Holding S/B..

PETALING JAYA: Mega First Corp Bhd’s (MFCB) venture into fruit and vegetable farming is not expected to contribute significantly to its earnings.

The group, which is involved in the power, resources, and property segments, said on Wednesday that it intends to acquire a 64% stake in plantation firm, CSC Agriculture Holdings Sdn Bhd (CSCAH), for RM25mil.