There's a need for third national car project, says MAI

Publish date: Tue, 25 Sep 2018, 11:44 AM

KUALA LUMPUR: There is a need to develop the third national car project in line with the rapid development of the automotive industry, said the Malaysia Automotive Institute (MAI).

Chief Executive Officer Datuk Madani Sahari said the third national car project came in at the right time as it can fulfil the market needs in a bid to complete the automotive industry under the connected mobility concept.

"Technologies related to information technology and electronics will develop rapidly to prepare for such vehicles. This is one of the branches of research and development (R&D) that can be developed if we have the (third) national car.

"The R&D that we have done are good but we must move forward, so we can develop R&D in the connected mobility segment," he said during an interview on Bernama News Channel’s “Ruang Bicara” programme on the third national car project here last night.

Also present was Putra Business School Senior Lecturer Dr Ahmed Razman Abdul Latiff.

Madani brushed aside the perception that the proposal made by Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad to develop the third national car project was due to his frustration with Proton.

"That is only a perception. The desire to develop the third national car project is not solely to gain fame but it will spur economic spillovers in terms of engineering as well as services.

"For me, the development of the automotive industry is getting bigger as its scope is tremendous. The cake is big enough for the third national car to play a role. Of course, Proton and Perodua will play their respective roles but the third national car will be another national car entity," he said. - Bernama

Be the first to like this. Showing 10 of 10 comments

tecpower

VW's affordable electric car to be offered in 3 battery configurations starting at ~$30,000, report says
https://electrek.co/2018/09/24/vw-neo-electric-car-battery-configurations-price-report/

2018-09-25 15:06

I think third national car is a good project....as long as no tax payer money...no protectionism....why not a start up?

2018-09-25 15:37

tax free holiday ok

2018-09-25 15:38

EngineeringProfit

a.k.a. EngineeringIndustrialRevolution (against stagnant industry)

Too heavy traffic these days......

....don't stucked at I.R. 1

Time for quantum leap to I.R. 5.0

tak boleh?

2018-09-25 16:18

Speedy Boy

Sure! Go ahead! Pool all Mahathir's yesmen and let them start 3rd national car! ICE cars have only a decade before everybody will own to electric car! And don't beg for rakyat to bail you out when everybody telling you don't go start another sure fail pet project!

2018-09-25 18:07

Speedy Boy

You know the proven adage! Stupidity is doing the same thing over and over again expecting different result!

2018-09-25 18:09

Who is the target group?
What is the selling price like?
Expected sales?
Factory fully automated?
Capex?
R&D expenses?
Or is it like India national car new car old look, 50 years no change in appearance?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PbO1xIORBB4

2018-09-25 18:20

Speedy Boy

There's only 60k passenger cars sold every year in Malaysia! So how do you intend to sell 200k to breakeven!

2018-09-25 19:21

EngineeringProfit

Weak in math in school......fail in calculating profitability in business

2018-09-26 08:15

Hitman

agreed with Speedy Boy

2018-09-26 08:27