BRITISH AMERICAN TOBACCO (M)

KLSE (MYR): BAT (4162)

-0.02 (0.25%)

7.98 - 8.02

9 people like this.

12,619 comment(s). Last comment by Donator 5 hours ago

Keyman188

5,968 posts

Posted by Keyman188 > 2020-05-27 12:28 | Report Abuse

Okok...since so many voice wanted to lower target price...

Then Keyman188 follow the suit...

Adjust target price...

1st trench : 8.50

2nd trench : 8.00

Final trench : 7.00

So every body happy boombeebee...........

pilato

236 posts

Posted by pilato > 2020-05-27 12:28 | Report Abuse

Why drop a lot,the company still make profit

Posted by Investing_Bursa > 2020-05-27 12:34 | Report Abuse

Earnings prospect for BAT for next few qtrs. look very bad...every qtr diminishing profit and outlook is not improving. They will keep cutting dividend

RHB_

44 posts

Posted by RHB_ > 2020-05-27 12:34 | Report Abuse

I3 members selling?

RHB_

44 posts

Posted by RHB_ > 2020-05-27 12:35 | Report Abuse

DY>FD(2.55%) not fact?

kelvin61

826 posts

Posted by kelvin61 > 2020-05-27 13:00 | Report Abuse

If you compare BAT with the likes of NESTLE, CARLSBERG HEIM, F&N, DUTCHLADY, among others, on these high priced shares, you will notice that their dividends are worst off. So, what's wrong with BAT at price. If you have no faith in this stick, please leave this space. This is for BAT followers, preferably to share their thoughts and contribute positive news on BAT, cheers.

roger3210

407 posts

Posted by roger3210 > 2020-05-27 13:11 | Report Abuse

Buy I will push up to green tiday

BatNewbie

28 posts

Posted by BatNewbie > 2020-05-27 13:23 | Report Abuse

Kelvin61 not you sell meh?

28,403 posts

Posted by mf > 2020-05-27 13:24 |

BatNewbie

28 posts

Posted by BatNewbie > 2020-05-27 13:24 | Report Abuse

You first time here? Limkokthye always has bad intention you don't know?

share2014

404 posts

Posted by share2014 > 2020-05-27 13:55 | Report Abuse

2nd half will rebound too cheap already

kelvin61

826 posts

Posted by kelvin61 > 2020-05-27 14:19 | Report Abuse

When you buy BATMAN at this beaten down price, you're holding practically at record low prices. With decent profit margin on its business and a very good dividend policy, you can't find a better buy among the other expensive peers in the market. The worst is about out with the exception of Q2 which may be slightly worst that Q1, then its recovery thereafter. Market is forward looking and you're buying for a recovery in earnings and the worst is probably behind BAT now. The paramount pre-requisite in buying or choosing a stock should always be 1st, credible management, 2nd, business potential, 3rd, recurring FCF, 4th, good dividend policy and yield, historical low price, and so on.

So, don't complain and have patience when you're buying at once in a lifetime price for long term investment, cheers.

tew66666

289 posts

Posted by tew66666 > 2020-05-27 14:19 | Report Abuse

AM INVEST tp 9.5

Chill88

70 posts

Posted by Chill88 > 2020-05-27 14:29 | Report Abuse

Price is down just a bit from the low on Friday and on much lower volume. Will buy more once selling has completely stopped.

tew66666

289 posts

Posted by tew66666 > 2020-05-27 14:43 | Report Abuse

Affin bank tp 9.5

soros228

2,034 posts

Posted by soros228 > 2020-05-27 15:27 | Report Abuse

Share the link pls.

Posted by Investing_Bursa > 2020-05-27 15:52 | Report Abuse

kelvin61, you are wrong...the main criteria is outlook of the industry must be good. There is no point buying into company with credible management if the outlook for the company is poor...as the fundamental of the company is govern by earnings prospects. Right now, the outlook for he industry and company is pretty bleak

roger3210

407 posts

Posted by roger3210 > 2020-05-27 16:00 | Report Abuse

buy

aliyusof

1,393 posts

Posted by aliyusof > 2020-05-27 16:02 | Report Abuse

Government will not do anything about the black market cigarettes just like empat ekor lah.....kita semua sudah tahu lah

aliyusof

1,393 posts

Posted by aliyusof > 2020-05-27 16:04 | Report Abuse

Earning prospects of BAT are on irreversible downhill unless something is done to curb rampant black market

ykloh

514 posts

Posted by ykloh > 2020-05-27 16:08 | Report Abuse

illegal cig is a gold mine, just like illegal immigrants

Nepo

3,365 posts

Posted by Nepo > 2020-05-27 16:13 | Report Abuse

no buyers can lowai here....cry:)

limkokthye

6,039 posts

Posted by limkokthye > 2020-05-27 16:33 | Report Abuse

how low can bat go?

icebreak

112 posts

Posted by icebreak > 2020-05-27 17:29 | Report Abuse

I bought BAT share before the pandemic at RM 14.xx. Now Im wondering should I wait for the price to hike or just sell it?

Keyman188

5,968 posts

Posted by Keyman188 > 2020-05-27 17:34 | Report Abuse

Ini memang susah nak determine...

We don't know your intention....short or long term...

We don't know how much fund available to leverage cost...

We don't know you willing to reload further or just keep like this...

We don't know you only bet in this counter or still holding others....

Keyman188

5,968 posts

Posted by Keyman188 > 2020-05-27 17:35 | Report Abuse

Last but not least...

We don't know how much risk you can accept...........

rojakmee

1,171 posts

Posted by rojakmee > 2020-05-27 18:18 | Report Abuse

Talk to a smoker , he said BAT is only for the rich. He been buying illicit cigarettes for a very long time since the price difference is so huge.

limkokthye

6,039 posts

Posted by limkokthye > 2020-05-27 19:00 | Report Abuse

bat looks like keong gan stock

Goodprofit

1,022 posts

Posted by Goodprofit > 2020-05-27 19:05 | Report Abuse

TP RM4.50

zerocool7199

1,236 posts

Posted by zerocool7199 > 2020-05-27 19:16 | Report Abuse

Below rm10 is still a good buy

Chill88

70 posts

Posted by Chill88 > 2020-05-27 19:32 | Report Abuse

Thursday low 13.20
Friday low 11.38
Today low 11.12

Today medium volume, looks like selling almost done.

share2014

404 posts

Posted by share2014 > 2020-05-27 21:13 | Report Abuse

Will average la good stock

kelvin61

826 posts

Posted by kelvin61 > 2020-05-27 21:20 | Report Abuse

@ Investing_bursa. Take a good hard look at other expensive shares in Bursa and tell me which other stock offers a good entry at current price. I can't find many except maybe Allianz. Most businesses also have their ups and downs. The importance is finding a stock with a recession proof business like BAT. They are innovative and spend continuously in R&D to grow the business eg e-cig and is also undergoing rationalisation to reduce OPEX by 20% to improve their margin. If BAT is not faced with some headwinds, do you think you can buy at this cheap price? So, either you see potential in the recovery of BAT's business after 5 years of decline or you can choose not to buy this business. No right or wrong answer. For example, there are alot of people believing that Glove stocks are still cheap as they are going up daily without any let up. If you think they are cheap, you can always try your luck but hopefully you don't get caught at prices that will take you a lifetime to get back. The current PER of all glove stocks are crazy. But for those wanting quick profits, then the risk is worth taking. So, choose wisely your hard earned money for quick gains or the risk of quick losses too, cheers.

Posted by Simkokwai > 2020-05-27 21:27 | Report Abuse

Be patient

eddy888

313 posts

Posted by eddy888 > 2020-05-27 21:42 | Report Abuse

Buy

Danielgsk

133 posts

Posted by Danielgsk > 2020-05-27 21:48 | Report Abuse

No matter how good the management is, how much they spend on R&D and how much div they pay, the key point is the gradual increment of illicit cigs which will slowly eating up BAT profit. The worry here is not how good they r but how powerful the syndicate are operating. Salute the best ever government

Danielgsk

133 posts

Posted by Danielgsk > 2020-05-27 21:49 | Report Abuse

World class.. speechless

Posted by Investing_Bursa > 2020-05-27 22:34 | Report Abuse

Kelvin61, you must understand a lot of businesses are cyclical in nature . Most of the strong business can recover from downturns if there is no structural change to their business. Their earnings will be temporarily hit but will recover in time. BAT is suffering from not a cyclical downturn but a structural one . You can see their earnings have been steadily dropping over time even before the outbreak of Covid19 due to illicit cigs. Unless this is addressed, BAT earnings will never come close to where it was before and one should not be disillusioned thinking it will one day.

Posted by Investman1981 > 2020-05-28 01:04 | Report Abuse

I invest it on bet that govt will act on illegal cigaratte ne day

Hidup_Anwar

1,010 posts

Posted by Hidup_Anwar > 2020-05-28 05:37 | Report Abuse

Wrong PM is answer. QR better than many stocks eg Genting, IOI, etc why drop a lot?

roger3210

407 posts

Posted by roger3210 > 2020-05-28 07:55 | Report Abuse

Buy

limkokthye

6,039 posts

Posted by limkokthye > 2020-05-28 07:59 | Report Abuse

who buy who die

Cloudboy

456 posts

Posted by Cloudboy > 2020-05-28 08:57 | Report Abuse

Market a lot of uncertainty

BAT share price downside more than upside

NEXT QR is going to be worst than this QR just announced

Trade with care

tew66666

289 posts

Posted by tew66666 > 2020-05-28 09:25 | Report Abuse

AFFIN BANK tp 9.5

Nepo

3,365 posts

Posted by Nepo > 2020-05-28 09:38 | Report Abuse

Now can buy in, it is safe now, trust me

Posted by Investman1981 > 2020-05-28 09:50 | Report Abuse

I still dont think next quarter worse coz all shop stock up from distribution in early may month.

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-05-28 09:51 | Report Abuse

Still got business activities? Still can make money?

Nepo

3,365 posts

Posted by Nepo > 2020-05-28 09:52 | Report Abuse

Yes next QR worst, but following QR (Jul to Sept 2020) should be good. Share price reflect future potential.

Nepo

3,365 posts

Posted by Nepo > 2020-05-28 10:03 | Report Abuse

Govt no money. one way to do is to extremely and badly screw the illegal traders..

chonloo13

59 posts

Posted by chonloo13 > 2020-05-28 10:05 | Report Abuse

Lowest 10.88 and now up to 11.26. Bravo