PBA HOLDINGS BHD

KLSE (MYR): PBA (5041)

-0.03 (1.60%)

1.83 - 1.89

Major Holders Breakdown
Current Holdings

Name

No. of Shares

Percentage

DATO TING HENG PENG

40.00%

DATO TING HENG PENG

40.00%

DATO TING HENG PENG

40.00%

Historical Transactions
From To Type No. of Shares Min Price Max Price
6 people like this. Showing 50 of 1,519 comments

goldenhope

Users complained the water bill charges were extremely high.

hng33

PBA repprted EPS = 4.34sen, below expectation. There reason is due to earlier planned water disruption for almost entire Penang in Jan for 96 hour and subsequently unplanned water outrage 48 hour happened in Jan 2024.

Therefore, affected water sale revenues. The administration and cost of sale also increase due to abobe water disruption as PBA need to provide free water supply via jumbo water tank to meet residents water consumption. The significance cost also recorded to replace valve and pipeline during these period.

In additional, current period may only able to record 1 month domestic traffic hike instead of 2 month as projected. These is because PBA adpot bimonthly water billing instead of montly.

In short, PBA real traffic impact will be more reflected in next Q result. PBA free cash holding continue increase with increase concession like, recession proof water business.

after so many bullshit by hng, the real result is just normal, you can talk all cock on what 25mil bullshit, end result will not be as per your bullshit.

the earlier assumption on good div payout also seemed not forth coming,

96 hour and subsequently unplanned water outrage 48 hour happened in Jan 2024.

pure sorhxxxxi, how many days only, and caused 10mil gap in q income? you think we kindergarten kids meh hng

simple as this: naive assumption, over positive expectation, and EGO

ltlim74

This forum is about stock investment and sharing of bullish and bearish opinions. If everyone is neutral, then better close down this forum or go elsewhere.

ltlim74

Even so called expert analyst get it wrong very often. So don't condemn anyone personally here. Only condemn those who talk rubbish and waste our time reading it.

Erudite

Hng33 is not wrong. His assumption reasonable. Only thing disruption + tariff hike only effective in March (Jan, Feb still old rate) as PBA practice bimonthly billing. U can check ur bill… I m penangite so I know. Next Q will be bombastic

S363636

Yup I agree with @erudite . Next quarter only can see the increase properly !!! And if we see just by quarter comparison the quarter is good . Is standard increase

Agjl

Be nice… everyone here is trying to help each other. The final decision is yours. Cheers!

dollardollarbill

1Q24 Note 15:
15. Current year prospects
Revenue from sales of water is expected to further increase in line with the new water tariff implementation with effect from 1 February 2024 for domestic consumers.

goldenhope

Everyone here just to share their views and insights, accept if you agree, ignore if you feel "talk cock".

goldenhope

Buy more if you confident with the company, not happy then just throw it and keep quiet.

KingKKK

Still think PBA is worth RM2.60, Q1 earnings turned profitable as expected. More to come in Q2 as it will be full 3 months new tariff contribution

dollardollarbill

Hi Erudite, could you kindly share what your water bill was like from Jan-Apr so we can better understand the impact? Thanks.

Posted by Erudite > 1 day ago | Report Abuse

Hng33 is not wrong. His assumption reasonable. Only thing disruption + tariff hike only effective in March (Jan, Feb still old rate) as PBA practice bimonthly billing. U can check ur bill… I m penangite so I know. Next Q will be bombastic

hng33

sold first at 2.02-2.06, wait for next Q

mizieXX

my water bill increase 100%..from rm40+ now 100+.. can expect how much profit for pba next quarter

goldenhope

@mizieXX May i know the date of your bill RM100+ ?

S363636

Siliconware Precision Industries Co., Ltd. (SPIL), a leading global semiconductor packaging and testing company, celebrated the groundbreaking of its Malaysia P1 plant at Bandar Cassia Technology Park in Pnenag. This state-of-the-art 8-hectare facility, representing a RM6 billion investment, is expected to create nearly 3,000 skilled jobs over the next 15 years. The plant will feature advanced packaging and testing technologies, including wafer bumping and wafer-level chip packaging, enhancing efficiency and competitiveness in the semiconductor industry.

The ceremony was graced by prominent figures, including YBhg. Dato’ Hairil Yahri Yaacob, Secretary General of MITI; Mr. Sivasuriyamoorthy Sundara Raja, Deputy CEO of MIDA; Dato’ Loo Lee Lian, CEO of InvestPenang; and Mr. Michael Chang, CEO of SPIL Malaysia. Their attendance highlighted the significance of this project to the region and the industry.

YB Tengku Datuk Seri Utama Zafrul Tengku Abdul Aziz, Minister of MITI, warmly welcomed SPIL’s investment. He emphasized that this development affirms Malaysia’s position as a preferred destination for global semiconductor companies. He noted, “The National Semiconductor Strategic Task Force (NSSTF) and MIDA’s expertise are key to the New Industrial Master Plan 2030, aiming to increase economic complexity, forge stronger global linkages, and create high-paying jobs for Malaysians.”

Mr. Sikh Shamsul Ibrahim Sikh Abdul Majid, CEO of MIDA, underscored the benefits of SPIL’s investment, stating, “This facility enhances Malaysia’s semiconductor ecosystem, creating high-value engineering jobs and accelerating the export of Malaysian products globally.” He added that this project positions Malaysia as a key player in the international semiconductor market, driving sustained economic growth.

Dato’ Loo Lee Lian highlighted Penang’s substantial contribution to the semiconductor sector, stating, “Penang is proud to host SPIL, reflecting foreign investors’ confidence in our region as a hub for advanced technologies. This facility will advance Penang up the value chain, reinforcing its reputation as the Silicon Valley of the East.”

Mr. Michael Chang, CEO of SPIL Malaysia, expressed gratitude to MIDA and InvestPenang for their support. He stated that the P1 plant will foster innovation, cultivate semiconductor talent, and enhance technological capabilities in Penang. He emphasized SPIL’s commitment to environmental sustainability, aiming for GBI Green Globes Certification and a net-zero carbon reduction goal by 2050.

As part of ASE Technology Holding, the world’s largest packaging and testing group, SPIL is expanding its global footprint with the P1 plant. This initiative introduces advanced packaging technology, strengthens the packaging and testing industry, and drives innovation and economic growth in Penang and beyond.

S363636

More water needed soon

Agjl

Hng33, why sold your portion so early when u are optimistic on its prospects?

mizieXX

16 may

Agjl

Hng33…thank u for your insights. Cheers!

ocbc

1) Issue bond like alibaba will do to have low funding cost
2) Take control of Yli Berhad which is cash rich and NTA =1.37 , now selling at lelong price 0.55 PBV

goldenhope

@mizieXX Your bill 16 May, should be covered 17 Mar to 16 May, how about previous bill Jan to Mar 16, still follow old tariffs ?

mizieXX

yes.. march bill still use old tariffs.

Justaboylearning

PBA PBA PBA.... never change . RM 520 million to install a smart meter just for convenience . If the government actually go through with it. It's time to sell the shares as they spend unnecessary money on OPEX...

Or it's time for MACC to look at who benefitting from these deals as it seems like there's some bribery involved.

Agjl

520m to install meter sounds like a huge amount. Liquidated some

Agjl

Hng33….yes the high opex is a concern. Was reluctant to sell but sold all eventually above 2. Consider lucky. Now looking to re enter. Peace

hng33

Very funny, only Penang water traffic hike keep received complaint, NOT only from consumer, MCA, now even Penang DAP also blame Penang gov .... now demanding rebate 20 per cubic meter....pressuring on Pnenag government to continue give more rebate.

https://www.chinapress.com.my/20240601/%e6%98%afspan%e6%89%b9%e5%87%86%e6%96%b0%e6%b0%b4%e8%b4%b9%e4%bb%b7%e4%bd%8d-%e6%9b%b9%e8%a7%82%e5%8f%8b%ef%bc%9a%e8%a1%8c%e6%94%bf%e8%ae%ae%e4%bc%9a%e5%b0%86%e8%ae%a8%e8%ae%ba/

KingKKK

Bursa MAGNIFICENT 7 - Update for Jun 2024 - Discussion about PBA, YTL, YTLPOWER, TENAGA, UEMS, IOIPG and SUNWAY - (KingKKK)

https://klse1.i3investor.com/blogs/bestStocks/2024-06-02-story-h-160564341-Bursa_MAGNIFICENT_7_Update_for_Jun_2024_Discussion_about_PBA_YTL_YTLPOW.jsp

goldenhope

Why LGE commented on the price hike now, should be debated before Penang gov approves the proposed rate hike.

goldenhope

They should discuss internally to solve the problem but not openly condemn the CM.

Bestata Oh

the CM is useless and will LD soon

newbird33

PBA giving free 10,000 liters water to every household!

hng33

THE Penang Water Supply Corporation (PBAPP) appears to have caved in to pressure and has offered rebates to provide relief to consumers over the 182 percent hike in water rates early this year

In a statement, the state executive councillor, who oversees infrastructure, Zairil Khir Johari said that the first 10,000 litres of water used by every household in Penang from July to December will be free of charge.

It is part of efforts to lighten the impact of increased water tariffs that began earlier this year, Zairil, the Tanjung Bungah assemblyman, said.

He also declared that the existing RM20 monthly rebate for large households comprising eight people or more with a maximum monthly income of RM2,250 will be extended to households with an income of up to RM5,000

S363636

So how they going to make profit ? Better sell before become sen!!!

goldenhope

better cut the Directors' allowances

ValueInvestor888

ranhill is doing much better than PBA...

rlch

So many people can enjoy free water?

goldenhope

As at May 2024, there are about 597,000 registered domestic water consumers in
Penang. The projected impact on PBAPP’s revenue in the period from 1.7.2024 –
31.12.2024 will be about RM11 million.

Justaboylearning

Good to buy on price weakness.

RM 11 million may be alot, but only applies to consumer households.

ValueInvestor888

household usage should be less than 40%, the rest is industrial and agriculture sector.
Oversold but this stock is lousy...

raymondroy

Last qtr profit was only RM14m so if free water impact is RM11m.... covering 6 mths so thats RM1.8m a mth..... so profit will reduce to 14-1.8=12.2m .... assuming rate change will be absorbed into this free water scheme covering initial mths :-(

goldenhope

RM14 mil still does not fully reflect the hike in water tariff.

ValueInvestor888

yes not reflect yet. current price is undervalued as mkt does not like subsidy and other argument surrounding water by politicians. Household consumption is less than 40%. Other sectors still subject to increase esp industry sectors.

PBA will never be able to reward their shareholders like this. Sell, ask them privatise it

hng33

bought back pba at 1.83-1.86

turbochart

Penang rich. Perak poor. Perak gov, pls Sell water sell High High to Penang!!😁