Posted by 3iii > 2018-09-06 07:27 | Report Abuse

These are the stocks selection of KYY extracted from Koon Yew Yin's Blog https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/koonyewyinblog/blidx.jsp?p=1 2014 Xingquan Chart is not available http://www.bursamalaysia.com/market/listed-companies/list-of-companies/plc-profile.html?stock_code=5155 SOP http://www.corporateinformation.com/ImageSvr/Chart.ashx?T=SS&C=C45856910 Rimbunan Sawit http://www.corporateinformation.com/ImageSvr/Chart.ashx?T=SS&C=C458VMB00 Jaya Tiasa http://www.corporateinformation.com/ImageSvr/Chart.ashx?T=SS&C=C458A0560 THPlantation http://www.corporateinformation.com/ImageSvr/Chart.ashx?T=SS&C=C458X1B00 2015 VS http://www.corporateinformation.com/ImageSvr/Chart.ashx?T=SS&C=C458H1210 Latitude http://www.corporateinformation.com/ImageSvr/Chart.ashx?T=SS&C=C458G8750 Li Hen http://www.corporateinformation.com/ImageSvr/Chart.ashx?T=SS&C=C458BT980 2016 Gamuda http://www.corporateinformation.com/ImageSvr/Chart.ashx?T=SS&C=C45878290 Chin Well http://www.corporateinformation.com/ImageSvr/Chart.ashx?T=SS&C=C458G7830 CSC http://www.corporateinformation.com/ImageSvr/Chart.ashx?T=SS&C=C458ZH000 Masteel (Sell call) http://www.corporateinformation.com/ImageSvr/Chart.ashx?T=SS&C=C458KC800 Gadang http://www.corporateinformation.com/ImageSvr/Chart.ashx?T=SS&C=C458G8170 2017 Jaks http://www.corporateinformation.com/ImageSvr/Chart.ashx?T=SS&C=C458OK500 Eversendai http://www.corporateinformation.com/ImageSvr/Chart.ashx?T=SS&C=C458002G0 Hengyuan http://www.corporateinformation.com/ImageSvr/Chart.ashx?T=SS&C=C45852900 Lion Industries http://www.corporateinformation.com/ImageSvr/Chart.ashx?T=SS&C=C458AV720 What can we learn from Mr. Koon from his past and present stock selections?

66 comment(s). Last comment by 3iii 2018-09-14 15:58

12,917 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-09-08 16:14 |

12,917 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-09-08 16:43 | Report Abuse

>>> Jun 5, 2014 09:00 AM | Report Abuse

sunztzhe, I am not moving away from "Value Growth Investing". I allocate a small portion of my money on KLK, Batu Kawan and PBB. Most of my money is on undervalued growth stocks such as JT, TH Plant, Sarawak Plant, Kulim, Mudajaya, MFCB, and Successful Transformers.

I have nothing to hide and my intention is honourable. As I said during my seminar on 1st June, I sold about 50% of my JT in the last few weeks at Rm 2.70 when there were lots of buyers. There were more sellers than buyers in the last few days. I suspect some people who attended my talk, heard that I sold JT. It does not mean that JT is not good any more. I still have about 20 million JT shares. I will buy back JT when it goes lower.

As I said 'no share can go up or down indefinitely for whatever reason'. I must sell some shares when they go up so that I have money to buy shares when they go down. In this way I can use my margin finance more effectively.<<<

JT, Mudajaya

14,605 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-09-08 16:47 | Report Abuse

U can still see the similar comments in jaks....

A lot of wawasan 2020 believers still believe that koon will buy back jaks at lower prices later...

12,917 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-09-08 16:48 |

14,605 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-09-08 16:51 | Report Abuse

Peter yang also kena pecat not long after ah? Never heard abt him since then

12,917 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-09-09 08:09 | Report Abuse

SATURDAY, 29 NOVEMBER 2008

Greater Fool Theory

One of the assumptions of the discounted cash flow theory is that people are rational, that nobody would buy a business for more than its future discounted cash flows. Since a stock represents ownership in a company, this assumption applies to the stock market. But why, then, do stocks exhibit such volatile movements? It doesn't make sense for a stock's price to fluctuate so much when the intrinsic value isn't changing by the minute.

The fact is that many people do not view stocks as a representation of discounted cash flows, but as trading vehicles. Who cares what the cash flows are if you can sell the stock to somebody else for more than what you paid for it? Cynics of this approach have labeled it the greater fool theory, since the profit on a trade is not determined by a company's value, but about speculating whether you can sell to some other investor (the fool). On the other hand, a trader would say that investors relying solely on fundamentals are leaving themselves at the mercy of the market instead of observing its trends and tendencies.

This debate demonstrates the general difference between a technical and fundamental investor. A follower of technical analysis is guided not by value, but by the trends in the market often represented in charts. So, which is better: fundamental or technical? The answer is neither. Every strategy has its own merits.

In general, fundamental is thought of as a long-term strategy, while technical is used more for short-term strategies.

http://myinvestingnotes.blogspot.com/2008/11/greater-fool-theory.html?m=1

12,917 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-09-09 08:22 | Report Abuse

Buffett restates the greater fool theory

The Oracle of Omaha restates the greater fool (note the lower case ‘'f'’!) theory: “the rising price has on its own generated additional buying enthusiasm, attracting purchasers who see the rise as validating an investment thesis.

As "bandwagon" investors join any party, they create their own truth – for a while”.

pussycats

7,615 posts

Posted by pussycats > 2018-09-09 08:26 | Report Abuse

A very good history of kwhywhy stocks.

3iii,
Where is Mudajaya in the list?

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-09-09 16:42 | Report Abuse

rigid is death
flexible is life

let go of old KYY blogs

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-09-09 18:09 | Report Abuse

truth be told, KYY is big on concepts, small in details.

A concept man as a lot of businessmen are.

and things change....

rigid is death
flexible is life

let go of old KYY blogs

12,917 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-09-10 12:21 | Report Abuse

1. KYY shared his stock selections in this forum. Mudajaya was his earliest in 2014 and Lionind his latest in 2018.

2. He shared his stock selection strategy and his golden rule in liking and buying his shares.

3. He also shared some of his reasons for selling. He sold 50% of JT because he thought it was overvalued at 2.70. He also sold his Hengyuan due to margin call and was grateful because this protected his profits, otherwise he would have not made as much. He also sold down his Jaks recently to reduce his risks as he has too much money in this counter.

4. For those wishing to copy or follow KYY, what are their strategies to avoid losses and to ensure gains?

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-09-10 12:23 | Report Abuse

Jaks forum page 257

alex

7,854 posts

Posted by alex > 2018-09-13 10:11 | Report Abuse

looking at his selection ... you can derive that uncle just a 'trend' follower. in that year, it was ringgit that falling down a lot, furniture and exports strong in play.
those who ride the longest that year can enjoy few hundred % profits like uncle. uncle may have earned a lot but he earned a lot not because his stock selection, but due to he is so rich until he can buy up to few millions of share.
so if you buy more, you earned more, same as loss more if trend reverse ...

so uncle used back his same tactic for 2016, 2017 and 2018 and it is not working anymore ... he still earned in lionind but may be 20-30 cent only and not 200-300%.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-09-13 10:43 | Report Abuse

the difference between KYY and the average?

koon yewyin

to me

I am a risk taker. I betted too heavily on Jaks. I am too greedy. I believe challenges are lifelong but don't give up because solutions are also lifelong.

12,917 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-09-14 15:58 | Report Abuse

In most of his stock selections shared so far, KYY is a trader of stocks.