AFFIN BANK BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): AFFIN (5185)

-0.11 (3.29%)

3.23 - 3.35

4,041 comment(s). Last comment by ScotFree 3 days ago

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2024-01-31 10:08 | Report Abuse

@rohank71, I think it's more of a LTAT -Sarawak partnership.

newbie5354_

1,279 posts

Posted by newbie5354_ > 2024-01-31 11:19 | Report Abuse

Why Sarawak choose LTAT to partner? Is it they think Anwar govn sure bail out LTAT?

newbie5354_

1,279 posts

Posted by newbie5354_ > 2024-01-31 11:23 | Report Abuse

If look at Sarawak govn past behaviour they want more money or they want to donate $?

metaverse

187 posts

Posted by metaverse > 2024-01-31 11:42 | Report Abuse

Should LTAT persist as the major shareholder, the acquisition could regress, given Affin Bank's trajectory towards becoming a cutting-edge bank with advanced technology for risk management. LTAT, being more risk-averse and conservative, might impede the bank's evolution into a leading Digital Bank, similar to the PhileoAllied Bank established by Tong Kooi Ong.

The concept of anti-gravity remains speculative, involving the creation of an object immune to gravitational forces. The recent Time Cycle Analysis posted on January 26, 2024, featured a yellow line at RM2.69. The subsequent high reaching RM2.69 cannot be dismissed as coincidental but rather indicative of a calculated orbit, utilizing state-of-the-art technology for tracking Near Earth Objects, such as asteroids.

From a technical perspective, Affin Bank appears to have entered an anti-gravity mode, with the path of least resistance favoring the upside. A bullish trend is anticipated above RM2.15, while a bearish scenario is envisaged below this threshold.

https://www.tradingview.com/chart/AFFIN/m4eIYk4h-Time-Cycle-Analysis/

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2024-01-31 11:48 | Report Abuse

Took some profits at 2.65 today.

klee

3,205 posts

Posted by klee > 2024-01-31 13:16 | Report Abuse

Nta rm4.69 got ppl say rm2.65 is a high price...lol

klee

3,205 posts

Posted by klee > 2024-01-31 13:18 | Report Abuse

stock market is all about Expectations ,dude....how will affin perform under the management of the richest state by resources in msia vs. the non performing Ltat.Do you think sarawak will leave affin as status quo once they are in the driving seat?

aklobi

282 posts

Posted by aklobi > 2024-01-31 13:43 | Report Abuse

Friends, I am already looking for alternative shares to buy with Affin still on my radar. I am open to suggestions.

50,104 posts

Posted by pang72 > 2024-01-31 22:13 | Report Abuse

So, this bank rename to SARAWAK-Affine Bank next week?

50,104 posts

Posted by pang72 > 2024-01-31 22:19 | Report Abuse

Today sarawak oil - DAYANG, KKB jump..
Friday - sarawak bank - Affine jump..
NEW president, new governor, new madani government, new King..

Malaysia is going to restart with new blood and new life...

NEW stock in play but old folk stock... Csmb... bye bye

Posted by Winningpost > 2024-01-31 22:54 | Report Abuse

Something is brewing...

Posted by Winningpost > 2024-01-31 22:55 | Report Abuse

Tomorrow new high

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2024-01-31 23:26 | Report Abuse

Tomorrow stock market closed.

moven00

727 posts

Posted by moven00 > 2024-02-01 08:14 | Report Abuse

Be prepared for Friday correction/selldown… US market tumble last night.

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2024-02-01 09:50 | Report Abuse

Affin will have its own strength. A lot depends on what price the 15% or 25% stake is transacted. The market price will eventually rest at around that level.

metaverse

187 posts

Posted by metaverse > 2024-02-01 10:56 | Report Abuse

LTAT is a public fund so they are answerable to their public members. They have to engage an investment bank to advise them whether the selling price is fair or not and most investment analysts are using a standard spreadsheet to plug in the same formula to derive their conclusion. Under normal condition a takeover deal will be based on NTA rather than PE to prevent hedge funds to do asset stripping.

metaverse

187 posts

Posted by metaverse > 2024-02-01 11:16 | Report Abuse

But retailers have to understand the fact that even Abang Jo is buying the block of shares from LTAT it doesn't always the case that the share price in short term will be traded up to that level as the business transaction is between Abang Jo and LTAT and nothing to do with the outstanding shares quoted in the open market. The logic why a takeover deal must be based on NTA is similar to Abang Jo buying out the Affin Bank new office located in TRX as the price of a property must be based on the value of the landed property regardless of whether it is generating income or not. However, the good news is that according to my spreadsheet formula Affin Bank is entering the anti-gravity zone and under zero gravity environment anything can fly.

beluga

282 posts

Posted by beluga > 2024-02-01 11:18 | Report Abuse

https://youtu.be/QfE4q6VRzdk?si=dPX7r70Wkq5knxUm

https://youtu.be/LEJmXgGJtbs?si=aYB5dhoWco6KczGu

“Dekat … very soon “

I think it’s just depends on how soon BNM approve . We know how efficient Malaysia authority works ..

My recent experience with local council .. “orang tugas hari ini MC” , “oh esok public holiday ya” (yes Malaysia has one of the most bank holidays in the world) … last week Thaipusam , today federal territory, next week CNY . 😆 eh change Agong no holiday ka? Agong birthday got holiday right ? .
Add in the MC .. sakit holiday .. think will have to wait slightly longer for the approval .

metaverse

187 posts

Posted by metaverse > 2024-02-01 11:46 | Report Abuse

Beside regulatory approvals, LTAT will need to see the valuation report on the market value of Affin @ TRX and the true worth of AffinHwang Investment Bank and so on.

https://www.skyscrapercenter.com/building/affin-bank-trx/35489

rlch

4,140 posts

Posted by rlch > 2024-02-01 13:39 | Report Abuse

LTAT CEO resign why nobody talk? Is it nego with Abang Jo fail on pricing matter?

rlch

4,140 posts

Posted by rlch > 2024-02-01 13:40 | Report Abuse

LTAT CEO want to sell high price but Abang Jo disagree so he resign?

rlch

4,140 posts

Posted by rlch > 2024-02-01 13:43 | Report Abuse

LTAT chief executive resigns with immediate effect
https://theedgemalaysia.com/node/699372

metaverse

187 posts

Posted by metaverse > 2024-02-01 14:56 | Report Abuse

Not so familiar with those political news but the news sounded like LTAT is resistant to change and kind of uncomfortable with this CEO and his professional way of restructuring the fund. No indication his resignation has anything to do with Affin Bank or Abang Jo as this CEO is a professional fund manager.

beluga

282 posts

Posted by beluga > 2024-02-01 15:24 | Report Abuse

We all can “maybe this, maybe that” , on and on .

LTAT should issue a statement stating the reason rather than let people speculate.

We also didn’t know why PM changed the Defence Minister in December . This new Minister now wants to appoint his people to lead LTAT? Get used to LTAT revolving door .

Endless possibilities… I doubt any conjectures will help the public perceptions of LTAT.

moven00

727 posts

Posted by moven00 > 2024-02-01 22:04 | Report Abuse

Tomorrow press down until any material announcement from LTAT, Sarawak or JoJo. And it will go lower if let’s say they announce deal is below current market price. Don’t be Surprise they conclude the deal which is below market price becoz they have conclude the first batch deal way below current price.

aklobi

282 posts

Posted by aklobi > 2024-02-01 22:40 | Report Abuse

Wow, speculations are running wild lol.

moven00

727 posts

Posted by moven00 > 2024-02-01 23:00 | Report Abuse

@ aklobi
Fun and wild bcoz me and you semua sudah jual…. No position already.

metaverse

187 posts

Posted by metaverse > 2024-02-02 08:39 | Report Abuse

Let the profit runs and cut short your losses. At this moment, it is still early to take profit as the upside outweighed downside. The chart will tell when it is about to trend reversal such as vol contraction or inverted hammer or hangman or bearish engulfing and so on.

From a technical perspective, Affin Bank appears to have entered an anti-gravity mode, with the path of least resistance favoring the upside. A bullish trend is anticipated above RM2.15, while a bearish scenario is envisaged below this threshold.

https://www.tradingview.com/chart/AFFIN/m4eIYk4h-Time-Cycle-Analysis/

For investment or trading ideas, please feel free to visit my chart gallery:

https://www.tradingview.com/u/Yang358/#published-charts

rlch

4,140 posts

Posted by rlch > 2024-02-02 09:34 | Report Abuse

If this is true I think is right move.

TheContrarian

Took some profits at 2.65 today.

moven00

727 posts

Posted by moven00 > 2024-02-02 09:48 | Report Abuse

Money in pocket better…. You’ll can speculate until cows comes home. As you think and think… price is now below 2.6 already. Ok, no more comment from me here for now on affin.

moven00

727 posts

Posted by moven00 > 2024-02-02 09:52 | Report Abuse

Go and see see “Keep Prudent Speed” better….

LubeTrader

248 posts

Posted by LubeTrader > 2024-02-02 10:15 | Report Abuse

I'd like to chip in if I may. Consolidation is healthy for this counter. It's not a penny stock susceptible to such speculation. I'm holding for the long term regardless of the outcome.

rlch

4,140 posts

Posted by rlch > 2024-02-02 10:36 | Report Abuse

If you like bank BIMB is cheaper. Also good dividend counter.

yoonlee

Posted by yoonlee > 2024-02-02 10:58 | Report Abuse

MBSB

26,437 posts

Posted by speakup > 2024-02-02 11:08 | Report Abuse

I vote MBSB

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2024-02-02 11:43 | Report Abuse

My advice is stay away from MBSB.

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2024-02-02 11:44 | Report Abuse

When epf disposed, just follow lah

moven00

727 posts

Posted by moven00 > 2024-02-02 15:51 | Report Abuse

Back to reality…….. over hyped… that’s all I can say. I rest my case here unless the price drop to the previous rally price.

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2024-02-02 16:03 | Report Abuse

The facts are as follows : Sarawak wants a bank and LTAT needs to raise money for debt obligations and one way is to pare down its stake in Affin.

metaverse

187 posts

Posted by metaverse > 2024-02-02 16:05 | Report Abuse

KLCI and Bear Market Dynamics:
Investors in the Malaysian equities market should approach current conditions with vigilance and prudent risk management, given the potential presence of a bear trap. Technically, the KLCI has been entrenched in a structural downtrend since 2014, significantly influenced by the collapse of commodity bubbles in oil (US$145 in 2008) and palm oil (1611 MYR in 2022). These events, coupled with the close correlation between the Malaysian economy, MYR, and commodity prices, have contributed to this extended bearish period.

Navigating a Bear Market:
Successfully navigating a structural bear market necessitates a nuanced understanding of the underlying economic dynamics. While acknowledging the overarching challenges, astute investors can identify pockets of resilience and growth within specific sectors, such as those connected to development in Johor (UEMS) and Sarawak (Affin Bank). This strategic approach enables investors to prudently position themselves within the market, mitigating risks and capitalizing on potential opportunities.

For investment or trading ideas, please feel free to visit my chart gallery:
https://www.tradingview.com/u/Yang358/#published-charts

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2024-02-02 16:06 | Report Abuse

Sarawak is trying to own up to 30% and LTAT appears willing to sell but at suitable price.

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2024-02-02 16:08 | Report Abuse

Until the price is announced the share price of Affin will be drifting.

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2024-02-02 16:09 | Report Abuse

Sarawak will be getting board seats but LTAT may retain board control.

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2024-02-02 16:09 | Report Abuse

Affin headquarters remain in KL.

beluga

282 posts

Posted by beluga > 2024-02-02 16:12 | Report Abuse

https://theedgemalaysia.com/node/699220

Press conference has been made. Many other news outlet has reported all over. They should announce the proposed deal as soon as possible rather than let market speculates for the interest of market integrity, fairness and investor confidence in the capital market.

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2024-02-02 16:19 | Report Abuse

Ball is at the feet of Bank Negara. All waiting for green light from Bank Negara.

metaverse

187 posts

Posted by metaverse > 2024-02-02 16:20 | Report Abuse

The news sounded like Abang Jo is looking for board control so LTAT will be out of the equation but the selling price must be fair so logically it must be close to NTA but retailer must take note that the market price may or may not trade up to that level as Abang Jo is not buying the shares from open market but a direct business deal.

beluga

282 posts

Posted by beluga > 2024-02-02 16:31 | Report Abuse

actually, not many people read this forum on Affin Bank i think. Yesterday i shared two Youtube news links : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QfE4q6VRzdk&ab_channel=AstroAWANI and https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LEJmXgGJtbs&t=29s&ab_channel=TVS
to see how many people actually read or listen since i shared the link ... Very little...

metaverse

187 posts

Posted by metaverse > 2024-02-02 16:39 | Report Abuse

Most people visit stock forum for quick tips. They will not bother to read external news or video and so on ... 😀

beluga

282 posts

Posted by beluga > 2024-02-02 16:43 | Report Abuse

maybe I should share a TikTok link because I was told many people use TikTok now instead
https://www.tiktok.com/@bilikberitacats/video/7330053967101152514

"we are more of less CONCLUSIVE in terms of our discussion with LTAT"