KECK SENG (M) BHD

KLSE (MYR): KSENG (3476)

-0.02 (0.34%)

5.90 - 5.91

8 people like this.

3,452 comment(s). Last comment by prudentinvestor 22 hours ago

sephiroth

14,131 posts

Posted by sephiroth > 2013-03-06 14:45 | Report Abuse

What happen? 14 sen gain but low volume

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-03-06 15:37 | Report Abuse

Keck Seng is an asset play. It's NTA is RM5.10 made out by RM3.46 of hard cash. Besides other valuable assets which book values of 65 sen per share is much lower than the current value such as land held under development and investment properties. Hey, I have not talked about its property, plant and equipment, Property development costs, inventories, receivables etc of about 800m yet. Whereas its total liabilities is only 108m. It is definitely a Graham net-net counter. Besides it has a profitable palm oil manufacturing work and plantation, property development, hotels etc and other business which are doing quite ok with positive free cash flows. It has about RM1.00 per share dividend which is tax imputable and has to be given out by this year. It seems it won't go wrong investing in this stock at current price now. You don't have to follow me.

sephiroth

14,131 posts

Posted by sephiroth > 2013-03-06 16:33 | Report Abuse

I'm already in months ago at 4.12 waiting for the 90 plus sen dividend

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-03-06 16:42 | Report Abuse

sephiroth, you did your homework and well rewarded. I was lucky that I bought it this morning at RM4.22. I remember a guy named Pete who claimed himself newbie mentioned to me a couple days ago and I quickly studied its financials and got to buy it this morning at the lowest price.

And usually Keck Seng announces its dividend payment in April, that is next month.

sephiroth

14,131 posts

Posted by sephiroth > 2013-03-06 16:51 | Report Abuse

Good for you. Just like HDBS said "Major re-rating catalyst from potential bumper dividend by FY13. Potential M&A target with 83% of market cap in liquid asset (RM1.90/share net cash, RM1.32/share investment). Deep value from Johor land bank with significant upside potential. Fair value of RM6.00, based on 30% discount to RM8.50 SOPderived valuation.

wonder

114 posts

Posted by wonder > 2013-03-07 23:14 | Report Abuse

what major investment securities do they hold?

sephiroth

14,131 posts

Posted by sephiroth > 2013-03-08 12:24 | Report Abuse

Come back to life at 4.54 nearing dividend next month, special dividend 0.90-0.95 confirm by this yr

Posted by tonylim > 2013-03-08 12:33 | Report Abuse

kcchong, septhi,
As usual thanks for the great info.

Posted by tonylim > 2013-03-08 12:46 | Report Abuse

Sephi, strange, recent run up also at this price

sephiroth

14,131 posts

Posted by sephiroth > 2013-03-08 16:24 | Report Abuse

Break previous high of 4.71, now 4.72. cool

arv18

2,657 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-03-10 15:58 | Report Abuse

What the hell is this company doing with so much cash? Planning for WW3? Why has it been so stingy with dividends in the past?

arv18

2,657 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-03-10 15:59 | Report Abuse

Companies with much much less have shared so much more...

sephiroth

14,131 posts

Posted by sephiroth > 2013-03-11 09:33 | Report Abuse

4.91 now, finally investor realise the 90 plus sen special divided imminent

Posted by Desmond Liew > 2013-03-11 09:33 | Report Abuse

aiyahh,,,ge13 fear is strong in my mind, miss the flight to gold mine.. why not settle ge13 asap...

Posted by Desmond Liew > 2013-03-11 09:34 | Report Abuse

the more ge13 drag, ppl lost confident,

sephiroth

14,131 posts

Posted by sephiroth > 2013-03-11 09:43 | Report Abuse

Fear of GE is great for value investor like me, Keck Seng fundamental will not change overnight because of GE. Bought at 4.12 for a super normal profit when special dividend announce later(sometime this year)

sephiroth

14,131 posts

Posted by sephiroth > 2013-03-11 09:50 | Report Abuse

Bullish signal comfirmed, new 52 week high every moment. HDBS TP RM6.00

Posted by Desmond Liew > 2013-03-11 09:51 | Report Abuse

I agreed & not agreed. I m aware that KSeng's fundamental will not change overnight & its instrinc value is 8.30 & fair value is 6.00 if not mistaken. Not agreed is if ge13 now is being announced, no matter how good its fundamental, their current price will definately be affected. Investors prefer to collect cheap price like what u got 4.12 than what i m currenlt looking at 4.92..big difference.

sephiroth

14,131 posts

Posted by sephiroth > 2013-03-11 15:32 | Report Abuse

At current price 4.93, there might still be 10-15% upside

Posted by tonylim > 2013-03-11 16:08 | Report Abuse

U lookin at 5.50?

sephiroth

14,131 posts

Posted by sephiroth > 2013-03-11 16:32 | Report Abuse

yes, have to monitor whether tomorrow where there is still power to head north

sephiroth

14,131 posts

Posted by sephiroth > 2013-03-12 09:27 | Report Abuse

Power start at 5.09

Posted by Desmond Liew > 2013-03-12 09:28 | Report Abuse

so good!!!

Posted by quyen850906 > 2013-03-12 12:11 | Report Abuse

y so powerful up 3 days

Posted by tonylim > 2013-03-12 14:16 | Report Abuse

For those greedy rm 5.50 achievable

sephiroth

14,131 posts

Posted by sephiroth > 2013-03-12 14:48 | Report Abuse

Going strong at 5.23(+0.30)

Posted by Desmond Liew > 2013-03-12 15:35 | Report Abuse

fair value is RM6 so we aim for RM6... hehehe,, not greedy.

sephiroth

14,131 posts

Posted by sephiroth > 2013-03-12 16:40 | Report Abuse

Buy 4.12 Can Sell 5.30? Fair enough profit??

Posted by Desmond Liew > 2013-03-12 16:46 | Report Abuse

sephiroth! where did u get the info to buy such a low price... very admire u & next time pls share share er ..

sephiroth

14,131 posts

Posted by sephiroth > 2013-03-12 16:48 | Report Abuse

When HDBS release rpt on 21/12/12 the price shoot up from 3.80 to 4.00. Then the next day, i thought it is still not too late to buy at 4.12

sephiroth

14,131 posts

Posted by sephiroth > 2013-03-12 16:50 | Report Abuse

i read the latest quarterly report stating huge section 108 tax credit expire in 2013, straight away i jump in

Posted by tonylim > 2013-03-12 16:50 | Report Abuse

sephir, good for you.

Posted by Desmond Liew > 2013-03-12 16:51 | Report Abuse

congrats to u for huge profit.. very admire ler..

sephiroth

14,131 posts

Posted by sephiroth > 2013-03-12 16:54 | Report Abuse

Have to congrats kcchongnz also, bought 4.22 on 6 Mar 2013

Posted by Desmond Liew > 2013-03-12 16:56 | Report Abuse

of course, got to congrats to Mr chong. I tried to recall why did i not read his posting that day? He jumped in, definately i would follow.. missed the flight to golden mine..

Posted by Fat Cat Tim Buddy > 2013-03-12 17:06 | Report Abuse

latest quarterly report stating huge section 108 tax credit expire in 2013?

anyone other that sephiroth spot it? i cannot find any section 108 tax credit expire in 2013....

Posted by Desmond Liew > 2013-03-12 17:09 | Report Abuse

what is that "section 108 tax credit"

Posted by Fat Cat Tim Buddy > 2013-03-12 17:14 | Report Abuse

http://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/anpth/888102.jsp latest quarterly report, please kinda click on the attachments...

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-03-12 18:19 | Report Abuse

Lim AS, this post by Alex Lu in 2010 is way out of date. Basing on it can arrive at very misleading conclusions. For one, there was a 1:1 bonus issues which was given in 2011. Secondly KSeng also had a windfall in 2011 when it disposed off its shares in Parkway Holding (and hence its bonus issues). Thirdly the technical charts and conclusions from them vary all the time.

sephiroth

14,131 posts

Posted by sephiroth > 2013-03-12 18:37 | Report Abuse

Fat cat, it shd be latest annual rpt as below

extract from annual report 2011

there is a transitional period of 6 years, expiring on 31 December 2013, to allow companies to pay franked dividends to their shareholders under limited circumstances. Companies also have an irrevocable option to disregard the 108 balance and opt to pay dividends under the single tier system. The Company did not elect for the irrevocable option to disregard the 108 balance. Accordingly, during the transitional period, the Company may utilise the credit in the 108 balance as at 31 December 2011 and 2010 to distribute cash dividend payments to ordinary shareholdings as defi ned under the Finance Act 2007. As at 31 December 2011, the Company has sufficient tax exempt balances and 108 balance of the Income Tax Act, 1967 to pay franked dividends amounting to RM358,506,000 (2010 : RM384,029,000) out of its retained earnings. If the balance of the retained earnings of RM546,480,000 (2010
: RM594,853,000) were to be distributed as dividends, the Company may distribute such dividends under the single tier system.

Posted by Fat Cat Tim Buddy > 2013-03-12 22:41 | Report Abuse

thx! sephiroth. :)

sephiroth

14,131 posts

Posted by sephiroth > 2013-03-12 23:15 | Report Abuse

The above info i have posted on 28/12/12, but no one seems to bother, if they did, they make 20% in 2 months

sephiroth

14,131 posts

Posted by sephiroth > 2013-03-13 09:14 | Report Abuse

Phew.., glad i am out at RM5.30 yesterday

Posted by Desmond Liew > 2013-03-13 09:17 | Report Abuse

aiyah!! sephiroth,, why do u forsake us so fast? i thought u said it is a good fundamental stock,,, hahaha,, jst joking & congrats u exited with huge profit.

sephiroth

14,131 posts

Posted by sephiroth > 2013-03-13 09:21 | Report Abuse

No worries, it's coming back to life from 5.15 to 5.25. It's just that i met my profit target of above 25%

Alfred Aun

1,139 posts

Posted by Alfred Aun > 2013-03-13 16:06 | Report Abuse

Wow! the share price drops so much today. Can i buy this counter at the price of RM5.10 ?

Melvin G

601 posts

Posted by Melvin G > 2013-03-13 16:11 | Report Abuse

wow! Do you really need any answer?

Posted by tonylim > 2013-03-13 16:13 | Report Abuse

Alfred, buy lor

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-03-13 16:15 | Report Abuse

What goes up so much suddenly must come down at least some. That is the law of the share market, whatever the fundamentals of the company. If you have bought it at around 4.20 last week, what is so bad about RM5.10 now?