MEDIA PRIMA BHD

KLSE (MYR): MEDIA (4502)

0.465 - 0.475

6,871 comment(s). Last comment by limch 1 month ago

Posted by BornToSpeculate > 2017-07-06 20:54 | Report Abuse

straycats, I think majority of the market agrees with your view that this a 'super deal' for Rev at 24 P/E. That is why the stock is dropping.

Seriously, with all these domains like OHbulan, viramcham, rojaklah, etc which MNCs / large companies is gonna want to advertise there.

Also, what is the valuation based on. The domain names or the content ? Content can disappear over night and be moved into a new site.

Its obvious 'someone' did a deal here.

straycats

73 posts

Posted by straycats > 2017-07-06 21:16 | Report Abuse

Agree with you, BornToSpeculate. Valuation of these sites which are popular on FB with ads for smaller organizations and sensational news is hard to valuate. With the MS shield buying, it is very fishy. Maybe someone is trying to avoid Media from sliding too low, too fast. Time will tell.

limch

3,062 posts

Posted by limch > 2017-07-06 21:27 | Report Abuse

Why EPF also join MS? Who cut loss? How many more shares can they cut?
05-Jul-2017 Insider EMPLOYEES PROVIDENT FUND BOARD (a substantial shareholder) acquired 575,600 shares on 23-Jun-2017.
http://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/forum/800000694.jsp

Posted by straycats > Jul 6, 2017 09:16 PM | Report Abuse
Agree with you, BornToSpeculate. Valuation of these sites which are popular on FB with ads for smaller organizations and sensational news is hard to valuate. With the MS shield buying, it is very fishy. Maybe someone is trying to avoid Media from sliding too low, too fast. Time will tell.

straycats

73 posts

Posted by straycats > 2017-07-06 22:20 | Report Abuse

Re-share Sleepingtiger's: https://markets.ft.com/data/equities/tearsheet/profile?s=MEDIA:KLS
Almost 70% is free float. Anyhow fishy means beware and be careful.

Posted by sleepingtiger > 2017-07-07 07:57 | Report Abuse

New team with new Chairman, new MD and new CFO to chart new direction for hopefully transformed company.

A big thumb up for this sentiment stabilising news.
Bless our new team and wish him a great success.

Remember we are still waiting for the quick and concrete actions and eventually the results.

Posted by sleepingtiger > 2017-07-07 08:31 | Report Abuse

News in the Edge Financial Daily as Management shake up at Media Prima

straycats

73 posts

Posted by straycats > 2017-07-07 08:48 | Report Abuse

the thing about most GLCs n private companies run like GLCs are a bloated workforce n languid pace of doing things. A change of management n directors might look good for investors but ultimately the whole machinery is still the same.
A few changes on top but still maintain the same 4k employees below.

Posted by sleepingtiger > 2017-07-07 08:58 | Report Abuse

Good comment using MAS as a past example.
Now we want action , action and action

Posted by sleepingtiger > 2017-07-07 08:59 | Report Abuse

Eventually good outcome

sitia

1,261 posts

Posted by sitia > 2017-07-07 17:06 | Report Abuse

Good news for Media. With certainty of transforming their old businesses to new model of digital age, Media will see exponential developments and teaming up with great techno companies. I believed they will capitalise their investment and new development is coming time.

wotvr

841 posts

Posted by wotvr > 2017-07-07 21:15 | Report Abuse

It is too cheap right now

Posted by Big_investor > 2017-07-07 21:22 | Report Abuse

i think now is the lowest in its history....

straycats

73 posts

Posted by straycats > 2017-07-07 22:41 | Report Abuse

Datuk Kamal Khalid taking over the top post -
current chief executive officer (CEO) of Media Prima Television Networks.
former head of the communications unit in the Prime Minister's Office.
was non-executive director of Utusan Melayu (M) Bhd

new chairman Tan Sri Ismee Ismail, the former group MD and CEO of Lembaga Tabung Haji,

Moving around personals from GLC to GLC and politically-linked companies.

None are really proven in the corporate sector. This is no MAS-like Christopher Muller appointment where he slashed thousands of MAS jobs and made sweeping changes for the better.

sitia

1,261 posts

Posted by sitia > 2017-07-07 22:50 | Report Abuse

Can't help to stop those from disposing. Only the strong ones will keep till the end of the battle.

Posted by sleepingtiger > 2017-07-08 10:40 | Report Abuse

A new Team will come with a new Hope.
Bless the new team for their effort to take on the new journey

Impatient investor can sell.

Patience investor willing to give the new team a chance will keep.

New or existing investor who has confidence in the new team may buy.

GLC may also buy to prop it up.

Short seller making use of the market fear or worry may keep on selling.

Market force will come into play and the price will fluctuate and come to its eventual level.

sitia

1,261 posts

Posted by sitia > 2017-07-09 00:33 | Report Abuse

Market will think of Media. It will.

xuewenapeng

1,144 posts

Posted by xuewenapeng > 2017-07-09 08:03 | Report Abuse

I will see how the new team does

BN_menang

2,982 posts

Posted by BN_menang > 2017-07-10 04:00 | Report Abuse

Pembeli serbu BH di Selayang Baru
http://www.bharian.com.my/node/300097

Daily8

3,858 posts

Posted by Daily8 > 2017-07-10 04:12 | Report Abuse

buy media -!!!!

ivan9511

3,854 posts

Posted by ivan9511 > 2017-07-10 13:29 | Report Abuse

wtf from 3ringgit to 89sen.
media really weak, really the most cannot accept any suffer counter.
last time I feel media can one of the bluechip. and last time I feel media much much much better than airasia and sendai.
because media is government's baby . fgv lost also can limit up . drb proton lost gao gao government keep puttinf billions money in proton .
now drb already up almost 200%from lowest.
why government want give up media?
is media gaduh with kerajaan or media no listen to kerajaan anymore?

Daily8

3,858 posts

Posted by Daily8 > 2017-07-10 13:33 | Report Abuse

Anymore acquiring from SM n EPF ???

Posted by sleepingtiger > 2017-07-10 18:14 | Report Abuse

Th new team willl start its term of duty only in early Aug.
No action for another 3 weeks is very long for desperate injured impatient investor.
Short seller is still laughing to the bank.

Posted by sleepingtiger > 2017-07-10 18:17 | Report Abuse

Company is in Intensive Care Unit and needs immediate resuscitation or else !!!!???

Daily8

3,858 posts

Posted by Daily8 > 2017-07-10 19:14 | Report Abuse

Director of the co need to come out and talk. A dividend rich company how can???!

ltw1123

629 posts

Posted by ltw1123 > 2017-07-11 09:23 | Report Abuse

Why still so weak even though with the announcement of new team of top Management?

sitia

1,261 posts

Posted by sitia > 2017-07-11 17:01 | Report Abuse

It's either the Media being hedged by Morgan or Media has plenty of room for advancement. Right now, only the loaded can replenish Media at the bottom pricing. Either u hold at the right lowest price (who knows the lowest) or u cut loss and buy lower to absorb the loss or just leave Media permanently

wotvr

841 posts

Posted by wotvr > 2017-07-11 20:07 | Report Abuse

Most probably shoot up only after new management come in. Besides, hope for a better QR next.

hipster

211 posts

Posted by hipster > 2017-07-11 21:34 | Report Abuse

like malakoff, this counter is on a dead spiral ...

ivan9511

3,854 posts

Posted by ivan9511 > 2017-07-11 23:59 | Report Abuse

this wall already broke, is a very serious now, unless someone come or still will drop

ivan9511

3,854 posts

Posted by ivan9511 > 2017-07-12 00:00 | Report Abuse

government please save this media Malaysia

ivan9511

3,854 posts

Posted by ivan9511 > 2017-07-12 00:01 | Report Abuse

Dividend (cent)
: 8.000 ^
Dividend Yield (%)
: 9.09

hope my commment can save media Malaysia tomorrow

Posted by sleepingtiger > 2017-07-12 07:56 | Report Abuse

Big task for new management.
We are all rallying behind him.
Please work hard and creatively ,passonately and efficiently.
We will support and stand by you through the journey PROVIDED you take u care of the company well .

Put a TIGER in your Tank.

ivan9511

3,854 posts

Posted by ivan9511 > 2017-07-12 22:09 | Report Abuse

seem the history lowest was 865.
seem i was right . now up back. Imiss the boat this morning.
seem will continue up.
actually who sold media is not a good idea.
do you think government will let it die at this important movement.
do you think media not learn anything on mas case.
dissater is over

sitia

1,261 posts

Posted by sitia > 2017-07-12 22:10 | Report Abuse

For those who bought below 1.10, I believed, still ok to hold. 89 cts is not far from the price. I am strongly believed they will make it.

WD40

514 posts

Posted by WD40 > 2017-07-12 22:26 | Report Abuse

Collect now and sell on 25 May 2018.

Ibi_chan

455 posts

Posted by Ibi_chan > 2017-07-13 03:19 | Report Abuse

Huat ah!

Posted by Big_investor > 2017-07-13 07:36 | Report Abuse

there is a reason why politician is controlling the biggest media company in the country, they wouldn't be able to make it without this company.....i don't see any reason they will let Media Prima die

wotvr

841 posts

Posted by wotvr > 2017-07-13 07:46 | Report Abuse

This company will fly pre-election period from the boost on election spending.

sitia

1,261 posts

Posted by sitia > 2017-07-14 03:39 | Report Abuse

Does it happened back then wotvr?

WD40

514 posts

Posted by WD40 > 2017-07-14 12:34 | Report Abuse

Raya Season + SEA Games + Pre Election - Rev Asia Purchase = ???

sitia

1,261 posts

Posted by sitia > 2017-07-18 10:37 | Report Abuse

Media coming up today!

26,541 posts

Posted by speakup > 2017-07-18 11:14 | Report Abuse

GOSH! media 92 sen only? good thing speakup dumped all at 1.25 about 2 months ago.

WD40

514 posts

Posted by WD40 > 2017-07-18 11:36 | Report Abuse

Some huge fund just swallowed 300k shares sekaligus... something is coming...

sitia

1,261 posts

Posted by sitia > 2017-07-18 12:14 | Report Abuse

Cannot forever fall. Media Directors sudah naik gila kena tembak