MEDIA PRIMA BHD

KLSE (MYR): MEDIA (4502)

6,871 comment(s). Last comment by limch 1 month ago

jodytan

29 posts

Posted by jodytan > 2014-10-24 16:26 | Report Abuse

i notice there is call warrant expiring this coming december. strike price is 1.80...hmmm will wait n see, since once warrant holder excercise their rights in open market, den will drive share price down.

Posted by comingsoon > 2014-10-27 18:21 | Report Abuse

Call Warrants (-CA, -CB, etc.) are different than Warrants (-WA, -WB). Call Warrants are usually issued by investment banks and settled in cash so no new shares are issued. Warrants on the other hand are issued by the company and new shares will be issued when exercised.

When a warrants holder exercise his warrants, the company received cash and new share is issued and credited to his CDS account. The "exercising" won't affect the market price. The problem is dilution. Now there are more shares sharing the same pie (company).

For MEDIA, there are no warrants dilution but employee stock options dilution. So far the dilution is consider negligible.

At RM2.00, MEDIA is still fairly valued at PE12. Earnings are affected by MH370 and MH17 because many scheduled programs have to be pulled off and thus losing advertising revenue. Consumer sentiment are also going to be affected later by GST so many advertisers will not spend so much on advertising.

If you look at the chart, MEDIA has been in a very steady downtrend.

No one can really predict a stock price but I will be happy to buy if MEDIA touch RM1.75. That will be around PE10 with good dividends and if one hold until consumer sentiment improve and the E improve and PE get back to normal range of PE13, one can expect a comfortable 50% return maybe in 2 to 3 years.

Posted by hellokitty123 > 2014-11-07 18:49 | Report Abuse

what happened here...very tempting...

rlch

4,140 posts

Posted by rlch > 2014-11-07 18:59 | Report Abuse

Warren Buffet also buy newspaper stock Washington Post. Be greedy when others are fearful. Now Media Prima at 4 year low. Buy.

Posted by hellokitty123 > 2014-11-08 13:23 | Report Abuse

this is not good news....

rlch

4,140 posts

Posted by rlch > 2014-11-08 13:46 | Report Abuse

Short term not good but long term good because can reduce operating cost. Star also implement VSS this year and now share price 30% higher compare to Media Prima.

rlch

4,140 posts

Posted by rlch > 2014-11-11 20:18 | Report Abuse

DY 7.41%, more than 2X FD rate is the main to buy Media Prima, highest past 6 years. Based on latest quarterly report only 17.657million warrant remain unexercised or will cause less than 2% dilution to EPS.
http://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/stk/fin/4502.jsp

Posted by hellokitty123 > 2014-11-12 15:00 | Report Abuse

im more interested to see share buy-backs

rlch

4,140 posts

Posted by rlch > 2014-11-13 22:50 | Report Abuse

Media Prima paid quarterly dividend of at least 3sen past one and a half year but does not carry out share buy back.
http://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/stk/annent/4502.jsp

rlch

4,140 posts

Posted by rlch > 2014-12-17 11:11 | Report Abuse

DY 8.19%. No wonder somebody buying today.

rlch

4,140 posts

Posted by rlch > 2014-12-20 21:05 | Report Abuse

DY 8.43% when price drop. Who want to exercise warrant at RM1.80?

Posted by hellokitty123 > 2014-12-21 23:08 | Report Abuse

Sadly to say. This is a good company. However, runned by poor management.

rlch

4,140 posts

Posted by rlch > 2014-12-26 11:46 | Report Abuse

Got people convert expiring warrant. Fair value should be above RM1.80.

rlch

4,140 posts

Posted by rlch > 2014-12-28 16:01 | Report Abuse

Will newspaper sales increase because of flood news?

rlch

4,140 posts

Posted by rlch > 2015-02-26 21:49 | Report Abuse

When others sell time to buy more for dividend and future capital gain. MSS loss is one off, higher profit expected this year.

nich0las

2,787 posts

Posted by nich0las > 2015-02-27 14:49 | Report Abuse

still can up huh?

thx2012

197 posts

Posted by thx2012 > 2015-03-03 10:50 | Report Abuse

why they did not give dividend for March?

m00077

426 posts

Posted by m00077 > 2015-03-04 08:57 | Report Abuse

I start to accumulate from RM1.81. Next buy is 1.72.

rlch

4,140 posts

Posted by rlch > 2015-03-31 19:44 | Report Abuse

Newspaper GST exempted. Announce 5sen dividend today.

rlch

4,140 posts

Posted by rlch > 2015-04-01 15:05 | Report Abuse

DY 6.43%, a good buy.

m00077

426 posts

Posted by m00077 > 2015-04-15 15:31 | Report Abuse

This counter is moving down trend very fast. Better run. Not run die.

Posted by globalvalueinvestor > 2015-04-16 01:04 | Report Abuse

Enjoy catching fish guys... 6.43% with 150 mil cash guarantee waiting for us!

gweilo

1,086 posts

Posted by gweilo > 2015-04-23 18:36 | Report Abuse

what is the 150 mill cash guarantee ?

Posted by globalvalueinvestor > 2015-04-24 21:07 | Report Abuse

@gweilo,their PAT actually is 155 mil (record is 75 mil), they exercise MSS, 80 mil go there. So I can predict their PAT for 2015 around RM280 mil, minimum 150 mil PAT. Hope you can picture it. :)

rlch

4,140 posts

Posted by rlch > 2015-04-24 21:31 | Report Abuse

Looking to add next month before dividend. I also expect better year this year.

Posted by globalvalueinvestor > 2015-04-27 08:47 | Report Abuse

@Rich, do your homework before jump in, btw I love their business model are duopoly.

ImCK

3,043 posts

Posted by ImCK > 2015-05-06 20:52 | Report Abuse

QR release comfirm another drop lagi lol

Posted by globalvalueinvestor > 2015-05-11 16:50 | Report Abuse

Where is the QR?

ImCK

3,043 posts

Posted by ImCK > 2015-05-14 18:11 | Report Abuse

haha said liao drop kau kau revenue & profit

m00077

426 posts

Posted by m00077 > 2015-05-15 14:27 | Report Abuse

I SOLD SOME AT 1.68, BUT STILL HOLD QUITE A NUMBER OF SHARE IN THIS COUNTER. I FEEL PANIC NOW WHETHER TO CONTINUE SELL OR NOT. ANYONE TO GIVE SOME ADVICE.

rlch

4,140 posts

Posted by rlch > 2015-05-15 15:14 | Report Abuse

If I would hold unless I need the money urgently. QR is a bit disappointing. However Media Prima is good dividend stock(EPF still own over 15%) with 5sen dividend ex-date 3/6/15.

rlch

4,140 posts

Posted by rlch > 2015-05-16 04:54 | Report Abuse

Traditionally 1st qtr is their weakest qtr. Current price is 5 year low, downside limited. Good dividend yield stock at 6.67%.

Posted by Ilikedividend > 2015-05-18 09:39 | Report Abuse

Good dividend.

Cherrie

183 posts

Posted by Cherrie > 2015-05-20 11:58 | Report Abuse

it's dropping!

Posted by I_like_dividend > 2015-05-25 09:14 | Report Abuse

5sen dividend next week(3/6). Buy now.
http://klse.i3investor.com/jsp/divex.jsp

Posted by I_like_dividend > 2015-05-26 12:11 | Report Abuse

Can give dividend mean company is making money and got money to give.

Han Kim

93 posts

Posted by Han Kim > 2015-05-29 20:46 | Report Abuse

Drop like hell today

Posted by Ng Kok Wee > 2015-06-09 12:55 | Report Abuse

Warning : EPF is selling

losing

103 posts

Posted by losing > 2015-06-16 14:57 | Report Abuse

supid stock.... drop like hell... this Ilikedividend crazy..... pay little dividend drop like hell but still so happy

Posted by value_investor55 > 2015-06-17 15:37 | Report Abuse

Hi my name is Lum. I play stocks since 1990. Looking at my year of birth people will know how old am i . Some will call me uncle Lum. Based on my experience crash time is good time accumulate. Media prima 1.39 is lowest in 5 years price. Trading below NTA. 1.50. If stocks trading below NTA means good value. This is based on Warren Buffet and Ben Graham theory. I remember in 1997, when public bank went rm 2. nobody want to buy . now rm 18.80. I think this Media Prima , is good company, as based on this price, dividend is 7%. This is higher than FD. Price drop maybe due to people like you are selling due to panic. This company has no problem. They no low debt. When company low debts means they can pay high dividends. It is commen sense. Also EPF hold this company 15% will be well supported. Company has no problem. Just panic selling. I think people buy now will make a lot of money in 3 years time. Stock price will rebound back when economy recover. Company has no problem. Earnings will come back when economy recover. when economy recovery advertising will recover.

Posted by value_investor55 > 2015-06-17 15:46 | Report Abuse

2014 was bad for Media becoz they fire a lot stuff . Giving MSS. After fire staff ,they will save RM 28 mil annually on cost. Normally after fire a lot bad staff a company earnings will improve in future. Based on average analyst rating. This price should worth RM 1.80. So at RM 1.40 is quite cheap. This my personal opinion. I think this is good time to buy. Warren buffet say buy low and sell high. On business wise, this company will surivive for a long-term, their major business is free tv advertising and billboard advertising. If economy no good, people will watch more Free TV. This is not like Astro. Economy bad, people may cut Astro subscribtion. Just my humble opinion here. Buy. Buy.

Posted by value_investor55 > 2015-06-17 16:00 | Report Abuse

So people buy a little bit expensive like RM 1.68 can choose to buy more to average cost. Wait stocks recover. Warren buffet buy a company for a very long term. Just sit with this stocks and collect dividend.

Posted by value_investor55 > 2015-06-17 16:05 | Report Abuse

This stocks should go back RM 2 plus when economy recover. Now it is known fact our economy no good. But dont worry, economy always recover. When economy recover stocks recover

Posted by value_investor55 > 2015-06-17 16:08 | Report Abuse

When economy bad, you will buy high dividend counter because you need this extra money for your living cost. So sell low dividend counter and buy high dividend counter. Media prima is an example of highest dividend counter. It is sad no one recognised this. Thats why they cant be rich by play stocks. So what you waiting? sell low dividend counter and buy this high dividend counter.

Posted by value_investor55 > 2015-06-18 09:33 | Report Abuse

Based on average analyst target price is RM 1.80. Then at 1.38 now is good buy. Sell other counter which have no dividend and buy this counter. At this price 1.38 is giving good dividend yield of 7.98%.

Posted by value_investor55 > 2015-06-18 09:54 | Report Abuse

Good news. Based on global news, US fed Janet Yellen will postponed rate hike until year end maybe December. This is based on what I read in the Bloomberg. In other words, foreign funds maybe come back to buy cheap Malaysia stocks. Media prima maybe one of them. Cheap at bash down RM 1.40 plus our ringgit also low. Cheap for foreigners to come back and buy!

Goodnews

288 posts

Posted by Goodnews > 2015-06-18 09:56 | Report Abuse

Buffet ready to buy more newspapers.

Posted by Ng Kok Wee > 2015-06-18 10:10 | Report Abuse

I totally agree with value investing in this counter but EPF continue selling in this counter also have to be taking into consideration before buying. Furthermore, not everyone is so loaded as EPF. Entering in wrong time without holding power is not wise.

Posted by value_investor55 > 2015-06-18 10:39 | Report Abuse

EPF selling? They are long-term investors. Any big players could sell and buy back . Do u know regulated short-selling? Sell first and buy back to make profit. Small players like us cannot short selling. I remember in 1980s when I still young man normal people can short selling. Now cannot already. Big players can short selling and buy back and make money. Just my humble opinion here. So I think at this price it is good time to accumulate for long-term. This company has low debt. Cannot compare with Air Asia la. air asia high debt. thats why they can fall very low. I think what happend to Media is panic selling in overall market. If Price go up back rm 1.40. and It is supported. Then i will be supported at 1.40 plus for long time. Look at NTA1.49 so price now is below NTA. Below NTA means cheap la. when price very cheap people like me value investor will start accumulate. If next year or two price rm 2.50 back i will back a lot of money. Historical price was always trading RM 2 plus. Does not make sense fall to this level.