Posted by Tobby > 2022-05-12 14:52 | Report Abuse

Investment!

31 comment(s). Last comment by DickyMe 2022-05-14 13:56

Posted by Tobby > 2022-05-12 14:56 | Report Abuse

Chill! So Bank Negara make a surprising move! Many caught with their pants down! BN has no choice! Maintain interest rate and see ringgit drop like no tomorrow!
So now, everybody force to increase interest rate as the dumbass US is fighting so called inflation! Like i said, you tackle the prime cause not trying to put some salt on the wound!
This interest rate hike will be new normal in ever weirdo fiscal short sightedness! All depends on the administrator of the day!

Posted by Tobby > 2022-05-12 14:57 | Report Abuse

As malaysians already emptied their EPF and EPF is now in weak position, don't expect us to go through coming recession in style like Singapore! We won't! Things going to be super rough ahead!
For me, i am preparing bullets for coming property crash!

Posted by Tobby > 2022-05-12 14:58 | Report Abuse

Bare in mind! Cash is king in recession! Because you don't go the banks for loans! It's going to be pretty expensive with high interest rate!

Posted by aeroguan > 2022-05-12 15:36 | Report Abuse

how about collect some finance stock, bcos hike of interest rate will benefit the finance sector. Drop of ringgit will help the export counter in foreign gain, so mayb it can be another choice?

The_JQuestion

1,511 posts

Posted by The_JQuestion > 2022-05-12 15:39 | Report Abuse

yes put money in property much btr than in stocks if u have the capital

treasurehunt

1,807 posts

Posted by treasurehunt > 2022-05-12 15:48 | Report Abuse

Recession is small matter adhering to the nature of economy cycle whereas hyperinflation is a big trouble.

24,995 posts

Posted by speakup > 2022-05-12 15:51 | Report Abuse

cash rich companies like willow, kseng will benefit as they will earn more interest

6,014 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2022-05-12 22:36 | Report Abuse

How can I protect my Ringgit from droping like no tomorrow in my hand, please ?

6,014 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2022-05-12 22:37 | Report Abuse

How can we prepare ourselves to face recession ?

treasurehunt

1,807 posts

Posted by treasurehunt > 2022-05-12 22:51 | Report Abuse

Follow the economy cycle investment lor. Market boom and burst so many times already. Nothing new.

treasurehunt

1,807 posts

Posted by treasurehunt > 2022-05-12 23:12 | Report Abuse

People used to think USD would turn into toilet paper. After FED taking harsh actions and turning USD into a harvester.

Posted by Tobby > 2022-05-12 23:16 | Report Abuse

Posted by ahbah > May 12, 2022 10:36 PM | Report Abuse

How can I protect my Ringgit from droping like no tomorrow in my hand, please ?

Answer : I keep most of my cash in Sing dollar!

4,565 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2022-05-13 06:10 | Report Abuse

Answer: I keep most of my investment in plantation stocks and Insas (selling below its net cash and some of insas cash is in USD, Sing and Aud bank deposits)

6,014 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2022-05-13 09:36 | Report Abuse

Thanks for all the most helpful solutions.

24,995 posts

Posted by speakup > 2022-05-13 11:52 | Report Abuse

one more 0.25% interest rate hike expected later this year.
buy banks?
buy cash rich companies? kseng, willow

BLee

732 posts

Posted by BLee > 2022-05-13 11:53 | Report Abuse

@ahbah: How can we prepare ourselves to face recession ?

BLee: A very good question. The answer could be invest in recession proof assets such as:
-Education or Skill if still young..
-Properties in high growth areas as location, location, location is very important. Most properties are already time tested as shown by double or very much more increases in trading price over the years.
-A basket of foreign currency, SGD is a good choice. Bear in mind recession could be worldwide affecting all currencies due to Pandemic, Global warming affecting crop shortages and Countries Conflict.
-Invest in some stocks at a very 'low price' undervalue as the downside will be very limited and with high NTA. Switch stocks when necessary..
Just a few suggestions for discussion purposes only as I am not an Economist.

6,014 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2022-05-13 12:03 | Report Abuse

Thanks again.

OnTime

2,057 posts

Posted by OnTime > 2022-05-13 14:52 | Report Abuse

hiking interest rate doesn't equip to recession. it's the overhiking of rates that lead to recession

6,014 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2022-05-13 14:54 | Report Abuse

I no think recession is also good where the poor got a chance to be next gen rich. I think the poor will become bankerup n the retirement fund also kosong during a recession.

6,014 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2022-05-13 14:55 | Report Abuse

Powell said he couldn't promise a so-called soft landing for the economy as the Fed raises interest rates to tamp down price increases running near their fastest pace in more than 40 years.

Junichiro

2,035 posts

Posted by Junichiro > 2022-05-13 15:16 | Report Abuse

Powell doesn't have magic. Same like Yellan who thought she could undo QE implemented by Bernake. QE is here to stay forever. Unwinding QE will set rates going up.

6,014 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2022-05-13 15:22 | Report Abuse

Unwinding qe will give us a hard landing n investors will got smashed n broken to pieces ?

6,014 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2022-05-13 18:01 | Report Abuse

They got make our world more peaceful n prosperous for all to live together ?

Posted by Tobby > 2022-05-13 21:29 | Report Abuse

Don't keep US dollar guys! Once hit that sweet spot of 1929, it's totally worthless! Thank Biden for his blunders!
Within a year in his administration, printed trillions of paper money and spend on nothing!
Don't know when this 1929 will happen but once it does, we all will be back to stone age!
I am considering keeping gold instead! Do you guys know where to buy those genuine gold coins!

Posted by Tobby > 2022-05-13 21:30 | Report Abuse

Posted by qqq3333 > May 13, 2022 5:42 PM | Report Abuse

Raise your hand if u think Biden and his men can solve America's problems

Answer : Yeah, so what happen to anti Donald Trump! So quiet recently!

Posted by Skywalker00 > 2022-05-14 00:47 | Report Abuse

Recession is still far away... inflation is eminent!! When the middle income start losing their jobs then only we will see Recession.

Posted by Tobby > 2022-05-14 01:56 | Report Abuse

Sky! All the signs are too obvious! It's just matter of time! Definitely before 2024! And we will see repeat of 1929, something we dare not think of! This coming recession will be similar to great depression really! The root cause is the worthless dollar!

13,605 posts

Posted by i3lurker > 2022-05-14 08:35 | Report Abuse

Investors typically flock to fixed-income investments (such as bonds) or dividend-yielding investments (such as dividend stocks) during recessions because they offer routine cash payments.

Dividend stocks are shares of a company that splits a portion of its profit with all its shareholders based on the number of shares each investor owns. Investing in companies with a strong track record of paying — and increasing — dividends can lead to stable cash flow even during recessions. Another option is to invest in dividend ETFs, which comprise companies known for routinely paying strong dividends.

“Even if the value of your stock is down because of the conditions, the reinvested dividends lower the volatility.”
Marguerita Cheng, CFP
And while these payments can be taken out as cash and used as income, there’s another factor that makes dividends more appealing during times of volatility, according to Marguerita Cheng, a CFP and CEO of Blue Ocean Global Wealth in Gaithersburg, Maryland.

“The benefit of investing in dividend-paying stocks, mutual funds or ETFs is that the dividends can be reinvested. Even if the value of your stock is down because of the conditions, the reinvested dividends lower the volatility,” Cheng explains. “Let’s say the stock market is down 10%, but that stock you have pays a dividend of 3%. If that gets reinvested, you don’t experience as much downside.”

When searching for dividend-paying stocks, it’s important to note that yield shouldn’t be the biggest determining factor, as the highest yields tend to come with additional risk. Rather, look for consistency in paying or increasing dividends, which is indicative of good corporate governance.

https://www.nerdwallet.com/article/investing/what-to-invest-in-during-recession#:~:text=What%20to%20Invest%20in%20During%20a%20Recession%201,investments.%20...%205%20Above%20all%2C%20don%E2%80%99t%20panic.%20

31,553 posts

Posted by stockraider > 2022-05-14 09:44 | Report Abuse

Be prepare for recession investing loh!

24,995 posts

Posted by speakup > 2022-05-14 10:08 | Report Abuse

recession investing = buy companies which got big net cash, eg Kseng, Willow, etc

14,320 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2022-05-14 13:56 | Report Abuse

Bank Negara just made a fire fighting solution.
They raised interest rate at the wrong time.
It will increase inflation and unemployment.
More companies to shutdown except bumi companies which gets divine help though not profitable. Property and construction will take a beating. More bankrupts will be created.