SARAWAK OIL PALMS BHD

KLSE (MYR): SOP (5126)

+0.05 (1.71%)

2.94 - 3.01

7 people like this.

3,356 comment(s). Last comment by goldenhope 2 days ago

21,637 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-11-22 19:35 | Report Abuse

Walao, rm8? Rm5 first lah. This stock ised to be rm5. Cpo now recover a bit, hope they can back rm5 also.

21,637 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-11-25 09:53 | Report Abuse

palm oil 3000

21,637 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-11-28 13:40 | Report Abuse

SOP used to trade near range 5-6. now cpo recover 3000, hopefully can go back that range.

enning22

2,898 posts

Posted by enning22 > 2016-11-28 15:38 | Report Abuse

after digesting the right issue just given, then the mountain climbing exercise would start.

10bagger10

1,007 posts

Posted by 10bagger10 > 2016-11-28 16:28 | Report Abuse

can it start climbing tomorrow?

enning22

2,898 posts

Posted by enning22 > 2016-11-28 18:14 | Report Abuse

priced at 2.80 right issue ,got a lot issued lah, need many patience ,i think,

enning22

2,898 posts

Posted by enning22 > 2016-11-30 20:34 | Report Abuse

SOP fantastic 3rd quaterly result,100m profit ,double same period previous year.

enning22

2,898 posts

Posted by enning22 > 2016-12-01 12:41 | Report Abuse

with cpo priced more than 3080 rm currently , then 4 quarter result can further improved , in addition ,if newly bot shingyang estates in time to contribute , then the total figure 160m-180m for the whole year could be realistically achievable.

10bagger10

1,007 posts

Posted by 10bagger10 > 2016-12-01 12:53 | Report Abuse

wow! Good!

Posted by Lee Ching Huat > 2016-12-06 12:24 | Report Abuse

cpo now 3220

10bagger10

1,007 posts

Posted by 10bagger10 > 2016-12-06 14:17 | Report Abuse

Wakao

veln82k6

914 posts

Posted by veln82k6 > 2016-12-07 10:07 | Report Abuse

Unless cpo reach 4000 or difficult to move much..

77huat77

1,782 posts

Posted by 77huat77 > 2016-12-07 14:06 | Report Abuse

Good luck

77huat77

1,782 posts

Posted by 77huat77 > 2016-12-07 18:08 | Report Abuse

Rm3268

enning22

2,898 posts

Posted by enning22 > 2016-12-16 17:25 | Report Abuse

LATEST NEWS, CORPORATE
In The Edge Singapore this week: Is the growth of palm oil companies really unstoppable?
By Michelle Teo / theedgemarkets.com.sg | December 16, 2016 : 5:14 PM MYT
Printer-friendly versionSend by emailPDF version
Translated by Google Translator:
Select Language​▼
SINGAPORE (Dec 16): The recent rally in crude palm oil (CPO) prices has surprised analysts and boosted locally listed palm oil stocks.

Shares in Indofood Agri Resources, which had been trading sideways since the middle of the year, shot up considerably in early December to 58.5 cents — close to the 52-week high of 62.5 cents that they hit in March. Wilmar International’s stock has also rallied and was up more than 23% so far this year. Golden Agri-Resources, the world’s second-largest oil palm planter, is now worth 25% more than it was a year ago.

But the higher palm oil prices may not offer, as big a boost to the palm oil companies as investors expected. Analysts say that’s because there are still some factors weighing down CPO prices and that the rally was not as strong as it could have been.

Against that backdrop, investors have to factor in new limitations in expansion opportunities too. The aggressive expansion of plantation land that palm producers were able to undertake in the past — planting about 10,000ha of new land every year, for instance — is unlikely to continue.

The Indonesian government has announced a ban on the conversion of peatland for cultivation, which will limit new plantation land available to these companies. Companies have been accused of burning the land to clear it for planting, thus causing the seasonal haze that blankets the region.

Still, there is a chance that the Indonesian government’s moratorium could eventually turn into a positive for plantation companies, says palm oil expert Dorab Mistry. A tightening in the supply of palm oil would keep prices up. “A moratorium will consign millions of poor consumers in the third world to a lifetime of high prices,” Mistry says in an email to The Edge Singapore.

Instead, Mistry is in favour of educating smallholders and incentivising them not to clear land by burning. “Once we incentivise smallholders to take the safer but longer route to clearing and planting, they shall say goodbye to the haze and all that it brings.”

Malaysian palm oil industry veteran Ling Ah Hong is similarly optimistic about the moratorium. A slowdown in new planting or land expansion, Ling says, would reduce the chances of oversupply and therefore add stability to CPO prices.

For now, companies are just focusing on improving the efficiency and yield of their plantations rather than churning out higher volumes of raw palm oil. The larger and better capitalised ones will also be counting on their diversified operations to improve shareholder returns.

To find out what some palm oil companies are doing to ensure the stability of their earnings, read our cover story “Can palm oil companies keep growing?” in this week’s issue of The Edge Singapore (Issue 759, week of Dec 19), available at major bookstores, 7-11 stores, and selected petrol stations.

steveooikp

4,689 posts

Posted by steveooikp > 2016-12-20 11:48 | Report Abuse

go and buy cepat....
this counter going to shoot up...

Posted by Gabriel Khoo > 2016-12-23 15:12 | Report Abuse

Good profit in 2017. RM will weaken for next 3 quarters

21,637 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2017-01-05 13:30 | Report Abuse

5 good enough

14,481 posts

Posted by probability > 2017-01-06 15:12 | Report Abuse

thin margin..high revenue over mcap...explosive earnings when selling price increases

14,481 posts

Posted by probability > 2017-01-06 19:00 | Report Abuse

i am moving away from Steel, Tin stocks, O&G and focusing on plantation now... why?

(1) the world population will continuously expand and demand for this cheapest cooking oil will always be there...the palm oil smear campaign had lost its arguments and people are realizing its even better oil than soybean oil...the price will soon be comparable to soybean's price.

(2) the land that had been relentless cleared in east malaysia and indonesia had come to a saturation point for planting further palm trees...meaning supply source is slowly becoming limited.

(3) you cannot find cheap land anymore....if you want to buy land for personal plantation purpose..i bet cannot find it cheaper than RM70K per hectare...look at thee price these companies are selling.

(4) O&G has huge upper limit on the price of Crude Oil (due to shale oil) just like palm oil has lower limit on its price due to biodiesel..

(5) Unlike all these steel companies, where they are dependent on raw material price, tariffs and selling prices...plantation's only major costs is free...the sunlight & natural minerals found from the soil and decomposing organic material of dead trees...
Its like your costs are almost free..

even the laborers are being helped by machines which can harvest fruits from the trees...its just a matter of time - cheap robots will be introduced to harvest the fruits - they will work day and night for free with the fuel provided by Biodiesel from palm oil itself. If Japanese were ruling malaysia...this robots would have been here by now.

very soon one will never be able to afford to buy any land for their own..

PLANTATIONS IS THE ULTIMATE INVESTMENT for MALAYSIANS.. never lose your market share on this land bank. Price will only go up from now.....no returning back.

And please never ever ever sell it.

14,481 posts

Posted by probability > 2017-01-06 20:25 | Report Abuse

Op3rs reply on my enquiry concerning why he had chosen SOP:

posted by Op3rs > Jan 6, 2017 08:05 PM | Report Abuse

base on some simple facts.

1. i presume cpo price is going to run wild due to low stock piles. evidence is in LC CHONGs christmas present.
2. if u had studied his excel presententation, the most attractive would be sop and hsplant, for me at least. Reason? ffb yield is 18.57 and 21.89. a little above the average of 16.89 in the industry. oil extraction rate is 19.46% and 22%. (btw hsplant has very high profit margin, averaging 23 per year, i dont know why...)
3. They generated averaging 135 mil averaging 6 years of cash, latest FY generated 356 mil in just 3 quarters.
4. cash increase from, 440 mil to 560 mil. debt to equity decrease from 1.02 to 0.9, no big loans incurred, repaid alot of it.
5. EPS decreased YOY but increased alot QOQ. I presume next year result will be better than this year.
6. stock price not running (at the moment when this competition started).

Dont ask me why i didnt choose hsplant.. i had to choose between the 2 of them.. maybe because its stock price is all time high that made me picked SOP? just those feelings u get la haha..

14,481 posts

Posted by probability > 2017-01-06 20:55 | Report Abuse

let me introduce the robot that will harvest the ripe fruits..much stronger than our Indo workers:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rVlhMGQgDkY

14,481 posts

Posted by probability > 2017-01-07 16:15 | Report Abuse

KC Chong posted on: 28/02/2013 05:21

Date Open Price Target Price Upside/Downside Price Call
22/01/2013 5.72 6.77 +1.05 (18.36%) BUY
28/12/2012 5.74 6.77 +1.03 (17.94%) BUY
28/11/2012 6.00 7.95 +1.95 (32.50%) BUY
13/09/2012 6.32 9.27 +2.95 (46.68%) BUY
12/09/2012 6.41 9.37 +2.96 (46.18%) BUY

Just stumbled to this target prices (TP) for SOP in i3investor. Very interesting.
OSK on 12 September provided a TP for SOP at 9.37. Wow, very precise to two decimal places, or 0.1%, an accuracy required for rocket science! More interestingly, one day later, the TP was revised to 9.27, for a 1% difference, another rocket science, incredible. I guess palm oil future must have dropped by 1.0672% on that day. Then 2 months and 15 days later on 28 November, 2012, OSK revised its TP to 7.95again, for a downward revision of 14%. And exactly one month later on 28 December, OSK again revised its TP downward by another hefty 15%, in less than 1 month, OMG! I thought some palm oil estate of SOP got burnt or palm oil prices could have plunged to close to its production cost or what . But when I read its latest analysis, which is full of past information and future projections and very detail, I found that is not the case. And this is what they wrote:
[One of our best sector buy ideas. We value SOP at a FV of RM6.77, based on 13.0x FY13 PE. The company continues to be one of our top plantation sector buy ideas for its strong growth prospects, solid management and attractive valuations……. It also possesses one of the best tree age profiles in terms of near- and medium-term production growth while trading at valuations below the industry benchmark (FY13 PE - SOP: 11.2x, plantation industry: 15.0x).
36% earnings growth in 2013. We believe 2013 will be a brighter year, fuelled by i) improving production, ii) better refining margins and iii) cheaper fertilizer costs, despite potentially softer average CPO prices on a y-o-y basis. Should we benchmark SOP to the plantation industry's average FY13 PE of 15.0x, its current share price implies average CPO prices of RM2,100 per tonne for 2013. Our FY13 earnings forecast is based on CPO prices of RM2,750 per tonne.]
Questions to OSK experts:
1. What do you mean by target price, its rationale and time frame?
2. Is TP a day-to-day shooting object?
3. Are you looking at its market price first and then make the TP call, or the other way?
4. Are you adjusting your TP according to what the market tells you?
5. You use a PE ratio of 13 to value SOP, what is the rationale? Why not 5, 20 or 30 or other value?
6. Can you really predict future price of palm oil?
28/02/2013 05:21

14,481 posts

Posted by probability > 2017-01-07 16:15 | Report Abuse

Noby posted on: 02/03/2013 19:00
Hi kcchongz, what is your view on SOP ? Do you have any projections on the intrinsic value ?

14,481 posts

Posted by probability > 2017-01-07 16:18 | Report Abuse

KC Chong posted on: 03/03/2013 12:40

houseofordos, if I were to do a simplistic valuation of SOP, its intrinsic value would be about RM4.70 (15%/10%*3.13). 15% is its average return of equity for the last three years, 10% is my required return for SOP, and 3.13 is its net asset backing per share. Very very rough. but don't forget, SOP has a very favorable age profile of its palm oil. It is going to have a very good growth for the next 10 years of >10% in terms of palm oil production. I have been charting its monthly production and the growth is real. Its EPS for last year was not that great and that was because palm oil price was low. Even that it still earned 36.5 sen per share. If palm price goes up above 3000 per ton, earnings for SOP will explode. So I think if you want to invest in palm oil company; and you want a growth company of the next 10 years or more, SOP would be the best at RM5.10. This is my opinion, you don't have to follow.

14,481 posts

Posted by probability > 2017-01-07 16:24 | Report Abuse

KC & Noby hope you dont mind me posting this old posting of yours...its just purely to gain more assessment data.

It is understandable that even IV valuation will change with market changes...so no claims projected here. Thanks

14,481 posts

Posted by probability > 2017-01-08 20:53 | Report Abuse

http://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2017/01/07/positive-profit-indicators-for-oil-palm-planters/

From the above information (earnings improvement due to sensitivity) and more importantly knowing the current Price to Earnings (P/E) these companies are trading, one can determine the safest bets on plantation.

hw0706

807 posts

Posted by hw0706 > 2017-01-08 20:59 | Report Abuse

plantation to high target. what worry is the man power

14,481 posts

Posted by probability > 2017-01-08 21:22 | Report Abuse

The CPO/FFB price had increased by almost 20% in USD.

even if you are paying workers with USD and you increase the salary by the same 20% in terms of USD...your Profit margin will be double the existing.

Why?

Say earlier you revenue per ton of FFB is RM 600
The wages per ton of FFB is = RM100.
other costs = RM400
Your profit = RM100

Now if the revenue increase by 10% to RM660
and you increase the wage by 10% to RM110
Other costs = RM400

you new profit = 660 - 510 = RM150

Thus your profit had increased by a whopping 50%!!

Try doing that with whatever assumption with 20% rise in Revenue...

cy91

397 posts

Posted by cy91 > 2017-01-11 15:27 | Report Abuse

will the death of sarawak MB affect this counter?

necro

4,726 posts

Posted by necro > 2017-01-12 16:47 | Report Abuse

OVERBOUGHT

cy91

397 posts

Posted by cy91 > 2017-01-12 17:30 | Report Abuse

but seems like more people prefer to buy taannn

enning22

2,898 posts

Posted by enning22 > 2017-01-14 12:11 | Report Abuse

both are gems , shining bright.

21,637 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2017-01-15 00:16 | Report Abuse

Some said Sabah,sarawaktycoondont care of investor kl. So share price drop like hell....

hw0706

807 posts

Posted by hw0706 > 2017-01-15 07:14 | Report Abuse

shin yang sell to sop at high price. let sop die. so do Yu think is good. I do not think so..

hw0706

807 posts

Posted by hw0706 > 2017-01-15 07:15 | Report Abuse

cpo go up but the main operating cost material the fertiliser also go up.

enning22

2,898 posts

Posted by enning22 > 2017-01-15 10:05 | Report Abuse

let the next quarterly report,out in Frebruary dispells all your worry.For shinyang plantation purchase price,you may think was high, but by next year, you will think it is cheap. The psychological factor in valuation actually depends on CPO selling price. Whether CPO could still fetch reasonably good price in the future is vital issue,in the investment decision making.IN the bigger picture ,the current state of global oils and fats market,we saw there is strong expansion in demand,particulally in soyabean(meal and oil) while limited room for supply to increase in any hefty way.Many consumers alternatively turn to palmoil for future supply.So up to you to judge.

enning22

2,898 posts

Posted by enning22 > 2017-01-15 10:22 | Report Abuse

fertiliser is an issue ,but not a big issue, costing has increase in certain %, but not in big way.the fact is , you need not applying fertiliser every day to the plant

Popeye1

44 posts

Posted by Popeye1 > 2017-01-17 13:35 | Report Abuse

Can anyone tell me Dec ffb output of 85,116 metric ton inclusive of syop production?

enning22

2,898 posts

Posted by enning22 > 2017-01-17 15:37 | Report Abuse

ffb =fresh fruit bunches; ffb crushed to get cpo( crude palm oil).syop =??

enning22

2,898 posts

Posted by enning22 > 2017-01-17 15:45 | Report Abuse

sometimes big plantations which have mills , can also buy ffb from small holders, to produce more cpo.

enning22

2,898 posts

Posted by enning22 > 2017-01-17 17:21 | Report Abuse

u really think so ?? holiday market , let some people need to square their book,to be away,

Popeye1

44 posts

Posted by Popeye1 > 2017-01-17 18:51 | Report Abuse

Syop is a subsidiary newly acquired by sop on 22 dec 2016. If the monthly production include syop production then there may hv a decrease in december production compare to november 81043 mt.

enning22

2,898 posts

Posted by enning22 > 2017-01-18 00:52 | Report Abuse

annual seasonal decline in production is generally expected,this should not be a surprise. the decline is gradual , lowest by February and production will only pick up as from early April.This is a seasonal production pattern, experienced every year. Currently supply of oil is tight, and you will see CPO market price is trending up .Demand is comfortably good, that is important.

enning22

2,898 posts

Posted by enning22 > 2017-01-24 12:11 | Report Abuse

as regard to SYOP production contribution, we see a increase, if we take monthly production figure of SOP as reported as january 2017 (FFB 86K tonnes)and January 2016 (76k tonnes).reasonable increase,as we know , not all syop plants are in matured productive stage.

14,481 posts

Posted by probability > 2017-02-02 19:14 | Report Abuse

https://techcrunch.com/2017/02/01/boston-dynamics-adds-wheels-to-its-already-chilling-robots/

confirmed no need man to harvest fruits already.