KECK SENG (M) BHD

KLSE (MYR): KSENG (3476)

-0.02 (0.34%)

5.90 - 5.91

8 people like this.

3,452 comment(s). Last comment by prudentinvestor 22 hours ago

Alfred Aun

1,139 posts

Posted by Alfred Aun > 2013-03-13 16:31 | Report Abuse

To buy or not to buy? i will follow the trend of tomorrow.

arv18

2,657 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-03-14 00:11 | Report Abuse

I'm watching with interest. In INCKEN. Land in Bangi and Kajang.

Lot closer than Johor. Thats for sure.

Interestingly. Also a hotel. In P.Perhentian. Not Hawaii lah!

arv18

2,657 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-03-14 00:13 | Report Abuse

Almost Zero Debt.

Lotsa Cash.

arv18

2,657 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-03-14 00:13 | Report Abuse

Give back to shareholders lah! Come on!

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-03-14 02:23 | Report Abuse

Posted by Lim AS > Mar 13, 2013 08:20 PM | Report Abuse
kccchongnz ...corrections bonus 1 for 2 given . price shot up to 6.40 /share , so on average it should arrive at 4.30/share in 2011. The present price is only a fraction higher ...so nothing grand to shout about.

You are right, the bonus issue is 1 for 2. My mistake. The highest share price was 4.60 (ex-bonus) a few days before the announcement of the bonus issues according to the weekly closing share price chart. This worked out to be about 6.90, adjusted to prior bonus issue price.

OK, I will take your average price of 4.30 in 2011. My perception of its price is 4.30 is more of the upper limit and 3.80 is the lower limit, with median about 4.10. But no point arguing about small difference. Share price of KS rose from 4.30 to 5.30, or 1.00, or 23% in two years. Oop, a fraction of 1/4.3. Yeah, you are right too. Nothing to shout about. It is about the return of the market.

However for people like sephiroth who bought it at about 4.00 not too long ago and the price shot up by 23% in a week, maybe they deserve to be happy and shout a little, don't they? Let them be happy loh.

Posted by raaycktan2010 > 2013-03-14 15:06 | Report Abuse

SOLD TOO EARLY MADE PROFIT LIKE IKAN BILIS

Posted by Desmond Liew > 2013-03-14 15:22 | Report Abuse

so long u can exit with profit although ikan bilis, consider good harvest..

Alfred Aun

1,139 posts

Posted by Alfred Aun > 2013-03-14 16:21 | Report Abuse

It's share price seems horizontal resistance at RM5.110 today.

Alfred Aun

1,139 posts

Posted by Alfred Aun > 2013-03-15 16:26 | Report Abuse

It is down trend mode. I decide not to buy this counter first.

Posted by ayseng52 > 2013-03-16 22:24 | Report Abuse

will definitely attacting big sharks all over to gain control of the co and sell as piecemeal later after making good n reasonable profits.....it will be a matter of time just look and watch out...

sephiroth

14,131 posts

Posted by sephiroth > 2013-03-16 22:27 | Report Abuse

As per above article, Kseng land in JB have not been revalued for the past 32 years

arv18

2,657 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-03-20 01:55 | Report Abuse

This share is in Goreng-Land.

Does ANYONE have a CASE STUDY about the 108 tax credit? Please?

KSENG has been traditionally conservative (read stingy) with D-I-V.

Why would they want a share price spike now?

sephiroth

14,131 posts

Posted by sephiroth > 2013-03-21 09:22 | Report Abuse

faber and pos also have lots of section 108 tax credit, faber already declare 30 sen cumulatively, pos expected to declare above 50 sen

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-03-21 17:28 | Report Abuse

If Keck Seng just declares 4-6 sen dividend, I think better avoid this stock. A lot of assets no use also, no interest of minority shareholders taken into account. Even ready to forfeit the section 108 tax credit which if dividend declared under that section, investors with lower tax bracket can enjoy that credit. This is the last year company use section 108.

gark

924 posts

Posted by gark > 2013-03-21 17:31 | Report Abuse

The majority owner is definitely not lower tax bracket. So even if KS utilize the s108, they will not have benefit. Might as well burn it all rather than let the minorities earn the tax credit & have to foot out a huge dividend bill. :)

sephiroth

14,131 posts

Posted by sephiroth > 2013-03-21 18:54 | Report Abuse

As per annual rpt 2011 "The Company did not elect for the irrevocable option to disregard the 108 balance. "

gark

924 posts

Posted by gark > 2013-03-21 20:25 | Report Abuse

That just means they did not choose to terminate the 108 balance in 2012, but there are no guarantees that they will utilize it or make it lapse. :P

gark

924 posts

Posted by gark > 2013-03-23 10:00 | Report Abuse

As minority shareholders you cannot force a company to give dividend...
Dividend is decided by the board of directors...

Want to complain a company is not giving out dividend? SC will shove you out the door.. :)

If this company intend to use it's 108 it would have done so since 2008, when the rule come out for 1 tier dividend, and not wait until last minute and going to expire...

Anyway good luck to punters and pray hard the directors feel generous..

hw0706

807 posts

Posted by hw0706 > 2013-03-27 07:30 | Report Abuse

any news. the share pice up again

sephiroth

14,131 posts

Posted by sephiroth > 2013-03-27 09:54 | Report Abuse

congrats to those who hold til now, breaking new high

ababab

5 posts

Posted by ababab > 2013-03-27 10:34 | Report Abuse

cheers

hw0706

807 posts

Posted by hw0706 > 2013-03-27 19:43 | Report Abuse

5.27 closing

sephiroth

14,131 posts

Posted by sephiroth > 2013-03-27 19:56 | Report Abuse

this is not speculative stock

hw0706

807 posts

Posted by hw0706 > 2013-03-28 23:23 | Report Abuse

we wait and see. but sooner or later the share price will speak by itself. anyway if is bullrun than the stock is a choice.

hw0706

807 posts

Posted by hw0706 > 2013-04-01 18:39 | Report Abuse

Look like come down

hw0706

807 posts

Posted by hw0706 > 2013-04-01 21:17 | Report Abuse

KECK SENG Berhad (Bloomberg: KS MK) is a Bursa Malaysia listed company. It is involved in four core business - plantations, palm oil milling, hotel management and property development.

The book value of the company (RM4.98) does not reflect the true economic value of its assets. This is because the company has not reflected the true market value of its securities portfolio on its books.

The actual composition is unknown but Keck Seng, from what we gather, owns 4.9 million shares in PPB Group Berhad and 2.8 million shares in Chin Teck Plantations Berhad.

The footnotes to its financials indicate that the market value is RM672 million, sharply above the carrying value of RM254 million.

Under accounting rule FRS 139 which took effect from Jan 2010, Keck Seng (www.keckseng.com) has to fair value its equity investments and reflect unrealised gains or losses in its statements.

Depending on the eventual accounting classification for the portfolio, the unrealised gains or losses would flow either into the balance sheet or the income statement. The impact is likely to be on the former as the portfolio is held for the long term.

Hence, when the company next reports in May 2010, the Net Asset Value could surge to about RM6.70 per share because there is a surplus of about RM1.78 per share from marking to market the securities portfolio.

It is also noteworthy that Keck Seng has a huge land bank in South Johor which is still valued based at 1980s prices. As you would imagine, land value in this part of Malaysia has appreciated following the impetus attributed to the Iskandar Development Region (IDR). Keck Seng's land in Pasir Gudang, Tanjong Langsat, Bangdar Baru Kangkar Pulai and Ulu Tiram is much more valuable than what is reflected on its books. In fact, Keck Seng had to sell 180 acres of such land in Ulu Tiram to the government at RM251,000 per acre.

Its entire Southern Johor land bank could be worth as much as RM2.5 billion. If so, this would in turn add approximately another RM9 per share to its NAV!

We also believe that the company's commercial assets are carried at sharp discounts to current market prices. For example, Menara Keck Seng which is located at Jalan Bukit Bintang, the Orchard Road equivalent in KL, was last valued in 1996 at about RM240 psf. Current transaction values for KL office property is about double that.

It also owns Regency Tower, an apartment block which it bought in 2006 for RM62.5 million and Keck Seng Tower in the heart of Singapore's business district.

Besides office properties, it owns several hospitality assets. Singapore readers would be familiar with Riverview Hotel in Havelock Road.

It also owns hotels in Canada (Sheraton Ottawa, Four Points by Sheraton Hotel & Conference Centre Gatineau-Ottawa, and the Doubletree at Toronto Airport), China, Vietnam and Hawaii. Several of these hotels have not been revalued for several years.

investor77

802 posts

Posted by investor77 > 2013-04-02 17:23 | Report Abuse

Ay Seng, do you think it is still save to go in at this level, or buy the call warrant ?

What other share that is similar to K /seng. Kretam it seems also have not revalued, and so is A & M.

hw0706

807 posts

Posted by hw0706 > 2013-04-03 09:11 | Report Abuse

bonia is a watch stock due to recently expansion. if the economy is good than is a good consumer stock. will be better if the major shareholder take it private.

hw0706

807 posts

Posted by hw0706 > 2013-04-11 12:24 | Report Abuse

kseng 5.27

hw0706

807 posts

Posted by hw0706 > 2013-04-12 17:03 | Report Abuse

correct.wait until one day will reach its value

johotin88

385 posts

Posted by johotin88 > 2013-04-23 22:09 | Report Abuse

Why no 0.96 dividends ??

sephiroth

14,131 posts

Posted by sephiroth > 2013-04-24 10:10 | Report Abuse

Ppl damn dissapointed with the normal 6 sen gross dividend, still have max 8 mths to go to wait for the special dividend

arv18

2,657 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-04-24 10:23 | Report Abuse

possibly need the funds to develop their Johor land. better that than pay div. management is not very open with minority & market. was good for a short term punt, not so sure about long term. rather be invested in pbank, lafarge, tasek, allianz, takaful

Posted by Jonathan Keung > 2013-04-24 10:45 | Report Abuse

very disappointed over the 6% dividend announcement. nothing to shout about. kec seng ( in cantonese )

sephiroth

14,131 posts

Posted by sephiroth > 2013-04-24 11:22 | Report Abuse

Luckily i already grab the 'dividend' of RM1.18 (buy 4.12 sell 5.30)

sephiroth

14,131 posts

Posted by sephiroth > 2013-04-24 14:49 | Report Abuse

Faster come back to 4.20

tnchang

Posted by tnchang > 2013-04-25 15:20 | Report Abuse

hi...if i sale it today can i still get the dividend?

Posted by malaysiaboleh > 2013-04-25 15:31 | Report Abuse

Cannot ..

johotin88

385 posts

Posted by johotin88 > 2013-04-25 22:15 | Report Abuse

Can they still declare the dividends or confirm won't give oledi??

arv18

2,657 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-04-26 00:32 | Report Abuse

johotin - do u know what cum-dividends and ex-dividend mean? if not, pls save your money and seek professional help. you will lose much money in the stock market. i'm not joking.

arv18

2,657 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-04-26 00:34 | Report Abuse

cum dividend: http://www.investopedia.com/terms/c/cumdividend.asp
ex-dividend: http://www.investopedia.com/terms/e/ex-dividend.asp

even professional lose. what makes you think you can beat them if you don't know the basics.

johotin88

385 posts

Posted by johotin88 > 2013-04-26 16:48 | Report Abuse

arv18 ..tx for the advise. I admit i dun have much financial knowledge . Anyhow i still able to earn in share market from some my winners like MBMR and KLCCP. I admit i just have very basic fundamental knowledge and not really understand some of the terms and data. I did not chase Kseng and oledi bought it at 3.8x . So maybe normal plp like me can get some peanut profits sometimes haha .

Posted by Jonathan Keung > 2013-04-26 16:52 | Report Abuse

dividend announcement big let down. keep finger cross if the BOard will announce anything special when the tax credit expired end of the year. still another 7-8 months (too wait ) before expiry.

others than dividend perhaps bonus issue thru their land (iskander,johor region) revaluations. based on the annual report . land has not revalued since 90's.

johotin88

385 posts

Posted by johotin88 > 2013-04-26 16:53 | Report Abuse

arv ... what i mean is its there any chance they will still give the special dividends later ? Not related to cum or ex dividends . :) Tx for the sharing anyway.

arv18

2,657 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-04-26 18:07 | Report Abuse

sorry sorry ah. just a bit emotional. klccp & mbmr are great investments. good work.

hwangdbs and salvatore dali are the ones who initiated coverage awhile back. the special dividends was a hypothesis/theory (therefore only a speculation) based on some tax rules. the traders made the most, by buying at 4.00-4.20 then disposing a ringgit higher.

i personally don't like this share as they don't communicate strategy very well/at all, very secretive, very stingy with dividend (track record + sitting on 800m cash???), family controlled company. they have also failed to revalue their land. these are all red flags in my book, and i would never consider this for investment, only short term speculation.

if you don't communicate strategy, how can you set market expectations?? the reality is that they are stingy, and only look after themselves. stay away from counters like this.

arv18

2,657 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-04-26 18:18 | Report Abuse

the saving grace is that they DO pay a dividend (once a year i believe) and have assets, that prevent this share from dropping too much. otherwise i don't see any catalyst driving the price up further (unless of course the opposition win the elections - then all shares will skyrocket!)

arv18

2,657 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-05-09 17:33 | Report Abuse

if you like keck seng, better buy oriental holdings. very similar group, but much better for minority shareholders. good property portfolio, motorcycle parts & manuf, plantation, hotels etc. in addition, aberdeen, mufg, public mutual are all holding. and they pay a generous dividend. leave keck seng alone. you will be wasting precious time buying this share.

now election is over, higher beta plays will make more money. shares like power root, cbip, tomypak, jobstreet, scientix, alam etc..

pathew

2,028 posts

Posted by pathew > 2013-05-09 17:43 | Report Abuse

arv18, noob question, what is high beta stock? How/what constitutes a high beta stock?