MAGNUM BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): MAGNUM (3859)

1.24 - 1.26

3,726 comment(s). Last comment by Donator 3 days ago

member41

3,718 posts

Posted by member41 > 2013-07-24 16:03 | Report Abuse

i used 1 lot = 1000

ronnie2u

667 posts

Posted by ronnie2u > 2013-07-24 16:03 | Report Abuse

Can you guys "update" your thinking to 1 lot = 100 shares ?

iQBE189

454 posts

Posted by iQBE189 > 2013-07-24 16:04 | Report Abuse

Thx!! i also use 1 lot=1000...

thx all my friend!

member41

3,718 posts

Posted by member41 > 2013-07-24 16:09 | Report Abuse

okok use 100 :D

iQBE189

454 posts

Posted by iQBE189 > 2013-07-24 16:09 | Report Abuse

thx ronnie 2u. next time i use 1 lot= 100 shares=D

ronnie2u

667 posts

Posted by ronnie2u > 2013-07-24 16:11 | Report Abuse

The best is use the term how many SHARES.... "Lot" is so old-school and confusing between oldies and newbies.

Posted by malaysiaboleh > 2013-07-24 16:12 | Report Abuse

Magnum + MPHB Cap = RM 4.19

BBB79

2,689 posts

Posted by BBB79 > 2013-07-24 17:08 | Report Abuse

Previously 1 lot = 1000 units,
now 1 lot = 100 units, to cater like me small volumn...

eht6769

711 posts

Posted by eht6769 > 2013-07-24 17:34 | Report Abuse

MAGNUM - NOTICE OF BOOK CLOSURE

LISTING'S CIRCULAR NO. L/Q : 68396 OF 2013Capital repayment exercise by way of reduction of the share premium account ofMagnum Berhad (formerly known as Multi-Purpose Holdings Berhad) (Magnum)pursuant to Sections 60 and 64 of the Companies Act, 1965 (Capital Repayment).Kindly be advised of the following :1) The above Company's securities will be traded and quoted "Ex - Repayment" as from : 2 August 2013 2) The last date of lodgement : 6 August 2013 3) Date Payable : 20 August 2013 Remarks :- The Capital Repayment will be implemented by way of a reduction ofthe share premium of Magnum under Sections 60 and 64 of the Companies Act,1965, whereby the amount of RM696,500,000.00 will be distributed to allentitled shareholders of Magnum in proportion to their shareholdings in Magnum.Shareholders of Magnum, whose names appear on the Record of Depositors ofMagnum as at 5.00 p.m. on Tuesday, 6 August 2013 (Entitlement Date) shall beentitled to receive a Capital Repayment of approximately RM0.4879 for eachordinary share of RM1.00 each in Magnum held as at the Entitlement Date. Thepayment for the Capital Repayment is expected to be made by 20 August 2013.The trading of Magnum shares on the Main Market of Bursa Malaysia SecuritiesBerhad will not be suspended for the purposes of the Capital Repayment. Theshareholders of Magnum are not required to take any action for the purposes ofthe Capital Repayment.Upon completion of the Capital Repayment, the share premium account of Magnumwill be reduced by an amount of RM696,500,000.00.MANAGER, SEC. MARKET

Posted by cmcSandy026 > 2013-07-25 08:29 | Report Abuse

Is it worth to buy@3.96? Will the price be adjusted a lot after the repayment?Please advice.TQ

Abudance

2,211 posts

Posted by Abudance > 2013-07-25 08:32 | Report Abuse

Does anyone know the fair value of this stock? Also, is it still worth buying in for capital repayment? Thanks

air01557

2,511 posts

Posted by air01557 > 2013-07-25 08:39 | Report Abuse

yesterday P bank report confirmed capital repayment 49 sen and down graded this stock to 3.21

ronnie2u

667 posts

Posted by ronnie2u > 2013-07-25 08:55 | Report Abuse

Long term investor should buy in after EX-Date :)
After 2-Aug, MAGNUM share price will be re-adjusted downwards by ~48 sen.

minshome

240 posts

Posted by minshome > 2013-07-25 10:49 | Report Abuse

just to reconfirm if I sell MAGNUM on ex-date 02/08, I still entitle the capital repayment, right?

gyaphong

254 posts

Posted by gyaphong > 2013-07-25 11:21 | Report Abuse

yes, sell on 2/8.. still entitle for capital repayment, but the on 2/8, share price will trade at lower price after deduct the 0.4879

minshome

240 posts

Posted by minshome > 2013-07-25 11:26 | Report Abuse

then how abt if sell 1/8? How many days before ex that I still can entitle for capital repayment? T + 3??

BBB79

2,689 posts

Posted by BBB79 > 2013-07-25 11:31 | Report Abuse

02/08/2013
06/08/2013 05:00:00 PM
to closed from (both dates inclusive) for the purpose of determining the entitlements

BBB79

2,689 posts

Posted by BBB79 > 2013-07-25 11:35 | Report Abuse

minshome , you said will buy after the ex-date? why suddenly change mind? If you want to enjoy the cahs repayment must keep between 2/8 - 6/8 5.00pm.

minshome

240 posts

Posted by minshome > 2013-07-25 11:37 | Report Abuse

my entry price is high..wana sell off and get in at lower price..that y i ask all qs..

BBB79

2,689 posts

Posted by BBB79 > 2013-07-25 11:40 | Report Abuse

u ni, first said want to buy after ex-date, suddenly change mind and buy at higr price...so you must keep after 6/8 then only can sell...

Posted by malaysiaboleh > 2013-07-25 11:50 | Report Abuse

After everything settle down (demerged plan), Rating of Magnum will be same like BJTOTO, because this 2 company have a almost same market share 40 : 40, but BJTOTO margin is higher due to the BJTOTO major in Lotto Game, so anyhow both of this company will be same BETA later.

At Sept 2013, BJTOTO will be listed the Gaming Asset in SGX, then this is the time, most of the funds manager will move into Magnum with HOPE to get higher Dividend yield and BJTOTO recently also announced to purchase the Luxury Car distributor in Europe. Recall, Magnum was the one NFO with lower BETA and the main reason is Magnum parked under Holdings company and Holdings company involved with many types of business and cash flow of the company not able to distribute to the share holders (Bjtoto move to Holdings company and no more Pure NFO Players) and Magnum will be a main beneficially.

For those wish to have a stable dividend income and lower risk stock .. I think you may consider Magnum.

BBB79

2,689 posts

Posted by BBB79 > 2013-07-25 11:54 | Report Abuse

then you must buy magnum to help quarter report result...magnum 4D...

ronnie2u

667 posts

Posted by ronnie2u > 2013-07-25 14:35 | Report Abuse

If you sell MAGNUM shares on 1-Aug-2013 : No Capital Repayment
If you sell MAGNUM shares on 2-Aug-2013 : Receive Capital Repayment
2-Aug-2013 = EX-Date = MAGNUM shares re-adjusted downwards 48.8 sen

Posted by malaysiaboleh > 2013-07-25 17:54 | Report Abuse

You want a RM 490 or You want a RM 1000 ?

minshome

240 posts

Posted by minshome > 2013-07-25 20:27 | Report Abuse

wat RM 1000 ?

beyond

Posted by beyond > 2013-07-25 22:22 | Report Abuse

will the price drop exactly 48.8 sens after the capital repayment? or will it drop, but according to the market force?

weiboy90

444 posts

Posted by weiboy90 > 2013-07-25 22:24 | Report Abuse

the price will be adjusted accordingly after the ex date and the rest depend on market force.

ronnie2u

667 posts

Posted by ronnie2u > 2013-07-25 22:25 | Report Abuse

On 2-Aug, MAGNUM will drop 48sen and then the market forces will dictate the Buy/Sell price

beyond

Posted by beyond > 2013-07-25 22:26 | Report Abuse

That means if the closing price on the 1st aug is RM4.00, then the price will drop to RM3.51 when open on 2nd aug? then the price will depend on the market force after that?

BBB79

2,689 posts

Posted by BBB79 > 2013-07-25 22:43 | Report Abuse

it should be no problem, you can check back for the price of 2 months ago, after bonus issues ex-date, it recover back to 4 within 2 months...

Posted by buffetthe2nd > 2013-07-25 23:02 | Report Abuse

why worry about the adjustment? before 2-Aug-2013 the price will already hit till 4.50, after adjust still got 4.00

ronnie2u

667 posts

Posted by ronnie2u > 2013-07-25 23:04 | Report Abuse

No way the price will go to RM4.50 before 2-Aug.... IMHO, it will hover below RM4 until 2-Aug

Posted by buffetthe2nd > 2013-07-25 23:08 | Report Abuse

i bet u rm1 , it will be above 4 next week

gen8888

Posted by gen8888 > 2013-07-25 23:28 | Report Abuse

i have bought last time RM3.64,what should i do to maximize my profit?

ronnie2u

667 posts

Posted by ronnie2u > 2013-07-25 23:33 | Report Abuse

@gen8888 : Just keep holding MAGNUM ....

KAQ4468

21,497 posts

Posted by KAQ4468 > 2013-07-25 23:39 | Report Abuse

Change to MPHB CAP
you can maximize you profit & you can gain more profit instead of investing in Magnum

OSWALD

196 posts

Posted by OSWALD > 2013-07-25 23:41 | Report Abuse

Keep holding Magnum and buy MPHBCap.

KAQ4468

21,497 posts

Posted by KAQ4468 > 2013-07-25 23:49 | Report Abuse

based on profit percentage , it more to investing in MPHB CAP

BBB79

2,689 posts

Posted by BBB79 > 2013-07-26 07:35 | Report Abuse

it thought they can more focus on magnum after seperate out?

nobody

210 posts

Posted by nobody > 2013-07-26 14:21 | Report Abuse

magnum is a good company to invest. it is a pure gaming company after the demerger and they commit to pay more dividend as there is no requirement to reserve cash. it is a cash cow company and if you hold it long enough, u will get a handsome return.

while MPHB Cap is a property and insurance company, they cant pay too much dividend, and they can only realise the value of their assets when they dispose their property. what if they never dispose the property? u will wait for a long long time~~

elp25

260 posts

Posted by elp25 > 2013-07-26 15:40 | Report Abuse

where will be the next resistance prior 2-Aug-2013? 4.50?

nobody

210 posts

Posted by nobody > 2013-07-26 15:47 | Report Abuse

I dun think it can go to 4.50 prior 2-Aug-13, maybe not even 4.00. If you plan to make fast money, go to oil & gas counter like Muhibah. But if you buy Magnum, you will enjoy the dividend yield. Profit will not be affected becoz no matter good times or bad times, Chinese oso will bet for luck.

Posted by malaysiaboleh > 2013-07-26 15:53 | Report Abuse

U Mobile: No plans to list yet (From CIMB) ....nvm just wait. "nobody" I support your point of view.

elp25

260 posts

Posted by elp25 > 2013-07-26 16:01 | Report Abuse

thanks for the sharing @nobody. :)

elp25

260 posts

Posted by elp25 > 2013-07-26 16:10 | Report Abuse

assume bought 10lots (1000 units) @ 3.90 , we can get 487.90 = 12.51% .. quite attractive

nobody

210 posts

Posted by nobody > 2013-07-26 16:14 | Report Abuse

sharing is caring~~~ if you see those research house putting target price of less than RM4.00 after ex-date, that's because they forecast conservatively, and they don't know about how much dividend Magnum will give. Even Berjaya Sports Toto also price at above RM4.00, and that's give a dividend yield of around 6%. You think Magnum can give or not? even if after ex-capital repayment, it fall to RM3.40, the dividend yield will then become very attractive d....

ronnie2u

667 posts

Posted by ronnie2u > 2013-07-29 23:46 | Report Abuse

What's the guess of the EX-Date price on 2-August ?

Posted by armadasaxon > 2013-07-30 10:24 | Report Abuse

I still think it will near its price to btoto..but this counter after tax the dividend max is oso rm150..that shud be 4.6% at 3.2

minshome

240 posts

Posted by minshome > 2013-07-30 10:33 | Report Abuse

will these few days b4 ex will lower <3.8?