Posted by kcchongnz > 2012-12-23 16:11 | Report Abuse

In various forum in i3investor, one can see many blowing their trumpets to buy. Knm, Asupreme, XOX, Thheavy, ?Jacob, saag etc etc. Many of them have been losing money for years. Why do people want to risk their money on these highly risky stocks? Aren't they any other better stocks one can invest in? To me there are heaps of them. I hope you can share with us here what are your picks. I would appreciate you can suggest some which there is some fundamentals in it so that people have a chance of earning a reasonable return rather than risking their hard-earned money. Let me start with one first. With 46.5 sen per share, you can buy Cheetah, It financials is listed below, values are in thousands: Year 2012 2011 2010 2009 2008 Revenue 126339 123808 127442 118563 103337 Net income 10862 11195 14171 12651 9424 EPS, sen 8.5 8.8 11.1 9.9 7.4 Dividend, sen 2.6 3.4 3.0 3.0 2.8 CFO 9900 11462 12258 5976 -4516 NTA, sen 92.7 86.9 80.6 71.8 63.9 Why is Cheetah is trading at a low PE ratio of just 5.5. Not aggressive and no growth, like what Padini does. But ins't it much better than XOX, knm and others. At least earnings are there supported by cash flows and healthy balance sheet, and also decent dividends too. So what do you have?

6 people like this.

142 comment(s). Last comment by AL833D 2012-12-30 19:11

Posted by Buy & Sell Sell & Buy > 2012-12-23 16:48 | Report Abuse

Amedia is a good buy. Its FA is good.

yungshen1

2,134 posts

Posted by yungshen1 > 2012-12-23 16:57 | Report Abuse

knm also given dividend what

Interim 3¢ TE
15-Mar-11 29-Mar-11 31-Mar-11 19-Apr-11
3¢
-
Interim 1¢ + 0.5¢ TE
25-Feb-09 11-Mar-09 13-Mar-09 18-Mar-09
1.5¢
4¢
Interim 4¢
26-Feb-08 01-Apr-08 03-Apr-08 18-Apr-08
4¢
5¢
First & Final 5¢ TE
05-Jun-07 02-Jul-07 04-Jul-07 01-Aug-07
5¢
5¢
First & Final 5¢
05-Jun-06 05-Jul-06 07-Jul-06 08-Aug-06
5¢
3¢
First & Final 3¢
18-May-05 06-Jul-05 08-Jul-05 10-Aug-05
3¢
5¢
Final 5¢ TE
14-Jun-04 06-Jul-04 08-Jul-04 09-Aug-04
5¢
–

yungshen1

2,134 posts

Posted by yungshen1 > 2012-12-23 17:00 | Report Abuse

knm given dividend shown as below
http://biz.thestar.com.my/marketwatch/bonus/alldividends.asp?c=K

Posted by tonylim > 2012-12-23 17:15 | Report Abuse

Neil armstrong. ... Apollo

Posted by kcchongnz > 2012-12-23 17:17 | Report Abuse

thanks Buy & Sell Sell & Buy. I believe Amedia is not bad. Could you provides some figures to show that its FA is good as mentioned by you. Appreciate that.
yungshen1, yeah, for many people dividend, or rather dividend yield is important. Could you provide us its dividend yield for the years you mentioned? Thanks in advance.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2012-12-23 17:19 | Report Abuse

tonylim, neil armstrong is 3+ man! anyway, i have posted on your Neil a couple of days ago. Please read my comments.

Posted by tonylim > 2012-12-23 17:23 | Report Abuse

Oooppss wrong thread.
I did read your latest.
Thanks again.
Dude you are one fine gentleman. Very passionate.

jumbo

941 posts

Posted by jumbo > 2012-12-23 18:09 | Report Abuse

Jumbo, bum bum like Tonylim face....rub rub

Posted by kcchongnz > 2012-12-23 18:10 | Report Abuse

jumbo, you are in the wrong thread. Lost your way?

aunloke

974 posts

Posted by aunloke > 2012-12-23 19:27 | Report Abuse

Amprop :- EPS 2011, 8sen, 2112,18sen ; div. 2012= 6sen ( inclusive 3 sen special div. ) EPS Q1 2013 3.6 sen. Share price 48sen which gives the estimated 2013 PE less than 5.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2012-12-23 19:46 | Report Abuse

aunloke, thanks. On the surface Amprop does look good. But I think its profit may have include huge amount from one-time disposal of assets. Taking that off, its "real" profit may not be there. I am not too sure about that though until I do a thorough study of it. Dividend wise does look good if one just looks at its last dividend payment. Not sure can sustain or not. Would you consider my comment and look into its financials in more details and share with us. Thanks first.

aunloke

974 posts

Posted by aunloke > 2012-12-23 20:47 | Report Abuse

Dear KC, of cause I wouldn't expect it to sustain the same profit as its preceding year cos it was achieved on the disposal of a building in London. However from its 2Q result of 6.1 sen EPS it is quite reasonable to assume the annualized EPS for 2013 to be 10 sen plus . Moreover it may also dispose off a piece of land in the near future giving it the extraordinary gain of RM 27M ( about 4 sen /share ) this will further reduce the PE to less than 4. Anyway hope you can make a thorough study and share with us here. Thanks and merry Xmas !

al833d

884 posts

Posted by al833d > 2012-12-23 21:35 | Report Abuse

Keladi, Skpres, NtpM ,InaRi and CheetaH? any more ? last time pwrOOt( but now it not event over 50 ct, its over RM 1). Pantech (66 cts) gooD? Thanks.

TuaHuat

1,462 posts

Posted by TuaHuat > 2012-12-23 21:50 | Report Abuse

What about Next Nation Communication Bhd?

Risk Trader

3,942 posts

Posted by Risk Trader > 2012-12-23 21:55 | Report Abuse

Next Nation is next to PN17...

TuaHuat

1,462 posts

Posted by TuaHuat > 2012-12-23 22:00 | Report Abuse

Y u said so? Pls share!

11,108 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2012-12-24 00:19 | Report Abuse

Dear Kcchongnz,

Please help to summarise all good stocks to watch after you receive all feedback. I like this article and also stocks because I am really interested to invest in them.

Posted by tonylim > 2012-12-24 01:05 | Report Abuse

AL833... Whats your views on Inari. My reservations are the directors connected to Insas. One name also elected to board of Icap

Posted by tonylim > 2012-12-24 01:10 | Report Abuse

Cheap pennies... Marco?
Its warrants is in the money

Posted by tonylim > 2012-12-24 01:10 | Report Abuse

Cheap pennies... Marco?
Its warrants is in the money
dividend paying

Posted by kcchongnz > 2012-12-24 10:03 | Report Abuse

oh another thing about your knm dividend. Is there any dividend for knm this year? Past year knm gave out some dividends, 3 sens, 5 sens a year. what was the price of knm then? Then you can work out the dividend yield. But I think you should also look at the "reverse dividend", how much shareholders have been forking out for all the right issues. Hope you can share with us. Thanks.

jhpp86

32 posts

Posted by jhpp86 > 2012-12-24 10:16 | Report Abuse

ECM?? goin to PN17 and price i guess will be less than 0.50 after the payment to share holder. but i think should be a good share

Posted by kcchongnz > 2012-12-24 10:23 | Report Abuse

ecm yeah, still good at 86.5 sen. Managed to get some last week at 85 sen. Looked like investors overreacted on the pn17 status of ecm announced last week.
http://www.intellecpoint.com/search?q=ecm

Shrekk

267 posts

Posted by Shrekk > 2012-12-24 10:58 | Report Abuse

Skpres at 0.355 and ytlpower-wb at 0.38. Between these two, Skpres is recommended to those who is willing to hold for long term and enjoy the high yield. This is the highest rated penny stock with 7 star in Dynaquest and growth is guaranteed in foreseeable future as it is the main supplier for Dyson. As for ytlpwr-wb, it is currently at 52 weeks low and with rumours saying that its mother will be privatized, this is a gem and safe speculative counter with solid fundamental. Should the rumours is not be materialized sooner or later, it is still way undervalue at a current price for a warrant for blue chip with 10 billion cash to be bought on weakness.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2012-12-24 11:05 | Report Abuse

Aunloke, this is my observations about Amprop at the moment
Amprop
• The property development itself is small at gross profit of about 41 m for the last two years, not enough even to pay for operating expenses.
• Main profit from disposal of assets for the past two years which would not be sustainable. What is next after land and other assets are sold?
• May be an asset play counter. It may have valuable land and at high market price compared to book value. If sell can make good money. So are many property companies.
• May spring surprise on the upside too because of its assets; land, property investments, associates and jv, like the recent FACB.
• More an asset play counter rather than an earnings play.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2012-12-24 11:24 | Report Abuse

Shrekk, thanks very much. My comments about YTL Power Wb is that it is a derivative of YTL Power, a good company no doubt with steady income. Because of its predictable streams of cash flows, it is a good company for long-term investment. And also because of that the company can give out high dividend which is good for YTL Power shareholders. The same things cannot be said about warrant holders. Predictability of income results in low volatility of the underlying share price, and hence low time value of the warrant. High dividends to YTL Power which Wb holders cannot enjoy hurt the warrant holders too as underlying share price is adjusted downwards after dividend payment, and hence affect the intrinsic value of warrants. This are the main reasons I think even though Wb has 5 and a half years more to expire, it is only traded at a small premium of just 5.3%.
I am more interested in your skpres. It looks good. Could you provide some information here about its earnings, cash flows, balance sheet, or valuation or whatever to substantial its investment value? Thanks first.

jhpp86

32 posts

Posted by jhpp86 > 2012-12-24 11:32 | Report Abuse

kcchongnz , u got any clu that ECM will goin what business after sell the main business?

Posted by kcchongnz > 2012-12-24 11:37 | Report Abuse

jhpp86, no, i have not much knowledge about this company, and limited knowledge about the market. That is why I need input from many people here. More people more knowledge.

jhpp86

32 posts

Posted by jhpp86 > 2012-12-24 11:43 | Report Abuse

i see.. thanks ya...

Posted by kcchongnz > 2012-12-24 12:15 | Report Abuse

Marco, a hidden gem, tonylim?
• Price 14.5 sen on 23rd December 2012
• Growing revenue and earnings for the last 5 years, 13% and 62% respectively last year
• CAGR last 4 years in revenue and earnings at 13% and 37% respectively, excellent.
• Timepiece, Casio calculators. Business model ok.
• EPS 2011 2 sen 2011, PE 7.3 reasonable
• Dividend rate last year 6.5% (DY 4.5%), special 15%, every year 5%.
• NAB 13 sen
• Surprised 2012 results not much affected by the Thai flood.
Never heard of Marco. Financials look real good. Constant good growth, real business, PE 7.3, undemanding. Supported by good cash flows and healthy balance sheet. Need to see the dilution effect of existing warrants. A rough guide using Black-Scholes option pricing to value the warrants.
Tony, can provide the profile of Marco warrants? Couldn’t find through Bursa web. any idea what is the amount of outstanding warrants as at the third quarter?

aunloke

974 posts

Posted by aunloke > 2012-12-24 12:24 | Report Abuse

Kcchongnz, yes I fully agree with you , amprop at the moment is not a big time developer rather an asset player, as you said it may spring a surprise if it makes it big from the asset disposal. Anyway the downward risk is quite limited.

aunloke

974 posts

Posted by aunloke > 2012-12-24 12:30 | Report Abuse

BTW its NTA is about 1.20 and some asset are with the lower old valuation.

rlch

4,126 posts

Posted by rlch > 2012-12-24 12:44 | Report Abuse

Cheetah, I will buy Cheetah shirt for CNY with Cheetah dividend. Hope to get share dividend as well in 2013. I can buy almost 4 Cheetah share for each Padini share.

AL833D

884 posts

Posted by AL833D > 2012-12-24 12:48 | Report Abuse

Hi tonylim, i know not much about inari, maybe some fren can give the comment about it. I put inari in my watchlist coz it dividen. For long term i like more on skpres. Hope kcchongnz can give us summry later. Thanks

Posted by tonylim > 2012-12-24 12:58 | Report Abuse

Marco wa
Current price RM0.045
Exercise price RM0.10
Mother price RM0.145

Premium 0%
Expiry date 26/5/2014

Posted by kcchongnz > 2012-12-24 19:12 | Report Abuse

tonylim, based on the info you give me, and using a historical volatility of Marco at 25% (guess only), dividend yield at 3.5%, the option value of Marco warrant from Black-Scholes option pricing model is about its market price of 4.5 sen. Why is it at zero premium but option value not bigger than its market price? Again it is because of its high dividend yield, which is good for the Marco shareholders, but not good for the warrant holders. However by virtue of its zero premium, and the seemingly good prospect of Marco as posted by me above, the Marco warrant to me present a good bet because the likelihood of Marco share price to go up is good, and the warrant provides a gearing of 3 times.
tonylim, do you know the number of warrants outstanding? This is useful for me to value Marco's intrinsic value, and see if Marco is a good investment.

Mat Cendana

2,331 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-12-24 19:45 | Report Abuse

Many have already given up on this deadbeat. But MK Land - one just can't ignore its NTA. It has a large land bank at a rather prime area. Even if the company were to just sit and goyang kaki, the value will appreciate.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2012-12-24 20:16 | Report Abuse

al833D, you like NTPM? Me too.
Great consumer stock too. Revenue has been growing nicely for the past years. Its profit dropped the last two years though due to rise in cost of material, paper and pulp, and other operating costs. Its recent quarterly results improved immensely. Trailing twelve month earnings per share of about 4 sen and PE about 10. Undemanding market valuation. Seems like potential of further operating improvement. A re-rating soon?
http://www.intellecpoint.com/search?q=ntpm
You also like Keladi, Skpres, InaRi and Cheetah pwroot. Could you tell us why you like them, preferable with some numbers? I also hope others input their opinions and analysis too. You know it is only that much I alone can do. Thanks first.

tptan45

388 posts

Posted by tptan45 > 2012-12-24 21:26 | Report Abuse

I like skpres. It fulfills what I like to see in a company. Growth, low PE with good dividends. But I don't really understand the business well. If I am not mistaken it is dependent on a few big clients. The warrants bother me as well. I am not a financial/investment guy and my worries may seem naive/simplistic to some. I use only commonsense in my investing.

As for cheetah I don't see anyone buying their products at the local department store. Again commonsense.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2012-12-25 07:02 | Report Abuse

AL833D, I see you like Pantech too. We have a few common favorites.
It was flying high with its good operation efficiencies in 2009 and 2012 when ROIC was 20%, and an adjusted share price of above RM1.00. It then embark on huge capital expenses in its new manufacturing plant in Pasir Gudang and margin and ROIC contracted by huge amount, probably because of the expenses on the high new plant. There is clear signs that revenue and profits are improving steadily for the last few quarters. If it can revert back to its old day of revenue, profitability and efficiencies, this stock can explode. The market price of 66.5 sen (ttm Pe of 7) is undemanding considering its potential growth. No issue in its balance sheet. Cash flows not too good last year mainly because the capital expenses but I am sure it is improving. Still give good dividend yield.

yungshen1

2,134 posts

Posted by yungshen1 > 2012-12-25 11:52 | Report Abuse

once knm finish pay all the debt. i think every quater will given dividend to shareholder.

rlch

4,126 posts

Posted by rlch > 2012-12-25 17:21 | Report Abuse

Sorry for simple calculation error for valuation of Padini and Cheetah. Actually market capitalisation for Padini is about 20 times higher than Cheetah. As to tptan45 claim that no one buy Cheetah product at local department store is a lie. If not how can the company make money and give shareholders dividend every year. She say she like SKPres but not understand the business well then why she buy the share. Valuation wise is SKPRes still cheap. Why Gan Kim Huat(major shareholder) keep selling?

Posted by kcchongnz > 2012-12-25 17:54 | Report Abuse

Hi Mat Cendana, my call warrant kaki. How are you? Thanks for you sharing of MK Land.
Again the revenue and earnings of MK Land for this few years is relatively little. It could be an asset play as its NAB per share is 89 sen, is 2.7 times its share price of 33 sen. Even with the Graham net-net valuation of MK Land at 40 sen, ignoring its asset of 160m in plant and equipment and assuming value of its receivables and property development cost at 50% of their stated value, is still higher than its share price of 33 sen. It has quite high debt of a total of closed to 200 m though and hence quite high annual interest payment of 20m. The good thing is it has stopped haemorrhaging since its worst performing year in 2008 when it lost 65 m, and the subsequent 26 m loss. That is the peril of a highly leverage company. Again there are so many other property companies which are also highly undervalued, many of them even cash rich. So is there a better story for MK Land?

aunloke

974 posts

Posted by aunloke > 2012-12-25 18:23 | Report Abuse

Tony, Kcchongnz, Marco outstanding warrants is huge, about 352M shares, be careful it may suffer the same fate as Fitter as it is in-money.

Posted by littleshark > 2012-12-25 18:25 | Report Abuse

Im an Inari fans. Hv been buying it fews month ago when they are planning to acquire Amertron Inc at the early stage. I found that this stock which is newly listed on Ace market is undervalued&trading below IPO 0.4. That time their market price is 0.34.
Quite satisfied with their financial results&the latest 1st quarter sept 2012 posted EPS 2.24&declare dividend 0.8 cents. Last financial yr end Inari posted cumulative EPS 6.06&dividend/share 2.80. Inari has been consistently recorded gd profit&declare interim dividend on each quarterly report. Bear in mind this stock is seriously not for short term but for medium to long term holding.

Shrekk

267 posts

Posted by Shrekk > 2012-12-25 18:49 | Report Abuse

Skpres last 2 quarters eps 1.31cts, 1.33cts, hence its forecast eps for 2013 is 1.31+1.33x2=5.28cts, PE is 0.36cts/0.0528=6.82. PE 7.

Net earnings are increasing years after years:

2009 = 2.93m 2010 = 13.40m 2011= 26.25m 2012 2012 =36.84m

Debt free

NTA 2009 0.22cts 2010 0.23cts 2011 0.26cts

Cash rich 2011 53m 2012 61m

High yield as it has declared 50 % div policy from the company's net earnings effective 2012. For financial year 2013, it has already declared dividends twice which we have received in nov and dec respectively.

I have been investing in skpres since 2010 when its price was ard 20cts. It was a late decision which I regret until now as its price went down to 10cts when I first discovered it in 2009. Its price surge to 50cts + early this year before the bonus issue 1:2 in june. I have no reasons to sell as at now
as I foresee the fundamental have not ever changed although its price surge up to 0.395 in oct.

Shrekk

267 posts

Posted by Shrekk > 2012-12-25 18:57 | Report Abuse

The major shareholders own 72% of total shares as at march 2012 which I believe is substantial. I foresee Mr Gan's sales of his shares recently are more towarsd personal interest and believe it will not give impact to its share price in foreseeable future as his selling is minor compared to his entire holdings.

Shrekk

267 posts

Posted by Shrekk > 2012-12-25 19:12 | Report Abuse

As for ytlpwr-wb I invested in it only for fun for short/medium term due to the speculation on the privatisation. my avg cost is 0.385 and I will not hesitate to realize my profit if its price surge > 40cts. I knew it is a safe bet for a warrant for a bluechip with so,id fundamental as it currently at 52 weeks low while a lot of institutional investors as I know stucked in it at much higher price.

Mat Cendana

2,331 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-12-25 19:14 | Report Abuse

Now that someone has mentioned YTLP, I'm also looking at its CH warrant. Ex. 30/8/13, 1.70 - at 0.03, maybe it's worth a punt?

Posted by kcchongnz > 2012-12-25 19:15 | Report Abuse

Shrekk, excellent, nothing short of excellent explanation. tptan45, you got a good choice in SKPres too. Now you should be confident on your holding of this share with this explanation now, I guess. As for the warrants, I think you should not worry too much about it as it is out-of-the-money now. My estimation using option pricing shows the dilution effect is minimal at most of 4m, hardly a scratch on the value of SKPres.
Shrekk, can you clear the worry of tptan45 that SKPres may have only limited client base, Dyson vacuum cleaner and a few others only?