GEORGE KENT (M) BHD

KLSE (MYR): GKENT (3204)

+0.01 (2.08%)

0.48 - 0.50

15 people like this.

18,216 comment(s). Last comment by gkent2000 1 week ago

m_aloha

607 posts

Posted by m_aloha > 2019-12-19 16:02 | Report Abuse

Nyum2..

oasischeah

1,461 posts

Posted by oasischeah > 2019-12-19 16:26 | Report Abuse

Most shares also down but GKent is forever down.

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2019-12-19 16:37 | Report Abuse

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/hlib-lowers-george-kent-fy2022-earnings-forecast

For its construction segment, the group's management is looking to secure regional rail related opportunities with a potential tenderbook of RM1 billion (Singapore LTA Trackworks and Bangkok Orange Line 2nd Phase Trackworks), the research house said.

"Recently, Gkent (George Kent) was contracted by Selangor water authority to supply, deliver and install 5,540 smart water meters.

amzarb44

528 posts

Posted by amzarb44 > 2019-12-19 21:04 | Report Abuse

No news for engineering department for 18monts except lrt 3

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2019-12-20 10:30 | Report Abuse

Oversold......will recover next week.
It's still profit making company with dividend.

m_aloha

607 posts

Posted by m_aloha > 2019-12-20 12:30 | Report Abuse

Yeap..keep for mid term. I’m Buying at this attractive price till lrt3 profit kick in.

Baby Shark

5,902 posts

Posted by Baby Shark > 2019-12-20 12:35 | Report Abuse

Sold ALL.. cut loss, .. up ma up lo, at least I got cash money & can always buy when cheap time..

Baby Shark

5,902 posts

Posted by Baby Shark > 2019-12-20 16:10 | Report Abuse

Wah.. lucky jual habis

m_aloha

607 posts

Posted by m_aloha > 2019-12-20 16:51 | Report Abuse

All bad news already factor in..just wait for good news. Be patient..

Posted by TillyLovers > 2019-12-20 16:53 | Report Abuse

the counter drops everyday. Sigh. I am trapped at RM0.95. Directors should do more SBB.

m_aloha

607 posts

Posted by m_aloha > 2019-12-20 17:05 | Report Abuse

95 considered trapped ma..just 2% drop.

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2019-12-20 18:08 | Report Abuse

Thanks you for selling to me at 92 cents. Wait till year end window dressing and next year when LRT3 profit factor in, can break RM1.2 again.

m_aloha

607 posts

Posted by m_aloha > 2019-12-20 19:30 | Report Abuse

Thank You for 925 sellers as well.

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2019-12-20 19:56 | Report Abuse

Today share buy back again

Posted by Cockroach Paul Lee > 2019-12-20 22:44 | Report Abuse

Bought some 0.925... die die buy... buy la buy la don’t care tmr sky will fall down...
80sen come la come la... die die buy

Posted by TillyLovers > 2019-12-20 23:01 | Report Abuse

I hope mine can be sold at RM0.96. No greedy.

m_aloha

607 posts

Posted by m_aloha > 2019-12-23 09:59 | Report Abuse

@Tilly, I think you can sell before cny, shark start going in

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2019-12-23 10:31 | Report Abuse

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2019/12/23/foreign-funds-made-a-comeback-after-six-weeks-of-net-selling

Foreign funds made a comeback after six weeks of net selling

oasischeah

1,461 posts

Posted by oasischeah > 2019-12-23 11:03 | Report Abuse

I think share prices will gradually be pushed down for the Chinese New Year. There is not much buying activities but plenty of ready sellers. Hold on to your cash. Cash is king as we approach this coming Chinese New Year.

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2019-12-23 11:20 | Report Abuse

Look like Panic seller is over. Price stable soon.

m_aloha

607 posts

Posted by m_aloha > 2019-12-23 17:55 | Report Abuse

Yeap I think left few weak holders..cash cow company can use sbb to push the price

Lol

129 posts

Posted by Lol > 2019-12-24 11:06 | Report Abuse

what is the advantages of gkent compare to others ?

oasischeah

1,461 posts

Posted by oasischeah > 2019-12-24 16:58 | Report Abuse

It does have quarterly dividend payments compared with many others of the save value.

oasischeah

1,461 posts

Posted by oasischeah > 2019-12-24 17:01 | Report Abuse

Only sad thing is, GKent does not seem to have any new profitable backup since the fall of BN.

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2019-12-24 23:56 | Report Abuse

They have tender for rail projects in Singapore & Thailand but pending confirmation. May take sometime. Chances 50 50. Water meter can still continue making profit.

ming

2,074 posts

Posted by ming > 2019-12-25 00:11 | Report Abuse

At least boss tak lari lagi..

malpac63

208 posts

Posted by malpac63 > 2019-12-25 16:58 | Report Abuse

Dividends are paid out of retained earnings and not profits. The jar of honey has reduced from $400m to $200m in 2 years. LRT3 earnings have already been factored into its current price as it's not some tender which they just won.

oasischeah

1,461 posts

Posted by oasischeah > 2019-12-26 10:52 | Report Abuse

All share prices are gradually getting lower by the days. Expect to get even lower till the Chinese New Year holidays. Let it slide and keep your cash ready to buy whenever you feel it is low enough.

Baby Shark

5,902 posts

Posted by Baby Shark > 2019-12-26 16:11 | Report Abuse

Below 0.90 can hentam kaw kaw la, very cheap.. hahaha

Posted by TillyLovers > 2019-12-27 15:34 | Report Abuse

sigh, no body push the counter, ranging between 0.925 and 0.93

Philip Greta

4,791 posts

Posted by Philip Greta > 2019-12-27 21:27 | Report Abuse

I don't really understand this question, they made a net profit of 10 million, out of which they paid out a dividend of 5.3 million to shareholders. On top of that, they are doing aggressive share buyback at low prices.

You are right in that the jar of honey is reducing from 400 million to 200 million.

But the main point is they need to spend money to earn money, to complete their 16 billion lrt3 project.

Lrt3 earnings have changed from when they were PDP to now when they have become more of a main contractor charged with completing the full project on new negotiated terms. Reduced costs, but also reduced requirements and gkent to redesigned the entire project to meet the new cost requirements ( which is why it took so long).

Previously as PDP they were coated at 6% of project cost,, we estimated 16 billion returns to be 960 million, half of which will bring to gkent. Earnings.

As a main contractor which is in charge of redesign and build, they will be able to squeeze even more profits now that they no longer need to higher crony contractors and can sub to the best contractors and cheapest prices.

What do you think the earnings upon completion will be today? I myself don't know how much. But it will certainly be more that the market cap of the company today at 521 million.

Another jar of honey.

Together with share buyback at low prices, and 7% dividend every year ( sustainable from their water business alone).

But maybe since you can factor in lrt3 earnings into current price, you can tell me how much they will earn from lrt3?

>>>>>>>>>>

malpac63 Dividends are paid out of retained earnings and not profits. The jar of honey has reduced from $400m to $200m in 2 years. LRT3 earnings have already been factored into its current price as it's not some tender which they just won.
25/12/2019 4:58 PM

ming

2,074 posts

Posted by ming > 2019-12-28 01:32 | Report Abuse

Takpa lah.. tan sri got 39% shareholding and yet to dispose single cents..

Posted by gorengking69 > 2019-12-28 04:13 | Report Abuse

Limit up coming

sochkio

17 posts

Posted by sochkio > 2019-12-28 16:13 | Report Abuse

Market news ..tan Sri want to sell share already

Posted by gorengking69 > 2019-12-28 19:02 | Report Abuse

This company sembang only. Results not improving

54,926 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-12-29 09:51 | Report Abuse

POOR PHILIP GRETA BOUGHT GKENT ABOVE RM1.00

Philip Greta No need to forget. This is Calvin tan portfolio tracked all the stocks he recommended in 2019 alone.

How come different story?

We tracked the dates of your promotion and the results YTD.

>>>>>>

https://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/pfs/123029.jsp
29/12/2019 7:40 AM

Calvin replies:

Philip must be honest not to omit dividends of 46.5 sen for KPS, 10 sens for Dutaland, 5 sen for Eksons as well as 4.1 sen for TA and many others

Also my 1st call to buy Scomies is 7.5 sen and not 9 sen. Lots of errors & wrong reporting

THEN LET EVERYONE CALCULATE THE TOTAL NET GAINS MINUS NET LOSSES AND YOU WILL SEE THE TRUE PICTURE

As for Philip he picked Petchem (Ogse downstream) during OGSE Upstream bull run of Dayang, Carimin, Penergy, Uzma, Naim & Velesto & totally missed the opportunity for picking the wrong stock. He also made a wrong pick in Gkent as Gkent boss was Najib golf buddy

At worst is this

Both Philip and 3iii have changed ID

Why people changed names?

They are ashamed of their original names and ID

Last time during Asian Financial crisis Mr Neoh changed name to Peter and Mr HO changed name to Andy

Why so?

Both hiding from loan sharks

3iii hiding from dlady people while Philip hiding from petchem people

NO wonder both changed their names and disturb other forums like Netx?

Why they both dare not go post in dlady or petchem?

See reason:

Convicted criminals change names to cover up past

https://globalnews.ca/news/2558782/convicted-criminals-change-names-to...
09/12/2019 11:15 PM
29/12/2019 9:48 AM

Philip Greta

4,791 posts

Posted by Philip Greta > 2019-12-29 17:11 |

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2019-12-29 18:08 | Report Abuse

Phillip,

What have you been taking man.

Which person on earth will rather be a main contractor than a PDP?

PDP, zero risk, cost plus, do whatever you want lah.

Main contractor, you better hit the price and the specs or you die.

There is no way, by changing to main contractor their profit will be higher than PDP.

===
Previously as PDP they were coated at 6% of project cost,, we estimated 16 billion returns to be 960 million, half of which will bring to gkent. Earnings.

As a main contractor which is in charge of redesign and build, they will be able to squeeze even more profits now that they no longer need to higher crony contractors and can sub to the best contractors and cheapest prices.

pamaladu

108 posts

Posted by pamaladu > 2019-12-29 22:49 | Report Abuse

PDP is a type of project management service, hence lower risk and lower fixed fee at 6%.
Now turnkey fixed costs, will take responsibility and risk for the design and construction, hence profit should be higher to reflect the risk. It cannot be lower than 6% otherwise the turnkey contractor will have difficulty to complete and at the end the government has to deal with the problem. So it is also the government's interest to make sure the profit is reasonable, not too low. Should be around theoretical minimum profit +/- 10% depend how well it is managed. Mismanaged will be less, good management will be more, depend on the problem encountered during construction. Nobody knows until completion. theoretical should be around +/-10%, my guess.

papparich

216 posts

Posted by papparich > 2019-12-30 12:13 | Report Abuse

Reported lower revenue but higher net profit - the company seems to be managing their costing extensively but did little to improve their core products. I have stressed the importance not to rely too much on secondary profit and to see them only as bonuses.

To add pressure, they keep throwing out cash in dividends to keep stakeholders happy yet trying to keep market value from going south so they kept buying back their shares. While they are still in net value which is a consolation, they need to strengthen their moat or create new blue oceans. The rest is hearsay, like all these comments. The only comment I listen too now is found in financial sheets.

Baby Shark

5,902 posts

Posted by Baby Shark > 2019-12-30 14:25 | Report Abuse

Down time don't gado.. concentrate buy when very cheap

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2019-12-30 17:36 | Report Abuse

I am 100% sure this company won't go bankrupt. Even with just water meter, can still make profit as the company is very good in cost control.

Philip Greta

4,791 posts

Posted by Philip Greta > 2019-12-30 18:17 |

SHQuah

5,363 posts

Posted by SHQuah > 2019-12-30 19:14 | Report Abuse

I think the problem now is to resolve some legal issue and timing to officially start to projects

ramada

3,955 posts

Posted by ramada > 2019-12-30 22:32 | Report Abuse

And here is the official clarification.
https://malaysiastock.biz/Company-Announcement.aspx?id=1193978

malpac63

208 posts

Posted by malpac63 > 2019-12-30 23:50 | Report Abuse

There can be no other official announcement except for a denial.

54,926 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2019-12-31 00:22 | Report Abuse

THE BIGGEST LIARS & ACCUSERS IN I3 FORUM ARE PHILIP GRETA & 3III (PLEASE BE WARNED!!)
Author: calvintaneng | Publish date: Tue, 31 Dec 2019, 12:09 AM

https://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/forum/600253471.jsp