ELK-DESA RESOURCES BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): ELKDESA (5228)

-0.01 (0.78%)

1.27 - 1.27

159 comment(s). Last comment by NorthernStar 2024-01-16 10:15

geary

6,230 posts

Posted by geary > 2016-11-21 01:33 | Report Abuse

Simple n boring business, easy to understand, plus good earnings growth, those who intend to buy long-term more than 5 yrs, at this price is fair. Wz dividend ratio of above 50% n good FCF n retained earnings growth, it is slighly out-of-favour. Buy n hold n not for speculator, who will never ride on their investment. D best is FA wz some TA knowledge, combination of 2 kung-fu! Bye!

AK2899

322 posts

Posted by AK2899 > 2017-01-19 01:31 | Report Abuse

每年都在附加股的公司,好个屁?你们的股份都被大股东吃光光还好吗?proton saga.

Posted by smartInvestor1 > 2017-01-22 15:08 | Report Abuse

一边出附加股拿钱 一边派息给股东?直接看ROE 太低。Furniture business still suffer loss

crazy127

1,303 posts

Posted by crazy127 > 2017-01-31 12:44 | Report Abuse

Future rm6.60

Posted by Crazy crazy > 2017-02-17 12:12 | Report Abuse

Sleeping counter....

wei007

43 posts

Posted by wei007 > 2017-02-17 18:19 | Report Abuse

even with a good quarter result...

crazy127

1,303 posts

Posted by crazy127 > 2017-03-29 06:43 | Report Abuse

Buy TGUAN, now 4.50, next yr 8.88

wisdomtot

644 posts

Posted by wisdomtot > 2017-06-08 16:00 | Report Abuse

so exciting, yet forum is so quiet

wisdomtot

644 posts

Posted by wisdomtot > 2017-06-14 16:44 | Report Abuse

syiok sendiri... explode soon

wei007

43 posts

Posted by wei007 > 2017-06-14 17:13 | Report Abuse

These 2 days volume are extremely huge. Please dun explode so soon....I am still collecting.

gforce2

204 posts

Posted by gforce2 > 2017-08-18 19:15 | Report Abuse

http://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/elkdesa-posts-8-drop-1q-net-profit

KUALA LUMPUR (Aug 18): ELK-Desa Resources Bhd reported an 8.1% drop in net profit for its first quarter ended June 30, 2017 (1QFY18) RM5.05 million from RM5.5 million a year earlier.
The group’s revenue for the quarter rose 16.2% to RM25.57 million from RM21.99 million in 1QFY17, thanks to higher sales contribution from both business segments.
Revenue for its hire purchase segment grew 15% to 17.64 million, whereas that of the furniture segment rose 20% to RM7.94 million.
ELK-Desa said impairment allowance for its hire purchase segment rose 46% to RM6.45 million, primarily due to higher delinquent accounts and cost of debt recoveries.
Similarly, the impairment allowance for its furniture segment jumped by 100% to about RM160,000 due to long outstanding trade receivables.

"The board is confident that the group's profit for the financial year ending 31 March 2018 will be better than financial year ended 31 March 2017," it added.

===
Quick Analysis:
The recent rights issue to raise ~RM59m was timed to provide additional funds to grow their hire purchase & furniture businesses. This should hopefully counter the higher impairments to be expected in a slowing domestic economy.
Revenue is up, but profit is down. Overall, it seems like there are more headwinds ahead. Dividend yield is around 4.5% pa, so if you're a yield seeker, some selected REITs might be a better bet.

PenguinDad

1,729 posts

Posted by PenguinDad > 2017-09-06 17:17 | Report Abuse

Has right issue completed and right transfer to cds a/c?

EVO118

2,012 posts

Posted by EVO118 > 2017-11-09 14:54 | Report Abuse

Some big player out there with a huge blocker everytime it gets close to 1.21, as well blocking it from going down below 1.17. This can only happen if they have huge volume. The order gets placed whenever it gets close. It's not there now. Was there yesterday as a buyer before cancelling it, & there before lunch as a seller today but has since pulled the order. Not sure what is going on.

EVO118

2,012 posts

Posted by EVO118 > 2017-11-09 15:46 | Report Abuse

Someone is making sure the loan stock conversion price of 1.18 is not breached. The big order appears when the price is threaten. Just doesn't understand whoever it is having a road block at 1.21 on a potential 3% profit. Maybe a fake selling order..

Posted by Jon Choivo > 2017-11-16 23:33 | Report Abuse

This is a good company.

Problem is that use too much equity, so much share issue etc, that really dilute the share base.

This is a financing company, which means you need to leverage up. Other non deposit taking financial institutions leverage up 3-5.5 times. While Elkdesa only has leverage of 0.1 times.

My suggestion, take a loan and give a fat div. Leverage it up to at least 2 times.

PenguinDad

1,729 posts

Posted by PenguinDad > 2018-03-07 10:46 | Report Abuse

vinchain.io for second car sales with cryptocurrency!

Meng

118 posts

Posted by Meng > 2018-08-17 13:47 | Report Abuse

这公司还真冷门,赚了钱也没人理

wei007

43 posts

Posted by wei007 > 2018-08-18 00:05 | Report Abuse

唯有继续累积拿股息。。。

wei007

43 posts

Posted by wei007 > 2018-08-31 00:41 | Report Abuse

Rakuten Trade recommend with target price RM 1.38

Kiryu88

105 posts

Posted by Kiryu88 > 2018-09-01 00:25 | Report Abuse

rakuten sinkalan got la

Meng

118 posts

Posted by Meng > 2018-10-09 16:04 | Report Abuse

suddenly got some volume today

Meng

118 posts

Posted by Meng > 2018-11-13 18:35 | Report Abuse

another quarter with nice results. seems like they are pushing sales now. profits should be higher next year

Meng

118 posts

Posted by Meng > 2019-01-11 17:57 | Report Abuse

2 years new high. can it sustain?

Posted by foreverchung > 2019-01-15 10:28 | Report Abuse

If drop = buy 99

zigua

20 posts

Posted by zigua > 2019-01-29 23:33 | Report Abuse

99?now 132 !

tracylim

188 posts

Posted by tracylim > 2019-01-31 10:49 | Report Abuse

This is a long term counter. It eliminates opportunists and sharks, at least until now... both are not seen or not obvious in the counter. I have great trust for Elkdesa with long term target price 2.00-3.00 says in 3-5 years time if the current growth continues.

Meng

118 posts

Posted by Meng > 2019-01-31 21:49 | Report Abuse

hi tracy, mind to share why you so confident to the company?

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-02-01 11:24 | Report Abuse

this counter is loan to car so the biz prospect is not really good, dont have competitive advantage , need depend on car sales for increase loan etc

also it venture into furniture biz which is also a bad idea
furniture biz is very crowded now with other big players ...this all will not help in ELKDESA profit growth

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-02-01 11:27 | Report Abuse

ELKDESA also is in negative operating cash flow which is bad

tracylim

188 posts

Posted by tracylim > 2019-02-10 00:28 | Report Abuse

If this coming announcement good result or at least maintain, then I expect it to go above 1.50, and if all quarters in 2019 good results then above 2.00 is for certain.

Meng

118 posts

Posted by Meng > 2019-02-10 21:43 | Report Abuse

wow, i didn't expect we have same thought! last agm management set a new direction, i see their are really doing well on that from last quarterly result. i have confidence the company will have good results this year

tracylim

188 posts

Posted by tracylim > 2019-02-14 09:55 | Report Abuse

True. Not too many investors realise the value of ELKDESA, and don't you think that's a good thing? That's the reason why we still can buy in at the current price, and I really feel good accumulating along side with the big boss, if you understand what I mean.. I rather do it now than start accumulating when it is 2.00 3.00..

Yi Heng

246 posts

Posted by Yi Heng > 2019-02-17 21:37 | Report Abuse

just drop more please, u all know what i mean haha

Yi Heng

246 posts

Posted by Yi Heng > 2019-02-18 20:11 | Report Abuse

chairman allocate 2000000 shares within 2 months :)

tracylim

188 posts

Posted by tracylim > 2019-02-24 15:31 | Report Abuse

Wow, not bad! Cancellation of treasury shares! This shows that Elkdesa has strong cash flow.. it reduces the total of shares available in the market which is definitely a good thing! Yes!

Meng

118 posts

Posted by Meng > 2019-02-25 13:12 | Report Abuse

i disagree the action on cancellation of treasury shares. they can make good use from it instead of just cancelled it. it is worth more then RM17m. the company was right issues few times in the past, but why not they just sell the treasury shares to get more fund? if that conflict with the chairman buying share from open market recently, they can look for funds institution or other investor to buy over. now the shares are wasted just to push up the share price slightly. im surely going to address out the issue in agm

James Yeo

61 posts

Posted by James Yeo > 2019-02-26 11:01 | Report Abuse

Elk-Desa Resources Bhd has a track record of consistent dividend payouts over last 5 years. Check out other 2 similar stocks at https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/small_cap_asia/195122.jsp

tracylim

188 posts

Posted by tracylim > 2019-03-08 23:22 | Report Abuse

Well Meng, I guess the boss has his own planning on this. You may voice up your opinion in the AGM, but for me, it's definitely a good sign and I hope they will cancel more share in the future.. anyway for the time being, let's wait and see what's in the boss's head..

Meng

118 posts

Posted by Meng > 2019-03-11 14:14 | Report Abuse

i personally think that the management want to improve the company reputation and strengthen the confidence of share holders. i have seen them have intention to improve the awareness of the public to the company too. but still i think they can have better use of the treasury share.

Meng

118 posts

Posted by Meng > 2019-03-11 14:17 | Report Abuse

im happy to see the share price go up, but im more happy to see the net profit go up and the cost go down

sleang

170 posts

Posted by sleang > 2019-03-11 14:29 | Report Abuse

There are 3 things that the co. can do with treasury shares, 1. re-sell to the market at higher price to gain profit; 2. distribute to shareholders as share dividends; 3. cancel it off. Among the 3, the only option which will reduce the number of shares is #3 as the first 2 options will release the shares back to the market...

Meng

118 posts

Posted by Meng > 2019-03-11 16:51 | Report Abuse

as a financing institution, funds is important to company. there was a few times company having rights issue to increase the funds. although the treasury is not a big amount as past rights issue, but still worth good amount of money which can help the company business. if they can make use of it, selling to get some funds drive more sells or reduce financing cost, i think that is much better option

smissions

87 posts

Posted by smissions > 2019-04-04 14:54 | Report Abuse

Rights issue, rights issue, rights issue, cancel shares. Also advertises on Google Ads.

tracylim

188 posts

Posted by tracylim > 2019-04-04 18:28 | Report Abuse

If not mistaken the management already promised no more right issue...

sleang

170 posts

Posted by sleang > 2019-05-21 18:22 | Report Abuse

another set of fantastic results! well done~!

tracylim

188 posts

Posted by tracylim > 2019-05-23 07:52 | Report Abuse

Really proud of ELK, particularly in the midst of uncertainties. Now we know why the boss kept on buying. Well done!

Meng

118 posts

Posted by Meng > 2019-05-23 09:32 | Report Abuse

profit can be go higher but drag down by the furniture business. they can maintain a lower impairment on the hire purchase business, i think they should be able to do the same to the furniture business too.

Meng

118 posts

Posted by Meng > 2019-05-23 17:33 | Report Abuse

by comparing the annually result, the hire purchase business really doing great which revenue and profit before tax increased 16% and 23% from financial year 2018. the company really doing well to improve the loan quality and significant reduce the impairment allowance. total hire purchase receivables grow 23% but the impairment reduced instead, well done. block discounting increase intact with company direction. but there is not perfection, the increase of workforce recently not yet see to have any positive effect to the business yet.

for furniture business, i think after all these years, although see the improvement, but still the profit margin still very low, just passed 2.5% this year, most of the expenses go to cost 60%+ and other expenses 30%+. now the impairment allowance come to a concern level 1.5% from the revenue, this is quite high if compare to the profit margin 2.5%.. hopefully the management will put some effort in the furniture business, improve the dealership, or find other better dealers.

overall the business seems to be positive, wish coming year business can grow more and stable