GENTING BHD

KLSE (MYR): GENTING (3182)

-0.02 (0.42%)

4.68 - 4.73

40 people like this.

81,189 comment(s). Last comment by DonCandleone 21 minutes ago

neohts

2,140 posts

Posted by neohts > 2023-01-09 10:18 | Report Abuse

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/node/650949

HLIB stays positive on tourism-related beneficiaries as China opens borders

OnTime

2,119 posts

Posted by OnTime > 2023-01-09 10:25 | Report Abuse

dare to dream, 4.80 end of day!

BradonOoi

615 posts

Posted by BradonOoi > 2023-01-09 10:35 | Report Abuse

possible to close rm4.80 today

DestinyL

4,728 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2023-01-09 10:45 | Report Abuse

It should go close to RM5 before release QR

DestinyL

4,728 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2023-01-09 10:51 | Report Abuse

From what I gather, China is only opening inbound for tourists.
Outbound is only open for business, schooling or other specific purpose.
However, some media is not exactly putting this very clearly, or even outright saying outbound tourists are allowed
If anyone has official media saying outbound for tourist is open, please help to share.

I'm sure there would be illegal outflow if outbound is not yet open
Or could be some businessmen decide to take punt at highlands while on business trip
Those would help but probably not in big numbers

bang_miskin

1,059 posts

Posted by bang_miskin > 2023-01-09 11:01 | Report Abuse

@DestinyL From what I understand, January 8 was for those coming into China, you don't have to go through 5+3 days quarantine period when traveling into China (you still need a 48 PCR test coming back).

As for outbound travelers, many people have their passport cancelled during the zero-covid policy. If you want to renewed your passport, you need to have a specific reason (business, school, family reunion, etc). They will not issue passport to those wanting to travel only. Still some people find ways around these requirements (from hearsay), so they managed to get out. Not sure if they officially removed this requirement. From what I hear, the restriction are still in place but they're not as stringent as 6 months ago.

DestinyL

4,728 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2023-01-09 11:07 | Report Abuse

Thanks bang_miskin, quite tally with what I know and hear
I wouldn't trust too much on hear say until I get more evidence

Surely emsvsi will promote you to bang_kaya after buying Genting lol

emsvsi

3,514 posts

Posted by emsvsi > 2023-01-09 11:18 | Report Abuse

YES THE MORE YOU BUY GENTING THE MORE LIKELY YOU WILL BE BANG_KAYARAYA

bang_miskin

1,059 posts

Posted by bang_miskin > 2023-01-09 11:18 | Report Abuse

Bought some because it was trending up. Just riding the wave.
Already sold a good portion @RM4.7X months ago. I thought it could maintain above RM5, was too optimistic back then.

emsvsi

3,514 posts

Posted by emsvsi > 2023-01-09 11:26 | Report Abuse

YES ALWAYS REMEMBER FORTUNE FAVOURS THE FAITHFUL

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2023-01-09 11:37 | Report Abuse

We are talking about long term investment.

Posted by WinBigOrLoseAll > 2023-01-09 11:48 | Report Abuse

hold till Feb23 for the next QR, no need to thank me later

James_Bond

2,604 posts

Posted by James_Bond > 2023-01-09 12:03 | Report Abuse

Bought another batch at 4.73! Thanks!

James_Bond

2,604 posts

Posted by James_Bond > 2023-01-09 12:04 | Report Abuse

Let’s break 4.80 today!

neohts

2,140 posts

Posted by neohts > 2023-01-09 12:37 | Report Abuse

https://klse.i3investor.com/web/blog/detail/dragon328/2023-01-09-story-h-301837353-Genm_Genting_Catching_up_with_Regional_Peers

Genm and Genting Bhd are listed in Bursa Malaysia with market capitalization of about RM16.4 billion (at current share price of RM2.64) and RM18.2 billion (at RM4.71) respectively. These 2 stocks are trading far below their previous peaks of RM5.50-6.00 and RM8.00-9.00 levels in 2017, though the Covid-19 pandemic is largely over in Malaysia and Singapore.

With Malaysia and Singapore welcoming China tourists with open arm from 8th Jan 2023, casinos and the tourism sector in Malaysia and Singapore will do very well in 2023. I expect the share price of Genm and Genting will play catch-up with regional peers, and rebound some 50% to RM4.00 and RM7.00 level in next few weeks.

If Genm and Genting were to catch up on EV/EBITDA valuation with their Macau peers (at minimum 24.1x), Genm and Genting would re-rate by almost 4x to RM10.25 and RM18.00 respectively, purely based on the rebound in business of their existing casino operations in Malaysia and Singapore.

DestinyL

4,728 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2023-01-09 12:38 | Report Abuse

You shouldn't use PE comparing stocks in different region

DestinyL

4,728 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2023-01-09 12:40 | Report Abuse

That said, the gap shouldn't be like 4x lol

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-01-09 12:50 | Report Abuse

Walau, so many goreng investors.. all goreng and run meh? Only small profit lei

Riaz1954

1,256 posts

Posted by Riaz1954 > 2023-01-09 13:08 | Report Abuse

As I have stated before Malaysia market has unique features particularly retail investors are happy to sell and take small profits to subside their lunch / dinner….

DestinyL

4,728 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2023-01-09 13:19 | Report Abuse

Part of the reason lesser long term holders vested here is due to RPT

OnTime

2,119 posts

Posted by OnTime > 2023-01-09 13:25 | Report Abuse

Let it rip!

MELBOURNE : Players at this month's Australian Open will not be required to take COVID-19 tests and could play even if they had the virus, tournament director Craig Tiley said on Monday.

1invest1

1,467 posts

Posted by 1invest1 > 2023-01-09 13:44 | Report Abuse

Not so simple calculations.
Macau & Msia are completely different.
Even with 6 competitors, mkt is different

Destiny_L is CORRECT abt RPT here.
Need money often, use RPT & other ways !
So much money involved, how stk price up
Always treat GB, GM, etc. like atm !

Remember, highest paid ceo in msia !
Highest salary before, during & after covid !
NO CAP TO high, Higher & HIGHEST Salary.
Keep going higheR !

We, small retailers, are funding billionaire

emsvsi

3,514 posts

Posted by emsvsi > 2023-01-09 13:51 | Report Abuse

YES WHETHER BASED ON EARNINGS OR NTA GENTING (3182) IS THE NUMBAWAN TOP PICK VALUE AND GROWTH AND INNOVATION COMPANY

OnTime

2,119 posts

Posted by OnTime > 2023-01-09 14:18 | Report Abuse

we lemming toil hard (willingly) in order to serve the elites. sounds pretty balance to me!

James_Bond

2,604 posts

Posted by James_Bond > 2023-01-09 14:20 | Report Abuse

Genting Berhad has 6 turbocharged engines 

Turbocharged Engine 1: Genting Singapore, transforming to RW 2.0, one of the world best resorts for tourists to check in. 

Turbocharged Engine 2: Genting Malaysia, holding the monopoly casino business in Malaysia. With the opening of the new Skyworld theme park, will generate more profits to Genting. 

Turbocharged engine 3: High palm oil price, bringing more profits to Genting Plantation and Genting Berhad. 

Turbocharged Engine 4: High turnover of visitors to Genting premium outlets with higher parking rate and rental fees will bring higher profits to Genting Plantation/ Genting Berhad. 

Turbocharged Engine 5: High oil and gas price will bring more profits to Genting berhad! 

Turbocharged Engine 6: TauRx, awaiting FDA approval for Alzheimer treatment. 

Turbocharged Engine 7: Genting Berhad is going to auction off Miami property, which it acquired in 2011 for US$236 million. This Miami property worth more than US$1000 million at current market value.

All in all, Genting is your Best of the best investment in 2023. Creme de la creme.

To all Genting shareholders, I wish you all, Happy Lunar New Year with zillion fruitful returns!

Best Wishes,
-James_Bond-

James_Bond

2,604 posts

Posted by James_Bond > 2023-01-09 14:22 | Report Abuse

I still hv the disturbing thirst after taking meals with Ajinomoto flavoring. Darn…

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2023-01-09 14:48 | Report Abuse

Seller is a bunch of hopeless loser with no sense of direction.

James_Bond

2,604 posts

Posted by James_Bond > 2023-01-09 15:28 | Report Abuse

Bought another batch… Averaging up at 4.73!

James_Bond

2,604 posts

Posted by James_Bond > 2023-01-09 15:29 | Report Abuse

Let’s break 4.80 today! We can do it!

DestinyL

4,728 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2023-01-09 15:29 | Report Abuse

Anyone with solid technical charting ability will tell you how explosive Aji can be
Not that I bought any

James_Bond

2,604 posts

Posted by James_Bond > 2023-01-09 15:37 | Report Abuse

Bought another batch at 4.74! Let’s break 4.80!

James_Bond

2,604 posts

Posted by James_Bond > 2023-01-09 15:39 | Report Abuse

Anyone with solid technical charting ability will tell you how explosive Genting Berhad is?! Remember Genting Berhad has 7 turbocharged engines! Aji has one, the most two! You do the maths, you should know unless you failed your maths.

James_Bond

2,604 posts

Posted by James_Bond > 2023-01-09 15:40 | Report Abuse

Japan going to dive into deep hot water with huge debt, more than 300% GDP… Aji will get the heat of it soon…

DestinyL

4,728 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2023-01-09 15:50 | Report Abuse

Lol time will tell

James_Bond

2,604 posts

Posted by James_Bond > 2023-01-09 15:55 | Report Abuse

Destiny, please stop being one of the sour grapes in Genting Berhad forum. Thank you.

neohts

2,140 posts

Posted by neohts > 2023-01-09 16:00 | Report Abuse

Destiny, Why selling Aji in Genting ?
Totally not related ?
Go back to Aji.

DestinyL

4,728 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2023-01-09 16:07 | Report Abuse

James_bond switched Aji to Genting. Trying to be helpful to point out to him.
I guess some investors just want to hear good flowery things

DestinyL

4,728 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2023-01-09 16:08 | Report Abuse

Okay, Genting will probably hit RM5 pretty soon, that good? Should get a thumbs up

emsvsi

3,514 posts

Posted by emsvsi > 2023-01-09 16:36 | Report Abuse

RELAX GENTING SHAREHOLDERS !

emsvsi

3,514 posts

Posted by emsvsi > 2023-01-09 16:37 | Report Abuse

WE'RE ALL GOING TO DA MOOOOOON !

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-01-09 16:47 | Report Abuse

GenB welcomes all on board...

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-01-09 16:48 | Report Abuse

Welcome on board, and thank you for flying with GenB to the mooooon

dragon328

1,971 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2023-01-09 17:03 | Report Abuse

Steady and surely to RM7.00

emsvsi

3,514 posts

Posted by emsvsi > 2023-01-09 17:38 | Report Abuse

GOOD CLOSING ! BUYING IS UNSTOPPABLE !

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2023-01-09 18:00 | Report Abuse

We welcome all real investors but not contra players. If you have no plan to pickup, please don't buy. You are not welcome.

newbie2019

1,700 posts

Posted by newbie2019 > 2023-01-09 18:54 | Report Abuse

it’s their money if they want to play contra… free market

glad that i am still around and holding my 105…. let it be RM10.5 yeah…. see u guys at RM7 first

OnTime

2,119 posts

Posted by OnTime > 2023-01-09 20:03 | Report Abuse

our shareholder-unfriendly management will start dumping if it gets close to rm5

choysun

4,265 posts

Posted by choysun > 2023-01-09 20:13 | Report Abuse

Well there is good RPT and bad RPT. Quite sure everyone hoping this time is good RPT decision. :)