MEDIA PRIMA BHD

KLSE (MYR): MEDIA (4502)

6,871 comment(s). Last comment by limch 1 month ago

Posted by value_investor55 > 2015-06-18 11:36 | Report Abuse

Ng kok wee. When i was young in 1990 I always trading in and out. Sometimes i make. sometimes i lose. I realise long-term investing the best. Maybe now i already old. No time or energy in and out trading. Ok staring computer too long. Need to rest. Happy investing.

Posted by Ng Kok Wee > 2015-06-18 13:46 | Report Abuse

Thanks value_investor55 for sharing with me your valuable experience. I agree long term investing is the best way to accumulate wealth. But I aware there's still space for this counter downtrend. With my past experience, I prefer to accumulate slowly based on their performance. Because we don't know what waiting ahead us, better to be caution. Like marathon, save some energy for the finish line. It's just started.

Posted by Ng Kok Wee > 2015-06-18 13:57 | Report Abuse

Passion my friends, no harm waiting.

Posted by value_investor55 > 2015-06-18 14:54 | Report Abuse

Price up back rm 1.42 now. seems people like my idea switching of low dividend counter for high dividend counter like Media now. if price stay above 1.40 plus level it will maintain. up. It seems a lot support on this counter today. So continue Buy. No worry. Average Analyst rating is RM 1.80 based on this portal. When price below analyst rating also means value buy.

Posted by value_investor55 > 2015-06-18 14:59 | Report Abuse

If stocks above average analyst rating means expensive. If stocks trade below average analyst rating is value buy. I am talking fact here. So based on data average rating this share price should worth rm 1.80. So at this level rm 1.43 is value buy. So continue buy

Goodnews

288 posts

Posted by Goodnews > 2015-06-18 15:46 | Report Abuse

EPF buy back today? Saw EPF CEO visit Star yesterday but today he think Media Prima better buy at cheaper price?

Posted by value_investor55 > 2015-06-18 16:09 | Report Abuse

This company media a lot of assets backing. one of them is the land in bangsar. If they sell the land build condominum or tower in future it will realised their value. Funny is a lot investor never see this potential. A lot investor dont know because they never read Annual Report.

Posted by value_investor55 > 2015-06-19 09:06 | Report Abuse

I check annual report some fund managers hold this media prima share.i do not understand why they not supporting yet this counter. Are they supporting?

Posted by value_investor55 > 2015-06-19 16:00 | Report Abuse

appear a lot buyer today. Could be settle at rm 1.48 today

Posted by value_investor55 > 2015-06-19 16:30 | Report Abuse

Really hit and break 1.50. So i think worst is over. The uptrend and support will be for now

Posted by value_investor55 > 2015-06-19 17:07 | Report Abuse

Wow. hit rm1.59 closing. Above uncle lum expectations. if stay on this level rm 1.59 to rm 1.60 plus next week is good. have nice weekend!

Goodnews

288 posts

Posted by Goodnews > 2015-06-21 16:57 | Report Abuse

Media companies emerging as property players?-Edge 22nd June

Posted by value_investor55 > 2015-06-22 09:31 | Report Abuse

Market rebounded 3 points. It seems like local fund managers are buying and support the markets. Yes In the edge, there is good write up on media sector. I think this Media prima company haven't take into consideration of potentially selling their land and develop into property in future. Based on the edge, Media prima have around rm 200 mil book value land and property. Book value means based on old price. This havent revalue based on current property price. I think if Media prima develop some of their land into property in future. Their share price should not trade at rm 1.53. Could be go up back. But so far there is no real annoucement yet on whether they go into property. Based on personal opinion, I think media prima land in Jalan Riong Bangsar and Shah Alam land. As a long-term investor, I hope price will back to RM 2 plus soon. As based on average price for past 5 years it was traded at RM 2.40 average. At the peak was traded rm 3.

Posted by value_investor55 > 2015-06-22 09:34 | Report Abuse

Based on opinion, I like media prima land bank in jalan riong, bangsar and Shah Alam. This is prime area

Posted by value_investor55 > 2015-06-22 09:40 | Report Abuse

Wow market rebounded 12 points. it is really proven local fund managers could be supporting. Buy . Buy. Buy. If this trend continue. Media prima very fast rm 1.60 plus back level

Posted by value_investor55 > 2015-06-22 09:45 | Report Abuse

Why i like media prima so much? Why not star? Because star price is trading rm 2. 47. And this media prima is trading rm 1.55 now. so media prima is cheaper!. Also this media prima not only do newspaper bizness. They also do other business like free TV. TV3, NTV7, 8TV, 9tv. Also they have outdoor billboard advertising. Their outdoor advertising is Big Tree, Kurnia, TRC. Also they moving into online like www.tonton.com.my. so as awhole it does not make sense for Media prima price trading this level. It should move back to rm 2 plus. Rm 2 plus is their real value. If you buy now, at this rm 1.55 plus level or rm 1.60 plus level you are considered as value investor.

Posted by value_investor55 > 2015-06-22 09:49 | Report Abuse

If price break out rm 1.60 plus back it will remain uptrend. Let see how. Seems this old man been talking a lot. 60 years old still talking. of share. Yes I am 60 but I been playing share since 1990. Based on my experience buy low and sell high will make a lot money. Ok my eyes is pain now . looking too long on computer. I will rest and I will talk again next few days. Happy investing!

Posted by value_investor55 > 2015-06-22 10:15 | Report Abuse

Below are major shareholders based on 2014 annual report.
1. EPF (15.73%)
2.Gabungan kasturi (11.09%)
3. Altima Inc (7.96%)
4. Amanah Saham Bumiputera (4.91%)
5.Public regular savings funds(3.57%)
6.Kumpulan wang persaraan (3.04%)

If fund managers like Amanah saham is buying and public mutual is buying. Why not you?
Tell me is this old man brain still functioning? I am not retiring.!!
OK i need rest eyes is pain and not retiring. I write more to teach young men and women to pick stocks gain. Rest and talk again next few days. Happy Investing.

Posted by DannyLee65 > 2015-06-22 15:07 | Report Abuse

What this value investor say make sense. At this rm 1.58 enter now is good timing at is trading 5 year low. Quite limited downside. I also think price maybe will rebound if they have good news of business turnaround. Maybe selling their land and go into property can be a good news. Just hope and see. I just bought rm 1.58 . If drop i will accumulate. If next quarter show business improve then share price will up. What happend now can be call turnaround story. Sometimes not so good bizness can be good investment when things turnaround. Let see one example, last time MISC no good. Remember in 2013 MISC RM 4.50 when nobody want. Now rm 7 plus to rm 8 when bizness turnaroud. Another example of turnaround story is NCB. I think media prima will turnaround soon. I also think worst is over.

Posted by DannyLee65 > 2015-06-22 15:09 | Report Abuse

RM 3 was peak. now i bought rm 1.58 i think super discount. hahaha. so let see how

Posted by DannyLee65 > 2015-06-22 15:16 | Report Abuse

I hope the young analyst will change their target price soon to be higher. I am surprised most of the analyst I meet was young . In their early 20s to 30s. Are they know much about bizness? When business bad they say bad. When good they say good. I think rm 1.80 average target price is a bit too low. Sometimes follow analyst opinion make me lose money or too late. I rather stick to my own opinion. This media company should worth at least rm 2 from my opinion. I met some of the analyst in AGM really surprised some of them is quite young maybe just out from university.

Posted by DannyLee65 > 2015-06-22 15:48 | Report Abuse

Reading this Maybank Research latest on june 22 2015. They quoted the nielsen media data. Actually according to the report if you read properly. Free to air TV and newspaper advertising expenditure actually grow 10.6% 16.3% on a monthly basis from April to May. Radio advertising also grow 25.3% from april to may. so this maybe indicate the worst is over. Yes on the yearly basis the advertising for 2015 is no good compare last year. but if compare on monthly basis advertising expenditure starting to recover. If june data or july is data is better. It might confirm worst is over

Posted by DannyLee65 > 2015-06-22 16:02 | Report Abuse

Hope can break rm 1.60 today...

Posted by DannyLee65 > 2015-06-23 09:34 | Report Abuse

Hit RM 1.59 today. Yahoo. up soon. hope to break rm 1.60 level and up up all the way... RM 1.59 still big discount compare to last year price of rm 2 something. I remain that fair value of this company should worth at least RM2.00

Posted by DannyLee65 > 2015-06-23 09:39 | Report Abuse

Ringgit versus sgd 2.80 now . wow our ringgit drop so much . Cheap ringgit also means in future foreigners will come and buy our share as it is cheap. hopefully foreign fund will come back and buy media prima. if media prime at this rm 1.60 convert to us dollar term (1usd to rm 3.70) it is just worth USD0.432 . Wow cheap sale. Foreign fund hope notice this counter is damn cheap and BUY

Posted by value_investor55 > 2015-06-23 11:33 | Report Abuse

Thanks you Danny for having the same opinion with me. Why not anyone reply. Only two of us talking? Thanks.

Posted by value_investor55 > 2015-06-23 11:39 | Report Abuse

I think can be rm 1.60 plus soon if klci rebound.

Posted by DannyLee65 > 2015-06-23 12:57 | Report Abuse

ok 1.56 now again buy more!

Posted by DannyLee65 > 2015-06-23 16:20 | Report Abuse

buy more hope it close rm 1.60

Cherrie

183 posts

Posted by Cherrie > 2015-06-23 23:15 | Report Abuse

Hi value_investor55 and DannyLee65, I truely agree both of u. Your investment approach is same as the famous local value investor Coldeye. Buy when it is undervalued by market.

Cherrie

183 posts

Posted by Cherrie > 2015-06-23 23:16 | Report Abuse

I will buy when it falls again tomorrow.

epfbuy

199 posts

Posted by epfbuy > 2015-06-23 23:19 | Report Abuse

So far all Bursa report is EPF sell. Any chance they will buy again?

Posted by DannyLee65 > 2015-06-24 10:11 | Report Abuse

Now rm 1.56 to rm 1.58. I was impressed . Actually Media prima was listed with top 20 companies with best corporate governance award. Means this company is good and transparent. You all can go www.mswg.org.my

Posted by DannyLee65 > 2015-06-24 10:16 | Report Abuse

Hi epfbuy . So you notice epf selling right . They sell a bit not sell all. so do not confuse the investor with your statement. epf still hold substantial amount of Media prima. Maybe EPF is dispose some share for Amanah Saham bumiputra to buy. If epf not sell amanah saham bumiputra cannot buy. Just my opinion. Amanah saham bumiputra is guaranteed return fund for bumiputra. How does ASB make money? Buy low and sell high lor. Just my opinion from 15 years playing share. Hahaha. I might not as old or experience like old man value investor55. But hope my ideas help

Posted by DannyLee65 > 2015-06-24 10:20 | Report Abuse

wow a lot volume today. Seems fund manager maybe buying. They really like my idea and the old man value investor idea. Oldman value. Where ru now? He seems complaining his eyes is pain. Maybe resting . He seems talking fund manager. Maybe this old man is retired fund manager. So we learn from the expert. haha

Posted by DannyLee65 > 2015-06-24 10:22 | Report Abuse

value investor55 great. when he commented price of media prima was rm 1.36 low now rm 1.57 already. Great experienced old bird. !

Posted by DannyLee65 > 2015-06-24 10:23 | Report Abuse

1.57 now still have not break rm 1.60. Hope break rm 1.60 soon. up up all the way

Posted by value_investor55 > 2015-06-24 10:27 | Report Abuse

Hi thanks danny lee for saying i am great old man. Im 60 and already retired from job officially. I was not a fund manager. I was just play stocks seems 1990. Experience counts. I was just an engineer. ok my eyes is pain can watch computer too long . old already. take care and happy investing

Posted by DannyLee65 > 2015-06-24 10:36 | Report Abuse

if you all never buy now at 1.57 , you all will buy more expensive later. i dont think it will drop . it seems supported by investor. today a lot volume. hope break 1.60

Posted by value_investor55 > 2015-06-25 10:38 | Report Abuse

oh drop back rm 1.53 buy more . and i dont really care whether it drop or up now as i put in for long-term and collect dividend. happy investing

Posted by value_investor55 > 2015-06-25 10:46 | Report Abuse

wont comment much from me now. i will keep until next few years. confirm it will rebound rm 2 plus soon. Wait and see!

Posted by DannyLee65 > 2015-06-25 13:28 | Report Abuse

www.tonton.com.my have 4 mil subscribers. What if one day big foreign company buy this portal? This could earn some millions in future. Just my opinion. They have yet to monetize this portal.

Posted by DannyLee65 > 2015-06-25 14:48 | Report Abuse

Hi value 55. u dont care drop or up ahh? I care. I hope rm 1.60 soon. aiya havent break up 1.60 lah.. hahahaa

Posted by DannyLee65 > 2015-06-25 15:45 | Report Abuse

Ok hope fund managers switch and buy this dividend counter at rm 1.56 really cheap with dividend yield of 7%

Posted by value_investor55 > 2015-06-26 14:34 | Report Abuse

Hi epf thank you for your information. Yes this indicate that EPF finally decided to support media prima and buy their share. Thanks

epfbuy

199 posts

Posted by epfbuy > 2015-06-26 14:48 | Report Abuse

Actually I own many EPF own counters(Media Prima, FGV, Digi, CIMB, AA, UEM S, etc). Some people tend react negatively when there is EPF sell news. But they don't think EPF cannot sell all their holdings. At certain point EPF will buy back otherwise they will suffer heavy loss on their remaining holdings.

epfbuy

199 posts

Posted by epfbuy > 2015-06-26 14:54 | Report Abuse

In Media Prima case EPF has been selling for months. If people read the news sure someone will mention TP RM 1 or negatively. Today buying proof otherwise.

Posted by value_investor55 > 2015-06-26 15:11 | Report Abuse

Hi epfbuy thank you for sharing your ideas and opinion. Yes, when share on epf own counters fall low enough they will decide to suppport. Thats why i also indicate the amanah saham bumiputra related counter. In this case media prima is own by epf and amanah saham bumiputra so if they decided to support at this level it wont drop already. I think RM 1.55 level i worst. It will be over soon. So price will move up soon. And May to June stocks market not being doing well. In July i foresee a short-term rebound on our malaysia market.

Posted by value_investor55 > 2015-06-26 15:12 | Report Abuse

Wrong typo. I think at rm 1.55 is the worst. It will be over soon.