SCOMI GROUP BHD

KLSE (MYR): SCOMI (7158)

32 people like this.

16,656 comment(s). Last comment by Mabel 2023-05-02 08:22

mictkp

108 posts

Posted by mictkp > 2014-05-30 15:55 | Report Abuse

report should be good?

pang123

782 posts

Posted by pang123 > 2014-05-30 16:13 | Report Abuse

O.42 a bit hard. Buy buy buy

pang123

782 posts

Posted by pang123 > 2014-05-30 16:21 | Report Abuse

Here we go

yourdad

211 posts

Posted by yourdad > 2014-05-30 16:38 | Report Abuse

seems active now, hope there are some news..

DaitoRyu

1,459 posts

Posted by DaitoRyu > 2014-05-30 16:41 | Report Abuse

Don't hold your breath.

yourdad

211 posts

Posted by yourdad > 2014-05-30 16:43 | Report Abuse

Not gonna hold for now..ahaha

pang123

782 posts

Posted by pang123 > 2014-05-30 16:51 | Report Abuse

Wth... it drop back to 0.425...

yourdad

211 posts

Posted by yourdad > 2014-05-30 16:53 | Report Abuse

Hahaha..just playing with ur emotion..

rocket

1,191 posts

Posted by rocket > 2014-05-30 17:08 | Report Abuse

someone is pressing down the price ...the trend doesn't looked normal.
Mayday finished ... someone has won the battle. the point is whether we should wait while the big elephant is fighting . Maybe we are not loosing money but we hv lost other opportunity.

mictkp

108 posts

Posted by mictkp > 2014-05-30 17:28 | Report Abuse

scomies posted good report but scomien posted bad report. scomi wont move?

beLIEve

207 posts

Posted by beLIEve > 2014-05-30 17:36 | Report Abuse

Scomien reduced loss in Q4. Scomies profit also reduced a lot in Q4. Monday see how market reacts. Both not giving dividends, so have to see how Scomi itself perform

pang123

782 posts

Posted by pang123 > 2014-05-30 17:36 | Report Abuse

nothing special about the report. I guess is within expectation.

pang123

782 posts

Posted by pang123 > 2014-05-30 17:38 | Report Abuse

but if compare to previous quarter, it did slightly worse. But why suddenly volume rush? Announcement coming?

beLIEve

207 posts

Posted by beLIEve > 2014-05-30 17:45 | Report Abuse

Either announcement coming or tall rich handsome betting that this quarter's result is better than last quarter's. This quarter's profit is about half the average of last 3 quarter's profit due to losses in marine services. Market will be righter than I am. We will know on Juneday

rocket

1,191 posts

Posted by rocket > 2014-05-30 17:48 | Report Abuse

Scomi posted losses last q

beLIEve

207 posts

Posted by beLIEve > 2014-05-30 17:48 | Report Abuse

http://www.bursamalaysia.com/market/listed-companies/company-announcements/1641985

This quarter minor loss. So now we know why price is under pressure. Market is always right

rocket

1,191 posts

Posted by rocket > 2014-05-30 17:51 | Report Abuse

So, what are we waiting for ?

pang123

782 posts

Posted by pang123 > 2014-05-30 17:52 | Report Abuse

Profit for the period is gain. But profit attributable to ordinary equity is loss?? Meaning what? All paid to directors??

rocket

1,191 posts

Posted by rocket > 2014-05-30 17:54 | Report Abuse

how naive we are:(

beLIEve

207 posts

Posted by beLIEve > 2014-05-30 17:58 | Report Abuse

http://www.masb.org.my/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=406:frs133-pg5

For the purpose of calculating basic earnings per share, the amounts attributable to ordinary equity holders of the parent entity in respect of:

(a) profit or loss from continuing operations attributable to the parent entity; and

(b) profit or loss attributable to the parent entity

shall be the amounts in (a) and (b) adjusted for the after-tax amounts of preference dividends, differences arising on the settlement of preference shares, and other similar effects of preference shares classified as equity.

rocket

1,191 posts

Posted by rocket > 2014-05-30 18:02 | Report Abuse

Bro beLIEve, can explain a little bit more ?

beLIEve

207 posts

Posted by beLIEve > 2014-05-30 18:20 | Report Abuse

bro rocket check the PDF file and read everything after 3925. The 3975 went to the owners of the company. Other profit and losses are given there as well

pang123

782 posts

Posted by pang123 > 2014-05-30 18:33 | Report Abuse

Anyway, I think it wont have much impact on the share price. We need announcement. RSC, HSR or what so ever. Or else we are doomed. haha

posby

976 posts

Posted by posby > 2014-05-30 18:43 | Report Abuse

Hahah..why so curious... Previous year result on 31st may 2013..
Loss @ 65million.. But this year 5million profit.. Is gud or bad?? Determine urself...

rocket

1,191 posts

Posted by rocket > 2014-05-30 18:58 | Report Abuse

Just don't understand why the figure turn to losses.

beLIEve

207 posts

Posted by beLIEve > 2014-05-30 20:25 | Report Abuse

bro rocket. Looks like a balance sheet.
Profit from continuing operations 3.925m.
Loss from discontinued operations 5.573m.
Profit to non-controlling interest is also expense for shareholders 2.327m.

3.925m - 5.573m - 2.327m = -3.975m.

First time reading financial reports lah, so forgive me. I think it's a good thing those loss making operations have been discontinued.

pang123

782 posts

Posted by pang123 > 2014-05-30 22:17 | Report Abuse

So we expect scomi to fall further on Monday? ?

mictkp

108 posts

Posted by mictkp > 2014-05-30 22:58 | Report Abuse

Scoimen losses narrow down but marine losses wisen... but I don't trusted the scomi report

beLIEve

207 posts

Posted by beLIEve > 2014-05-30 23:27 | Report Abuse

I wish I know bro. Someone spent a lot of money to buy at 0.43 and 1.12-1.15 today. Should have confidence that it can go up kua. Maybe the amount of loss is below forecast leh

jbond

48 posts

Posted by jbond > 2014-05-31 00:02 | Report Abuse

Aiyoo, guess this guess that, ask your captain lah! Last trading day of May is over, bad results and abu has been selling.....

rocket

1,191 posts

Posted by rocket > 2014-05-31 00:39 | Report Abuse

007,how u define bad result?

beLIEve

207 posts

Posted by beLIEve > 2014-05-31 00:55 | Report Abuse

Captain will say go watch The X Files 2 : I want to beLIEve

jbond

48 posts

Posted by jbond > 2014-05-31 07:20 | Report Abuse

It would be a lost at the operating level if not bcos of the other income.

posby

976 posts

Posted by posby > 2014-05-31 08:48 | Report Abuse

If compare to previous quarter..this quarter perform even better... But becos of taxation that why red...let c how the price reflect to this...the way this counter stop loss below 415... Happy trading...

rocket

1,191 posts

Posted by rocket > 2014-05-31 14:18 | Report Abuse

Scomi Group Bhd’s pre-tax profit soars 265% to RM77.1 million for the financial year ended March 31, 2014 comparedto its previous 15-month financial period last year. The group changed its financial year end from Dec 31, 2013 to March 31, …

rocket

1,191 posts

Posted by rocket > 2014-05-31 14:19 | Report Abuse

Its all depend on how u look at it .

posby

976 posts

Posted by posby > 2014-05-31 16:32 | Report Abuse

Gud description bro rocket.. Taxation is external factor.. No choice.. Out of company management control... So this company must lobby for tax exemption...

beLIEve

207 posts

Posted by beLIEve > 2014-05-31 18:19 | Report Abuse

If want to compare, Scomi was trading at above $1.50 before the 2008 crash. Pre-tax profit for 2008 was $140m. Pre-tax profit for 2009 was $50m and it was trading at 40cents-80cents after the market recovered (ignore the 30cents range early 2009). It should be trading at above 60cents loh. Stock market usually look at future prospects, so it needs to bag more contracts.

Rambotan

519 posts

Posted by Rambotan > 2014-05-31 18:22 | Report Abuse

Kekeke

beLIEve

207 posts

Posted by beLIEve > 2014-05-31 18:26 | Report Abuse

I'd say $77m pretax profit is quite good, but the last quarter was below the previous 3 quarters with a net loss - down hill. Have to see how the market thinks. Still got RSC to hope for. Not sure how Scomi and SES split their business as both also have O&G revenue.

rocket

1,191 posts

Posted by rocket > 2014-05-31 19:24 | Report Abuse

Loss from discontinued operations 5.573m.
Profit to non-controlling interest is also expense for shareholders 2.327m.
Bro beLIEve, the calculation that u showed us , the losses , was that the one time of loses ?

beLIEve

207 posts

Posted by beLIEve > 2014-05-31 20:14 | Report Abuse

bro rocket, should be one time. It says discontinued operations, so I think no more operation. profit to non-controlling interest should be recurring.

pang123

782 posts

Posted by pang123 > 2014-05-31 22:38 | Report Abuse

Scomi must show they have the potential to grow. Like I said I don't expect the report to differ much from the previous few quarters. Revenue n pretax profit about the same. But biggest problem is the net profit is negative. Scomi no longer hold much biz.scomies n scomien will be main revenue. Scomi holds and 70 % of scomies if I m not mistaken. The most valuable asset is scomi oiltool which is under scomies now. So they need to show significant increase in revenue to show growth. Rmbr 1 thing, they have a big debts to finance. Without profit they won't able to finance the debts. That is why they fall from rm1.50 and never recover. And they have no funding to expand. New investment is needed.

posby

976 posts

Posted by posby > 2014-06-01 09:10 | Report Abuse

Believe in captain chang... June coming...

posby

976 posts

Posted by posby > 2014-06-01 10:04 | Report Abuse

Red becos taxation paid.... This quarter it pay almost 50% for its total tax amount...20million...

beLIEve

207 posts

Posted by beLIEve > 2014-06-01 13:39 | Report Abuse

yeah June came, then July, very fast December. Have you booked your ticket to Hawaii?

rocket

1,191 posts

Posted by rocket > 2014-06-01 14:33 | Report Abuse

Emmmm... Now we r talking about December ...

beLIEve

207 posts

Posted by beLIEve > 2014-06-01 15:31 | Report Abuse

planning to go Hawaii in December mah