MALAYAN CEMENT BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): MCEMENT (3794)

5.10 - 5.15

986 comment(s). Last comment by dragon328 1 week ago

choonhock

2,027 posts

Posted by choonhock > 2014-01-20 17:22 | Report Abuse

In the last 10 minute before market close. At Buy side, the price is 8.46. Then I saw this fellow "parked" 100 lots @8.14 at Sell side. May be he change his mind.

choonhock

2,027 posts

Posted by choonhock > 2014-01-24 10:09 | Report Abuse

I will add on if drop below rm7. Big shark, faster press down the price :)

choonhock

2,027 posts

Posted by choonhock > 2014-01-27 16:23 | Report Abuse

mati loh....

joel

4,580 posts

Posted by joel > 2014-02-05 19:23 | Report Abuse

While the 18.8% rise in the power tariff from 1 Jan onwards dealt a blow

to power-hungry manufacturers like LMC, the 19.4% drop in its

share price in just over a month looks overdone. The market may

have overlooked the recent cut in cement rebates, which could be

sufficient to cover the higher costs, while a revision in its list price

may also be just around the corner. We upgrade LMC to BUY, with a MYR9.61 FV.

Power tariff revision shock. The 18.8% hike in electricity tariffs

from 1 Jan this year was a jolt for power-hungry manufacturers

in Peninsular Malaysia. As electricity makes up 17% of LMC’s

production cost, its share price has declined 19.4%/29.2% from Dec

2013 when the power rates increase was announced and its June 2013 high respectively.

Has cement price gone up? We made some surprising discoveries when we visited hardware shops during Thaipusam on Friday. Cement

manufacturers may have acted faster than expected by cutting back on

rebates offered to suppliers, which ranged from MYR0.50-1.00 per 50kg

bag, after the new power tariffs were announced in Dec 2013. While we

are unable to verify the ex-gate price of cement supplied by LMC, this

could be within the MYR15/tonne increase we incorporated into our
model and may more than cover the hike in power cost. We

suspect CMS Cement SB’s move to raise its selling prices by 5-9% from 17

Feb onwards could also be a prelude to rising list prices in Peninsula Malaysia.

Cement market still benign. We are also relieved to learn

from our sources that YTL Cement is expected to commission its

brownfield capacity only in late-2014. The extra volume may be

less disruptive compared with newcomer Hume Cement’s offer of big

discounts in order to boost its distribution network. The cement

demand boost from government projects may be timely in absorbing additional supply.

Upgrade to BUY. After the selldown, LMC’s valuation has become more

appealing. Despite being more expensive than most of its regional peers,

its premium has narrowed and its dividend yield more attractive.

That said, the share is now trading near its 5-year historical

P/E and P/BV mean. This, together with a decent dividend yield

of 5.2/5.5/5.6% for FY13/14/15 respectively, prompts us to upgrade

LMC to BUY (from Neutral), with our unchanged MYR9.61 FV based on

a 20x FY14 P/E (+0.5 STD/38% premium respectively to its regional peers).

ch

2,027 posts

Posted by ch > 2014-02-20 14:56 | Report Abuse

huat ar....

twngxxxx

137 posts

Posted by twngxxxx > 2014-02-24 21:54 | Report Abuse

dividend to be out tomorrow = 15cent.....
quarter 4 result will be better than previous Q4........
Profit & revenue is going to better than last year......
too late to accumulate...........

ch

2,027 posts

Posted by ch > 2014-03-06 15:42 | Report Abuse

interesting...pushing so hard to rm9?

ch

2,027 posts

Posted by ch > 2014-03-07 11:44 | Report Abuse

hmm..they get back about SGD2 mil from IRAS

ch

2,027 posts

Posted by ch > 2014-03-07 11:44 | Report Abuse

should be 2.5 mil

ch

2,027 posts

Posted by ch > 2014-03-07 11:52 | Report Abuse

SGD2.5 mil x 2.6 exchange rate .. WOW!.. a lot money man!

Posted by jonathan8715 > 2014-03-07 17:01 | Report Abuse

ch what does it mean? can you explain further?

ch

2,027 posts

Posted by ch > 2014-03-07 20:46 | Report Abuse

Further to the update by the Company on the above matter in its announcement of the 4th quarterly financial results for the financial year ended 31 December 2013 on 25 February 2014, the Company wishes to announce that it has received on 26 February 2014 the written judgment of the Court of Appeal of Singapore on both appeals (“Judgment”) whereby it was decided that:

(1) the appeal of the IRAS was disallowed in respect of the Years of Assessment 2004 to 2006 and allowed in respect of Year of Assessment 2007; and

(2) the appeal of LMCBH (a wholly-owned subsidiary of the Company) against certain aspects of the decision of the High Court which were unfavourable to LMCBH was disallowed.

In the circumstances SGD9,593,000.00 which was refunded to LMCBH for Years of Assessment 2004 to 2006 is unaffected and the amount of SGD3,971,977.60 for the Year of Assessment 2007 will not be refunded to LMCBH. In view of this Judgment, SGD3,553,022.40 for the Year of Assessment 2008 will also not be refunded.

The decision of the Court of Appeal of Singapore is final with no further avenues for appea

ch

2,027 posts

Posted by ch > 2014-03-07 20:48 | Report Abuse

Their subsidiary in SG get refund from INLAND REVENUE AUTHORITY OF SINGAPORE

ch

2,027 posts

Posted by ch > 2014-03-07 20:58 | Report Abuse

I think my calculation is wrong. They get back SGD9,593,000.00 for 2004-2006 Assessment.
No refund for 2007 and 2008 Assessment.

林俊松

6,810 posts

Posted by 林俊松 > 2014-03-09 21:00 | Report Abuse

This counter no warrant, can't earn much.
Better focus on CMSB.

kphoon

9 posts

Posted by kphoon > 2014-03-19 20:18 | Report Abuse

Can u elaborate and quote example on how warrant can earn much? Take CMSB as example. Take & appreciate

53,355 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2014-03-24 00:00 | Report Abuse

I bought Lafarge when it was only 66 cts. See my comment on MP Corp Forum. It will be Another Great Stock like Lafarge when nobody wanted Lafarge at only dirt cheap price of 66 cts then.

Joel

4,580 posts

Posted by Joel > 2014-04-01 22:28 | Report Abuse

right, focus on CMSB tomolo.

Stockman

684 posts

Posted by Stockman > 2014-04-04 21:04 | Report Abuse

Strong balance sheet. With only RM0.8m debt and net cash position of RM451m as of FY13 (RM0.53 per share) we believe that Lafarge has sufficient excess cash available to support its dividend distribution and future expansions.

Stockman

684 posts

Posted by Stockman > 2014-04-05 07:35 | Report Abuse

Win88 - good that ASB buy big RM42million for Lafarge

Stockman

684 posts

Posted by Stockman > 2014-04-05 07:36 | Report Abuse

Merger is also good news

yansheng

233 posts

Posted by yansheng > 2014-04-06 23:34 | Report Abuse

can reach below 8 o not...???

jackson87

475 posts

Posted by jackson87 > 2014-04-07 12:14 | Report Abuse

Hi there
Wat will happen after merger with holcim

Win188

276 posts

Posted by Win188 > 2014-04-08 10:35 | Report Abuse

After merger will become Lafarge-Holcim. Lafage-Holcim will become the biggest cement company in the world

Win188

276 posts

Posted by Win188 > 2014-04-08 10:38 | Report Abuse

http://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/ptres/22321.jsp
TP = RM9.61

Win188

276 posts

Posted by Win188 > 2014-04-08 10:41 | Report Abuse

http://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/ptres/22325.jsp
TP = RM9.90 from Maybank

Joel

4,580 posts

Posted by Joel > 2014-04-09 20:51 | Report Abuse

Once is break RM9.00 tomorrow, the next price will go toward Maybank's TP.

Posted by Patrick Ngian > 2014-06-25 09:10 | Report Abuse

now broke maybank's TP .. now what? 12 soon

Posted by Ivory919 > 2014-06-25 14:15 | Report Abuse

I like this counter!

Posted by MrWealthy4321 > 2014-07-07 19:25 | Report Abuse

wow so fast in so short a time sigh

53,355 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2014-07-09 23:25 | Report Abuse

Dear Friends At Lafarge,

Listen! Listen! Listen!

I bought Lafarge Cement at 66 cts when NOBODY WANTED.

Today Lafarge Cement Up 38 cts. It means LIMIT UP FOR THOSE WHO BOUGHT AT 66 CTS!

I Have A Share That Might Turn Into A BLUE CHIP LIKE LAFARGE SOME DAY!

COME TO MULPHA FORUM NOW

You Will Be Glad You Did!

samira

4 posts

Posted by samira > 2014-08-14 16:18 | Report Abuse

hi dear,
how are you doing? i am samira,i saw your profile today
and it touches me to seek for your
hands in friendship, if only you
don't mind.
remember that in a true
relationship,nothing can obstruct
it. i am a honest girl and i wish to
have a sincere relationship with
you.
for more information and more
photo sharing,please contact
directly to my email address
(sjamal88@yahoo.com)
thanks for accepting to be my
friend.
expecting your respond!
from yours sincere friend...
samira..

vincentcwx

104 posts

Posted by vincentcwx > 2014-08-14 18:29 | Report Abuse

what a big scam of samira... haha

Posted by Babeh Pengulu > 2014-08-30 10:18 | Report Abuse

Watchout GLOTEC on Tuesday, 2nd September 2014.

53,355 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2015-01-04 10:59 | Report Abuse

WAH!

So few comments here. And so thinly traded. Now a Blue Chip.

When Lafarge was a penny stock at 66 cents huge volumes changed hands often. Now it must be in the hands of Big Institutions.

Lafarge

LARGE "FATT"

"FATT TATT" Lor!

From Penny Stock to True Blue Chip!

Posted by ketupatlazat > 2015-01-05 14:52 | Report Abuse

too expensive for the likes of us lorrr..

Posted by ketupatlazat > 2015-02-26 22:48 | Report Abuse

terrible results for FY2014

shazza

251 posts

Posted by shazza > 2015-03-20 09:36 | Report Abuse

Lafarge operations in Malaysia and maybe even worldwide eventhough they say they value biodiversity globally. They are trying trying to ignore one of their areas that have flora and fauna that is specific to that area. Some media have covered stories like the chinese newspapers and english. Come on Lafarge, please live up to your values as I don't see you as being ethical. Hope shareholders take note of this.

http://www.mns.my/article.php?aid=2715

shazza

251 posts

Posted by shazza > 2015-03-20 09:40 | Report Abuse

How can robbing from the current and future generations be acceptable? What value do these species bring for mankind and to the harmony of the environment? And obviously this is happening in the said site.

shazza

251 posts

Posted by shazza > 2015-03-20 10:41 | Report Abuse

http://www.mns.my/article.php?aid=3027. This article contains FRIM's comments. Lafarge wishy washy? Not wanting to commit to conservation but pressured to? If no pressure and attention, another daylight robbery?

Will visit Lafarge website soon and see if there's anything there.

shazza

251 posts

Posted by shazza > 2015-03-23 13:19 | Report Abuse

http://www.lafarge.com.my/wps/portal/my/6_10-Environmental_Policy

March 2015
http://www.thestar.com.my/Opinion/Letters/2015/03/11/Working-towards-biodiversity-conservation/

From Lafarge Malaysia's website:
While we define sustainable development through the process of improving and providing better quality solutions, contributing to long-term social and economic development, Lafarge Malaysia actively support efforts to promote environmental conservation to improve the quality of life for the communities while respecting and preserving our planet for future generations.

shazza

251 posts

Posted by shazza > 2015-03-23 13:27 | Report Abuse

As caves are so rare in the Peninsular too many are blasted already, Lafarge take this opportunity to conserve the area and mitigate your risk management and be a good responsible corporate citizen.