MALAYSIAN PACIFIC INDUSTRIES

KLSE (MYR): MPI (3867)

-0.28 (0.93%)

29.90 - 30.38

4,020 comment(s). Last comment by Ron90 7 hours ago

Posted by superman7181 > 2022-03-08 20:27 | Report Abuse

SinGor should change your name to Sinka lan Gor

11,031 posts

Posted by OTB > 2022-03-08 21:17 | Report Abuse

The share price of MPI drops back to Nov 2020 level.
It takes 13 months to go up, it needs 2 months to drop back to this same level.
Sad.

Mabel

23,192 posts

Posted by Mabel > 2022-03-08 22:53 | Report Abuse

Rising interest rate vs. chip demand. Malaysia?s technology sector has mirrored the Nasdaq?s performance, which has slipped 13% since the beginning of the year amid expectations of rising interest rates due to worsening inflationary pressures. This is the aftermath of the pandemic which created supply bottlenecks while monetary policies such as raising interest rates have limited impact in easing these disruptions.

On the other hand, semiconductor demand remains robust. According to the Semiconductor Industry Association (SIA), the industry sold 1.15tril chips (up 10% YoY) in 2021, totalling US$555.9bil (up 27% YoY). Global sales for January 2022 continue to be strong with a 27% YoY growth. This is led by sales in Americas which grew 40%, followed by Europe 29% (Exhibit 4). As such, we remain optimistic on the industry, supported by resilient semiconductor demand from the adoption of 5G network infrastructure and devices; vehicle electrification and autonomous driving; and the increasing application of Internet of Things (IoT) among businesses and consumers.

Minimal Russia-Ukraine war impact. We view the Russian military assault on Ukraine as having minimal impact on the local technology sector. Based on World Semiconductor Trade Statistics (WSTS), Russia is not a significant direct consumer of semiconductors, accounting for less than 0.1% of global chip purchases. In addition, the global nature of the semiconductor industry is supported by a diverse set of suppliers for key materials, hence posing neither a significant nor immediate supply chain risk from the invasion. Therefore, we are of the view that the war, which resulted in sanctions on Russia, will have an insignificant impact to global semiconductor demand.

We reiterate our OVERWEIGHT stance on the technology sector and believe investors should seize the recent sell-off as an opportunity to accumulate companies with strong fundamentals. Our top picks are:

MPI: We continue to like MPI for its core strength in investing in the right technology at the right time. MPI is set to benefit from: (i) its early move to produce silicon carbide and gallium nitride power products with applications in electric vehicles, servers, renewable energy and consumer gadgets; (ii) continuous investments in automation for cost optimisation; and (iii) its strong net cash position of RM865mil as at Dec 2021 (11% of market capitalization), which allows for strategic investments, M&A opportunities and greenfield expansions.

Inari: We remain upbeat on Inari?s prospects as a proxy to the rapid growth of 5G telecommunications technology through its radio frequency (RF) business, which is set to benefit from the expected increase in demand for 5G smartphones. The group?s bright earnings outlook arises from: (i) the resilience of its RF earnings due to higher chip complexity in 5G phones; (ii) net cash of RM2bil as at Dec 2021, which translates to 17% of its market cap; and (iii) its continuous efforts to enhance and diversify revenue streams by joint-venturing into outsourced semiconductor assembly and test manufacturing in China.

Risks to the sector stem from:
Persistent supply chain disruptions;
Resurgence of new Covid-19 variants and the efficacy of existing vaccines towards the variants; and
Weaker-than-expected sales due to customers cutting back on production on the back of supply shortages, as well as margin compression from higher material costs and logistics cost, with the latter being further exacerbated by the Russia-Ukraine conflict.

Source: AmInvest Research - 7 Mar 2022

gemfinder

6,880 posts

Posted by gemfinder > 2022-03-09 08:25 |

11,031 posts

Posted by OTB > 2022-03-09 08:38 | Report Abuse

I did not even buy MPI, I am watching closely to buy when the buy signal appears.
The bottom is near.

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2022-03-09 08:42 | Report Abuse

Correct, at least you are right. Those people who laugh at MPI holders will regret soon. Never mock people's misery. Karma will befall. Last time I laughed at someone's losses, my portfolio suffered a 30% loss after 3 months. I rarely laugh at people's losses anymore.

11,031 posts

Posted by OTB > 2022-03-09 08:42 |

11,031 posts

Posted by OTB > 2022-03-09 08:54 |

investorbat

1,321 posts

Posted by investorbat > 2022-03-09 08:55 | Report Abuse

I did buy some just before closing,does not means not dropping anymore.Buy when a stock is undervalued,no one can grab the lowest.Without the war u couldnt get this price,once or maybe twice in a lifetime. Just my 2 cents,good luck all

Posted by superman7181 > 2022-03-09 09:24 | Report Abuse

investorbat good one tho .. im buying on every weakness in MPI

Posted by supersinginvestor > 2022-03-09 09:33 | Report Abuse

I got my mpi donkey years ago. Hlind gave me free mpi..lol.. i dont care up or down..
Anyone can say wat they want. No one cares..

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2022-03-09 09:35 | Report Abuse

Let's go

apple168

6,236 posts

Posted by apple168 > 2022-03-09 11:02 | Report Abuse

Short9e

apple168

6,236 posts

Posted by apple168 > 2022-03-09 11:02 | Report Abuse

Time to cut win or cut loss during this rebound!

apple168

6,236 posts

Posted by apple168 > 2022-03-09 11:03 | Report Abuse

Interest hike is coming to town?

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2022-03-09 11:15 | Report Abuse

Malaysia will not hike rates. I have contacted people who have connection with BNM, no signalling from governor.

Posted by EatCoconutCanWin > 2022-03-09 11:19 | Report Abuse

Hoot9e... Upup... Tech hooray

apple168

6,236 posts

Posted by apple168 > 2022-03-09 11:33 | Report Abuse

US interest hike will bring down tech stocks. Remember Nasdaq still in downtrend.

apple168

6,236 posts

Posted by apple168 > 2022-03-09 11:34 | Report Abuse

Keep cash, readjust your portfolio now.

Posted by EatCoconutCanWin > 2022-03-09 11:41 | Report Abuse

Buy in. War going to end this weekend

Posted by supersinginvestor > 2022-03-09 14:08 | Report Abuse

@eatkukunutcanwin
Sorry to say bro but when u appear sure crash la.
Pmbtect example

Posted by supersinginvestor > 2022-03-09 14:09 | Report Abuse

Oil prices up very bad for china. No wonder their markets crashing

11,031 posts

Posted by OTB > 2022-03-09 17:35 |

Posted by superman7181 > 2022-03-09 18:47 | Report Abuse

Although strong up today , PE still very low as compare to other.

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2022-03-09 23:02 | Report Abuse

i3 Hall of Fame/Shame
1. Pang72: Contra God
2. Paktua: WhatsApp Pump and Dump God
3. Calvintaneng: "I told you so, buy this company that I recommend instead" AKA OG Master
4. Dompeilee: Appears in literally every stock that limit up Insider Trading God (I bought xxx two months ago and now it's up I am a God)
5. mf: Robot/AI God
6. CUTLOST: Career gambler
7. rr88/Cakes Moon: "Buy high sell low - Sell low buy high"
8. Johnzhang: Value + technical investor
9. OTB: OG Master
10. Mabel: FOMO Analyst

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2022-03-10 10:39 | Report Abuse

Malaysian Pacific Industries set to break RM34 resistance

Posted by supersinginvestor > 2022-03-10 13:29 | Report Abuse

I say sell!@rookie
Lock in at rm32.46
Be bak in 1 week see if right or wrong

Posted by supersinginvestor > 2022-03-10 13:30 | Report Abuse

Friday next week i will be bak to see the price. N if i m right or wrong

Posted by ValueInvestor888 > 2022-03-10 14:04 | Report Abuse

keng, rebound about 20% in 2 days time...

Posted by supersinginvestor > 2022-03-10 16:00 | Report Abuse

Then u better buy lorr@pang72 .follow ur sifu worr

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2022-03-10 16:31 | Report Abuse

Happy Thursday guys. It was an amazing trading day. Tomorrow off day

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2022-03-10 16:34 | Report Abuse

MPI best trade of Q1 2022

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2022-03-10 16:44 | Report Abuse

@pang72 today you can bring your wife for dinner

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2022-03-10 16:53 | Report Abuse

Congrats to anyone who managed to catch the bottom

RG1972

178 posts

Posted by RG1972 > 2022-03-10 17:24 | Report Abuse

Never sell at a lost

James Ng

2,678 posts

Posted by James Ng > 2022-03-10 21:42 | Report Abuse

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/general/2022-03-10-story-h1600184838.jsp
[??] [Video:??MALAYSIAN PACIFIC INDUSTRIES BHD, MPI, 3867] - James?????James Share Investing

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2022-03-11 14:35 | Report Abuse

It is already back up

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2022-03-11 14:40 | Report Abuse

Get some noise in here, buy the dip

nicholas99

9,844 posts

Posted by nicholas99 > 2022-03-11 16:44 | Report Abuse

rookie... go catch the peak.

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2022-03-12 11:18 | Report Abuse

MPI is highly correlated with SiTime Corporation. If SiTime drops 35%, MPI follows suit. It's fairly easy to trade these semiconductor stocks. I always describe investing in tech stocks right now as investing in bank/financial stocks back in 2012 - 2017. Bank stocks used to be growth stocks too. Thus, in another words, tech stocks no longer have growth potential and therefore, expect dividend payouts as companies slow down expansion plans and consolidate their investments.

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2022-03-13 19:08 | Report Abuse

Yes.
Here’s why. Tech stocks generally underperform during rate hikes. However, there’s one caveat.

Right now, China, being Russia’s biggest political ally, may be forced to assist the nation in eradicating geopolitical issues as well as providing some degree of economic relief. I’m not asserting that China will spend a lot of money to “bail Russia out”. But for the near term, China has lost the ability to invade or take over Taiwan.

With nations all over the world increasing investments in semiconductor industry to boost chip supply, the industry is safer than ever. Energy prices will keep going up, while semiconductor industry consolidates.

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2022-03-13 19:09 | Report Abuse

Tech stocks is the new dividend/value play

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2022-03-13 19:14 | Report Abuse

Wait until the end of Q3 2022 if you are afraid to catch the bottom. Or September 2022

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2022-03-13 19:32 | Report Abuse

Hope that Malaysian politicians don’t express support for Chinese government. Maintain neutral and focus on local elections. Then everything is fine and dandy

apple168

6,236 posts

Posted by apple168 > 2022-03-14 13:47 | Report Abuse

没有最低,只有更低!

guppycrow

96 posts

Posted by guppycrow > 2022-03-15 11:06 | Report Abuse

Put option rising by blk on chips blow raging.

SinGor

4,656 posts

Posted by SinGor > 2022-03-15 21:41 | Report Abuse

Hang Seng drops 1.1k pts.
... We are riding rollers coaster in stock market..

Saw AlJazeera, China is indicating willingness to supply military and donation to Russia War....I feel
Biden and EU will Hit China with sanction Or 2X Trump's Tariff.

blackchicken

1,220 posts

Posted by blackchicken > 2022-03-15 22:45 | Report Abuse

Analysts see MPI's valuation as attractive, supported by strong growth momentum https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/analysts-see-mpis-valuation-attractive-supported-strong-growth-momentum