TASEK CORPORATION BHD

KLSE (MYR): TASEK (4448)

271 comment(s). Last comment by OldWiseMan100 2020-08-12 00:07

Seabiscuit

238 posts

Posted by Seabiscuit > 2014-02-25 19:54 | Report Abuse

Together with the declared interim dividend of 30% earlier. Grand total of 120%. I will take that anytime.

charlie

8 posts

Posted by charlie > 2014-02-25 23:09 | Report Abuse

I told already this counter under value.you must look who is holding the shares.

bing

3,794 posts

Posted by bing > 2014-03-16 09:52 | Report Abuse

Rest so long already, rm16 please!

Seabiscuit

238 posts

Posted by Seabiscuit > 2014-04-10 18:25 | Report Abuse

Rm 16 just around the corner

lpy28

26 posts

Posted by lpy28 > 2014-04-11 15:40 | Report Abuse

Hi, I bought some at 15.40
Can sell or worth hold?

Posted by omegacankill > 2014-04-11 15:43 | Report Abuse

good dividend yield... hold la
but better keep an eye on what Aberdeen is doing

lpy28

26 posts

Posted by lpy28 > 2014-04-11 16:25 | Report Abuse

Hi omegacankill, tq for giving advice. I'm new in stock market. Kindly update me if anything happen ya. Tq

Posted by omegacankill > 2014-04-11 16:29 | Report Abuse

high cash level, Quek family hold alot
that's why it's so generous in giving dividend

Posted by omegacankill > 2014-04-11 16:34 | Report Abuse

hi lpy28
new in stock market... and u choose to invest in Tasek
first step in the right direction
regarding Tasek, capital appreciation maybe limited (maybe i'm wrong here)

lpy28

26 posts

Posted by lpy28 > 2014-04-13 16:07 | Report Abuse

Yup... Credits to a humble and generous guy (mk55) who advice to buy last few weeks ago ^-^

Posted by frleong2005 > 2014-04-14 17:19 | Report Abuse

still worth buying. If iti is one dollar share. Good dividend.

LouisChoo

44 posts

Posted by LouisChoo > 2014-04-17 11:36 | Report Abuse

Tasek still gd buy ? Wat is Div Ytd ?

charlie

8 posts

Posted by charlie > 2014-04-18 11:38 | Report Abuse

Potential to hit $20 before yr end

LouisChoo

44 posts

Posted by LouisChoo > 2014-04-21 15:53 | Report Abuse

Charlie, any interesting "hidden" news that we should know ?

charlie

8 posts

Posted by charlie > 2014-04-22 22:02 | Report Abuse

No hidden value,just base on the performance.Cash in hand is around $500M.Our Economic growth is sustainable and expected infrastructure & housing project will take off as per plan.I expected new dams are on the drawing board to address current & future water demand.PE is below 30 and dividend yield around 9.5% (FD around 3-3.5%).If Warrant Buffet see this he will put all his money in this counter.

Posted by n00bpelabur > 2014-04-22 22:31 | Report Abuse

haiyaahhh I already too late to join the party. Too expensive maa. I do hope the price down a bit. Please I want to collect it :)

Posted by leslieroycarter > 2014-04-23 14:45 | Report Abuse

at 16++, no more room to play already , after the dividend , it may drop lower than 13.40....! Left only fund managers are buying and selling amongst themselces!

LouisChoo

44 posts

Posted by LouisChoo > 2014-04-23 15:34 | Report Abuse

Charlie, the DY is 9.5% net tax ? What would be after tax if not net tax ?

superman11

356 posts

Posted by superman11 > 2014-05-02 12:50 | Report Abuse

i wish to buy in oso... when is the good time?

superman11

356 posts

Posted by superman11 > 2014-05-02 13:58 | Report Abuse

should i buy in now?

eftee

1,210 posts

Posted by eftee > 2014-05-05 11:39 | Report Abuse

I think let it drop below 16. Im also waiting for that. If can't come down no point buying.

superman11

356 posts

Posted by superman11 > 2014-05-06 08:43 | Report Abuse

Why no point? The div yield still high..

superman11

356 posts

Posted by superman11 > 2014-05-07 16:44 | Report Abuse

why does it drop recently??

superman11

356 posts

Posted by superman11 > 2014-05-20 12:33 | Report Abuse

drop a lot.. anyone accumulate it?

Posted by Donald Cheok > 2014-05-20 20:52 | Report Abuse

i'm accumulating. still got nice dividend and maintaining cash flow levels. MRT project on the horizon.

superman11

356 posts

Posted by superman11 > 2014-05-21 10:25 | Report Abuse

Great... It is really a good dividend and good cash flow counter... Cheers..

jolie2

2,039 posts

Posted by jolie2 > 2014-06-14 09:42 | Report Abuse

tasek cement brand name is crocodile. They even have a real crocodile in their factory. Don;t know whether the reptile still alive. Maybe it already cover with cement and solid like rock.

Tasek shareholder is 75% from Hong Leong Asia Spore (HLA) . This share is a very stable stock . Maybe one day, HLA will privatise this company.

The profit is always stable. As they are using coal as burning fuel for their kiln and with the coal price is low at this moment, therefore they are not affected by the energy cost except electricity cost.
I agreed with superman and his gang ............ on all their comment.

Seabiscuit

238 posts

Posted by Seabiscuit > 2014-06-14 18:35 | Report Abuse

With close to 500 million in cash. Almost no debt or borrowing. Lets wait for "rewards" to all the loyal shareholders. What say you Board Of Directors Of Tasek Cement Bhd.

superman11

356 posts

Posted by superman11 > 2014-06-16 10:28 | Report Abuse

no movement of its price... really is a good bluechip.. hahah

LouisChoo

44 posts

Posted by LouisChoo > 2014-06-24 16:38 | Report Abuse

Sifus, the div declared to be paid how many % for tax ?

charlie

8 posts

Posted by charlie > 2014-06-27 11:05 | Report Abuse

One of the Blue chip we should have.I think in the Long run it will hit $30 by next year.

Seabiscuit

238 posts

Posted by Seabiscuit > 2014-06-30 09:03 | Report Abuse

The last round of dividend Tax Exempted(TE)

cyphua

976 posts

Posted by cyphua > 2014-07-01 21:06 | Report Abuse

The profit of Tasek is good this year due to good sale of cement.

cyphua

976 posts

Posted by cyphua > 2014-07-01 21:08 | Report Abuse

Tasek cement crocodile still alive and with new house.

cyphua

976 posts

Posted by cyphua > 2014-07-01 21:10 | Report Abuse

Tasek shareholder is 75% from Hong Leong Asia Spore (HLA). HLA have possibility to privatize the company, main indicator is major share holder should have 25%~50% enough, less or more then that is dangerous.

cyphua

976 posts

Posted by cyphua > 2014-07-01 21:11 | Report Abuse

500 million in cash is last time, pay a lot of dividend already, need to calculate and check from annual report.

Seabiscuit

238 posts

Posted by Seabiscuit > 2014-07-02 08:57 | Report Abuse

Cash still intact. Dividend payment from yearly earnings.Surplus going into share premium account.

cyphua

976 posts

Posted by cyphua > 2014-07-03 18:44 | Report Abuse

2014Q2 should have good result due to good sale.

cyphua

976 posts

Posted by cyphua > 2014-07-03 18:45 | Report Abuse

A lot of construction going, need to completed all project before GST. from here need to aim all consumer and construction on this year, will have good result, and quit from the market before year end 2014.

Seabiscuit

238 posts

Posted by Seabiscuit > 2014-07-11 02:01 | Report Abuse

Share price inching up nicely!!!

superman11

356 posts

Posted by superman11 > 2014-07-11 09:05 | Report Abuse

@cyphua nust we quit by end the yr?? Any interim div will be declared on July??

superman11

356 posts

Posted by superman11 > 2014-07-11 09:06 | Report Abuse

Sorry, typo....*nust == must

ntygis

74 posts

Posted by ntygis > 2014-07-13 20:32 | Report Abuse

23/7 will announce div

arv18

2,645 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2014-07-13 20:44 | Report Abuse

i'm not sure if you guys have noticed but the dividend payouts significantly higher than earnings per share.

F.Y. EPS DPS NAPS
2013 77.29 152.00 7.2523
2012 75.50 120.00 7.6864
2011 83.20 100.00 7.9210

Look carefully. the dividend per share is almost DOUBLE the earnings per share. How sustainable is this? When will the money run out, if they are drawing down their cash balance like this?

jolie2

2,039 posts

Posted by jolie2 > 2014-07-13 21:15 | Report Abuse

the main shareholder which is hong leong asia spore need cash to support their other business which majority are consumer business in china which are not doing so good.
But so far, don;t have to worry b'cos their debt is near to zero. No point also they keep the cash in FD with limited interest rate. Better distribute.

Abeerden is buying back now slowly.

jolie2

2,039 posts

Posted by jolie2 > 2014-07-14 03:20 | Report Abuse

tasek cement is a dividend stock based on the following;
a) the machine (crusher, ball mill, vertical mill, kiln,,,,,) is very old. No depreciation cost.
b) they are not growing anymore. They have only 1 cement plant in ipoh perak.
Not like YTL cement where they need money to build new plant and expand regionally.
c) the raw material (limestone) is abundance in perak where there can extract at low cost.
d) they use coal to fire the kiln . The coal price is low.

The only challenge for tasek at this moment:
a) electricity cost
b) maintenance cost due to wear and tear of their old machine.

Steven Yong

1,251 posts

Posted by Steven Yong > 2014-07-14 03:39 | Report Abuse

They can merge narrA in future.

jolie2

2,039 posts

Posted by jolie2 > 2014-07-14 04:06 | Report Abuse

anything can be possible to create value if both Quek (HL Msia) and Kwek (HL Spore) want to make more money from it.

Anyway, both Quek and Kwek become super rich is due to Tasek during 1980s . If not bcos of Tasek, they won;t have MPI, HL Bank, HL Industries.....

They make a lot of money from Tasek during the construction boom business as that time . From that money, they go into semiconductor business and financial service business.

arv18

2,645 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2014-07-14 09:02 | Report Abuse

All interesting and valid points. Lets assume all are true. It still doesn't answer my question.

F.Y. EPS DPS NAPS
2013 77.29 152.00 7.2523
2012 75.50 120.00 7.6864
2011 83.20 100.00 7.9210

Tthe dividend per share is almost DOUBLE the earnings per share. How sustainable is this?

Let me simplify. Assume I have RM100 in the bank, my *Salary* is RM20, my *Expense* is RM40. How long can I continue to spend RM40, assuming the maximum I can increase my earnings is RM30, due to my size and various other costs?

ntygis

74 posts

Posted by ntygis > 2014-08-05 19:22 | Report Abuse

i like this stock!