KUALA LUMPUR (Sept 20): CGS-CIMB Research estimated that Genting Malaysia Bhd's (GenM) fair value could rise 8%-14% to RM4.32-RM4.55, if its wholly-owned subsidiary Resorts World New York City's (RWNYC) bid for a US casino licence is successful. The New York State Gaming Commission has resumed the bidding process for three downstate commercial casino licences, which is seen as an important catalyst for GenM's reassessment, given that RWNYC is among the front runners. “We believe that should RWNYC win a licence in 2024, the minimum required capital of US$1 billion (RM4.69 billion) could be funded by the potential sales proceeds of its Miami land, for which it has received an offer in excess of US$1.23 billion.
“As such, we estimate this could lift our fair value by 8%-14% to RM4.32-RM4.55,” said the research house in a note on Wednesday.
Patience. GENM dividend yield is nice. I am still expecting next dividend to be 9 sen ex div Mar paid Apr 2024. If true, then, total DPS 15 sen is decent. On current price 2.56, that's 5.9% dividend yield, which have good odds to beat EPF.
Which means I don't need the price to run up so soon. It can stay flat for years and I am okay with that as the DPS alone is already likely to beat EPF. Any price gain is a bonus. I can live with 5.9% DY for ever.
According to Ringgit Plus, today 12 months Term Deposit rates for the major banks like Maybank, Public Bank, CIMB bank, etc. is around 2.8% excluding special promotions. So, why put 100% monies in FD when some could be spread around like GENM to earn more than double in Dividend yield? It's backed by a decent underlying business.
Diversify and put a little bit of your FD into GENM. GENM is now 2.7% of my portfolio - I added more at 2.51 earlier this week. It feels about right.
Personally, I wouldn't chase this stock. I am not expecting price to run up fast. If one is patient and willing to wait 3 months, it is possible with very good odds to own at 2.51. This stock is unlikely to run up very fast, hence, just wait, key in a GTC buy order at 2.51 and don't watch the market.
For past 4 years, there is a soft sideways trading range between say 2 to 3.5. So, if price goes lower below 2.5 like 2.25, that's another accumulation zone for me. If it goes down to around 2, that's another acccumulation zone for me. If it goes down to around 1.75, it should still be another accumulation zone for me. Maybe by this stage, I get to 5% portfolio and then, I will forget about this stock.
otherwise, look forward to get paid in dividends long term.
I would say it is the call warrants issuers to be blame. 6 Call Warrants 2 expiry soonest 29 Sep, 2 in Nov and 2 in Dec 2023. Do you think the issuers will let the mother share price up for the holders to convert?
Crowd is nowhere to be seen despite it being the ‘Golden Week’ in China
GEORGE TOWN: Chinese tourists are conspicuously missing here in Penang this time even though it is the “Golden Week” back in China now.Angel Tours Sdn Bhd Director Peter Leong said the number of tourists from China visiting Malaysia has dropped lately
This book is the result of the author's many years of experience and observation throughout his 26 years in the stockbroking industry. It was written for general public to learn to invest based on facts and not on fantasies or hearsay....
27,048 posts
Posted by speakup > 2023-09-20 09:17 | Report Abuse
Taurx is Genting lah, not GenM