AFFIN BANK BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): AFFIN (5185)

-0.11 (3.29%)

3.23 - 3.35

4,041 comment(s). Last comment by ScotFree 3 days ago

aklobi

282 posts

Posted by aklobi > 2024-01-30 14:54 | Report Abuse

Thanks TheContrarian. I really do wish all Affin shareholders the best of luck.

moven00

727 posts

Posted by moven00 > 2024-01-30 15:31 | Report Abuse

Thanks Affin and Abang Jo…. Sell all already moments ago… terima kasih

rohank71

895 posts

Posted by rohank71 > 2024-01-30 15:32 | Report Abuse

#aklobi... enjoy ur profits ya. I will hold on for the GO, hopefully.

metaverse

187 posts

Posted by metaverse > 2024-01-30 16:15 | Report Abuse

Abang Jo's acquisition of Affin Bank is not a frivolous endeavor but a strategic move in line with his comprehensive plan. The earnest pursuit of bank ownership is driven by Sarawak's vision to establish a self-sufficient economy, intending to economically detach from the declining Peninsular economy, especially in Penang. The forthcoming extensive infrastructure projects in Sarawak are anticipated to yield significant multiplier effects on the local economy. Singapore's substantial purchase of power from Sarawak via an undersea cable highlights the region's potential as a power supplier. It won't be surprising if Sabah follows suit in procuring power from Sarawak. Additionally, with Indonesia's new capital, Nusantara, potentially seeking power supply from Sarawak, the strategic acquisition becomes even more pivotal. The acquisition cost below Net Tangible Assets (NTA) implies that Abang Jo is essentially acquiring Affin Bank at little to no cost, especially when factoring in the potential value derived from the separation of AffinHwang Investment Bank, a substantial player in the stock market.

Affin Bank above 2.15 is bullish and below 2.15 is bearish. Key dates to watch are around 27 Feb 2024 and 08 May 2024.

https://www.tradingview.com/chart/AFFIN/m4eIYk4h-Time-Cycle-Analysis/

moven00

727 posts

Posted by moven00 > 2024-01-30 17:07 | Report Abuse

Last 1/2 hours They throw like there is no tomorrow… likely game over.

klee

3,205 posts

Posted by klee > 2024-01-30 17:20 | Report Abuse

likely a jo just show face ,pull back is chance to collect more..

klee

3,205 posts

Posted by klee > 2024-01-30 17:20 | Report Abuse

only worry is global mkts hv peaked

Bursino

244 posts

Posted by Bursino > 2024-01-30 17:38 | Report Abuse

Nothing new was said that was not already said other than the 20% stake is inaccurate.

beluga

282 posts

Posted by beluga > 2024-01-30 17:41 | Report Abuse

https://theedgemalaysia.com/node/699142
"We are more or less conclusive in terms of our discussions with LTAT" ... means it's confirm.

Bursino

244 posts

Posted by Bursino > 2024-01-30 18:54 | Report Abuse

.....whatever remained are mere formalities.

TomyamGong

4,139 posts

Posted by TomyamGong > 2024-01-30 19:00 | Report Abuse

Not confirmed yet. So...continue goreng? Lol

aklobi

282 posts

Posted by aklobi > 2024-01-30 19:14 | Report Abuse

The hype about the 3 O'clock announcement today was exaggerated hence I made the decision to sell and lock in profits. Yes, we are witnessing a new era for Affin, but we are still in the very very early days. My humble prediction (I could be wrong) is that we might return to below MYR 2.2 levels and might even touch MYR 2 levels before we proceed to MYR 3 levels. I welcome a good informative debate that can dispute my prediction.

aklobi

282 posts

Posted by aklobi > 2024-01-30 19:14 | Report Abuse

The hype about the 3 O'clock announcement today was exaggerated hence I made the decision to sell and lock in profits. Yes, we are witnessing a new era for Affin, but we are still in the very very early days. My humble prediction (I could be wrong) is that we might return to below MYR 2.2 levels and might even touch MYR 2 levels before we proceed to MYR 3 levels. I welcome a good informative debate that can dispute my prediction.

Bursino

244 posts

Posted by Bursino > 2024-01-30 19:24 | Report Abuse

The Premier said his state has been encouraged by Affin Bank's good performance.

They paid RM1.97 to see the cards and realised the set of cards is definitely worth more than RM1.97.

aklobi

282 posts

Posted by aklobi > 2024-01-30 20:34 | Report Abuse

@Bursino, that's very encouraging. I have always believed in Affin performance. My question is, the latest price performance justified or is it based on pure speculation. Are we, for example, going to see higher div payouts soon as a result?

moven00

727 posts

Posted by moven00 > 2024-01-30 21:14 | Report Abuse

@ aklobi
You and me know the answer la. Tomorrow onwards tapau…. All is hype to make a kill and bay for retailers blood la.

moven00

727 posts

Posted by moven00 > 2024-01-30 21:16 | Report Abuse

You see the push downwards after 4.30pm. What want to lepaskan those who chase high today? Shark dapat apa? Crazy ah. They don’t force retailers to buy…. Retailers are Greedy.

aklobi

282 posts

Posted by aklobi > 2024-01-30 21:27 | Report Abuse

@movennu, I respect your view but I disagree that there is a conspiracy against retailers. What happened is consistent with my 25 year experience in share investing. News > price movement > rumours > speculation > price hype > bubble explosion > settlement of price to reflect fundamentals.

Bursino

244 posts

Posted by Bursino > 2024-01-30 21:34 | Report Abuse

Sir, I don't have an answer to your question.

My simple reasoning. Assuming the deal is done. All official state financial transactions will use the services of Affin. All State owned enterprises will have an account with Affin. All State employees salary will be debited into their Affin Bank account. All Sarawak friendly private companies are encouraged to use the services of Affin. Do you think these increased activities will generate additional profits? Do you think Affin will need to increase its capital? Rights, Bonus Issues and Sweeteners. I don't know. I am holding onto my shares.

Bursino

244 posts

Posted by Bursino > 2024-01-30 21:38 | Report Abuse

It all depends on your investment, risk appetite and the time horizon. I am a fusion investor.

Bursino

244 posts

Posted by Bursino > 2024-01-30 21:45 | Report Abuse

It's now trading at 0.56x PBV. Check how it fares compare with the other Banks.

EVEBITDA

145 posts

Posted by EVEBITDA > 2024-01-30 21:47 | Report Abuse

I believe there will b a General offer if Sarawak takes board control of Affin

EVEBITDA

145 posts

Posted by EVEBITDA > 2024-01-30 21:51 | Report Abuse

The takeover code says if a party buys more than 20% from a controling shareholder holding more than 33% and changes/ takes the board control will be required to do a GO. These are on SCs website and has no exemption. Premier Abg Jo by saying Sarawak is buying more than 20% has spilled the beans. Question to all of us will Sarawak take Board Control?

EVEBITDA

145 posts

Posted by EVEBITDA > 2024-01-30 21:54 | Report Abuse

Enjoy the ride. The sell down was probably done by EPF. Similar pattern for UMW before the GO was announced. EPF was just selling down. Morning price will up and towards the end o the day a big sell down. 3 days later you will see EPF announce a major sale of shares.

Bursino

244 posts

Posted by Bursino > 2024-01-30 22:00 | Report Abuse

How come KWSP can own 41% RHB?

metaverse

187 posts

Posted by metaverse > 2024-01-30 22:17 | Report Abuse

Singapore is to channel investments such as data centre projects into Sarawak under a proposal by the state to sell excess energy to the republic, Sarawak Premier Tan Sri Abang Johari Openg said on Tuesday.

https://theedgemalaysia.com/node/699156

aklobi

282 posts

Posted by aklobi > 2024-01-30 22:38 | Report Abuse

Thanks all, great points to consider. I already miss having Affin in my portfolio to be honest but I will have to be patient. Good luck to all of us.

moven00

727 posts

Posted by moven00 > 2024-01-30 23:33 | Report Abuse

I have no regret to profit take on Affin. Money in my pocket is better.

aklobi

282 posts

Posted by aklobi > 2024-01-31 01:15 | Report Abuse

@moven00 Agreed. It's all about profit after all.

EVEBITDA

145 posts

Posted by EVEBITDA > 2024-01-31 08:39 | Report Abuse

The Star reported Sarawak intends to take around 30% in Affin to be Affins largest shareholder. This will surely trigger a GO, if there is a change in Board Control. Sarawak will not achieve its objective if it doesnt take Board Control of Affin. Only time will tell, hold on to your pop corn and cola.

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2024-01-31 08:53 | Report Abuse

30% no GO lah.

rlch

4,140 posts

Posted by rlch > 2024-01-31 09:26 | Report Abuse

Why Affin takeover still not done? Maybe Sarawak govn willing to pay RM 2-2.20 but not mkt price? What if they sell and buy other bank eg BIMB?

metaverse

187 posts

Posted by metaverse > 2024-01-31 09:31 | Report Abuse

Assessing the Potential of Sarawak's Banking and Mega-Project Developments

Privatization of Banking Group:

Unlikely: Privatizing a major banking group is a complex and sensitive undertaking with potential economic and political repercussions. While not entirely impossible, it's unlikely Abang Jo would prioritize this move given the potential risks and complexities involved.

Alternatives: Expanding the capital base and attracting strategic partnerships through joint ventures or minority stake sales might be more feasible and less disruptive approaches.

Potential Partnerships and Expansion:

DBS Collaboration: A collaboration with DBS, a leading Singaporean bank, could bring expertise and regional reach to Sarawak's banking sector.

Capital Base Expansion: Enlarging the capital base could strengthen Sarawak's financial institutions and enhance their lending capacity.

Mega-Project Pipeline: The proposed projects, including an undersea power cable, AI datacenter, and a Sarawakian counterpart to Petronas, linking projects to Indonesia's new capital, Nusantara, represent a vision for significant economic diversification and infrastructure development.

Technically speaking, Affin Bank has entered anti-gravity mode and the least resistance is on the upside. Above 2.15 is bullish and below 2.15 is bearish. Key dates to watch are around 27 Feb 2024 and 08 May 2024.

UEMS above 0.89 is bullish; below 0.89 is bearish. Key date to watch 30 Jan 2024, 22 Feb 2024 and 01 March 2024.

https://www.tradingview.com/chart/UEMS/L9yVo3xu-Time-Cycle-Analysis/

KLCI above 1552 is bullish and below 1552 is bearish. The most likely trajectory is heading south.

https://www.tradingview.com/chart/FBMKLCI/gGMqXJe6-Time-Cycle-Analysis/

MRCB above 0.715 is bullish, below 0.715 is bearish. Key date to watch is 24 April 2024. The forecasted trajectory is heading south unless the price action can penetrate 0.715 comfortably.

https://www.tradingview.com/chart/MRCB/wzmkil6b-Time-Cycle-Analysis-MRCB/

rlch

4,140 posts

Posted by rlch > 2024-01-31 09:32 | Report Abuse

30% gain in <1 year if Sarawak govn sell instead of buy more haha.

newbie5354_

1,279 posts

Posted by newbie5354_ > 2024-01-31 09:57 | Report Abuse

So many different ids here. Is it >RM 2.6 bought by you all?

newbie5354_

1,279 posts

Posted by newbie5354_ > 2024-01-31 10:01 | Report Abuse

Sifus pls teach newbie. If Sarawak govn buy more why Bursa yet to announce?

moven00

727 posts

Posted by moven00 > 2024-01-31 10:01 | Report Abuse

@ newbie5354_

They chase…. That’s the issue. Now really at market maker mercy. Haiz….
You see like TheContrarian he didn’t chase. Instead he already sell some to profit take.
In share market everyone is for themselves.

moven00

727 posts

Posted by moven00 > 2024-01-31 10:04 | Report Abuse

There is no reason for Sarawak Gov to buy further stakes at such a high price. They will negotiate for special price. Logic thinking… moreover they got a block bought earlier at below RM2 a piece.

rohank71

895 posts

Posted by rohank71 > 2024-01-31 10:07 | Report Abuse

for giving up control of a Bank, LTAT can't sell cheaply , and they will end up like BPlant... makan the shares back.

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2024-01-31 10:07 | Report Abuse

In order to have a 30% stake (more than 20%) needs prior approval from Bank Negara. It is understood that submission for approval to Bank Negara has been made. Announcement on the details, pricing only upon obtaining Bank Negara prior approval. We need to wait.

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2024-01-31 10:08 | Report Abuse

@rohank71, I think it's more of a LTAT -Sarawak partnership.

newbie5354_

1,279 posts

Posted by newbie5354_ > 2024-01-31 11:19 | Report Abuse

Why Sarawak choose LTAT to partner? Is it they think Anwar govn sure bail out LTAT?

newbie5354_

1,279 posts

Posted by newbie5354_ > 2024-01-31 11:23 | Report Abuse

If look at Sarawak govn past behaviour they want more money or they want to donate $?

metaverse

187 posts

Posted by metaverse > 2024-01-31 11:42 | Report Abuse

Should LTAT persist as the major shareholder, the acquisition could regress, given Affin Bank's trajectory towards becoming a cutting-edge bank with advanced technology for risk management. LTAT, being more risk-averse and conservative, might impede the bank's evolution into a leading Digital Bank, similar to the PhileoAllied Bank established by Tong Kooi Ong.

The concept of anti-gravity remains speculative, involving the creation of an object immune to gravitational forces. The recent Time Cycle Analysis posted on January 26, 2024, featured a yellow line at RM2.69. The subsequent high reaching RM2.69 cannot be dismissed as coincidental but rather indicative of a calculated orbit, utilizing state-of-the-art technology for tracking Near Earth Objects, such as asteroids.

From a technical perspective, Affin Bank appears to have entered an anti-gravity mode, with the path of least resistance favoring the upside. A bullish trend is anticipated above RM2.15, while a bearish scenario is envisaged below this threshold.

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2024-01-31 11:48 | Report Abuse

Took some profits at 2.65 today.

klee

3,205 posts

Posted by klee > 2024-01-31 13:16 | Report Abuse

Nta rm4.69 got ppl say rm2.65 is a high price...lol

klee

3,205 posts

Posted by klee > 2024-01-31 13:18 | Report Abuse

stock market is all about Expectations ,dude....how will affin perform under the management of the richest state by resources in msia vs. the non performing Ltat.Do you think sarawak will leave affin as status quo once they are in the driving seat?

aklobi

282 posts

Posted by aklobi > 2024-01-31 13:43 | Report Abuse

Friends, I am already looking for alternative shares to buy with Affin still on my radar. I am open to suggestions.

50,104 posts

Posted by pang72 > 2024-01-31 22:13 | Report Abuse

So, this bank rename to SARAWAK-Affine Bank next week?

50,104 posts

Posted by pang72 > 2024-01-31 22:19 | Report Abuse

Today sarawak oil - DAYANG, KKB jump..
Friday - sarawak bank - Affine jump..
NEW president, new governor, new madani government, new King..

Malaysia is going to restart with new blood and new life...

NEW stock in play but old folk stock... Csmb... bye bye